Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 21, 2007
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 249 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
140
Mixed:
59
Negative:
50
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
PsionTheoryNov 21, 2007
The worst movie I've seen this year, dont waste your money. Comes off like an extremely cheap borne idendity knock off.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BillW.Mar 29, 2008
Best action movie i have seen in a while.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JG.Nov 28, 2007
I'm also not sure why people are slamming this so badly... it seems like people are quick to judge it because it's based on a video game. It felt very much like a French Action movie to me... which is a good thing. I enjoyed it I'm also not sure why people are slamming this so badly... it seems like people are quick to judge it because it's based on a video game. It felt very much like a French Action movie to me... which is a good thing. I enjoyed it overall but, there were a few things I would have changed Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JonasH.Jun 11, 2008
I have played every Hitman game and loved every one, and I must admit: This movie has the shell. The agent's name is 47, he's brought up in a facility and he's a hitman. The problem is, that it doesn't vaguely capture the I have played every Hitman game and loved every one, and I must admit: This movie has the shell. The agent's name is 47, he's brought up in a facility and he's a hitman. The problem is, that it doesn't vaguely capture the spirit, or the core, of the Hitman games. What seems the most misplaced is the pseudo-romantic little-boyish interaction between 47 and the Russian girl. In some ways the movie could have been rated as a passable action movie, but truth be told, IO-Interactive's directors and designers did a far better job on the story-telling and entertainment value. This is not good when comparing a movie to a game. So, basically the movie is an empty shell, which in no way has earned its title. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 30, 2011
"Hitman", despite its frantic pace with monotonous dialogue added in, is a great counterexample of "game-based movies suck". Its a film that you will enjoy.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It has a few eye-catching set pieces, but this video game adaptation takes more pleasure in cliche than actually crafting a worthwhile story.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
DrAwesomeONov 25, 2012
sh*ts on the games. literally ruined american cinema as we know it today. my life will never be the same. asdfghjklkjhgfdsasdfghjklkjhgfdsaSDFGHJKLKJHGFDSASDFGHJKLKJH
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Agent47HowellMar 26, 2008
i own hte movie and i think it is the best!! Timothy Olyphant did a great job portraying Agent 47. i even fing Timothy Olyphant very sexy with a gun....im a girl and i have my opinions!
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
DanishA.Mar 20, 2008
This movie was great! Ignore all the people that gave a bad rating for this. This movie has great action and a good story. More different than the video game but still awesome!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GeorgeC.Nov 24, 2007
Not well advertised, I saw some of the posters, but they never gave much of this movie's detail and story in depth. Just a guy with a gun, it supposedly is a good action movie, I enjoyed it. But once i considered these reviews, Not well advertised, I saw some of the posters, but they never gave much of this movie's detail and story in depth. Just a guy with a gun, it supposedly is a good action movie, I enjoyed it. But once i considered these reviews, 34/100!!! I started to agree in a way, but the story was good, action was good, but I think the main critical saying is that the acting sucked. Like you have to agree, they write a good script, direct it on stage, film it with a camera and get it over with. But the acting truly sucked, the genre was good, but this movie is a letdown, the acting affected the power of the script and direction, the good screenplay is wasted. Overall a low budget crap show. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
TheQuietGamerSep 11, 2012
Not the worst video game movie I've ever seen, but still a pretty horrible one. I've never played a game in the Hitman series so I can't compare it to them. The action is mildly entertaining, but the gore is to fake to be believable and justNot the worst video game movie I've ever seen, but still a pretty horrible one. I've never played a game in the Hitman series so I can't compare it to them. The action is mildly entertaining, but the gore is to fake to be believable and just seems to be in it for the sake of having it. The script is a series of predictable moments that you've seen happen a million times in other movies. The acting and characters are awful, and timothy olyphant makes for one of the worst main characters of all time, but that may just be do to the writing, he has no personality and constantly has the stupidest look on his face at all times. This movie sucks, it's almost bad as the Uwe Boll video game movies. Don't watch this crappy movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
jAbMaNMar 2, 2011
This movie is awesome and has great action. Great acting by Timothy Olyphant and he's great in Justified too. The critics always get negative on movie that were based on video games anyway so screw the critics.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
hagbardcelineMay 11, 2011
Easily one of the most underrated game adaptations. The action sequences are solid (accept the cheesy 4 man hitman fight that was added later by another director â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TECfilmsNov 16, 2012
Bloody, action packed but never stupid. An exiting plot that doesn't have to hide from a Bourne story, Timothy Olyphant and Dougray Scott as hero and antihero or the other way round, you feel with both. Not for the faint-hearted, butBloody, action packed but never stupid. An exiting plot that doesn't have to hide from a Bourne story, Timothy Olyphant and Dougray Scott as hero and antihero or the other way round, you feel with both. Not for the faint-hearted, but especially for fans of the video game a full indulgence. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
SwatiMar 20, 2013
I was never a big fan of the games, and I'm not telling the game fans about what opinion to hold. All I know is that I enjoyed the movie myself. The action, plot and characterization worked well. The movie is not long enough to become boring.I was never a big fan of the games, and I'm not telling the game fans about what opinion to hold. All I know is that I enjoyed the movie myself. The action, plot and characterization worked well. The movie is not long enough to become boring. If anything, I wanted it to be longer. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Pro-PayneMar 15, 2014
I liked this movie. I don't understand why so many people hate it, probably because we are looking on the internet. Anyway, if you haven't seen it and your a Hitman fan definitely check this out. I would put this up near the Bond films as myI liked this movie. I don't understand why so many people hate it, probably because we are looking on the internet. Anyway, if you haven't seen it and your a Hitman fan definitely check this out. I would put this up near the Bond films as my favorite "spy" films. When I picked this up from my local FYE I thought it was gonna be a bad movie where Hollywood would make a quick buck. It actually stayed close to it's game based roots as far as gadgets and stealth tactics go. Although it was a little weird seeing 47 "fall in love", the movie still was able to portray him as a cold blooded killer. It was interesting that Hitman: Absolution showed 47 had a softer side in the game. I wished they had released the game first, if that happened then the movie would make sense. Seeing that Agent 47 isn't just a "Robotic Killer" as seen in the older games. Don't let the negativity fool you into missing out on this movie. If you collect game items or game related items, or just a Hitman fan, buy this from your local FYE. It's not as bad as people say. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeJan 13, 2016
There's lovely moments to say... "No, this isn't the worst film of 2007 because I already figured that one out." ... and why does Hitman even need a movie anyways? I thought it was fine with the video games.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
AbeMCJul 26, 2016
One stupid sword fight away from being rated much higher. That particular fight was a re-shoot, too - the director originally had something else planned for that scene, but somebody felt an additional action sequence was needed, so - dumbOne stupid sword fight away from being rated much higher. That particular fight was a re-shoot, too - the director originally had something else planned for that scene, but somebody felt an additional action sequence was needed, so - dumb fight. For the rest, it's a fast-moving film with some smash-mouth action. And the final denouement demonstrates Agent 47's cleverness at avoiding a trap (or setting one? you'll have to find out). Olyphant and Kurylenko are an interesting pair when they're given dialogue together (not as often as it could have been). Robert Knepper is great as always. While the soundtrack is loud, Zanelli put together a good one.

A fun action movie, and a strong 6 out of 10.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ChrisApr 7, 2008
The sheer intensity exuded by Olyphant and the emotional performance by the lovely Olga make this movie what it is. It was the interaction between the two: the way Agent 47 cared for her wellbeing and yet brutally disposed of the corrupt The sheer intensity exuded by Olyphant and the emotional performance by the lovely Olga make this movie what it is. It was the interaction between the two: the way Agent 47 cared for her wellbeing and yet brutally disposed of the corrupt characters in such a cold, calm, and flawless manner. The two sides of his character were wonderfully played. It gives a glimpse into the life of 47... "How does a good man decide when to kill?" I've played all the games but I prefer the movie depiction of 47. The story could use some work, but it didn't ruin the movie for me. I'm buying the DVD! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jan 17, 2008
He's bald. He's celibate. He buys a magazine for the luggage advertisements. "Hitman" satiates a hunger that cinephiles didn't know they possessed; a clamoring to see Sinead O'Connor mow down Russians in exotic locales He's bald. He's celibate. He buys a magazine for the luggage advertisements. "Hitman" satiates a hunger that cinephiles didn't know they possessed; a clamoring to see Sinead O'Connor mow down Russians in exotic locales like a post-cancer Jennifer Garner after radiation treatment. Timothy Olyphant is not your obvious choice to helm a shoot-em-up actioneer, but that's what they said about Bruce Willis when "Die Hard" came a callin'. Agent 47 is such a serene killer, you suspect that he's a closeted Buddhist who makes covert pilgrimages to the Bodhi tree in India for spiritual enlightenment and guidance(the Buddha instructed him to always keep two guns handy in any hotel ice machine). He's confident. That's for sure. He levels the playing field by mostly foregoing the utilization of any headwear; his shiny scalp making it easier for his enemies to pick him out in a crowded area. But "Hitman is not a miss, man; it's less ridiculous than most action films adapted from video games. Agent 47's relationship with Nika(Olga Kurylenko) provides "Hitman" with that crucial element which often goes missing in most action films; a palpable chemistry, or in this case, sexual tension, between its primary male and female star. Bullets fly, yes, but sparks fly, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JJan 20, 2008
Fast-paced and action filled, just what more can a gamer ask for. very entertaining and it did not disappoint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JesseM.Jan 5, 2008
I am a big fan of the Hitman video game franchise because its not all about bullets and explosions, the aim of the game is to eliminate your target with a more stealthy and clean approach (such as poisoning targets and using disguises), I I am a big fan of the Hitman video game franchise because its not all about bullets and explosions, the aim of the game is to eliminate your target with a more stealthy and clean approach (such as poisoning targets and using disguises), I felt that the movie did not follow this unique style and just stuck with a few exiting but typical gun fights which is why the film will not do well with Hitman fans. In the game you also travel around and explore beautiful environments which you see none of in the film. While I enjoyed Timothy Olyphants performance as Agent 47 I didn't feel he accurately portrayed the usually emotionless and completely ruthless assassin in the award winning game. As a fan of the game I was a little disappointed, but as a film I thought the story was intense and had a few good twists and turns, at times the acting and diolauge was a little cheezy some good shooting scenes but nothing we haven't seen before. Simply, Hitman was good but nothing special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarlH.Jan 7, 2008
These critics are wrong, this is one of the best films this year and a great impersonation of the game. The film is made towards fans of the game, and is great if you have played the games or are into games. The director did a great job!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RupertL.Feb 15, 2008
This is by no means a bad film and in my opinion a 30-40 average score is really not warranted. For fans of the Hitman games especially this is a hugely entertaining and well crafted movie and I think Olyphant plays the role excellently, This is by no means a bad film and in my opinion a 30-40 average score is really not warranted. For fans of the Hitman games especially this is a hugely entertaining and well crafted movie and I think Olyphant plays the role excellently, sporting the red tie of 47. The story is a little basic and hard to believe at times and I just wish some of the assassinations had been a bit cleverer (involving some more intelligent preparation etc.), so I've marked it down to an 8, otherwise I enjoyed it immensely! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EvanJ.Feb 26, 2008
Though I said seven, the movie actually warrants a 7.5, maybe even a 7.75. As far as just a movie goes, I found it to have a good story line, nicely played out action scenes, and characters that acted how they would in a game. I have played Though I said seven, the movie actually warrants a 7.5, maybe even a 7.75. As far as just a movie goes, I found it to have a good story line, nicely played out action scenes, and characters that acted how they would in a game. I have played Hitman: Blood Money, and the awesomeness was what made me want to see the movie. I really think it takes a beyond spectacular movie to deserve a "10", so Hitman did admirably considering the limited scope of the games' worlds. I found some reviews to be harsh solely because the author disliked that it was based on a game, and one review I read in a newspaper completely misunderstood the plot. I feel some reviewers don't fully understand the kind of world 47 operates in as an assassin, and that lack of comprehension was because they hadn't played any of the games. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KentCFeb 26, 2008
The first time seeing it, I was disappointed. I found myself a little confused about who did what but for the most part it was pretty linear. I saw it again and I enjoyed it much more. The action is above average. The main complaint is that The first time seeing it, I was disappointed. I found myself a little confused about who did what but for the most part it was pretty linear. I saw it again and I enjoyed it much more. The action is above average. The main complaint is that this movie isn't like the games. It goes for full blown action and gunplay, but it ignores the stealth and strategy of the games. Also, Timothy Olyphant didn't fit the character too well. But I enjoyed it very much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JayH.Feb 27, 2008
Empty action movie, no substance with shallow underdeveloped characters. It does have some good photography but the film just isn't involving. A lighter approach might have worked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SamFeb 3, 2008
I don't think I've ever laughed so hard at a movie that isn't a comedy. Granted, I enjoyed Michael Bay's remake of The Bourne Ultimatum, er, I mean Hitman, but that doesn't make it any less terrible. Olyphant is I don't think I've ever laughed so hard at a movie that isn't a comedy. Granted, I enjoyed Michael Bay's remake of The Bourne Ultimatum, er, I mean Hitman, but that doesn't make it any less terrible. Olyphant is miscast as the famed Agent 47, and he doesn't really add much to the ridiculously overused role. I mean, I can actually give a shit if John McClaine gets killed, but I'd just give a shrug if it happened to Agent 47. If anything, I'd be surprised, because he doesn't seem to get injured whatsoever. If Hitman's worth anything more than a few fun action scenes, some gore, unintentional laughs, and staring at attractive, nude women, then it's a good, nostalgic present for you Dad if he grew up on ridiculous action movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerW.Mar 10, 2008
Clearly non of the "professional" critics have ever played the games. I think that's why so many comic book and video game movies get such poor reviews. They have no frame of reference. The story was a tad bland but the movie was full Clearly non of the "professional" critics have ever played the games. I think that's why so many comic book and video game movies get such poor reviews. They have no frame of reference. The story was a tad bland but the movie was full of small touches from the games (lots of scenes from behind 47's head, the way 47 walks, the red tie, the weapons). Olyphant definitely did his homework for this role and so did the director. Too bad none of the critics did the same... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelR.Mar 19, 2008
Its a good action movie but it had some scenes where it didn't stick to the game and the plot was ok.Plenty of gore from start to finish.One scene I didn't like was Hitman fighting with swords which is nothing like the game.Timothy Its a good action movie but it had some scenes where it didn't stick to the game and the plot was ok.Plenty of gore from start to finish.One scene I didn't like was Hitman fighting with swords which is nothing like the game.Timothy Olphant is probably the best at being Hitman.I know Timothy doesn't seem as intimidating as Hitman in the game but who could possibly pull that off.I don't know what actor even comes close to looking like Hitman.Hitman did use the same weapons and clothes as in the video game and there are a couple of times he's incognito just like the the game.He walks just like the Hitman in the game. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful