• Studio:
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2013
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jun 5, 2013
    75
    While incapable of comprehensively contextualizing the craze and only somewhat convincing in its portrait of the power of cocktails to reenergize the traditional local-dive scene, the documentary remains a succinct and lively tribute to the art of the drink—not to mention a handy compendium for those seeking a prime NYC joint to quench their thirst.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Jun 6, 2013
    60
    [A] tidy and ingratiating documentary ode to high-end mixologists.
  3. Reviewed by: Diana Clarke
    Jun 5, 2013
    60
    Watching the documentary Hey Bartender is like spending a night at a good bar: It's fun, easygoing, and it lasts just a little longer than it should. And the conversation, while delightful in the moment, often seems banal the next morning.
  4. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Jun 13, 2013
    50
    For all his attention to the exactitude of creating righteous cocktails, Tirola never quite nails a specific structure, focus or theme.
  5. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jun 3, 2013
    50
    Sadly, Douglas Tirola's documentary doesn't follow its subjects' advice regarding the refinement of technique.
  6. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jun 7, 2013
    40
    The film will attract the attention of a public that's increasingly educated about gourmet matters, but leave the most serious viewers unsatisfied. Fatally for a film of this sort, it doesn't leave the viewer wanting a drink.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 4, 2013
    40
    You’re probably better off heading to an actual watering hole than patronizing Douglas Tirola’s humdrum doc on the art of the cocktail.
  8. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Jun 6, 2013
    38
    Here’s a movie that will test the limits of your ability to watch other people having a good time.
  9. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 6, 2013
    20
    Skip the movie and go buy yourself a drink instead.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    Engaging, interesting, and definitely a must watch! I had no idea what I was missing out on. One of the best documentaries I have seen in aEngaging, interesting, and definitely a must watch! I had no idea what I was missing out on. One of the best documentaries I have seen in a while! When you get the chance, watch it! Full Review »