Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Hit and Run is the story of Charlie Bronson, a nice guy with a questionable past who risks everything when he busts out of the witness protection program to deliver his fiancé to Los Angeles to seize a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Their road trip grows awkwardly complicated, when they are chased by the feds … and increasingly dangerous, when Charlie's former pals, a band of gangsters, enter the fray. (Open Road Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 22, 2012
    88
    There's a lot of funny stuff, but the most unexpected comes from Arnold, who has been uneven, to say the least, in his movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 21, 2012
    75
    This fun-loving genre-bender, inspired by "Smokey and the Bandit," opens languidly, then picks up the pace. Even in the midst of cars racing, it's funny and endearing.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Aug 20, 2012
    70
    Above all, real-life couple Shepard and Bell bring genuine chemistry to this high-energy excursion.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Aug 22, 2012
    58
    There really ought to be a lot more movies like Hit & Run, but only if they're just a little bit better.
  5. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Aug 22, 2012
    50
    What dooms Hit and Run, which, charitably, is not as generic as it's name implies, is that the film itself comments on its own sincerity.
  6. Reviewed by: Anika Chapin
    Aug 22, 2012
    45
    One senses that the movie doesn't quite have the chutzpah to be what it wants to be - a "Fast and Furious"-like sequence of balletic car chases - so it periodically halts to wedge in some romance.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Aug 21, 2012
    20
    Interminable scenes of macho posturing and mock-Tarantino dialogue (including a lengthy dissection of the word fags!) mark time between a number of ineptly staged car chases that would embarrass the makers of "Cannonball Run II."

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    Clever, funny action packed realistic romance and great chemistry between the leads. Really what more do you want? The dialogue is great especially in the first third of the movie then the action takes over. Highly recommended. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Bell and Shepard are a real life couple and it's plenty obvious. They have great chemistry here in a very funny movie. Watch out for Tom Arnold as well. He's hilarious in this. Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    I think this movie works. There is good chemistry between the two leads, the story is plausible, and the supporting cast is good. The car chases are very good. good mix of funny and action sequences, more like Beverly Hills Cop, or 48 Hours. Don't listen to the reviews. Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2013
    5
    I thought Shepard was a pretty solid lead with Bell playing back up. The rest of the cast was solid but it was Cooper who really stole the show, He was awesome in this movie and his character seriously need more screen time then what he had gotten. The racing scenes were ok, Nothing really special about them but at least they were bareable ya know. The plot was ok but it's rather generic when compared to pretty much any other action film ever made.

    Overall, It really wasn't that bad of a movie. I wouldn't go as far to say that I liked it but at least it was watchable.
    Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    It's essential that you like Dax Shepard and Kristen Bell before you even consider seeing this film. If you do, and if you keep your expectations at a modest level, it's actually pretty fun. There's just not much to it. Tom Arnold really steals the show, as he does with most movies he's in (see: True Lies). Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2012
    2
    This movie is just plain dumb. I know they are all friends and made it to have fun, but they could have made a decent product. Anything remotely funny is in the trailers, and the rest of the movie is filled with racist and homophobic slurs. I'm an 18 year old college male and even I was offended and just bored. Skip it. In fact, RUN away (see what I did there? Cuz of the title...) Collapse
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I never thought I would give a movie a zero, but this stink bomb will be my first. The dialogue in this movie consisted of a bunch of race and gay jokes that missed the mark horribly. I don't mind controversial dialogue or comedy if done right, but these jokes come off as just mean. From the scene about jail rape where Dax Shephard goes through all the races to find the rapists nationality to putting a dog collar on a black man and treating him like a dog because he buys the wrong dog food this film sucks. I didn't care about any of the characters and to compare this to Tarantino like dialogue maybe the biggest joke in this movie. This is the worst movie of 2012. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers