Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: November 23, 2012
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 114 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
71
Mixed:
37
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BroyaxJan 11, 2017
Pourquoi un film sur Hitchcock au fait ? j'aurais plutôt visé Kubrick à leur place. Il s'agit d'un réalisateur très surestimé qui a toujours orbité autour d'une certaine médiocrité : le roi des collages, du tournage en studio, des éclairagesPourquoi un film sur Hitchcock au fait ? j'aurais plutôt visé Kubrick à leur place. Il s'agit d'un réalisateur très surestimé qui a toujours orbité autour d'une certaine médiocrité : le roi des collages, du tournage en studio, des éclairages à 3000 watts, des bavardages sans fin, d'une mise en scène lente et apathique avec ici et là quelques tics qui sont censés faire "peur"... la belle affaire !

Il n'était clairement pas doué et le film met en lumière assez bien cet aspect : si sa femme Alma n'intervenait pas sur tous les plans sur tous ses films, on en aurait jamais entendu parler. Sauf que même avec Alma, on ne peut pas dire que cela ait suffi à métamorphoser ses citrouilles en carrosses.

Mais qu'importe après tout s'il s'agit d'un film sur un tocard même si cela déteint forcément sur cette monographie bon enfant avec en premier lieu ce grimage très exagéré d'Anthony Hopkins qui surjoue ce clown plus faux que nature. Heureusement, Helen Mirren donne un peu de consistance à Alma, sa muse de tous les instants.

L'autre rare qualité qu'il faut reconnaître au film concerne la censure de l'époque qui nous apparaît complètement délirante dans sa paranoïa de tous les instants et en même temps adéquate lorsqu'on entend les spectateurs crier d'effroi dans la salle devant ce Psychose : les Américains étaient donc de vrais Bisounours ! c'est sans doute ça, le plus effrayant dans toute cette histoire ridicule.

Le film Hitchcock a ce côté dérisoire d'un temps désuet, inintéressant et compassé, certes gentillet mais incroyablement neuneu dans son ensemble. A moins d'être un fanatique invétéré du réalisateur bien sûr. Et encore.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Jan 15, 2016
The Cook/Reville subplot is pretty standard stuff, so the movie is pretty lopsided, but the behind-the-scenes stuff surrounding Psycho is very compelling, even if it's not 100 percent true.

Watch it here
The Cook/Reville subplot is pretty standard stuff, so the movie is pretty lopsided, but the behind-the-scenes stuff surrounding Psycho is very compelling, even if it's not 100 percent true.

Watch it here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-160fbb-Hitchcock-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
An interesting take on the creation of an American classic. Although, the film lacks a certain niche which made Hitchcock films so powerful. Nevertheless, Helen Mirren and Anthony Hopkins' performances are able to elevate the film to a higher level.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
B-RAXJul 1, 2014
Creepiness not only shows up in Hitchcock’s films, but it is intertwined in his life. The movie follows the making of perhaps Hitchcock's best film, Psycho. It also delves into Hitchcock’s personal life, dealing with his wife and theirCreepiness not only shows up in Hitchcock’s films, but it is intertwined in his life. The movie follows the making of perhaps Hitchcock's best film, Psycho. It also delves into Hitchcock’s personal life, dealing with his wife and their partnership with making movies. In my opinion the best part of the film is the behind the scenes glimpse we get to see of how Psycho was made. The recreated time period was handled well, making the viewer feel immersed. The plot veered from showing the actual making of Psycho more than I would have liked. Instead of focusing on the behind the scenes element, which I considered more entertaining, they focused more on the relationship between Mr. and Mrs. Hitchcock. Not that this was a bad thing for the film but it was not the most entertaining route. The two leads had great chemistry and were fun to watch play believable roles. The cinematography was clever and editing ran smoothly. Acting was well executed, with great performances from Anthony Hopkins, Helen Mirren and Scarlett Johansson. The film was an informational adventure that motivated me to watch more Hitchcock films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMay 11, 2014
As watching a movie about Alfred Hitchcock's Ideas and how he brought pyscho to the movie theatres and how he sees his ideas on the picture . Anthony hopkins is great at playing Hitchcock and so as Helen Mirren as the supporting , JealousAs watching a movie about Alfred Hitchcock's Ideas and how he brought pyscho to the movie theatres and how he sees his ideas on the picture . Anthony hopkins is great at playing Hitchcock and so as Helen Mirren as the supporting , Jealous wife . This movie is amazing and a good movie . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TokyochuchuMay 4, 2014
Hitchcock is a fine Sunday afternoon drama. The cast does an admirable job and the film skips along breezily. But don't look for depth here though. Hitchcock is a bit short on that.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
xwolfstellerFeb 3, 2014
I took me a while to get to watch the movie due to its mixed reviews but when I did I enjoyed every minute of it. With solid performances and entertaining dialogs it captivates the audience within the first few minutes. And it gives a greatI took me a while to get to watch the movie due to its mixed reviews but when I did I enjoyed every minute of it. With solid performances and entertaining dialogs it captivates the audience within the first few minutes. And it gives a great and interesting view into the making of psycho. I recommend it strongly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StevenFSep 25, 2013
There are various names thrown into the mix when the notion of inspirational and pivotal players in the world of filmmaking, but none ring quite as frequently as Alfred a man quite like no other, much like his films, but here, we have aThere are various names thrown into the mix when the notion of inspirational and pivotal players in the world of filmmaking, but none ring quite as frequently as Alfred a man quite like no other, much like his films, but here, we have a small insight into the man who was always watching. Anthony Hopkins portrays the esteemed man behind such films as "North by Northwest" and "Psycho", the latter being the film for which this biopic is set around. But the film isn't so much a life story, but more a love story and relationship study between "Hitch" and his doting wife, Alma (Helen Mirren), a woman who has all the skills to last on her own, but follows her husband wherever he may go, she writes and helps him on his way to stardom, but he felt he had to change, he wasn't getting any younger and Hitch himself wanted to show his ability to be diverse. Hopkins plays a man who seems to be aware of everything around him, he knew what needed to be done to give a film that unique edge, Hopkins excellently shows an outcast in someone with an unorthodox technique, but one which works. But the film focuses too much on the marriage of Hitch and Alma, while intriguing and well fitted, not enough time is given to the making of Psycho, this would have certainly been more logical considering the controversial nature of the film and the amount of coverage it received upon its release. This aside, the sublime performances of Hopkins and Mirren are enough to see this film, Hopkins commands the screen and works fluently with a darkly humoured script, while Mirren is an independent yet loving wife to a legend, but also struggles with her own identity and finds solace in the innocent company of Whitfield Cook (Danny Huston) while Hitch continues to show admiration for leading ladies Janet Leigh (Scarlett Johansson) and Vera Miles (Jessica Biel), not major roles the film, nor do they look much like the originals, but great performances soon fix that. The ensemble of fine performances are definitely worth applauding, with a strong script and unique direction to accompany this riveting film, it could have chose a better path, but still fires strong on all cylinders to outline an iconic man, or more so, an iconic couple who changed the landscape of what it means to scare people, looking for that perfect factor, she wrote it, he showed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 17, 2013
As lightweight and featherlike a it is, is still a good film. Anthony Hopkins does portray the master of suspense pretty well, and Helen Mirren is likable in her role. The film is smooth for the most part, but drags a little bit. It could'veAs lightweight and featherlike a it is, is still a good film. Anthony Hopkins does portray the master of suspense pretty well, and Helen Mirren is likable in her role. The film is smooth for the most part, but drags a little bit. It could've been better, yes, but it still was acceptable nonetheless. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 25, 2013
Personally, I hate biographies, I watched because I wanted to know more about Alfred and his masterpieces, how he does it? I learned a lot about him, he was crazy about Psycho. As a movie it is entertaining and funny, and what makes itPersonally, I hate biographies, I watched because I wanted to know more about Alfred and his masterpieces, how he does it? I learned a lot about him, he was crazy about Psycho. As a movie it is entertaining and funny, and what makes it perfect, is the acting, Mirren and Hopkins are wonderful, with some great chemistry between them. I loved it is by far, one of the greatest biographies ever told, and it is one excellent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBayazeedMay 5, 2013
A good bio that doesn't bore the hell out of you, not it is funny and keeps you interesting the whole watch and it is appropriate for all ages to get to know one of the greatest directors of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lasttimeisawMay 3, 2013
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MavisGary610Apr 16, 2013
It's a simple film, and not the definitive biopic that one might have expected. However, Hopkins and Mirren are so good, that its flaws are easy to overlook. It's a love story that tries to look into the mind of a mad genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ArchleachMar 19, 2013
Awesome performances by the cast overall. This is a decent movie just a tad shallow. Nothing new came from watching it, we all know Hitch was crazy, we all know he was weird with his leading ladies... so what? I didn't come away from theAwesome performances by the cast overall. This is a decent movie just a tad shallow. Nothing new came from watching it, we all know Hitch was crazy, we all know he was weird with his leading ladies... so what? I didn't come away from the picture with any better understanding for Hitch the man. Honestly your time is probably better spent watching some great films. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonFeb 18, 2013
As he used to say- murder has come home, where it belongs" Alfred's Psycho was one of the best movies ever made and This movie tells us how Alfred actually made the movie. Now Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren were great in this film,As he used to say- murder has come home, where it belongs" Alfred's Psycho was one of the best movies ever made and This movie tells us how Alfred actually made the movie. Now Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren were great in this film, Scarlet was good and others were nice too. The main thing I liked about this movie is that it has Details, details that good films need but they don't have! This Overall documentary is very good, not the fact that it has good cast and direction but the fact that its a meaningful movie! Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
foxgroveFeb 8, 2013
Comparisons with 'The Girl' are inevitable, but whilst this isn't as good, it certainly paints in a rather better light. On the whole this is an entertaining and fairly lightweight concoction, performed to perfection. Anthony Hopkins is muchComparisons with 'The Girl' are inevitable, but whilst this isn't as good, it certainly paints in a rather better light. On the whole this is an entertaining and fairly lightweight concoction, performed to perfection. Anthony Hopkins is much better in the role of the famous director than I had been led to believe and Helen Mirren turns in her usual high calibre performance as his wife Alma Reville, the backbone behind the man. The main fun with the film is watching well known actors play other well known personalities. Aside from the two leads, Scarlett Johannson registers well as Janet Leigh, and in a very small role James D'arcy absolutely nails Anthony Perkins displaying all that actors nervous tics and hesitancy. His is a performance I would like to have seen more of. Recreations of the making of Psycho are great and the film generally entertains without displaying any of the heavy drama that made 'The Girl' so compelling. There are merits to each film and both present in a slightly different way. The truth is probably somewhere in between. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrandonBonaseraFeb 7, 2013
has great cinematography, a great sense of humour and spot on acting from the cast. Though my only problems with the film were that at times it felt tonally confused and there could have been more about Psycho presented in the film, also has great cinematography, a great sense of humour and spot on acting from the cast. Though my only problems with the film were that at times it felt tonally confused and there could have been more about Psycho presented in the film, also some parts felt a bit rushed and they could have shown more of them. In the end, is a fun, though flawed, biopic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mmweissJan 26, 2013
**** is a decent film. Sometimes good, but sometimes not really interesting. When the film focuses on the casting for psycho or the problems in the set, Sasha Gervasi's film is entertaining, but halfway through the film, it goes in another**** is a decent film. Sometimes good, but sometimes not really interesting. When the film focuses on the casting for psycho or the problems in the set, Sasha Gervasi's film is entertaining, but halfway through the film, it goes in another direction, the movie starts to follow ****'s wife, Alma, and goes to a silly place. Also, there are so many good misused actors, like Jessica Biel (what was the point of her character?) and James Darcy. At the end, **** is worth seeing for Anthony Hopkins's performance. Wait for the dvd. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryJan 20, 2013
**** stars Anthony Hopkins, Helen Mirren, Scarlett Johannson and Danny Huston in what basically is the story of the making of the movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tara61Jan 20, 2013
Above all this is a polite movie. After the closing lines I had a feeling that everything was left on the surface, like that the director was afraid or too well mannered to dig beneath, I'm referring, among other things, to the fight betweenAbove all this is a polite movie. After the closing lines I had a feeling that everything was left on the surface, like that the director was afraid or too well mannered to dig beneath, I'm referring, among other things, to the fight between **** and Alma which lacks emotions. And I was not convinced at all about H. fascination with his leading ladies. This is mentioned throughout the movie, but I was not convinced (that is the movie did not convince me, the real life and true H. is something else). The cast is superb, as one can only expect from Mirren and Hopkins. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Nesbitt10Jan 13, 2013
Sacha Gervasi's "Hitchcock" title comes off a bit misleading, suggesting that the film to be a definitive biopic; an extensive, in-depth look into the life and career of the of one of the finest directors ever. However, the movie is reallySacha Gervasi's "Hitchcock" title comes off a bit misleading, suggesting that the film to be a definitive biopic; an extensive, in-depth look into the life and career of the of one of the finest directors ever. However, the movie is really just a dramatization of the making of Hitchcock's "Psycho," where in historical facts are accompanied by embellishments and simplifications that serve to add humor and conflict. "Hitchcock" centers on the relationship between director Alfred Hitchcock (Anthony Hopkins) and his wife Alma Reville (Helen Mirren) during the making of Psycho, a controversial horror film that subsequently became one of the most acclaimed and influential works in the filmmaker's career.
Anthony Hopkins is superb the title role, fitted with impeccable makeup and prosthetics, and Mirren is equally as impressive. This makes for a reasonably enjoyable watch for the audience, but viewers are unlikely to learn anything new of consequence about the Master of Suspense. I wouldn't suggest that you spend $10 on a ticket for this one, but a fine film to rent in a couple of months.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
lahaine2012Jan 6, 2013
I just saw this film and it was quite a lightweight. Anthony Hopkins, donning a lot of makeup that makes him look nothing like Alfred Hitch, reads his way through a weak script that attempts to chronicle the master filmmaker's struggle inI just saw this film and it was quite a lightweight. Anthony Hopkins, donning a lot of makeup that makes him look nothing like Alfred Hitch, reads his way through a weak script that attempts to chronicle the master filmmaker's struggle in making his classic film, Psycho. This movie isn't short on simplicity, but its definitely short on depth. It narrows this mystic, yet legendary filmmaker, down to a caricature and presents all his genuine human and creative struggles in a farcical manner. I was not a fan of that approach and the movie's tonal inconsistencies were also a bothersome thing of note, that's sure to give audiences a puzzling viewing experience. I wouldn't consider this film offensive to Hitch by any means, I just felt it lacked some incite. We didn't truly learn much about the man, by the film's end. While James D'Arcy and Scarlett Johansson excel in their respective roles, those were only small things to appreciate in this relatively poor film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
analogkid280Dec 30, 2012
What a wonderful movie! It may be rewriting history but it does it in such a beautiful way. If I was A.H. then I would have a thing for blondes too...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
sam1829Dec 26, 2012
**** is easily one of the best films of the year. Hopkins and Mirren's performances were superb. If you pay any attention to the trailer you will know what it is about. A must see film of the year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
amboyDec 25, 2012
Anyone who can resist Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren at the top of their form is a better man than I. There are subplots during which the film tends to lose impact and focus, but it's not long before Hopkins and Mirren resume their masterAnyone who can resist Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren at the top of their form is a better man than I. There are subplots during which the film tends to lose impact and focus, but it's not long before Hopkins and Mirren resume their master class in screen acting. Their eyes convey more than speech. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryDec 19, 2012
Anthony Hopkins puts on a fat suit and lots of makeup to play the famous director, while Helen Mirren just wears glasses in the role of his wife. The story starts as he comes off the success of "North by Northwest" and is searching for a newAnthony Hopkins puts on a fat suit and lots of makeup to play the famous director, while Helen Mirren just wears glasses in the role of his wife. The story starts as he comes off the success of "North by Northwest" and is searching for a new project to inspire him and prove that he's still got it. That project is "Psycho" and the challenges of making it and the relationship with his wife take up the rest of the film. As any fan knows, **** dry, dark humor was his most enjoyable asset and this film gives us plenty to laugh about. His obsessions are also explored, but never too darkly. As expected, the performances are solid. The costumes and art direction recreate the period attractively. While the film has a glossy, surface feel, it's still enjoyable entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GreatMartinDec 10, 2012
As fine an actor as Anthony Hopkins is he gets wiped off the screen, as everyone else does, when Helen Mirren appears in the new film **** There is a 2 minute scene near the latter part of the film when Mirren, (as Alma Reville, **** wife)As fine an actor as Anthony Hopkins is he gets wiped off the screen, as everyone else does, when Helen Mirren appears in the new film **** There is a 2 minute scene near the latter part of the film when Mirren, (as Alma Reville, **** wife) that is mesmerizing and screams Oscar. Right now the two best actresses in the cinema world are Judi Dench and Helen Mirren and they are both on movie screens for the holiday with Dench in Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
anothercoolguyDec 4, 2012
Great acting by Mirren and Hopkins .
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
PaganostaghettiNov 30, 2012
The legacy of Alfred **** lives on in his wide assortment of suspense films, some of which took their time to become classics, and others that became instant hits upon release. Psycho was one of his films that received mixed reviewsThe legacy of Alfred **** lives on in his wide assortment of suspense films, some of which took their time to become classics, and others that became instant hits upon release. Psycho was one of his films that received mixed reviews critically, yet was adored by audiences, becoming a box office success for **** and ultimately maintaining itself as the highest grossing film of his career. The production on the film has been noteworthy for several reasons, such as the lack of studio support from Paramount, a change of style for ****, and battles with the Motion Picture Production Code. In ****, all of this is addressed and then this biopic of the master of suspense becomes a film trying to walk the line between fact and fiction. The world is introduced to a peeping tom, always watching everything, obsessed with blondes, worried about how his film is received, and married to Alma Reville (Helen Mirren) who acts more as a mother figure than anything else. Acting aside, the movie has but a few mere moments of entertainment before it slouches back into its attempt to craft a fictional life behind one of the greatest directors of all time, in an extremely boring fashion. Check out the rest of the review at http://independentcinema.wordpress.com/2012/12/01/****-was-apparently-a-perverted-worrisome-mamas-boy/ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
dante_finnNov 25, 2012
Broadly enjoyable pop art bio pic.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
MarcDoyleNov 23, 2012
It's a decent film, but there's just not a whole lot to it. If you're a fan of Psycho, specifically, it gives you a nice window into the financial making of the film. But the movie feels like it just scratches the surface of the trulyIt's a decent film, but there's just not a whole lot to it. If you're a fan of Psycho, specifically, it gives you a nice window into the financial making of the film. But the movie feels like it just scratches the surface of the truly interesting aspects of the filmmaker's life and career. Mirren is solid, as usual, but it feels like the range of her talents are a bit wasted. Hopkins (with his make-up artist) truly transforms himself (the actor) into larger than life director. It seems to me like the script could have been a touch more ambitious. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews