Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 7 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    May 9, 2012
    55
    Walks the jittery line between being exploitative and too sensitive, and while it's probably a relief that it tips more toward the latter, the movie also seems a bit unclear in its motives.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 14, 2012
    50
    One of the most positive comments that can be made about Hick is that it advances Chloe Grace Moretz's claim to be one of the best young actresses emerging into today's spotlight.
  3. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    May 16, 2012
    40
    For a movie that deals with rape, criminality, and even racks up a real body count, Hick is whisper-thin and instantly forgettable.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    May 10, 2012
    30
    Part road movie and part coming-of-age story but mostly plays like some creepy-perv fantasia looking for mileage from the mature-beyond-her-years presence of young star Chloƫ Grace Moretz.
  5. Reviewed by: Rachel Saltz
    May 10, 2012
    30
    Ms. Portes's script strains credulity, and it's not helped by Mr. Martini, who can't find the right tone.
  6. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    May 11, 2012
    25
    Even an appearance by Alec Baldwin as Moretz's eventual - if highly unlikely - savior isn't enough to keep Hick from leaving a bad taste.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    May 11, 2012
    20
    What is watchable here is made possible by the sheer will of the gifted Moretz, who's in every scene as the precocious Luli.
  8. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    May 8, 2012
    20
    Too odd to be funny, too cold-hearted to be tragic, Hick is an infuriating muddle.
  9. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    May 8, 2012
    12
    It doesn't take long to gather the influences trickling through Derick Martini's Hick, an aimless tumbleweed of a road movie if ever there was one.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    I don't understand why the movie has so many bad critics as I found the movie very interesting and didn't want it to end. I would have watchedI don't understand why the movie has so many bad critics as I found the movie very interesting and didn't want it to end. I would have watched it again for sure. I think it was a nice story and sometimes took one by surprise. Full Review »
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    7
    Chloe was awesome in this film. I cant believe that the critics don't like this movie. there is nothing wrong with it the storyline is good,Chloe was awesome in this film. I cant believe that the critics don't like this movie. there is nothing wrong with it the storyline is good, the acting is great, and it is fun to watch. this movie is awesome. Full Review »
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    6
    Hick feels at times like a pointless movie that has an Indie vibe to it but the performances by Chloe Grace Moretz, Blake Lively, and EddieHick feels at times like a pointless movie that has an Indie vibe to it but the performances by Chloe Grace Moretz, Blake Lively, and Eddie Redmayne keep you engaged. Moretz is young but she's a star in waiting. She manages to perfectly capture the essence of a teenager and the conflicting emotions you're bombarded with when you feel lost and alone in life. The plot drags but again, the hopelessness of Moretz's situation and how the characters around her are affected and affect the course of actions that play out are enough. Full Review »