Hitman

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 228

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. PsionTheory
    Nov 21, 2007
    2
    The worst movie I've seen this year, dont waste your money. Comes off like an extremely cheap borne idendity knock off.
  2. BillW.
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    Best action movie i have seen in a while.
  3. JG.
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    I'm also not sure why people are slamming this so badly... it seems like people are quick to judge it because it's based on a video game. It felt very much like a French Action movie to me... which is a good thing. I enjoyed it overall but, there were a few things I would have changed
  4. JonasH.
    Jun 11, 2008
    3
    I have played every Hitman game and loved every one, and I must admit: This movie has the shell. The agent's name is 47, he's brought up in a facility and he's a hitman. The problem is, that it doesn't vaguely capture the spirit, or the core, of the Hitman games. What seems the most misplaced is the pseudo-romantic little-boyish interaction between 47 and the Russian I have played every Hitman game and loved every one, and I must admit: This movie has the shell. The agent's name is 47, he's brought up in a facility and he's a hitman. The problem is, that it doesn't vaguely capture the spirit, or the core, of the Hitman games. What seems the most misplaced is the pseudo-romantic little-boyish interaction between 47 and the Russian girl. In some ways the movie could have been rated as a passable action movie, but truth be told, IO-Interactive's directors and designers did a far better job on the story-telling and entertainment value. This is not good when comparing a movie to a game. So, basically the movie is an empty shell, which in no way has earned its title. Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2011
    5
    "Hitman", despite its frantic pace with monotonous dialogue added in, is a great counterexample of "game-based movies suck". Its a film that you will enjoy.
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    It has a few eye-catching set pieces, but this video game adaptation takes more pleasure in cliche than actually crafting a worthwhile story.
  7. Agent47Howell
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    i own hte movie and i think it is the best!! Timothy Olyphant did a great job portraying Agent 47. i even fing Timothy Olyphant very sexy with a gun....im a girl and i have my opinions!
  8. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    sh*ts on the games. literally ruined american cinema as we know it today. my life will never be the same. asdfghjklkjhgfdsasdfghjklkjhgfdsaSDFGHJKLKJHGFDSASDFGHJKLKJH
  9. DanishA.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    This movie was great! Ignore all the people that gave a bad rating for this. This movie has great action and a good story. More different than the video game but still awesome!!
  10. GeorgeC.
    Nov 24, 2007
    0
    Not well advertised, I saw some of the posters, but they never gave much of this movie's detail and story in depth. Just a guy with a gun, it supposedly is a good action movie, I enjoyed it. But once i considered these reviews, 34/100!!! I started to agree in a way, but the story was good, action was good, but I think the main critical saying is that the acting sucked. Like you have Not well advertised, I saw some of the posters, but they never gave much of this movie's detail and story in depth. Just a guy with a gun, it supposedly is a good action movie, I enjoyed it. But once i considered these reviews, 34/100!!! I started to agree in a way, but the story was good, action was good, but I think the main critical saying is that the acting sucked. Like you have to agree, they write a good script, direct it on stage, film it with a camera and get it over with. But the acting truly sucked, the genre was good, but this movie is a letdown, the acting affected the power of the script and direction, the good screenplay is wasted. Overall a low budget crap show. Expand
  11. Sep 11, 2012
    4
    Not the worst video game movie I've ever seen, but still a pretty horrible one. I've never played a game in the Hitman series so I can't compare it to them. The action is mildly entertaining, but the gore is to fake to be believable and just seems to be in it for the sake of having it. The script is a series of predictable moments that you've seen happen a million times in other movies.Not the worst video game movie I've ever seen, but still a pretty horrible one. I've never played a game in the Hitman series so I can't compare it to them. The action is mildly entertaining, but the gore is to fake to be believable and just seems to be in it for the sake of having it. The script is a series of predictable moments that you've seen happen a million times in other movies. The acting and characters are awful, and timothy olyphant makes for one of the worst main characters of all time, but that may just be do to the writing, he has no personality and constantly has the stupidest look on his face at all times. This movie sucks, it's almost bad as the Uwe Boll video game movies. Don't watch this crappy movie. Expand
  12. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    This movie is awesome and has great action. Great acting by Timothy Olyphant and he's great in Justified too. The critics always get negative on movie that were based on video games anyway so screw the critics.
  13. May 11, 2011
    7
    Easily one of the most underrated game adaptations. The action sequences are solid (accept the cheesy 4 man hitman fight that was added later by another director â
  14. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    Bloody, action packed but never stupid. An exiting plot that doesn't have to hide from a Bourne story, Timothy Olyphant and Dougray Scott as hero and antihero or the other way round, you feel with both. Not for the faint-hearted, but especially for fans of the video game a full indulgence.
  15. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    I was never a big fan of the games, and I'm not telling the game fans about what opinion to hold. All I know is that I enjoyed the movie myself. The action, plot and characterization worked well. The movie is not long enough to become boring. If anything, I wanted it to be longer.
  16. Mar 15, 2014
    8
    I liked this movie. I don't understand why so many people hate it, probably because we are looking on the internet. Anyway, if you haven't seen it and your a Hitman fan definitely check this out. I would put this up near the Bond films as my favorite "spy" films. When I picked this up from my local FYE I thought it was gonna be a bad movie where Hollywood would make a quick buck. ItI liked this movie. I don't understand why so many people hate it, probably because we are looking on the internet. Anyway, if you haven't seen it and your a Hitman fan definitely check this out. I would put this up near the Bond films as my favorite "spy" films. When I picked this up from my local FYE I thought it was gonna be a bad movie where Hollywood would make a quick buck. It actually stayed close to it's game based roots as far as gadgets and stealth tactics go. Although it was a little weird seeing 47 "fall in love", the movie still was able to portray him as a cold blooded killer. It was interesting that Hitman: Absolution showed 47 had a softer side in the game. I wished they had released the game first, if that happened then the movie would make sense. Seeing that Agent 47 isn't just a "Robotic Killer" as seen in the older games. Don't let the negativity fool you into missing out on this movie. If you collect game items or game related items, or just a Hitman fan, buy this from your local FYE. It's not as bad as people say. Expand
  17. Chris
    Apr 7, 2008
    9
    The sheer intensity exuded by Olyphant and the emotional performance by the lovely Olga make this movie what it is. It was the interaction between the two: the way Agent 47 cared for her wellbeing and yet brutally disposed of the corrupt characters in such a cold, calm, and flawless manner. The two sides of his character were wonderfully played. It gives a glimpse into the life of 47... The sheer intensity exuded by Olyphant and the emotional performance by the lovely Olga make this movie what it is. It was the interaction between the two: the way Agent 47 cared for her wellbeing and yet brutally disposed of the corrupt characters in such a cold, calm, and flawless manner. The two sides of his character were wonderfully played. It gives a glimpse into the life of 47... "How does a good man decide when to kill?" I've played all the games but I prefer the movie depiction of 47. The story could use some work, but it didn't ruin the movie for me. I'm buying the DVD! Expand
  18. ChadS.
    Jan 17, 2008
    7
    He's bald. He's celibate. He buys a magazine for the luggage advertisements. "Hitman" satiates a hunger that cinephiles didn't know they possessed; a clamoring to see Sinead O'Connor mow down Russians in exotic locales like a post-cancer Jennifer Garner after radiation treatment. Timothy Olyphant is not your obvious choice to helm a shoot-em-up actioneer, but He's bald. He's celibate. He buys a magazine for the luggage advertisements. "Hitman" satiates a hunger that cinephiles didn't know they possessed; a clamoring to see Sinead O'Connor mow down Russians in exotic locales like a post-cancer Jennifer Garner after radiation treatment. Timothy Olyphant is not your obvious choice to helm a shoot-em-up actioneer, but that's what they said about Bruce Willis when "Die Hard" came a callin'. Agent 47 is such a serene killer, you suspect that he's a closeted Buddhist who makes covert pilgrimages to the Bodhi tree in India for spiritual enlightenment and guidance(the Buddha instructed him to always keep two guns handy in any hotel ice machine). He's confident. That's for sure. He levels the playing field by mostly foregoing the utilization of any headwear; his shiny scalp making it easier for his enemies to pick him out in a crowded area. But "Hitman is not a miss, man; it's less ridiculous than most action films adapted from video games. Agent 47's relationship with Nika(Olga Kurylenko) provides "Hitman" with that crucial element which often goes missing in most action films; a palpable chemistry, or in this case, sexual tension, between its primary male and female star. Bullets fly, yes, but sparks fly, too. Expand
  19. J
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    Fast-paced and action filled, just what more can a gamer ask for. very entertaining and it did not disappoint.
  20. JesseM.
    Jan 5, 2008
    7
    I am a big fan of the Hitman video game franchise because its not all about bullets and explosions, the aim of the game is to eliminate your target with a more stealthy and clean approach (such as poisoning targets and using disguises), I felt that the movie did not follow this unique style and just stuck with a few exiting but typical gun fights which is why the film will not do well I am a big fan of the Hitman video game franchise because its not all about bullets and explosions, the aim of the game is to eliminate your target with a more stealthy and clean approach (such as poisoning targets and using disguises), I felt that the movie did not follow this unique style and just stuck with a few exiting but typical gun fights which is why the film will not do well with Hitman fans. In the game you also travel around and explore beautiful environments which you see none of in the film. While I enjoyed Timothy Olyphants performance as Agent 47 I didn't feel he accurately portrayed the usually emotionless and completely ruthless assassin in the award winning game. As a fan of the game I was a little disappointed, but as a film I thought the story was intense and had a few good twists and turns, at times the acting and diolauge was a little cheezy some good shooting scenes but nothing we haven't seen before. Simply, Hitman was good but nothing special. Expand
  21. KarlH.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    These critics are wrong, this is one of the best films this year and a great impersonation of the game. The film is made towards fans of the game, and is great if you have played the games or are into games. The director did a great job!
  22. RupertL.
    Feb 15, 2008
    8
    This is by no means a bad film and in my opinion a 30-40 average score is really not warranted. For fans of the Hitman games especially this is a hugely entertaining and well crafted movie and I think Olyphant plays the role excellently, sporting the red tie of 47. The story is a little basic and hard to believe at times and I just wish some of the assassinations had been a bit cleverer This is by no means a bad film and in my opinion a 30-40 average score is really not warranted. For fans of the Hitman games especially this is a hugely entertaining and well crafted movie and I think Olyphant plays the role excellently, sporting the red tie of 47. The story is a little basic and hard to believe at times and I just wish some of the assassinations had been a bit cleverer (involving some more intelligent preparation etc.), so I've marked it down to an 8, otherwise I enjoyed it immensely! Expand
  23. EvanJ.
    Feb 26, 2008
    7
    Though I said seven, the movie actually warrants a 7.5, maybe even a 7.75. As far as just a movie goes, I found it to have a good story line, nicely played out action scenes, and characters that acted how they would in a game. I have played Hitman: Blood Money, and the awesomeness was what made me want to see the movie. I really think it takes a beyond spectacular movie to deserve a "10", Though I said seven, the movie actually warrants a 7.5, maybe even a 7.75. As far as just a movie goes, I found it to have a good story line, nicely played out action scenes, and characters that acted how they would in a game. I have played Hitman: Blood Money, and the awesomeness was what made me want to see the movie. I really think it takes a beyond spectacular movie to deserve a "10", so Hitman did admirably considering the limited scope of the games' worlds. I found some reviews to be harsh solely because the author disliked that it was based on a game, and one review I read in a newspaper completely misunderstood the plot. I feel some reviewers don't fully understand the kind of world 47 operates in as an assassin, and that lack of comprehension was because they hadn't played any of the games. Expand
  24. KentC
    Feb 26, 2008
    8
    The first time seeing it, I was disappointed. I found myself a little confused about who did what but for the most part it was pretty linear. I saw it again and I enjoyed it much more. The action is above average. The main complaint is that this movie isn't like the games. It goes for full blown action and gunplay, but it ignores the stealth and strategy of the games. Also, Timothy The first time seeing it, I was disappointed. I found myself a little confused about who did what but for the most part it was pretty linear. I saw it again and I enjoyed it much more. The action is above average. The main complaint is that this movie isn't like the games. It goes for full blown action and gunplay, but it ignores the stealth and strategy of the games. Also, Timothy Olyphant didn't fit the character too well. But I enjoyed it very much. Collapse
  25. JayH.
    Feb 27, 2008
    4
    Empty action movie, no substance with shallow underdeveloped characters. It does have some good photography but the film just isn't involving. A lighter approach might have worked.
  26. Sam
    Feb 3, 2008
    6
    I don't think I've ever laughed so hard at a movie that isn't a comedy. Granted, I enjoyed Michael Bay's remake of The Bourne Ultimatum, er, I mean Hitman, but that doesn't make it any less terrible. Olyphant is miscast as the famed Agent 47, and he doesn't really add much to the ridiculously overused role. I mean, I can actually give a shit if John McClaine I don't think I've ever laughed so hard at a movie that isn't a comedy. Granted, I enjoyed Michael Bay's remake of The Bourne Ultimatum, er, I mean Hitman, but that doesn't make it any less terrible. Olyphant is miscast as the famed Agent 47, and he doesn't really add much to the ridiculously overused role. I mean, I can actually give a shit if John McClaine gets killed, but I'd just give a shrug if it happened to Agent 47. If anything, I'd be surprised, because he doesn't seem to get injured whatsoever. If Hitman's worth anything more than a few fun action scenes, some gore, unintentional laughs, and staring at attractive, nude women, then it's a good, nostalgic present for you Dad if he grew up on ridiculous action movies. Expand
  27. TylerW.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    Clearly non of the "professional" critics have ever played the games. I think that's why so many comic book and video game movies get such poor reviews. They have no frame of reference. The story was a tad bland but the movie was full of small touches from the games (lots of scenes from behind 47's head, the way 47 walks, the red tie, the weapons). Olyphant definitely did his Clearly non of the "professional" critics have ever played the games. I think that's why so many comic book and video game movies get such poor reviews. They have no frame of reference. The story was a tad bland but the movie was full of small touches from the games (lots of scenes from behind 47's head, the way 47 walks, the red tie, the weapons). Olyphant definitely did his homework for this role and so did the director. Too bad none of the critics did the same... Expand
  28. MichaelR.
    Mar 19, 2008
    6
    Its a good action movie but it had some scenes where it didn't stick to the game and the plot was ok.Plenty of gore from start to finish.One scene I didn't like was Hitman fighting with swords which is nothing like the game.Timothy Olphant is probably the best at being Hitman.I know Timothy doesn't seem as intimidating as Hitman in the game but who could possibly pull that Its a good action movie but it had some scenes where it didn't stick to the game and the plot was ok.Plenty of gore from start to finish.One scene I didn't like was Hitman fighting with swords which is nothing like the game.Timothy Olphant is probably the best at being Hitman.I know Timothy doesn't seem as intimidating as Hitman in the game but who could possibly pull that off.I don't know what actor even comes close to looking like Hitman.Hitman did use the same weapons and clothes as in the video game and there are a couple of times he's incognito just like the the game.He walks just like the Hitman in the game. Expand
  29. AlecB.
    Mar 30, 2008
    6
    i dont know what was up the critics asses on this one. Hitman was niether good or bad it was decent. It should have gotten better ratings then it recieved. It had a decent plot, the action was good, and Agent 47 was unstoppable. Hoping for a sequel.
  30. GabrielM.
    Mar 5, 2008
    2
    This is a joke for the fans of the game, the main story is pathetic and if you played any of the games you will not see nothing like that. Many scenes are dumb, like the fight scenes. Timothy Olyphant doesn't fit the character of hitman, and not even close because hitman is a cold character. I think this movie is very bad executed, the writers have to play the game a little to This is a joke for the fans of the game, the main story is pathetic and if you played any of the games you will not see nothing like that. Many scenes are dumb, like the fight scenes. Timothy Olyphant doesn't fit the character of hitman, and not even close because hitman is a cold character. I think this movie is very bad executed, the writers have to play the game a little to understand the concept of the character and the things he do. I think the best of the movie is Olga Kurylenko and her beauty but thats all. Its really a shame. Expand
  31. whatever
    Apr 2, 2008
    7
    It was ok, I would have rather seen Jason Stathom as Agent 47 It also side tracked from the game quite a bit Would have rather just seen the story straight from Blood Money turned into a movie Still, it's not terrible.
  32. GregS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    8
    Much better than all the critics claim. I went into it not expecting much and was very pleasantly surprised. Can get a little confusing in places but a pretty decent plot overall. Let's home there's a second movie.
  33. NickG.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Iits thrilling and nicely made, i never played the game but i want to now.
  34. Teop
    Nov 23, 2007
    3
    Bad actors, worse scenario and not enough good-looking action-scenes. I would better rewatch The Bourne Identity once more.
  35. JanetO.
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    I never saw the video game but thoroughly enjoyed the stylized action and understated acting of Olyphant. My son said the critics who write about movies don't actually enjoy being entertained. That must be the case with this one because it was extremely engaging.
  36. ScottR.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    I am a huge fan of the Hitman game series and have anticipated this movie for quite some time. I was very impressed. Olyphant portrayed Agent 47 true to his nature in the games. He is a Hitman, but he has some conscience. I can see how some people may see this as a Bourne Identity knock off, but given that that is what action movies have to live up to these days I think Hitman did a good I am a huge fan of the Hitman game series and have anticipated this movie for quite some time. I was very impressed. Olyphant portrayed Agent 47 true to his nature in the games. He is a Hitman, but he has some conscience. I can see how some people may see this as a Bourne Identity knock off, but given that that is what action movies have to live up to these days I think Hitman did a good job at living up to its competition, but kept its unique touch as well. The only complaint I have is the score. It seemed far too repetitive. I feel that Jesper Kyd (the artist that wrote the score for the games) should have done the score to the film. Expand
  37. M.Jarjar
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    What the hell was up the critics asses??? I give this movie an 8 because I feel like it could have expanded on his upbringing a little more, just for the sake of story telling if nothing else. Otherwise it was extremely well made and very artistic. Just go into the movie and enjoy it for what its worth, an action movie based on a simple premise.
  38. DaleP
    Nov 29, 2007
    3
    I knew the movie was bad before I saw it so I went in not expecting much. But i really wasn't prepared for the cheesy borefest that I was subjected to. The scene where bar-code baldy faces four assasins is really is really a case in point, irt was so bad that it was no longer funny, "Let me die in dignity" ha ha ha!!!
  39. JohnM.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    Before I watched this movie, I saw the bad, if not horrible, reviews written by the critics. But this didn't stop me from watching because I was a huge Hitman game fan. And honestly, it wasn't so bad! It was actually good.
  40. JaredC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    4
    Off the wagon and onto the road.
  41. AndrewP.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    I have to say that, having experienced several video-to-movie travesties in the past, I was expecting very little from this movie, but went to watch it anyway more out of curiosity. I was very pleasantly surprised, and found it to be one of the most interesting and enjoyable films Ive seen recently. Whilst the Bourne Ultimatum may be a more well crafted film, I find that movies of its I have to say that, having experienced several video-to-movie travesties in the past, I was expecting very little from this movie, but went to watch it anyway more out of curiosity. I was very pleasantly surprised, and found it to be one of the most interesting and enjoyable films Ive seen recently. Whilst the Bourne Ultimatum may be a more well crafted film, I find that movies of its type are all too ubiquitous and run-of-the-mill these days. It was very refreshing to see a film who's main protagonist was a cold, calculating killing machine. I honestly think it played out truthfully, and the reactions to his persona were believable and fascinating. I think I will remember this movie for a long time, not because it more well crafted than other movies in its genre or anything like that, but because it tells the story of a different and more refreshing character than the usual old Bourne / Bond / Die Hard / etc... types who are all identical in every way. This is NOT a formula movie, and I think it is worth seeing. Think of it as a Terminator-Eye-View meets Equilibrium but with an actor who can do the role justice. Expand
  42. ShammySham
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    I don't know about the rest of you, but I thought this movie was excellent. What more do you want? This movie isn't suppose to be a drama or a well-thought out mystery. This movie deserves so much more than some of you are giving right now!
  43. DaleS.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best movies of the year. Timothy Olymphant truly is hitman. If you loved the game see this movie, if you don't then go see it. This movie has gone in a different direction then other Game-movie adaptations. It has still maintained the kicks that hitman game lovers want but has plenty of good action and storyline to keep you in the action.
  44. AlbinM
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    this movie wasn't intended to beat James Bond or anything. For what it is based on, a computer game, it was amazing. I thought it was definitely entertaining. Anyone giving this movie a low rating obviously never played the game.
  45. FreddyK
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    This film was probably one of the best action films I've ever seen. Timothy Olymphant did a great job as playing agent 47. The whole plot of the story was awesome 10 out of 10.
  46. RAruba
    Mar 22, 2008
    9
    good I want to see more. I love James Bond , he is better.
  47. KrisB.
    Mar 25, 2008
    7
    not the best film in the world, but hey. neither was the game, although I was thoroughly entertained, Timothy Olyphant makes a kickass hitman btw, I enjoyed his expressionless sociopathic nature in HBO's 'Deadwood' and have once again not been dissapointed
  48. dddboy
    Apr 20, 2008
    3
    A message to the director and producers: Russia does not border Turkey, and Interpol is based in Lyon, France not London, England. I know the teenage boys who liked this movie don't care about factual geography, but it's unfair to dumb down a movie that's already dumb.
  49. Ryencoke
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    Much better than I had expected. Timothy Olyphant was far better than the ads made him look to be. The movie had many aspects that follow the game. Overall a worthy view if you enjoy the game.
  50. MojoR.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    This movie was a perfect rendition of the video-game. The critics can't understand that because most of them have never played the games. The point of Hitman is simple, and the movie is such. It's great fun!
  51. vidMan
    Nov 23, 2007
    8
    I don't understand what the critics are talking about. They must not understand the game, because that's what the movie is like. Hitman is one of the best video game to big screen movie transitions I've ever seen. I didn't even like Silent Hill because of the changes, but this movie is... Hitman.
  52. RyanB
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    I don't know why the reviewers gave it such a bad rating. It was a great movie. In the ads, Timothy Olyphant looked HORRIBLE for the part. But, in the movie, I thought he looked great. My only complaint was that the armor in the last scenes at the Cathedral looked so... bad. It looked too much like futuristic hockey-pads designed by walmart.
  53. PfillipT.
    Nov 26, 2007
    2
    So, 47 is ordained by god and kills for charity? Makes perfect sense to me. Producers ruined this before it even got greenlit. As a standalone action flick, it's not too bad, but it does a worse job of matching the game series than the Resident Evil movies. And you people complain about Uwe Boll!?
  54. SunnyR.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Rocked. love olyphant. part ii???
  55. [Anonymous]
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    I was actually surprised this was a very good movie. The sword fight scene was also a neat addition.
  56. MasonH
    Nov 28, 2007
    2
    Loved the games, hated the movie. Timothy Olyphant is the most unconvincing assasin/badass they could of chosen. Aside fromt he bad acting, the constant jumping around with the plot was rediculous. I was not entertained by the action even in the slightest bit, and the bad guys in futurisitc metal armor from head to toe not only looked rediculous, but seeing them all die from one bullet Loved the games, hated the movie. Timothy Olyphant is the most unconvincing assasin/badass they could of chosen. Aside fromt he bad acting, the constant jumping around with the plot was rediculous. I was not entertained by the action even in the slightest bit, and the bad guys in futurisitc metal armor from head to toe not only looked rediculous, but seeing them all die from one bullet was flat out dumb. Expand
  57. PhilP.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Honestly, I really liked it. Best game to movie implementation I have seen yet. It had some cool nods to the game, yet was a good movie on its own. It was perfectly balanced IMO - there were no corny nods to the game that would ruin the movie, yet many subtle ones that just made it all the better for the people who have played the game. If you've played and enjoyed the game, chances Honestly, I really liked it. Best game to movie implementation I have seen yet. It had some cool nods to the game, yet was a good movie on its own. It was perfectly balanced IMO - there were no corny nods to the game that would ruin the movie, yet many subtle ones that just made it all the better for the people who have played the game. If you've played and enjoyed the game, chances are that you'll love this movie. If not, any fan of a good action flick should enjoy this too. Just don't expect anything mind blowing or super deep. It is just a really fun action flick that paid some homage to the awesome series. I came straight home and played through the first 5 missions of blood money afterwards. :) Expand
  58. Odra
    Dec 15, 2007
    4
    When judged by its relation to the game series this movie does a poor job and as a stand-alone film for those with no knowledge to the game this film is mediocre at best. this a prime example of streamlining for general audiences. Olyphant's portrayal is off 80 percent of the time as he displays to many emotions, the plot as a whole portrays the assassins as orphans "recruited" into When judged by its relation to the game series this movie does a poor job and as a stand-alone film for those with no knowledge to the game this film is mediocre at best. this a prime example of streamlining for general audiences. Olyphant's portrayal is off 80 percent of the time as he displays to many emotions, the plot as a whole portrays the assassins as orphans "recruited" into a program rather than clones created by a rogue scientist. hammy acting, cliches and stale fight scenes make the silent hill and Mortal Kombat adaptations to film look like masterpieces. Expand
  59. BarryM
    Dec 21, 2007
    4
    I didn't have very high expectations for this. The games are acclaimed and deservedly so, but the film doesn't maintain the same level of quality. Some good cinematography, ok performances and mildly entertaining action sequences are all ruined by some hammy, cliched scenes and a ridiculous and poorly put together plot. The style and feel of the game is only partly carried over I didn't have very high expectations for this. The games are acclaimed and deservedly so, but the film doesn't maintain the same level of quality. Some good cinematography, ok performances and mildly entertaining action sequences are all ruined by some hammy, cliched scenes and a ridiculous and poorly put together plot. The style and feel of the game is only partly carried over ie, when 47 pulls two pistols from an ice box, it is a nice touch but hardly enough to get a better rating. Expand
  60. AmishP.
    Dec 2, 2007
    1
    Unsuprisingly I knew I wouldn't like the movie judging by the trailer alone. For all of you fans of the game out there, you know very well that hitman is a silent assassin; this means he doesn't blow his cover, nobody sees him, uses guns as a last resort. The movie looks more like a die hard movie with 47 firing through the whole room, taking down armoured personel with a Unsuprisingly I knew I wouldn't like the movie judging by the trailer alone. For all of you fans of the game out there, you know very well that hitman is a silent assassin; this means he doesn't blow his cover, nobody sees him, uses guns as a last resort. The movie looks more like a die hard movie with 47 firing through the whole room, taking down armoured personel with a handgun and dodging the hundreds coming at him... And Timothy lacks the style of the character. Let me put this straight, the beauty in the hitman series is that nobody knows who he is; he's a legend. He has a mission, he goes in, comes out, the target is eliminated and the mission is complete, leaving everybody scared as they have no idea who did it. He's a ghost and you can't shoot what you can't see. That's the true essence of hitman and that's what it lacked together with a james bond style. They might as well have named the movie "Shoot & Run". Hopefully we still have the game. Expand
  61. JodieM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    I saw this film last night at my local cinema and i must say it is by far the best film i have seen for a long time! I couldn't think of anyone better than Olyphant for the lead roll. A supurb performance throughout. The only downside is i left the cinema wanting to see "Hitman 2" now! I shall be buying this the day its released, lets just hope it comes out on HB and now bluray. Go I saw this film last night at my local cinema and i must say it is by far the best film i have seen for a long time! I couldn't think of anyone better than Olyphant for the lead roll. A supurb performance throughout. The only downside is i left the cinema wanting to see "Hitman 2" now! I shall be buying this the day its released, lets just hope it comes out on HB and now bluray. Go see it now! Expand
  62. DanielR.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    this movie rocked. i could not believe the critics. they were dead wrong. this movie is fast paced and action packed.
  63. H4MM3RH34DVolkova
    Nov 28, 2008
    6
    I was a bit hesitant in buying this movie. As a fan of the Hitman game series I thought the movie might have ruined it for me like Doom did. But I was really surprised at how good it was. OK so some aspects needed improvement (geography correction and storyline) but considering its a movie based on a game I think it was very good. And I think the critics who say 47 is a bad actor I was a bit hesitant in buying this movie. As a fan of the Hitman game series I thought the movie might have ruined it for me like Doom did. But I was really surprised at how good it was. OK so some aspects needed improvement (geography correction and storyline) but considering its a movie based on a game I think it was very good. And I think the critics who say 47 is a bad actor haven't played the games since he's meant to be emotionless. Which brings me to one last criticism. Why does 47 suddenly get emotions and feel sorry for that chick who goes with him (i forgot her name). I mean, alright I guess they we're trying to put romance in the movie but don't kill the whole idea of 47 in the process please! Expand
  64. Kyoin
    Nov 29, 2008
    8
    First of all let me say I have not really played the Hitman games. That being said I think the portrayel of a kind of anti-social run & gun assassin was great. The action was pretty good especially the 'sword showdown.' The story was modirately good, but got a little confusing at times. The relationship with 47 & Nika (Olga Kurylenko) was a little underveloped, but then again First of all let me say I have not really played the Hitman games. That being said I think the portrayel of a kind of anti-social run & gun assassin was great. The action was pretty good especially the 'sword showdown.' The story was modirately good, but got a little confusing at times. The relationship with 47 & Nika (Olga Kurylenko) was a little underveloped, but then again what can you expect from an assassin? Overall it was fun if you like a violent flick sprinkled with nudity here and there. 8/10 Expand
  65. PaulL.
    Mar 18, 2008
    8
    This movie is destined to be a cult classic...Olyphant's dead pan delivery is reminiscint of a young Clint Eastwood...The movie is violent, no nonesense, with an underlying tone of morality from the hero and thankfully he doesn't let his wrestling with morality interfere with what he does best...This movie was panned by the "elitest" critics but like "Dirty Harry" being panned This movie is destined to be a cult classic...Olyphant's dead pan delivery is reminiscint of a young Clint Eastwood...The movie is violent, no nonesense, with an underlying tone of morality from the hero and thankfully he doesn't let his wrestling with morality interfere with what he does best...This movie was panned by the "elitest" critics but like "Dirty Harry" being panned at its release, this movie will be appreciated with time.... Expand
  66. Jay
    Aug 22, 2008
    8
    I am glad I didn't read the reviews beforehand or I might have skipped this. I was a little suspicious of Olyphant as Hitman but he pulls it off, and I think people that don't like this either think it's a Bourne Identity knockoff, which it can't be since Hitman precedes it, or just can't get down with a sociopathic killer, which is understandable. However, for I am glad I didn't read the reviews beforehand or I might have skipped this. I was a little suspicious of Olyphant as Hitman but he pulls it off, and I think people that don't like this either think it's a Bourne Identity knockoff, which it can't be since Hitman precedes it, or just can't get down with a sociopathic killer, which is understandable. However, for what it is, it is excellent, and there was actually no sappy bullshit scenes that looked like they might happen throughout, he has some minor empathy as the story goes on but still stays true to his character, which is insanely rare. Overall, it's good. I normally fast-forward through half of movies because it's all predictable, I only fast forwarded once and ended up having to go back because the scene I thought was going to happen didn't. Good show. Expand
  67. TonyS.
    Nov 23, 2007
    8
    It was better than I expected. Honestly, I never played any of the games. Some of the fight scenes were predictable, however the movie stays pretty interesting.
  68. SteveS.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    The critics may hate it, but I loved it, and so did the group of friends I went with. This movie is made for the fan that wants a fun, action-packed movie... and it delivers!
  69. TimothyR.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    I just watched this movie and I thought it was great! My girlfriend who hate action movies loved it. I would say this is a 10.
  70. JustinF.
    Nov 25, 2007
    8
    I vote thumbs up except for the swordsman act i mean..cmon.
  71. ReginaH.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Absolutely Loved it... I have seen it 3x already and cannot wait for it to come to DVD! The movie trailer looks awesome and I couldn't for it to open... I wasn't disappointed. Great action, storyline, and characters. I didn't even know there was a video game until I read movie reviews. I'm a new fan of Timothy Olyphant!
  72. Dec 29, 2011
    2
    Moi qui pensais que Resident Evil était l'adaptation la moins fidèle du jeu vidéo dont elle est tirée... Je n'avais pas vu Hitman... Bon, je l'accorde, ce dernier est bien meilleur que Afterlife. Mais franchement, comment peut-on oser proposer une adaptation à mille lieues de l'oeuvre originale, sans avoir peur de mettre enMoi qui pensais que Resident Evil était l'adaptation la moins fidèle du jeu vidéo dont elle est tirée... Je n'avais pas vu Hitman... Bon, je l'accorde, ce dernier est bien meilleur que Afterlife. Mais franchement, comment peut-on oser proposer une adaptation à mille lieues de l'oeuvre originale, sans avoir peur de mettre en colère les nombreux adeptes du jeu? Car le film de Xavier Gens n'a rien d'un Hitman : meurtres barbares, shooter movie, fusillades à gogo... alors que le tueur agit normalement avec la plus grande discrétion... A la place, nous avons un navet sans âme, ni scénario, ni bons acteurs, ni intérêt, comme Luc Besson sait si bien produire. Il reste à ce Hitman de quoi se divertir pendant 1h30, mais c'est loin d'être suffisant pour être à la hauteur d'un Transporteur, qui avait le mérite de proposer des séquences d'action très efficaces sans être limité par son statut (en tant que film unique et non une adaptation). Expand
  73. Aug 25, 2014
    8
    Hitman looks good, in and outside the action, of which there's plenty. Bloody and action-filled, with some slow-motion sequences to make some of the shooting scenes a little more impressive.

    There isn't too much to the plot - or, let's say, the plot is there and it is complex, but it is not too much explained. That might make the movie seem a little worse than it is, plot wise. Maybe a
    Hitman looks good, in and outside the action, of which there's plenty. Bloody and action-filled, with some slow-motion sequences to make some of the shooting scenes a little more impressive.

    There isn't too much to the plot - or, let's say, the plot is there and it is complex, but it is not too much explained. That might make the movie seem a little worse than it is, plot wise. Maybe a few more repeats with the movie and/or knowing the game would help with that.

    What really works for Hitman is that the main character, 47, stays the same from beginning to end. Sure, there are signs of softening, but in the end the movie isn't ruined with a happy ending and romantic affairs.
    Expand
  74. Apr 26, 2013
    3
    Not good at all. Firstly it is nothing like the video games (well I had to mention this, because after all it is supposed to be a Hitman movie), it just using the name to generate more sales. Secondly this film is just a generic action movie, with no character depth or development. After the first 20 minutes you have seen it all, the director will just repeat the same things until the lastNot good at all. Firstly it is nothing like the video games (well I had to mention this, because after all it is supposed to be a Hitman movie), it just using the name to generate more sales. Secondly this film is just a generic action movie, with no character depth or development. After the first 20 minutes you have seen it all, the director will just repeat the same things until the last frames. Not even the action scenes are anything good. Mr. Timothy Olyphant is not a bad actor, but this role did not really suit him. Not recommended. Expand
  75. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    An inane, poorly crafted, and ultimately uninteresting film. Pretty trashy even by video game movie standards. Goes without saying that its relationship with the video game series is entirely superficial.
  76. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    Not a bad movie, but neither is good. A watchable action movie that doesn't portrait the Hitman from the games.

    The action is quite over the top, helicopter gunships... really... the fighting sequences are nice, the acting is ok and the visual effects and soundtrack fit the quality needed for a good movie. The strongest feature of the movie is in my opinion the plot, really good and
    Not a bad movie, but neither is good. A watchable action movie that doesn't portrait the Hitman from the games.

    The action is quite over the top, helicopter gunships... really... the fighting sequences are nice, the acting is ok and the visual effects and soundtrack fit the quality needed for a good movie. The strongest feature of the movie is in my opinion the plot, really good and solid, would say, quite original.

    My main complaint with this movie is of a political?/racial?/national? nature. Basically the main character is a murderer without restraints, killing cops left and right, but it's like its all good because they are Russian... it feels like a 80's anti-soviet propaganda movie, from start to end, Russians in the movie are either evil, incompetent, cannon fodder and the only nice people are the whore and the fat cop... honestly this movie is absolutely xenophobic... Then it ends with that almighty CIA showoff in the end... "we do what we want in the middle of Moscow and even make fun in your face"... come on... seriously...

    So if you want a decent action movie with an interesting plot and decent action, look no further. If you want to see something that reminds you of the Hitman from the game series, expect disappointment. If you want a more "realistic" action movie in the realm of the Bourne movie series, then this isn't the movie for you.
    Expand
  77. Jan 1, 2014
    2
    Flopman..

    Hitman tries to give a suspenseful narrative style but bored the hell out of me. Few action sequences were enjoyable but just at par but apart from that it falls flat. Performances were poor to average and the bad script and dialogues made this movie based on video game(never heard about it until I saw the movie) even worse. The story of a assassin who looked like computer
    Flopman..

    Hitman tries to give a suspenseful narrative style but bored the hell out of me. Few action sequences were enjoyable but just at par but apart from that it falls flat. Performances were poor to average and the bad script and dialogues made this movie based on video game(never heard about it until I saw the movie) even worse. The story of a assassin who looked like computer programmed robot(that’s how he was supposed to be though..ugh) drawn into political conspiracy did not generate much interest either. Overall Hitman may please a few people who like such game-based action flicks but in general it’s unlikely this movie will impress someone at random with high chances it may frustrate more often.
    Personally I hated this movie badly but I won’t say everyone will hate this.
    Hitman was a flop for me.
    Expand
  78. Aug 29, 2015
    6
    Hitman is not a terrible film in fact patches of it are quite fun having some really good action sequences and cinematography along with a damn good performance from Timothy Olyphant as Agent 47 but unfortunately the characterisation is very poor with a multitude of characters that are bland and the plot of the film really seems to get lost in the midst of all of the action a lot of theHitman is not a terrible film in fact patches of it are quite fun having some really good action sequences and cinematography along with a damn good performance from Timothy Olyphant as Agent 47 but unfortunately the characterisation is very poor with a multitude of characters that are bland and the plot of the film really seems to get lost in the midst of all of the action a lot of the action sequences do not move the plot forward at all it is used as a distraction really.
    Grade:C
    Expand
  79. Jan 13, 2016
    4
    There's lovely moments to say... "No, this isn't the worst film of 2007 because I already figured that one out." ... and why does Hitman even need a movie anyways? I thought it was fine with the video games.
  80. Mar 27, 2016
    6
    Esta es una de las películas basadas en videojuegos que al menos puedo ver sin asco. Si muchas cosas de la película no tiene nada que ver con el juego, al menos pudieron lograr hacer una película de acción interesante, que por lo menos sirve para pasar el rato, no es la gran cosa, pero como dije antes, sirve para entretenerte. Junto con la primera película de Silent Hill, y Prince ofEsta es una de las películas basadas en videojuegos que al menos puedo ver sin asco. Si muchas cosas de la película no tiene nada que ver con el juego, al menos pudieron lograr hacer una película de acción interesante, que por lo menos sirve para pasar el rato, no es la gran cosa, pero como dije antes, sirve para entretenerte. Junto con la primera película de Silent Hill, y Prince of Persia The Sands of Time, son de las pocas "buenas" películas que hay basado en videojuegos. Expand
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 11 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    10
    A Eurotrashy vidgame knockoff that misses its target by a mile. Numbingly unthrilling as it lurches from one violent encounter to another, the pic's dark roots in an electronic, non-dramatic medium are plain to see, and unsuspecting gamers lured to theaters will soon wish they were back home participating in the action themselves.
  2. The movie's one saving grace is Olyphant ("Live Free and Die Hard," HBO's "Deadwood"), whose sociopathic elegance is gradually winning, and whose dry, monotonic, Eastwood-like delivery of one-liners is frequently, if perhaps unintentionally, very funny.
  3. 50
    Ultimately Hitman is about bullets, blood, and bombs. For die-hard fans of the videogame, there is much to relish in terms of cobblestone car chases, punishing fistfights, cool weaponry, impossible physical feats, and ear-popping gun battles that rage through exclusive hotels in exotic locations.