Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Oct 16, 2012
    60
    Holy Motors is aggressively "wild," a puzzle that tweaks the mind but doesn't nourish.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Nov 30, 2012
    50
    There are a few beguiling moments in Holy Motors, particularly a martial-arts sequence and an erotic dance while Mr. Oscar is dressed in a motion-capture body suit, but the road between those moments is so strewn with stalled ideas that audiences who care about character and plot are liable to take the exit to a movie that makes sense.
  3. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Oct 19, 2012
    50
    Holy Motors is full of larks and jolts, but the movie is so self-referential that it's mainly aroused by itself. The audience, though eager to be pleased, is left unsatisfied. [22 Oct. 2012, p.88]
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Oct 19, 2012
    50
    The sort of enigmatic movie that many critics embrace because it's open to endless interpretation.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    I rated Holy Motors 75 out of 100. The reason i did not give it more points is that after the "infamous" monster sequence, the movie slowsI rated Holy Motors 75 out of 100. The reason i did not give it more points is that after the "infamous" monster sequence, the movie slows down and never reaches the heights it reach until that point. Anyways this is a movie you need to see and make your own explanation about the meanings behind it. I would like to mention Denis Lavant's absolutely outstanding performance, which is one if the best of this year. Holy Motors is a very different movie, a cinematic journey not afraid to explore new territories. Recommended! Full Review »
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    1
    Holy Motors is a day in the life of a performer. We see Oscar (Lavant) picked up by his driver/assistant, he is told that he has a certainHoly Motors is a day in the life of a performer. We see Oscar (Lavant) picked up by his driver/assistant, he is told that he has a certain number of appointments that he must attend throughout his day. Soon after we learn that at each appointment he is to play a new character. Who he is performing for and why he is performing is for the viewer to decide for themselves. There in lies my problem with Holy Motors. There is no narrative to speak of, and there is no character development. Unless of course you consider the fact that Oscar becomes exhausted from all of his appointments character development.

    There is one positive in Holy Motors, and that is Denis Lavant. He transitions flawlessly from one character to the next, and portrays each character convincingly. I would say that Lavant is giving my second favorite performance of 2012, next to Day-Lewis in Lincoln. However once again my issue becomes that I am given no reason to care about any of the characters he is portraying. It's as if I am watching a very good audition. If I was casting a movie I would hire Lavant, if I'm looking to enjoy a film for two hours, no thanks.

    Holy Motors is deliberately bizarre and surreal so there is an audience that it is appealing too. I am just not that audience which I'm sure is no skin off Carax's back. For me Holy Motors is simply artistic masturbation.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    4
    No, this film has far too many boring stretches to work - especially in the second half of the film. I'm a fan of Cronnenberg, Lynch andNo, this film has far too many boring stretches to work - especially in the second half of the film. I'm a fan of Cronnenberg, Lynch and other filmmakers who do weird in much more interesting and provocative ways. Sure, there are some disturbing images and fodder for discussion - they're simply not tied together into a meaningful whole which worked for me. I went into the film knowing generally what to expect, and I can let good inaccessible art flow by me, but I checked my watch 2 or 3 too many times for my liking. Full Review »