Homefront

Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 35
  2. Negative: 11 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Nov 26, 2013
    67
    Ultimately of course, this is Statham’s show, and as always he doesn’t disappoint.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Dec 9, 2013
    60
    [Jason Statham] has some nice, relaxed moments with onscreen daughter Izabela Vidovic, and gets to fulfil half his audience's fantasies in wiping the smirk from James Franco's face.
  3. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Nov 27, 2013
    50
    Statham and Franco, both well-known sleepwalkers on camera, seem more animated than usual. Suspend belief, and you’ll find Homefront predictable but entertaining.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Nov 27, 2013
    42
    The basic ingredients of a throwback action movie are all there; what’s missing is action and style.
  5. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 27, 2013
    40
    A thoroughly boilerplate bayou actioner, with one notable feature. It’s got good villains – nasty, delirious, stupid villains, among them Franco and Ryder – and for that it’s almost worth seeing. Almost.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Nov 26, 2013
    38
    Homefront is what "Breaking Bad" may have resembled had Sylvester Stallone written the TV show.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Nov 26, 2013
    20
    A disappointing mess of a genre flick.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Aug 23, 2015
    9
    An awesome movie with a bit of good acting in parts (mostly from Statham), and some great action sequences. The plot carries a real sense ofAn awesome movie with a bit of good acting in parts (mostly from Statham), and some great action sequences. The plot carries a real sense of justice. Several actors didn't perform too well though, I'm afraid (cough cough James Franco). Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2015
    8
    The acting is pretty good and the action sequences are intense.Unfortunately for the movie he is predictable and there is not a lot ofThe acting is pretty good and the action sequences are intense.Unfortunately for the movie he is predictable and there is not a lot of action.Plus,they try to make us think that there will be a big final fight between Jason and James but he just punch him a couple of times and it's over. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2015
    8
    Sylvester Stallone's screenplay of a Chuck Logan film adaptation is rising at it's own bad ass level. We know that Jason Statham likes to beSylvester Stallone's screenplay of a Chuck Logan film adaptation is rising at it's own bad ass level. We know that Jason Statham likes to be on the "action genre," he wouldn't even care if the script is a mediocre or it sucks! he wouldn't care he just loves the action. In "Homefront" a former agent moves to this town with his daughter, he doesn't know what he is getting himself into! then he tangles with a meth dealer (James Franco), if there is one we love is how director Gary Fleder makes Statham looks wild and crazy on the camera, with the camera. The film can be entertaining ah the daughter is annoying and there can be times when characters are just to dumb. Grade B Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2014
    7
    When you combine Action with Drama, you had better have a damn good story to go along with the tremendous fight scenes and wild chases, orWhen you combine Action with Drama, you had better have a damn good story to go along with the tremendous fight scenes and wild chases, or else you get a film that falls flat. We all know that at this point, Jason Statham is the best Action star you could have, but the jury was out on how effect he could be in a more dramatic role. In Home Front, Statham plays a retired undercover D.E.A. agent, who has recently become a single father. He and his daughter have moved from the big city to the small town, which his late wife called home, in the hopes of building a better life. Everything was going as planned until his daughter, stood up to a bully at school, and embarrassed the son of one the towns most influential families. The simple misunderstanding between children quickly escalates into an all out war, which will force Statham to use everything he learned in the D.E.A. to protect his daughter and his new home. Once again, Jason Statham was terrific in this film. It is mind boggling and seems to be impossible, but every film this man does is better than the one before it. He is on a winning streak, the likes of which I have never seen. Statham was terrific, but oddly, he's paired with an actor who doesn't have much experience playing the bad guy and it showed. James Franco plays Gator Bodine, a small time hood and drug trafficker, who goes after Statham with everything he's got, the only problem is, Bodine really isn't that bad a guy. In fact, when Franco starts cursing and playing all tough, it's almost laughable, not to mention the fact that he doesn't have a tenth of the fighting skills that Statham has. Being that this was a big budget film, Written by Sylvester Stallone (Rocky), Directed by Gary Fleder (Kiss The Girls, Runaway Jury), and starting the best action star in the game (Jason Statham), it's very peculiar that they would choose a bad guy, who is best known as a comedic actor. While the story was great, Franco simply can not match up with Statham at all. Homefront has almost everything you could want in a Thriller, but the lack of a strong, believable opponent, really calls into question just how believable the film is and makes it somewhat predictable. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    6
    There's really not much to say on this one. It's your standard Jason Statham action flick that's unsurprisingly no different from anythingThere's really not much to say on this one. It's your standard Jason Statham action flick that's unsurprisingly no different from anything else he's done in the past. James Franco gives what is probably the most notable performance in the entire film. However, the supporting ladies Winona Ryder and Kate Bosworth both give weak and half-hearted performances. The story is rather predictable as well. Overall, from what I saw, it really makes me question if this would've been better had Sylvester Stallone not abandoned this back in the day. The only good thing I can really say was that it was somewhat entertaining while it lasted, but that's about it. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2014
    4
    Scripted by Sylvester Stallone and starring quite a nice trio of supporting performers, Kate Bosworth, James Franco and Wynona Ryder, JasonScripted by Sylvester Stallone and starring quite a nice trio of supporting performers, Kate Bosworth, James Franco and Wynona Ryder, Jason Statham's latest film HOMEFRONT has all the makings of a perfect B movie... swampy small town, secret meth cookers, local hostilities and brutality, all that fun stuff. But the film is so poorly directed by Gary Fleder that in every action scene you literally have no idea what is going on. The nicely choreographed fight scenes, which is the point of a Statham film, particularly suffer.

    As usual it makes no sense to have this cockney lad in the small town south but I could buy that since Statham has such charisma on screen and he's great with kids. He has a small daughter in this film, the wife is dead of course, and his scenes with the girl very sweet. But the rest is a big old mess.

    Sadly, the 3 supporting stars aren't given much to do and none of them takes the opp to chew the scenery and go for it. So what's left... not much and unlike most Statham films, the man never takes his shirt off or hops out of bed in his underwear. So what is the point?
    Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2014
    0
    Now I can stomach my fair share of generic action films are long as it can keep me at least some-what interested. With Homefront, I couldn'tNow I can stomach my fair share of generic action films are long as it can keep me at least some-what interested. With Homefront, I couldn't help but roll my eyes with how painfully generic and predictable it was. It was laughably bad...really, really bad, So much so that I couldn't even sit through the first 15 minutes before I stopped watching. Collapse

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers