Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 35
  2. Negative: 11 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Nov 26, 2013
    67
    Ultimately of course, this is Statham’s show, and as always he doesn’t disappoint.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Dec 9, 2013
    60
    [Jason Statham] has some nice, relaxed moments with onscreen daughter Izabela Vidovic, and gets to fulfil half his audience's fantasies in wiping the smirk from James Franco's face.
  3. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Nov 27, 2013
    50
    Statham and Franco, both well-known sleepwalkers on camera, seem more animated than usual. Suspend belief, and you’ll find Homefront predictable but entertaining.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Nov 27, 2013
    42
    The basic ingredients of a throwback action movie are all there; what’s missing is action and style.
  5. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 27, 2013
    40
    A thoroughly boilerplate bayou actioner, with one notable feature. It’s got good villains – nasty, delirious, stupid villains, among them Franco and Ryder – and for that it’s almost worth seeing. Almost.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Nov 26, 2013
    38
    Homefront is what "Breaking Bad" may have resembled had Sylvester Stallone written the TV show.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Nov 26, 2013
    20
    A disappointing mess of a genre flick.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    jason statham rock as always..film is above average..watchable action thriller..! story is bit old style....but film's postive is the starjason statham rock as always..film is above average..watchable action thriller..! story is bit old style....but film's postive is the star cast,stylish performances,and i like tat cute girl too..over all i give 7 out of 10 Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2015
    8
    This is an underappreciated typical movie, because I found it to have an unusual amount of grounded emotions. I just saw Lethal Weapon andThis is an underappreciated typical movie, because I found it to have an unusual amount of grounded emotions. I just saw Lethal Weapon and that movie is terrible compared to this, but receives a much higher rating. I'm not a big action movie person, but even here there is Statham taking down multiple people has some big explosions with chase scenes, but it's not Transporter 2, and some people don't like that. James Franco particularly made an effortlessly deep character that makes a normal guy a great villain. The acting wasn't bad for anyone, really--This is just a solid movie. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2015
    8
    Sylvester Stallone's screenplay of a Chuck Logan film adaptation is rising at it's own bad ass level. We know that Jason Statham likes to beSylvester Stallone's screenplay of a Chuck Logan film adaptation is rising at it's own bad ass level. We know that Jason Statham likes to be on the "action genre," he wouldn't even care if the script is a mediocre or it sucks! he wouldn't care he just loves the action. In "Homefront" a former agent moves to this town with his daughter, he doesn't know what he is getting himself into! then he tangles with a meth dealer (James Franco), if there is one we love is how director Gary Fleder makes Statham looks wild and crazy on the camera, with the camera. The film can be entertaining ah the daughter is annoying and there can be times when characters are just to dumb. Grade B Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    7
    I admire Jason Stathan. He is not made for the Oscars, Golden Globes or any awards but still he's unstoppable. He is the only kinda survivingI admire Jason Stathan. He is not made for the Oscars, Golden Globes or any awards but still he's unstoppable. He is the only kinda surviving and serving in cinema successfully. When it comes to the commercial cinemas anyone can easily pick this mans movies to watch any given day. It is guaranteed entertainment. I always wanted to praise him for his contribution to the commercial cinemas who made stabilize over the recent fast growing graphic-cum-commercials.

    The Story of this movie was not freshly squeezed. You can find similarities with other movies. Not the whole movie, part by part from different movies. After seeing the opening scene I thought it is better to call it a sequel to 'A History of Violence'. But the story started to take turns for every 20 minutes. It is a nicely arranged pieces and kept very simple as possible.

    I am glad that Sylvester Stallone Invested to make this movie with Jason Statham and James Franco. Looks like Statham and Stallone sharing a good friendship after working together for 'The Expedibles' movies. I still unable to recognise James Franco as a tough man, for me he's a chocolate hero. Undoubtedly he was awesome in this film, but I love to see him in a beautiful romantic movie near future.

    It was a decent movie, but the stunts were not good enough as we expect from Statham movie. According to the story, it was well achieved. More dramatised crime-thriller than an action. That can draw attention to a family audience, but drug scenes in the movie are what repels them away. Everything is not that strong, still it is rated R. Whatever they say it's a treat to watch if you are a Statham fan.
    Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2014
    7
    When you combine Action with Drama, you had better have a damn good story to go along with the tremendous fight scenes and wild chases, orWhen you combine Action with Drama, you had better have a damn good story to go along with the tremendous fight scenes and wild chases, or else you get a film that falls flat. We all know that at this point, Jason Statham is the best Action star you could have, but the jury was out on how effect he could be in a more dramatic role. In Home Front, Statham plays a retired undercover D.E.A. agent, who has recently become a single father. He and his daughter have moved from the big city to the small town, which his late wife called home, in the hopes of building a better life. Everything was going as planned until his daughter, stood up to a bully at school, and embarrassed the son of one the towns most influential families. The simple misunderstanding between children quickly escalates into an all out war, which will force Statham to use everything he learned in the D.E.A. to protect his daughter and his new home. Once again, Jason Statham was terrific in this film. It is mind boggling and seems to be impossible, but every film this man does is better than the one before it. He is on a winning streak, the likes of which I have never seen. Statham was terrific, but oddly, he's paired with an actor who doesn't have much experience playing the bad guy and it showed. James Franco plays Gator Bodine, a small time hood and drug trafficker, who goes after Statham with everything he's got, the only problem is, Bodine really isn't that bad a guy. In fact, when Franco starts cursing and playing all tough, it's almost laughable, not to mention the fact that he doesn't have a tenth of the fighting skills that Statham has. Being that this was a big budget film, Written by Sylvester Stallone (Rocky), Directed by Gary Fleder (Kiss The Girls, Runaway Jury), and starting the best action star in the game (Jason Statham), it's very peculiar that they would choose a bad guy, who is best known as a comedic actor. While the story was great, Franco simply can not match up with Statham at all. Homefront has almost everything you could want in a Thriller, but the lack of a strong, believable opponent, really calls into question just how believable the film is and makes it somewhat predictable. Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2013
    6
    There's really not much to say on this one. It's your standard Jason Statham action flick that's unsurprisingly no different from anythingThere's really not much to say on this one. It's your standard Jason Statham action flick that's unsurprisingly no different from anything else he's done in the past. James Franco gives what is probably the most notable performance in the entire film. However, the supporting ladies Winona Ryder and Kate Bosworth both give weak and half-hearted performances. The story is rather predictable as well. Overall, from what I saw, it really makes me question if this would've been better had Sylvester Stallone not abandoned this back in the day. The only good thing I can really say was that it was somewhat entertaining while it lasted, but that's about it. Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2014
    0
    Now I can stomach my fair share of generic action films are long as it can keep me at least some-what interested. With Homefront, I couldn'tNow I can stomach my fair share of generic action films are long as it can keep me at least some-what interested. With Homefront, I couldn't help but roll my eyes with how painfully generic and predictable it was. It was laughably bad...really, really bad, So much so that I couldn't even sit through the first 15 minutes before I stopped watching. Collapse

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers