Miramax Films | Release Date: August 27, 2004
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 529 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
456
Mixed:
36
Negative:
37
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Kai82Sep 20, 2014
The best martial arts film I have ever seen. The visuals are breathtaking and an experience I will never forget. No other film has impressed me like this with its costumes, visuals, characters, story and soundtrack. It is just a masterpiece.The best martial arts film I have ever seen. The visuals are breathtaking and an experience I will never forget. No other film has impressed me like this with its costumes, visuals, characters, story and soundtrack. It is just a masterpiece. The characters are so perfect that I can’t imagine someone else or someone better suited for the roles. The story is fantastic and will surprise with each new revelation. The fighting scenes are poetic and my reference for the genre (Remark: Not for realistic fighting just for stylish awesomeness and defying of gravity). Overall this is as close to perfection for me as possible. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
FilmQueenOct 10, 2015
This is a thought-provoking and visually beautiful piece of art. The story is surprising and the choreography is great, I recommend this film to everyone.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dalawmanNov 1, 2010
Simply one of the best movies ever made in my mind. I admit you have to be bright to figure this one out, and as you read the reviews you see many people didn't. This is totally a love story.......with the best special affects ever and a goodSimply one of the best movies ever made in my mind. I admit you have to be bright to figure this one out, and as you read the reviews you see many people didn't. This is totally a love story.......with the best special affects ever and a good amount of action. This is about loving so much you place another human being ahead of yourself or the welfare of a country beyond yourself. Believe me the ones that didn't enjoy this are the ones that love the "Three Stooges" and talk through all the movies in the theater.
Great movie!
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
mayong0807Nov 27, 2011
I like this film. The picture of this film is good ,the action ,too. The story of this film is an outstanding one. It tells a story of one person and his country.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
spadenxJan 5, 2012
It loses something when you listen to it with english voice overs, The film is must better in its native language. I enjoyed it and I thought it was rather good. I enjoyed the plot and it was nice to see the film play out as it did. TheIt loses something when you listen to it with english voice overs, The film is must better in its native language. I enjoyed it and I thought it was rather good. I enjoyed the plot and it was nice to see the film play out as it did. The cinematography was alright but I have seen a lot better, To be honest it was rather generic if you ask me. Still it was a solid film none the less and worth the watch. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
MunthelionFeb 1, 2014
Simply put, Hero is absolutely beautiful.

My only issue with the film is its relatively short length which I actually think is too long for the story they tried to tell, I found myself a little bored at the end. Otherwise everything
Simply put, Hero is absolutely beautiful.

My only issue with the film is its relatively short length which I actually think is too long for the story they tried to tell, I found myself a little bored at the end.

Otherwise everything else about it is perfect, captivating and quite frankly extraordinary.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RyanM.Sep 10, 2004
It's not a great movie, but it's a really good movie. And folks, this really good movie has the single greatest cinematography I've ever seen in a film. Ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonDJan 5, 2005
This movie was just beautiful. My only regret is that they kept killing the only hot guy. He died, what, five times? Six?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackT.Nov 6, 2004
Surreal and Scenic. A combination of documentary and symbolism in a fabled story. Language added to the realism but missed a little bit (can't wait for the DVD).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyW.Oct 30, 2004
This is one of the most amazing film ever. I can only describe it with one word - Perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WalterG.Aug 27, 2004
One of the smartest movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadHAug 28, 2004
Incredible. The symbolism in this movie is profound. Every scene brings with it a sense of pride, boldness, and underlying theme that ultimately converge. This movie is likened to such masterpieces as Shakespearean tragedies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EstebanC.Jan 6, 2005
Quite weird and confusing plot, but the fantastic play of colors and nature make the movie worthy to watch, especially for people who like eastern filmmaking and asian fighting techniques.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmarTJun 16, 2005
The movie simply blew me away. One of those movies where the ending is soo moving that you are held in a trance even an hour after you've walked out of the cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mshm.Jan 1, 2006
Legendary film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyS.Apr 2, 2006
One of the best movies I've seen. The storyline is more complex than most people may realize.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SuperJewDec 13, 2004
Great movie for the samuri fans. On of the greatest plots and some of the most fasinating fight scenes if you have any patience which i am sorry to say that this "new generation" doesn't (i fell i can say that being one of the new generation).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DuncanJ.Oct 7, 2004
This movie is beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinAug 21, 2004
Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickB.Aug 22, 2004
This movie was made a while back, but wasn't release due to a fear it would be considered a Crouching Tiger rip off. However, it was released over seas so VHS versions are available in many alternative video stores. The movei is This movie was made a while back, but wasn't release due to a fear it would be considered a Crouching Tiger rip off. However, it was released over seas so VHS versions are available in many alternative video stores. The movei is amazing. In many ways, it's better than CTHD. Breath-takingly beautiful, with more complex, thought provoking characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CojackAug 23, 2004
I first saw this movie 3 years ago and I've never gotten bored of it. It is a modern kung-fu movie masterpiece, one that could not have been created in the west. Anyone who considers themselves a fan of the historic martial arts genre I first saw this movie 3 years ago and I've never gotten bored of it. It is a modern kung-fu movie masterpiece, one that could not have been created in the west. Anyone who considers themselves a fan of the historic martial arts genre needs to see this if they haven't already. This film will roxerz your boxers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClaySep 15, 2004
Breathtaking art direction and cinematography. Not the typical kung fu movie and thats a good thing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatFeb 21, 2005
A visually compelling movie with enough thought of substance to be taken seriously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
overfienApr 5, 2005
This movie rocked my socks off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RumanMay 5, 2005
Awesome movie.. Very pleasing on the eyes and the action scenes are also very well filmed. Plot movement is kinda slow but I loved it nevertheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahA.Jan 19, 2006
Hero is something of a revolution in that it stands out from all previous martial art films, as it extends beyond a mere swordplay film to that of a work of art through masterful poetics, philosophy and the magnificent cinematography to Hero is something of a revolution in that it stands out from all previous martial art films, as it extends beyond a mere swordplay film to that of a work of art through masterful poetics, philosophy and the magnificent cinematography to create a near perfect balance between the intense martial art scenes and the elegiac narrative. The visual quality of the fight sequences could even surpass those in the matrix. But ultimately Zhang Yimou uses these effects as play on Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricMar 17, 2006
Why are all the haters calling those who like this factually wrong? It's all based on opinions people, it's subjective. In my opinion Hero was masterfully crafted and touching. Yimou Zhang's directing was flawless, cin, Why are all the haters calling those who like this factually wrong? It's all based on opinions people, it's subjective. In my opinion Hero was masterfully crafted and touching. Yimou Zhang's directing was flawless, cin, flawless, acting solid, plot solid, really a great movie that made me give a damm about it's characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherJ.Mar 20, 2007
A philosophically fascinating film with beautiful action sequences. It asks questions about sovereignty, justice, and love, and then it offers loose answers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
cyrusl.Jun 19, 2008
Great movie. A bit long at times but ogod scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JWOct 15, 2004
I can't believe some idiots gave this show less than an 8. this show is absolutely beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful