Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 21, 2007
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 256 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
142
Mixed:
62
Negative:
52
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
PsionTheoryNov 21, 2007
The worst movie I've seen this year, dont waste your money. Comes off like an extremely cheap borne idendity knock off.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JonasH.Jun 11, 2008
I have played every Hitman game and loved every one, and I must admit: This movie has the shell. The agent's name is 47, he's brought up in a facility and he's a hitman. The problem is, that it doesn't vaguely capture the I have played every Hitman game and loved every one, and I must admit: This movie has the shell. The agent's name is 47, he's brought up in a facility and he's a hitman. The problem is, that it doesn't vaguely capture the spirit, or the core, of the Hitman games. What seems the most misplaced is the pseudo-romantic little-boyish interaction between 47 and the Russian girl. In some ways the movie could have been rated as a passable action movie, but truth be told, IO-Interactive's directors and designers did a far better job on the story-telling and entertainment value. This is not good when comparing a movie to a game. So, basically the movie is an empty shell, which in no way has earned its title. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
DrAwesomeONov 25, 2012
sh*ts on the games. literally ruined american cinema as we know it today. my life will never be the same. asdfghjklkjhgfdsasdfghjklkjhgfdsaSDFGHJKLKJHGFDSASDFGHJKLKJH
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
GeorgeC.Nov 24, 2007
Not well advertised, I saw some of the posters, but they never gave much of this movie's detail and story in depth. Just a guy with a gun, it supposedly is a good action movie, I enjoyed it. But once i considered these reviews, Not well advertised, I saw some of the posters, but they never gave much of this movie's detail and story in depth. Just a guy with a gun, it supposedly is a good action movie, I enjoyed it. But once i considered these reviews, 34/100!!! I started to agree in a way, but the story was good, action was good, but I think the main critical saying is that the acting sucked. Like you have to agree, they write a good script, direct it on stage, film it with a camera and get it over with. But the acting truly sucked, the genre was good, but this movie is a letdown, the acting affected the power of the script and direction, the good screenplay is wasted. Overall a low budget crap show. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
GabrielM.Mar 5, 2008
This is a joke for the fans of the game, the main story is pathetic and if you played any of the games you will not see nothing like that. Many scenes are dumb, like the fight scenes. Timothy Olyphant doesn't fit the character of This is a joke for the fans of the game, the main story is pathetic and if you played any of the games you will not see nothing like that. Many scenes are dumb, like the fight scenes. Timothy Olyphant doesn't fit the character of hitman, and not even close because hitman is a cold character. I think this movie is very bad executed, the writers have to play the game a little to understand the concept of the character and the things he do. I think the best of the movie is Olga Kurylenko and her beauty but thats all. Its really a shame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TeopNov 23, 2007
Bad actors, worse scenario and not enough good-looking action-scenes. I would better rewatch The Bourne Identity once more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DalePNov 29, 2007
I knew the movie was bad before I saw it so I went in not expecting much. But i really wasn't prepared for the cheesy borefest that I was subjected to. The scene where bar-code baldy faces four assasins is really is really a case in I knew the movie was bad before I saw it so I went in not expecting much. But i really wasn't prepared for the cheesy borefest that I was subjected to. The scene where bar-code baldy faces four assasins is really is really a case in point, irt was so bad that it was no longer funny, "Let me die in dignity" ha ha ha!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
dddboyApr 20, 2008
A message to the director and producers: Russia does not border Turkey, and Interpol is based in Lyon, France not London, England. I know the teenage boys who liked this movie don't care about factual geography, but it's unfair to A message to the director and producers: Russia does not border Turkey, and Interpol is based in Lyon, France not London, England. I know the teenage boys who liked this movie don't care about factual geography, but it's unfair to dumb down a movie that's already dumb. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PfillipT.Nov 26, 2007
So, 47 is ordained by god and kills for charity? Makes perfect sense to me. Producers ruined this before it even got greenlit. As a standalone action flick, it's not too bad, but it does a worse job of matching the game series than the So, 47 is ordained by god and kills for charity? Makes perfect sense to me. Producers ruined this before it even got greenlit. As a standalone action flick, it's not too bad, but it does a worse job of matching the game series than the Resident Evil movies. And you people complain about Uwe Boll!? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MasonHNov 28, 2007
Loved the games, hated the movie. Timothy Olyphant is the most unconvincing assasin/badass they could of chosen. Aside fromt he bad acting, the constant jumping around with the plot was rediculous. I was not entertained by the action even in Loved the games, hated the movie. Timothy Olyphant is the most unconvincing assasin/badass they could of chosen. Aside fromt he bad acting, the constant jumping around with the plot was rediculous. I was not entertained by the action even in the slightest bit, and the bad guys in futurisitc metal armor from head to toe not only looked rediculous, but seeing them all die from one bullet was flat out dumb. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AmishP.Dec 2, 2007
Unsuprisingly I knew I wouldn't like the movie judging by the trailer alone. For all of you fans of the game out there, you know very well that hitman is a silent assassin; this means he doesn't blow his cover, nobody sees him, Unsuprisingly I knew I wouldn't like the movie judging by the trailer alone. For all of you fans of the game out there, you know very well that hitman is a silent assassin; this means he doesn't blow his cover, nobody sees him, uses guns as a last resort. The movie looks more like a die hard movie with 47 firing through the whole room, taking down armoured personel with a handgun and dodging the hundreds coming at him... And Timothy lacks the style of the character. Let me put this straight, the beauty in the hitman series is that nobody knows who he is; he's a legend. He has a mission, he goes in, comes out, the target is eliminated and the mission is complete, leaving everybody scared as they have no idea who did it. He's a ghost and you can't shoot what you can't see. That's the true essence of hitman and that's what it lacked together with a james bond style. They might as well have named the movie "Shoot & Run". Hopefully we still have the game. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
avatar16Dec 29, 2011
Moi qui pensais que Resident Evil était l'adaptation la moins fidèle du jeu vidéo dont elle est tirée... Je n'avais pas vu Hitman... Bon, je l'accorde, ce dernier est bien meilleur queMoi qui pensais que Resident Evil était l'adaptation la moins fidèle du jeu vidéo dont elle est tirée... Je n'avais pas vu Hitman... Bon, je l'accorde, ce dernier est bien meilleur que Afterlife. Mais franchement, comment peut-on oser proposer une adaptation à mille lieues de l'oeuvre originale, sans avoir peur de mettre en colère les nombreux adeptes du jeu? Car le film de Xavier Gens n'a rien d'un Hitman : meurtres barbares, shooter movie, fusillades à gogo... alors que le tueur agit normalement avec la plus grande discrétion... A la place, nous avons un navet sans âme, ni scénario, ni bons acteurs, ni intérêt, comme Luc Besson sait si bien produire. Il reste à ce Hitman de quoi se divertir pendant 1h30, mais c'est loin d'être suffisant pour être à la hauteur d'un Transporteur, qui avait le mérite de proposer des séquences d'action très efficaces sans être limité par son statut (en tant que film unique et non une adaptation). Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
oliver1hApr 26, 2013
Not good at all. Firstly it is nothing like the video games (well I had to mention this, because after all it is supposed to be a Hitman movie), it just using the name to generate more sales. Secondly this film is just a generic action movie,Not good at all. Firstly it is nothing like the video games (well I had to mention this, because after all it is supposed to be a Hitman movie), it just using the name to generate more sales. Secondly this film is just a generic action movie, with no character depth or development. After the first 20 minutes you have seen it all, the director will just repeat the same things until the last frames. Not even the action scenes are anything good. Mr. Timothy Olyphant is not a bad actor, but this role did not really suit him. Not recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SeriosityMar 22, 2013
An inane, poorly crafted, and ultimately uninteresting film. Pretty trashy even by video game movie standards. Goes without saying that its relationship with the video game series is entirely superficial.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Akshay7Jan 1, 2014
Flopman..

Hitman tries to give a suspenseful narrative style but bored the hell out of me. Few action sequences were enjoyable but just at par but apart from that it falls flat. Performances were poor to average and the bad script and
Flopman..

Hitman tries to give a suspenseful narrative style but bored the hell out of me. Few action sequences were enjoyable but just at par but apart from that it falls flat. Performances were poor to average and the bad script and dialogues made this movie based on video game(never heard about it until I saw the movie) even worse. The story of a assassin who looked like computer programmed robot(that’s how he was supposed to be though..ugh) drawn into political conspiracy did not generate much interest either. Overall Hitman may please a few people who like such game-based action flicks but in general it’s unlikely this movie will impress someone at random with high chances it may frustrate more often.
Personally I hated this movie badly but I won’t say everyone will hate this.
Hitman was a flop for me.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews