User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 69
  2. Negative: 7 out of 69

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AG1
    May 7, 2011
    10
    This movie is sick, it is gross and I loved it. If you expected something different, I understand you might not like this movie at all. But if you like grindhouse movies, you can not miss this one.
  2. May 9, 2011
    10
    Hobo with a shotgun is a very entertaining movie, it does right by not trying to be normal and instead treats us to an over the top gore romp featuring sadistic punks, Metal Gimps and paedophile Santas. The film is Brilliant in every way with the over acting and the corny one liners.
    With a John Carpenter esq soundtrack what's not to love about a Hobo with a Shotgun delivering justice one
    Hobo with a shotgun is a very entertaining movie, it does right by not trying to be normal and instead treats us to an over the top gore romp featuring sadistic punks, Metal Gimps and paedophile Santas. The film is Brilliant in every way with the over acting and the corny one liners.
    With a John Carpenter esq soundtrack what's not to love about a Hobo with a Shotgun delivering justice one shell at a time.
    Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2011
    8
    Really crazy movie with ton of blood and action. This is the best grindhouse movie i seen yet. Another great Grindhouse movie. This movie is so crazy the most craziest grindhouse movie i didn't think that grindhouse could get any crazier until i seen this movie. Great actors and actress and directing. The storyline was on point it wasn't the best story line but it was great. A simple storyReally crazy movie with ton of blood and action. This is the best grindhouse movie i seen yet. Another great Grindhouse movie. This movie is so crazy the most craziest grindhouse movie i didn't think that grindhouse could get any crazier until i seen this movie. Great actors and actress and directing. The storyline was on point it wasn't the best story line but it was great. A simple story line turn into very great movie. I love all the blood and killing in this movie. If you could just ignore the hilarious title of the movie and take a chance to watch it you might actually like it, i did. It is bloody from beginning to end. This movie also had a couple sad scene. SOme scene in this movie might make you cry. A action movie with a lot of heart. Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    Hobo with a Shotgun doesn't wink. It doesn't flinch. And it never refrains from going overboard in ways you've could never have imagined.

    The good * Very original ways of killing people * Ultra violent (see below) * Utterly ridiculous scenes * Bad guys are over-the-top, diverse, and original * Casting for several characters is great (Rutger Hauer as the Hobo is amazing, Nick Bateman as
    Hobo with a Shotgun doesn't wink. It doesn't flinch. And it never refrains from going overboard in ways you've could never have imagined.

    The good

    * Very original ways of killing people
    * Ultra violent (see below)
    * Utterly ridiculous scenes
    * Bad guys are over-the-top, diverse, and original
    * Casting for several characters is great (Rutger Hauer as the Hobo is amazing, Nick Bateman as Ivan is perfect, and Brian Downey makes Drake a much more memorable character than you'd think you would expect)
    * Very nice cinematography in several places

    The "bad"
    * If you're not comfortable with extreme violence, then some scenes will make you flinch. I don't mind it, but it goes beyond "normal violence" to the point that I would warn friends that it may be more violent than what they might expect since a lot of it is done in poor taste. We're talking stuff like flamethrowing a bus full of children and burning alive a mother and her baby in the dumpster they live. If you're cool with that level of violence, then it's all good.
    * The movie is a bit less funny than I expected. Instead of "OMG, uber-cheese", it made me go "OMG, that was crazy". Not "bad" per say, just different than what I expected.
    * The strength of the casting for several roles highlights the weakness of the casting in other roles.
    * David Brunt (the original Hobo in the Grindhouse trailer) was said to be casted as a cop. While true, you only see him twice for like 2 seconds.

    Thumbs way way up. Turned out better than Machete, IMO. Or Grindhouse (either movie).
    Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    Hobo with a sho gun. Fantastic, destined to be a cult classic!. More pulpy than Pulp Fiction, more vengeful then Gran Torino. More ultra-violent than Clockwork Orange! The perfect blend that just manages not to take itself too seriously. And the opening soundtrack is breathtaking!
  6. May 26, 2011
    6
    Eisener does a great job with the look and feel of the film. Had the same gritty texture that you'd find in a violent 70's flick like The Warriors. Yes, it's consistently violent and gory, but there's enough humor to make it go down easy. The weakest link in the film, however, is "The Plague" - two armored idiot assassins who look like Evil Bill & Ted from Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey.Eisener does a great job with the look and feel of the film. Had the same gritty texture that you'd find in a violent 70's flick like The Warriors. Yes, it's consistently violent and gory, but there's enough humor to make it go down easy. The weakest link in the film, however, is "The Plague" - two armored idiot assassins who look like Evil Bill & Ted from Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey. Really stupid, actually. The teenage prostitute Abby provides some much needed heart. So this is what Gregory ("Everwood") Smith has been up to. He really needs a new pilot. Expand
  7. BMF
    May 16, 2011
    10
    This is the goriest movie I have ever seen the special effects guy must have worked some late nights. Rutger Hauer is great in the roll of Hobo a guy who is tired of all the filth in his new town and decides to do some cleaning up... with a shotgun. A damn good movie but dont go see it if you are scared of blood.
  8. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    I'm a huge fan of the genre and this movie really didn't disappoint. A prime example of low art becoming high art. Brilliant cinematography, amazing soundtrack, solid acting and action in bucket loads. Surprisingly enough it manages to be quite touching in parts, mainly due to Rutgar Hauer's brilliant acting. When he starts talking you just can't help but listen. Remember his speech at theI'm a huge fan of the genre and this movie really didn't disappoint. A prime example of low art becoming high art. Brilliant cinematography, amazing soundtrack, solid acting and action in bucket loads. Surprisingly enough it manages to be quite touching in parts, mainly due to Rutgar Hauer's brilliant acting. When he starts talking you just can't help but listen. Remember his speech at the end of bladerunner? I've seen things you people wouldn't believe....' well he delivers similar speeches in this movie, one or two actually putting a lump in my throat. He plays an insanely believable hobo too. Genius casting there. I even preferred this film to planet terror. This is the best and most authentic grindhouse I've seen by far and probably the bloodiest, sickest film I've seen too, which in my messed up head is a compliment. Best line is 'you can't cure the world's problems with a shotgun...' Expand
  9. Dec 3, 2011
    6
    Hobo With A Shotgun is cheesy. Don't expect anything guys. I think it's not great like Machete bu fun. Hell, metaphor, and not-your-dating-entertainment. Gory, bloody, ridiculous fun.
  10. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    This is a B-movie done right! Personally, I found this film to be far more entertaining and tolerable than Machete. Rutger Hauer is excellent as the Hobo, and he fully-embodies this role with all the right tones. Each time he appears on screen, he steals the show. The supporting cast is good, with Brian Downey giving an over-the-top but morbidly entertaining performance. Yes, it's asThis is a B-movie done right! Personally, I found this film to be far more entertaining and tolerable than Machete. Rutger Hauer is excellent as the Hobo, and he fully-embodies this role with all the right tones. Each time he appears on screen, he steals the show. The supporting cast is good, with Brian Downey giving an over-the-top but morbidly entertaining performance. Yes, it's as straight forward in it's storytelling as the title suggests, but it works well, partly due to it's short runtime. It's relentless, unapologetic, and hilariously gory, so if that appeals to your sensibilities, give it a look! Expand
  11. May 7, 2011
    0
    This once existed only as a trailer to Grindhouse but one day some one decided to go on ahead and make the film. I mean, it has a catchy title, in a Snakes on a plane sort of way. And the idea of a sort of comedy action film with Rutger Hauer as a hobo with a shotgun sounded like it might be vaguely entertaining.

    The plot is this: hobo shows up in an ultra violent town. Ultra violent
    This once existed only as a trailer to Grindhouse but one day some one decided to go on ahead and make the film. I mean, it has a catchy title, in a Snakes on a plane sort of way. And the idea of a sort of comedy action film with Rutger Hauer as a hobo with a shotgun sounded like it might be vaguely entertaining.

    The plot is this: hobo shows up in an ultra violent town. Ultra violent things occur. Blood. Gore. Death.

    I don
    Expand
  12. May 8, 2011
    10
    Sheer, mindless fun with lots of over-the-top, stylized blood-'n-guts. Destined to become a cult classic that will have audiences laughing at it as well as with it.
  13. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    one of the best movies I've seen this year. i loved it. it was so bloody though. the story was genius. the movie was kinda funny. i enjoyed it a lot. its entertaining as hell. great job with the script.
  14. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    The title is 'Hobo with a Shotgun'. That says all you need to know, really?
    Obnoxious, loud, over-the-top gore where stubbing your toe will result in a blood fountain that would rival those in los vegas.
    You know its stupid. And unlike the hordes of action movies out there, it knows its stupid. and its cool with that. good on ya, mate.
  15. Dec 15, 2011
    2
    odriguez and Tarantino knew how to do it. They both created Grindhouse movies that were made to entertain. The camera work was purposefully amateuristic and some of the scenes were clearly played out for laughs. Jason Eisener's "Hobo With a Shotgun" is not that kind of movie. It is a joyless, sick and twisted movie with no intention to entertain you. He takes the elements of a Grindhouseodriguez and Tarantino knew how to do it. They both created Grindhouse movies that were made to entertain. The camera work was purposefully amateuristic and some of the scenes were clearly played out for laughs. Jason Eisener's "Hobo With a Shotgun" is not that kind of movie. It is a joyless, sick and twisted movie with no intention to entertain you. He takes the elements of a Grindhouse movie and combines them to make the biggest pile of trash possible. Rutger Hauer is the only shining light in this abysmal grindhouse flick. By the time it was all over, I felt queasy from all the gratuitous gore and trashy dialogue. Skip this unless you enjoy the joyless torture porns. Collapse
  16. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    Over the top gore similar to films like Grindhouse and Machete but this movie is my favorite of the group. It's stupid but a good kind of stupid. Very entertaining imo. Rutger Hauer is amazing as the title character (the hobo). Would definently recommend it.
  17. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    Awesome and totally insane. Its has lots of killing and some creative deaths. The main bad guy is great and very crazy. Whats kinda silly is that the shotgun never gets reloaded in the entire film but who cares. Also there is so much swearing that sometimes it actually loses its impact and you think 'are you only gonna call him a piece of **** when you just called that guy a ****** ****Awesome and totally insane. Its has lots of killing and some creative deaths. The main bad guy is great and very crazy. Whats kinda silly is that the shotgun never gets reloaded in the entire film but who cares. Also there is so much swearing that sometimes it actually loses its impact and you think 'are you only gonna call him a piece of **** when you just called that guy a ****** **** ****** ***** ******?' and one time you can almost see him stop and try to think of a word he hasn't used recently. Definitely one of the most psychotically violent films ever and its done in good way, not an 'oh look, more blood, meh.' like many gory films. Some parts are quite funny too, in a psychotic way. Expand
  18. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    Personally I thought ''Hobo with a Shotgun'' was brilliant.It delivers something better than most other films but on a low budget.Very exciting and you just want to watch more, in the high paced , highly violent action/Dark Comedy .Have recommended to friends.
  19. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    Jason Eisener had directed a fake grindhouse trailer as an entry for Robert Rodriguez's "South by Southwest" Grindhouse competition, upon winning the event the trailer got a very high honour of appearing with a few other fake trailers (made by todays bigger names: Edgar Wright, Eli Roth e.t.c) that would show before Robert and Quentin Tarantino's 2007 exploitation double featureJason Eisener had directed a fake grindhouse trailer as an entry for Robert Rodriguez's "South by Southwest" Grindhouse competition, upon winning the event the trailer got a very high honour of appearing with a few other fake trailers (made by todays bigger names: Edgar Wright, Eli Roth e.t.c) that would show before Robert and Quentin Tarantino's 2007 exploitation double feature "GRINDHOUSE" (Planet Terror/Deathproof).

    "Grindhouse Cinema" for those who don't know...

    Back in the 70's, Televison was really starting to break out in means of programming, videotape and censorship, this sudden wave had a devastating impact on movie theatre going (but obviously not film-making because some of the greatest movies ever made came out in the 70's in my opinion). this led many theatres to opt out and provide something television could not.

    Enter Grindhouse, movie theatres filled with over-the-top violence, sex, sleaze, narrative "the works", this impact was so large Porn had almost became a new Genre, finally the public was at the end of it's teather and burned down many of these theatres, so little exist today...

    Finally with the release of Tarantino/Rodriguez's Double Feature in 2007 was this age-old era reborn with a fierce impact on Pop-Culture, most notably dubstep songs and one of those fake trailers ("MACHETE") being turned into a feature length along with 2 planned sequels...

    And of course here we are now with "Hobo With A Shotgun", whoever gave Jason Eisener the money for this is a saint, but the really big sellpoint for this movie was that RUTGER HAUER has signed on to play the Hobo.

    Rutger Hauer to me is the finest Dutch actor to ever live, i have seen so many of his performances and wondered how on earth did they get him into in such a small independent film?

    Well Hauer explained that good old "you only live once" scenario and he blew this role out of the water, i mean even when i heard that he was available i was puzzled yet thrilled at what perfect casting that was.

    Aside from Gregory Smith who is a small indie actor, everyone else is virtually an unknown yet give very convincing and engaging performances (given the style this film is after).

    The film opens with the Hobo train hopping and departing at a place called "Hope Town" (where the word "scum" has been graffiti sprayed over the word "hope") there everything is constantly in a strong cycle of crime and violence, most notably headed by "The Drake" (Brian Downey).

    The Hobo makes friends with a kind prostitute Abby (Molly Dunsworth) and has intentions of buying a lawnmower to start a buisness, however the stench of crime proves to much and eventually decides to opt out for a shotgun "Delivering justice ONE shell at a time".

    From there on then as you can deduce everything spirals out of control, riots, bloodshed, OTT violence, armoured henchman, makes for a film on repeated viewings largely entertaining and true to the grindhouse phenomena.

    The film is also highly stylised to look old and dirty thanks to sharp editing skills also done by Jason Eisener, the script while not amazing never gets too cheesy thanks to John Davies and the beginning credits bare the title in the stylised font from swedish grindhouse classic "They Call Her One Eye", while the end credits roll with the unearthly catchy song used for a children's programe, see if you can find out which one ;-)

    Final Verdict: Messy, violent, bloody but goddammit is it fun, It's not anyway smart but for following traditions. "Hobo With A Shotgun" get's my seal of approval.
    Expand
  20. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    This movie is sick.Great acting and great special effects are the forces of this movie.Another force of the movie is the fact that he doesn't take himself too seriously.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jul 2, 2011
    50
    A continuous parade of slaughter.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 28, 2011
    38
    Hopefully the last, of the fake trailer spinoffs of 2007's "Grindhouse." It makes last year's "Machete" look like "The King's Speech."
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    May 27, 2011
    0
    Is it good bad? Nah. It's just bad. It's so bad it makes "Machete," the other movie based on a mock trailer from "Grindhouse," look like high-gloss Kubrickian satire.