Honey

Honey Image
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 30
  2. Negative: 11 out of 30
  1. Honey brings out the wholesome, affirmative side of the hip-hop aesthetic without being overly preachy, and it offers a winningly utopian view of show-business success without real costs or compromises.
  2. A decidedly upbeat number, centered on a good-hearted character.
  3. By no means is this a good movie, but it's warmed by the solar energy of its star, who surely deserves better than this formula empowerment flick.
  4. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    40
    With its hackneyed storyline and critical derision in the US, whispers were that Honey was to be the new "Glitter." It's not nearly that bad, which is a shame since it just skims the embarrassingly blind enthusiasm of which camp classics are made -- instead bouncing along the path of bland and forgettable.
  5. 40
    Alba, constantly sporting off-the-shoulder tops a la "Flashdance," brings no depth of feeling to her character, and her average -- often wooden -- moves make it hard to believe she's a uniquely talented hoofer and sought-after choreographer.
  6. Reviewed by: Sara Brady
    38
    Sticky, saccharine, bordering on diabetic, Honey overindulges.
  7. 20
    Amid the endless stream of catch-a-rising-star movie clichés that Honey screenwriters Alonzo Brown and Kim Watson throw up and out are a few new ones, notably "skinny girls always win out in the end" and "hootchie bad, faux hootchie good."

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25
  1. Alyssa
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    HONEY was the best dance movie of the year!! It not only brought a new light to the way hip-hop is expressed but, for the first time in a HONEY was the best dance movie of the year!! It not only brought a new light to the way hip-hop is expressed but, for the first time in a long time a movie finally expressed views based on dreams that all age groups can appreciate and maybe one day live up to!! The many people who have watched this movie believe that it is fit for any and all ages along with the fact that it is a perfect family movie!! What parent wouldn't want their kids to watch a show that portrays a woman, no less, dreaming of something so big that it almost seemed impossible, and then it happened her dreams came true!!! In order to believe in your dreams you have to believe in yourself that one day you can accomplish those dreams!! This is a great movie that expresses and teaches the true morality of life and all the hardships that so many have to face!! It is the best movie in years!! It should be awarded with all the gratitude and love that we can give!!! Expand
  2. Shawnee.G
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    This movie is so inspiring to me . i always loved dancing but now im making up my own dances with help from the video. Just my kinda style.
  3. CamiT.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    I think that this is a great moive. i wish i could dance like that. i wish that kids did something like that, now!
  4. Jun 14, 2016
    6
    How simple, charming dance flick it is.

    One of the first films in the revolution of modern dance flicks, though I know I saw it too late.
    How simple, charming dance flick it is.

    One of the first films in the revolution of modern dance flicks, though I know I saw it too late. Nowadays there are many films are coming out since the younger generation showing very interest in the dance. I especially don't know how 'Step Up' made a successful franchise, but the sixth is on the way.

    Honey is a main character's name played by Jessica Alba. A passionate dance, choreographer, when her dream coming to true that hits a roadblock for some reason followed by other issues. So now she has to come up with a solution to solve all the problems and that's the film tells how she overcomes them all at once.

    A simple story, even the choreography was ordinary, but not a bad film. I anticipated Alba to give a show that not to forget for the decades. This is now obviously a decade old flick and disappointed with her character, especially with her dance moves. But young Alba in a sexy pose on the poster, no one can just ignore it from watching.

    Overall, I enjoyed it. Since I'm watching it delayed, I should not compare it to the present scenario. Even though it has been only 13 years, in which all the fields rapidly advanced, so the dance. I suggest you just go for it with an empty mind if you want to see it. Soon I'm going to catch up with its sequel, but I know it won't be as decent as this one.

    6/10
    Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2014
    6
    The scenario is far from being the greatest of all, that's true. But the movie is really agreable and entertaining. Jessica Alba gives someThe scenario is far from being the greatest of all, that's true. But the movie is really agreable and entertaining. Jessica Alba gives some warmth to this movie. Without her, no doubt it would have been very bad. Expand
  6. ZiftK
    Oct 28, 2006
    2
    Wow, some actually like this garbage. Lackluster acting, story's really bad, I'd rather play around with a bunch of rocks. Jessica Wow, some actually like this garbage. Lackluster acting, story's really bad, I'd rather play around with a bunch of rocks. Jessica Alba looked nice, and that's by far the only good part about the movie. So, this 2 is because of Alba's looks, because she looked good. Sadly to say, that's not even good enough to save this abysmal movie. Some, do like it, but anyone that feels like watching a GOOD movie, I advice you skip this one and go for something better. Plus, who wants to see that Romeo guy act, let alone dance? Collapse
  7. Jun 30, 2011
    0
    A battering ram of cliches, bad acting, dancing that doesn't fit the music and tedious, tedious predictability. A waste of your money, timeA battering ram of cliches, bad acting, dancing that doesn't fit the music and tedious, tedious predictability. A waste of your money, time and your intelligence. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. 2016 Cannes Film Festival Recap: Reviews of Key Films

    2016 Cannes Film Festival Recap: Reviews of Key Films Image
    Published: May 22, 2016
    We look at the biggest hits and major disappointments of the just-concluded festival. Find reviews for all the major films and a list of award winners.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.