User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 58
  2. Negative: 5 out of 58

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2011
    5
    This movie has the makings of a cult classic, but it never really comes together, and it's just flat out bleak, through and through. You certainly never feel like you can root for Hesher (the character played by JGL). But the titles, the sountrack, a few of the set pieces (seeing Hesher climb up the telephone pole to turn on the porno channels for the house he's squatting in; watching him light a diving board on fire so he can act our Metallica's "Jump in the Fire", etc.) are interesting. It seems like they're setting up the film so Hesher will become an unlikely champion for the young kid who is the butt of a bully's ire, but he does nothing but add to the kid's nightmare. Even Natale Portman's character, who initially defends the kid, lets him down. I suppose if you feel a little sadistic, you'll have fun with this one, but it's nothing like The Stoned Age or other "fun" movies it's reminiscent of. Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    I loved it. Joseph Gordon-Levitt did an amazing job in this movie. This was such an interesting,odd, strange,very different film. Devin Brochu(TJ) had some strong acting from such a young kid. I guess you would call this a dark comedy. It's depressing,yet funny just a awesome movie. I'm buying it.
  3. May 17, 2011
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 because it actually deserves a 9.5. ROUND UP! his movie pulls you in. it's excellent. you start off with an ambiguous situation within which dwight(sorry i don't know his name, it's sounds like rain wilson) and that kid just deal with life after tragedy. then arrives hesher. he eventually begins to understands the family. any more would ruin it. see this film. it's really good. also, it's really funny. if you see the point of the movie, which isn't too abstract or difficult, you should love it.

    cheers!
    Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Gordon-Levitt was born to play this role. Hesher is a masterpiece of dysfunction and redemption through fire, drugs, vagina jokesand violence. It is a refreshing left turn from the touchy-feely everything is going to work out motif that seems to be gagging the indie film market.
  5. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    Wow....

    What a hell of a ride. Throughout the whole movie, I'm sitting there trying to figure out the character, "Hesher" and you no what I came up with? Not a damn thing. But maybe that's what makes Hesher so great, what makes him what he is, what makes him so **** interesting. He's unpredictable, you never know what the hell he's going to do next. Played amazingly by Joseph
    Gordon-Levitt, Hesher is one of the most rememberable characters in movie history, by far.

    The movie itself mixes with a dark comedy feel, that can some times become quite strange and depressing. You'll sit there trying to figure out what the moral of this movie is, what message it's trying to get out. This can become hard to understand. But if you sit there and think of it for a while, you might just figure out it's about life, in a very strange, crude, dramatic, depressing, **** up kind of a way.

    "Life is like walking in the rain, you can run and take cover, or you can just get wet." Thumbs up for originality, great performances from all cast members, and one hell of a crazy character that will never leave my mind. And I don't know if that's a good thing or not.
    Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    Hesher is a strange story that only works because of a terrific cast. The story follows a family who is suffering from a tragic loss. A mysterious stranger shows up and takes refuge in their garage and in his own twisted, up way, tries to help. That's what we were told, but I didn't see Hesher as anything more than a nuisance to the them. It's unbelievable that no one would have called the cops on this guy! Anyway, ignoring the weak story and obvious plot holes, this movie was good because of its cast, plain and simple. JGL continues to be the most under-appreciated talent in Hollywood. I guess that's what happens when you start out on a sitcom. Newcomer Devin Brochu in his first major role was amazing as TJ, he's gonna be a big star one day. Even Natalie Portman, who I don't usually like, was great! Hesher isn't the best story ever written, at times it's slow, at others it just doesn't click, but the amazingly talented cast manages to keep your interest and makes this one worth seeing. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    It's certainly not a classic, although it comes pretty damn close to being a cult classic. I really did enjoy this movie, as heavy as the material can be at times. Joseph Gordon Levitt does an amazing job in this role, and fits Hesher perfectly. Obviously when a movie is called Hesher, the entire movie hinges on that character, and Levitt is great. It's just as easy to like Hesher as it is to hate him, and the movie is better for it. There were moments of the movie where you think he may make some sort of cliche turnaround to become a better person, and then he goes right back to his sociopathic ways. There are some genuinely funny moments in this movie, and they're well-timed. However, this is a drama, so don't go into it expecting a comedy. All in all, this is a very unique, strange, and oddball movie. It's well worth seeing it just for the experience of Hesher. Expand
  8. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    I liked it, meanwhile I think a 10-rating is way too much.
    This movie got some very funny scenes and the characters play very well, but the story could be a bit better.
    So if you don't expect too much story from this movie, you'll like it.
  9. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    wow wow wow this movie is great from the beginning this movie grabs you and doesn't let you go this movie combines everything comedy drama action thrills then the top it off with metallica's good old thrash for the soundtrack I was blown away by this movie I didn't expect it to turn out the way it did a must see in my opinion actors did an amazing job showing a side to some of them that I've never seen before all in all an amazing movie I recommend it to all to be on this is probably my new favorite movie Expand
  10. Jan 19, 2013
    4
    A film that seemed to contain a morale deep within. But after all the chaotic events that unfold in the end, it seemed unclear as to who and why the film was made for.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 26
  2. Negative: 7 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jul 15, 2011
    75
    There's meaning, great meaning, in Susser's wonderfully oddball little film.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    May 27, 2011
    58
    The chief thing he (Susser) has going for him is Gordon-Levitt, whose intense immersion in his overwritten character is laudable if the result isn't exactly likeable.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    May 16, 2011
    75
    Bad role models sometimes make the most interesting movie characters. The ill-mannered, unkempt, foulmouthed and hot-tempered title character of Hesher is just such a walking contradiction.