Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 4, 2000
2.2
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 210 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
30
Negative:
150
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JimmyH.Dec 6, 2003
Great action, too many talking scens! but in the end i love the movie! i especally like the guy who plays carter!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
oxanaJan 3, 2015
What could you do if you were invisible? When there is no one to look back at you in the mirror... And more over: what would you do? The movie sets a few moral questions, investigates them a bit, but in the end reaches its conclusion withoutWhat could you do if you were invisible? When there is no one to look back at you in the mirror... And more over: what would you do? The movie sets a few moral questions, investigates them a bit, but in the end reaches its conclusion without great struggle or mindblowing depth. An "excuse" is given, stripping any need for psychological development, and so on. Overall, not a bad movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Coincidental86May 13, 2015
Total Recall and Robocop are classic action movies. This movie doesn't even come close to the quality of these two movies. If you want to see a great thriller with Kevin Bacon watch Stir Of Echoes. Hollow Man has nothing unique or inventive.Total Recall and Robocop are classic action movies. This movie doesn't even come close to the quality of these two movies. If you want to see a great thriller with Kevin Bacon watch Stir Of Echoes. Hollow Man has nothing unique or inventive. One of the weakest movies of 2000 and of the director's career, avoid if you have never seen it or heard of it. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesNov 29, 2014
Apart from its confessedly impressive visual effects, "Hollow Man" is just a typical horror film that offers a weak script and reprehensible dialogue.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
4
longjetty7Mar 30, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not as bad as the critics might have you think, but it's still not so good. This movie comes across to me like a wasted opportunity. The special effects and the premise are intriguing, but there are so many interesting and thought-provoking ways this movie could have gone that are left unexplored, and it instead ends up being a cliche and mediocre thriller. The last 20 minutes or so are actually entertaining, but it's all so illogical and ridiculous. Why can't you see food that Kevin Bacon eats if he's invisible? How did he survive being electrocuted and randomly appear in the elevator shaft? How did that other guy survive getting a gaping hole in his abdomen and yet 10 minutes later he was running around and climbing elevators? How did they not get hit by the rubble falling all over them? Lazy, lazy writing! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
DavidS.Jul 18, 2009
Only interesting if you are a student of Hollywood special effects. Otherwise it's quite boring and a little perverse in its themes and over-the-top gore.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JamesH.sMar 29, 2010
I am not quite sure why I liked this film so much and so few others did. I found it to be a very tense and exciting sci-fi thriller.It is wonderfully imaginative, has good performances, especially Kevin Bacon, one of his best roles. The I am not quite sure why I liked this film so much and so few others did. I found it to be a very tense and exciting sci-fi thriller.It is wonderfully imaginative, has good performances, especially Kevin Bacon, one of his best roles. The special effects are excellent. The plot is a great one, I never lost interest. Great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BigK.Dec 20, 2005
I've seen better and worse films with Mr Bacon. This film is simply another cliched foray into the sci/fi/horror type flick. Truly ordinary in the way it ends with the lacklustre defeat of the (by that stage) poorly computer generated I've seen better and worse films with Mr Bacon. This film is simply another cliched foray into the sci/fi/horror type flick. Truly ordinary in the way it ends with the lacklustre defeat of the (by that stage) poorly computer generated Bacon. (in fact he looks like he might actually have been made out of bacon). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesT.Dec 28, 2006
This movie has all the bad elements of a B rated horror flick. However it's not snakes on a plane bad, more like snakes in a pit of boringness. It doesn't even have the guilty sense of bad movie watching pleasure. Neophytes who This movie has all the bad elements of a B rated horror flick. However it's not snakes on a plane bad, more like snakes in a pit of boringness. It doesn't even have the guilty sense of bad movie watching pleasure. Neophytes who like bad movies would really have to dig deep to enjoy this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
R.LopezMar 12, 2009
This movie got a seven from me for what is and what it means to me as a science geek. This is not a great movie, don't get me wrong; but is a exceptionally well executed one at that. Hollow man follows the story of Dr. Sebastian Cane, This movie got a seven from me for what is and what it means to me as a science geek. This is not a great movie, don't get me wrong; but is a exceptionally well executed one at that. Hollow man follows the story of Dr. Sebastian Cane, an egotistical and arrogant scientist working on a way to make living matter invisible. He has already succeeded on animal trials and is ready to go to the next step, human testing, Cane volunteers to be the first human subject. The experiment seems like a major success, until something goes terrible goes wrong. Now Sebastian is becoming increasingly paranoid and out of control, doomed to be without flesh for all his life. Now his team wants to shut the project down and bring in the government to catch Sebastian, But Sebastian traps them in the lab with him. With time running out can the team really out smart a maniac invisible man? Hollow man is not a great movie in the sense of what it is, it is a great achievement in visual effects and putting a whole new story to the invisible man tale. It also makes you wonder if that feeling you get when your alone is really just a feeling, or if it's just your imagination playing tricks on you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KPAug 18, 2009
NO way does this movie deserve a sub 30's rating. Again NO way! I reserve a rating that low for things that are unwatchable. Not that this movie was all that great. It was mediocre pretty much all across the board, but done well enough. NO way does this movie deserve a sub 30's rating. Again NO way! I reserve a rating that low for things that are unwatchable. Not that this movie was all that great. It was mediocre pretty much all across the board, but done well enough. I'd normally give it a 5 out of 10, but the ratings are so skewed towards the low end, I bumped mine up in a small effort to balance things out. Definitely a watchable flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DizzleFizzleDec 11, 2007
The funniest comedy of the year, if not the decade. Everything including the story, acting, and sheer genius by the director just makes me want to pee my pants. Obviously this movie was not meant to be serious, and most of the critics did The funniest comedy of the year, if not the decade. Everything including the story, acting, and sheer genius by the director just makes me want to pee my pants. Obviously this movie was not meant to be serious, and most of the critics did not realize this. There is no way that anyone could be stupid enough to make a movie like this and have it actually be a suspenseful thriller. That's just crazy. Keep up the good work Paul Verhoeven, I look forward to other comedies coming out directed by you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SpangleJul 7, 2017
Throughout his career, Paul Verhoeven has been criticized for his film's rampant misogyny, violence against women (rape is a constant), and strong violence. Hollow Man, unarguably his worst film, embodies all of these. Yet, as always, it isThroughout his career, Paul Verhoeven has been criticized for his film's rampant misogyny, violence against women (rape is a constant), and strong violence. Hollow Man, unarguably his worst film, embodies all of these. Yet, as always, it is through a unique lens. While Verhoeven himself claims that anybody could have directed Hollow Man - and he is right - few could have pulled off the antagonist of Hollow Man (Kevin Bacon) in the fashion that Verhoeven did. Turning this heinous man into a compelling antagonist to protagonist Linda (Elisabeth Shue), Verhoeven makes this film one that is squarely about the dangers faced by women in a world dominated by men, their ambitions, and their potentially nefarious intentions with women. It is unfortunate, then, that the rest of the film is so bland.

This thematic consideration is introduced quite early. Sebastian Caine (Bacon), is a brilliant scientist who discovers how to not just make animals invisible, but how to make them re-appear again. Confident that his experiment will work on humans, he uses himself as the test subject. Unfortunately for him, things go wrong and he stays invisible. Unfortunately for everyone else, Sebastian is a truly wicked man and a perfect portrait of toxic masculinity. Wishing to own Linda, Sebastian is immediately incensed when he sees another man in her bed when giving her the news about his initial breakthrough. Yet, he never gives up the chase and continuously makes advances on her to try and make her "his" once more. When he learns that she is dating co-worker Matt (Josh Brolin), his rage only becomes more pronounced. Thus, it is no surprise to see Verhoeven set the film up as being Sebastian versus Linda. In dream sequences, Linda imagines being raped by the invisible Sebastian and that is exactly the plight she must face. Verhoeven, like many male directors, is often obsessed with putting women in dangerous situations out of a fear that women in the world are in danger. Linda is put in this position in the film via her connection to Sebastian before his invisibility. Now, with him invisible, it is only natural that he will continue to act on his belief that Linda belongs to him and nobody else.

Yet, Sebastian, as with many men who possess this dangerous toxic masculinity, believes that he is owed any woman's body. Leering at a woman undressing in the apartment across from his in a disturbing act of voyeurism - in sequences that feel like a Verhoeven-led interpretation of Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window - Sebastian continuously is disheartened when she closes the blinds before revealing her nude body. Not taking no for an answer, he quickly takes advantage of his invisibility and opts to rape her. Driven out of a desire to demystify the woman and assert his ownership of his body, Sebastian's act of violence is driven by a need to see her nude and is an urge he cannot put away. It is primal, violent, and thoroughly disturbing. At work, he sexually assaults veterinarian Sarah (Kim Dickens). The sequence is similarly alarming and brilliantly approached by Verhoeven. On the surface, however, if Sebastian were the protagonist, this would be troubling. Instead, by making him the antagonist, Verhoeven turns it into a terrifying display of rape culture in the world with Sebastian Caine being the embodiment of any man who believes that women owe him sex or to simply see them nude. By doing this, Verhoeven turns Hollow Man into an unexpected, but chilling, realization of the classic "male fantasy". Ask some young men what they would if they were invisible and you will get the answer that they would spy on women in the locker room or through the window. It is a classic "boys will be boys" answer that will likely elicit laughter from the right crowd, but is a chilling confirmation of one thing: some average men would sexually harass, sexually assault, or even rape, women if there were no consequences. Sebastian is one of these men. Before raping the girl across the way, he tries to talk himself out of it before realizing that nobody will ever know. He lives out work fantasies of seeing Sarah naked who he views as "feisty" due to her constant fights with him. By making Sarah be the one he assaults at work, it is a smart tactic to show how Sebastian craves power. She emasculates him by challenging him and his decisions, thus he must ensure he can reclaim power over her and make her subordinate to his manly strength. After watching Sebastian's terrifying reign of terror on the women of the city, it is hardly a surprise that he is reluctant to give away his "power". It is the only thing that makes him feel like a "complete" man with the way in which he gets the sex he wants with who he wants, even if they do not want the same. It may even be able to restore Linda's body to him if he can sneak past Matt. It is a chilling depiction of the dangerous and possessive toxic masculinity that lurks in the background of many average people.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews