Hick

Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 7 out of 10
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    May 9, 2012
    55
    Walks the jittery line between being exploitative and too sensitive, and while it's probably a relief that it tips more toward the latter, the movie also seems a bit unclear in its motives.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 14, 2012
    50
    One of the most positive comments that can be made about Hick is that it advances Chloe Grace Moretz's claim to be one of the best young actresses emerging into today's spotlight.
  3. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    May 16, 2012
    40
    For a movie that deals with rape, criminality, and even racks up a real body count, Hick is whisper-thin and instantly forgettable.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    May 10, 2012
    30
    Part road movie and part coming-of-age story but mostly plays like some creepy-perv fantasia looking for mileage from the mature-beyond-her-years presence of young star Chloë Grace Moretz.
  5. Reviewed by: Rachel Saltz
    May 10, 2012
    30
    Ms. Portes's script strains credulity, and it's not helped by Mr. Martini, who can't find the right tone.
  6. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    May 11, 2012
    25
    Even an appearance by Alec Baldwin as Moretz's eventual - if highly unlikely - savior isn't enough to keep Hick from leaving a bad taste.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    May 11, 2012
    20
    What is watchable here is made possible by the sheer will of the gifted Moretz, who's in every scene as the precocious Luli.
  8. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    May 8, 2012
    20
    Too odd to be funny, too cold-hearted to be tragic, Hick is an infuriating muddle.
  9. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    May 8, 2012
    12
    It doesn't take long to gather the influences trickling through Derick Martini's Hick, an aimless tumbleweed of a road movie if ever there was one.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    6
    Hick feels at times like a pointless movie that has an Indie vibe to it but the performances by Chloe Grace Moretz, Blake Lively, and EddieHick feels at times like a pointless movie that has an Indie vibe to it but the performances by Chloe Grace Moretz, Blake Lively, and Eddie Redmayne keep you engaged. Moretz is young but she's a star in waiting. She manages to perfectly capture the essence of a teenager and the conflicting emotions you're bombarded with when you feel lost and alone in life. The plot drags but again, the hopelessness of Moretz's situation and how the characters around her are affected and affect the course of actions that play out are enough. Full Review »
  2. Jul 6, 2013
    5
    I first have to say that I have no problems with the performances; everyone did a great job in that department. Throughout the film Luli isI first have to say that I have no problems with the performances; everyone did a great job in that department. Throughout the film Luli is drawing in a sketch book as she narrates and I really liked the simplicity of the drawings. No, what let it down (IMO) was a poorly put together script. They say it’s a bad idea to let the writer of a novel attempt the screenplay and I suspect this is a case in point. It probably works very well as a book, but it really didn’t work on the screen in this form. I like the actors fine but I found little to like in the characters. Our main focus, Luli, has very few redeeming features; she was a victim of circumstance all the way through and I found it quite frustrating to watch I’m afraid. Sadly not one I can recommend.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: NOT RECOMMENDED

    My score: 4.9/10
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    2
    such a bad movie. what is it a comedy, a travel movie, a dark comedy, a roamnce, a drama, a coming or age, it just jumps from one to thesuch a bad movie. what is it a comedy, a travel movie, a dark comedy, a roamnce, a drama, a coming or age, it just jumps from one to the other. the dialogue it just awful and so boring. there is no plot at all, it just kind of drags along. i still don't know what the movie is about. most the performances all seemed phoned it, although i do have to give a little credit to Chloë Grace because i did feel like she was trying , but unfortunately she wasn't. also her character was really poorly written, she kept going back and forth from adult to child. and it was a waste of Alec Baldwin's talent. just a really bad movie. do not see it. Full Review »