Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 35
  2. Negative: 11 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Nov 26, 2013
    67
    Ultimately of course, this is Statham’s show, and as always he doesn’t disappoint.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Dec 9, 2013
    60
    [Jason Statham] has some nice, relaxed moments with onscreen daughter Izabela Vidovic, and gets to fulfil half his audience's fantasies in wiping the smirk from James Franco's face.
  3. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Nov 27, 2013
    50
    Statham and Franco, both well-known sleepwalkers on camera, seem more animated than usual. Suspend belief, and you’ll find Homefront predictable but entertaining.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Nov 27, 2013
    42
    The basic ingredients of a throwback action movie are all there; what’s missing is action and style.
  5. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 27, 2013
    40
    A thoroughly boilerplate bayou actioner, with one notable feature. It’s got good villains – nasty, delirious, stupid villains, among them Franco and Ryder – and for that it’s almost worth seeing. Almost.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Nov 26, 2013
    38
    Homefront is what "Breaking Bad" may have resembled had Sylvester Stallone written the TV show.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Nov 26, 2013
    20
    A disappointing mess of a genre flick.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    jason statham rock as always..film is above average..watchable action thriller..! story is bit old style....but film's postive is the starjason statham rock as always..film is above average..watchable action thriller..! story is bit old style....but film's postive is the star cast,stylish performances,and i like tat cute girl too..over all i give 7 out of 10 Expand
  2. May 4, 2014
    8
    A great cast all headed up by the always enjoyable Jason Statham in this action-thriller. I enjoyed the backwoods setting and the crazyA great cast all headed up by the always enjoyable Jason Statham in this action-thriller. I enjoyed the backwoods setting and the crazy redneck characters. They really give the film a darker, dirtier feel. The action is entertaining, and while the plot may feel old to some is still works. It can be slow at some parts for a while, but Statham and Franco managed to keep me invested while the tension built up. I found it to be a great action film, and one I recommend to any Statham fan. I give it an 8.6/10=Great. Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2014
    7
    Jason Statham has managed to star in a slew of solid action films over the years. This is just as great as any. I like that this film givesJason Statham has managed to star in a slew of solid action films over the years. This is just as great as any. I like that this film gives off a family vibe which add a little bit more emotion to his character rather than making him an emotionless robot. I liked the thought of James Franco as the villain but he could've done better. Homefront is very much still worth watching. Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    6
    There's really not much to say on this one. It's your standard Jason Statham action flick that's unsurprisingly no different from anythingThere's really not much to say on this one. It's your standard Jason Statham action flick that's unsurprisingly no different from anything else he's done in the past. James Franco gives what is probably the most notable performance in the entire film. However, the supporting ladies Winona Ryder and Kate Bosworth both give weak and half-hearted performances. The story is rather predictable as well. Overall, from what I saw, it really makes me question if this would've been better had Sylvester Stallone not abandoned this back in the day. The only good thing I can really say was that it was somewhat entertaining while it lasted, but that's about it. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    4
    Scripted by Sylvester Stallone and starring quite a nice trio of supporting performers, Kate Bosworth, James Franco and Wynona Ryder, JasonScripted by Sylvester Stallone and starring quite a nice trio of supporting performers, Kate Bosworth, James Franco and Wynona Ryder, Jason Statham's latest film HOMEFRONT has all the makings of a perfect B movie... swampy small town, secret meth cookers, local hostilities and brutality, all that fun stuff. But the film is so poorly directed by Gary Fleder that in every action scene you literally have no idea what is going on. The nicely choreographed fight scenes, which is the point of a Statham film, particularly suffer.

    As usual it makes no sense to have this cockney lad in the small town south but I could buy that since Statham has such charisma on screen and he's great with kids. He has a small daughter in this film, the wife is dead of course, and his scenes with the girl very sweet. But the rest is a big old mess.

    Sadly, the 3 supporting stars aren't given much to do and none of them takes the opp to chew the scenery and go for it. So what's left... not much and unlike most Statham films, the man never takes his shirt off or hops out of bed in his underwear. So what is the point?
    Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2013
    4
    Jason Statham plays a DEA agent who leaves his job for a quiet country life with his daughter. It doesn't take long for an assortment ofJason Statham plays a DEA agent who leaves his job for a quiet country life with his daughter. It doesn't take long for an assortment of bullies (including James Franco) to menace him constantly. Sylvester Stallone adopted a novel and his simplistic style is all over the script: relentless threats for the upstanding good guy met with steely calm and hard knocks for the arrogant bad guys. Unfortunately, much of the action is cut too fast and blurry to tell what's happening, but Statham gets in a few good moves. Although it's competently made, nothing about the story or the direction is special. Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2014
    0
    Now I can stomach my fair share of generic action films are long as it can keep me at least some-what interested. With Homefront, I couldn'tNow I can stomach my fair share of generic action films are long as it can keep me at least some-what interested. With Homefront, I couldn't help but roll my eyes with how painfully generic and predictable it was. It was laughably bad...really, really bad, So much so that I couldn't even sit through the first 15 minutes before I stopped watching. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers