User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 98
  2. Negative: 16 out of 98
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2011
    7
    It ain't sensational, but "Hoodwinked!" is one wacky helluva interpretation of lil' Red Riding Hood and the gang.
  2. MarkB.
    Jan 24, 2006
    4
    I honestly don't understand why people are moaning about the length of Peter Jackson's King Kong--a 3-hour film that plays like an hour and 45-minute one--when this animated pastiche (in the attempted style of Jay Ward's "Fractured Fairy Tales" TV cartoons with a nod to Stan Freberg's old comedy record "St. George and the Dragonet") runs a scant 80 minutes but SEEMS I honestly don't understand why people are moaning about the length of Peter Jackson's King Kong--a 3-hour film that plays like an hour and 45-minute one--when this animated pastiche (in the attempted style of Jay Ward's "Fractured Fairy Tales" TV cartoons with a nod to Stan Freberg's old comedy record "St. George and the Dragonet") runs a scant 80 minutes but SEEMS like 3 hours. In Rashomon style, Red Riding Hood, the Big Bad Wolf, Red's grandmother and the seemingly heroic woodsman all give their accounts of what really happened in the famous story to the police and other law enforcement authorities (depicted as a bear, a frog, and--sadly, tritely and rather offensively in this age--a group of pigs). There are definite reasons why the old Looney Tunes cartoons where Bugs Bunny confronted the Three Little Pigs, or Tweety and Sylvester climbed Jack's beanstalk, only ran about seven minutes each; this starts out reasonably amusing and original, and gets more and more tiresome and desperate as it goes. A few funny supporting characters (a hyperactive squirrel, a mountain goat under a spell that won't let him stop singing, or so he says) help; so does the vocal work of Brokeback Mountain's Anne Hathaway, who plays Red as a cynical Gen Y-er, but does so with charm and great comic timing, and Patrick Warburton (who was so funny and winning as dimwitted semi-villain Kronk in Disney's The Emperor's New Groove that the studio recently released a DVD sequel centered around his character). The decision to animate everybody in a wildly different visual style really sinks this: some characters are traditionally cute while others (especially the frog) are a real eyesore. Unfortunately, these sophomoric pseudo-Pixars with the self-consciously puffy looks and the committee-written chop suey scripts show no signs of going away; before watching this I saw previews of four more slated to come out in 2006, but also one of Curious George, a traditionally 2-D animated (glory be!) version of the classic children's books that seems blissfully free of the smartass postmodern attitude that afflicted Robots, Madagascar and Hoodwinked (glory hallelujah!) Please feel free to insert your own "manna in the wilderness" or "oasis in the desert" analogy here. Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All in all, this movie was nothing special. There were a couple funny parts in it, but the thing that dragged it down the most is the animation itself. It is so rough it distracts you from the movie itself. For example, when Red was in the cable car filled with dynamite and she got herself loose, there was a moment when she turned around to face the camera. It looked super cheesy. It was almost as if she was on a moving pedestal that rotated her around in a glitchy mess instead of her moving her feet. Expand
  4. May 26, 2014
    7
    You can do much better when it comes to animated movies than Hoodwinked, but this Disney-esque kid movie goes beyond the normal formula to produce a more original film than most, and has some great actors and actresses to voice the characters.
  5. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    It's smart, with wit, a whole lot of humor, heart, mystery, and great action. I think critics should give it more credit even if it doesn't hit the levels of Shrek which failed after two movies. I give this movie 78%.
  6. JasonE.
    Jan 16, 2006
    9
    Good grief, some people really need to lighten up. Maybe it helped that I was with my friends and it was late at night, but we laughed almost the whole time. Well, not the beginning. The beginning sucked, in fact we were about ready to walk out, but as soon as the wolf and the squirrel showed up it was excellent from there. Note: do not try and enjoy this movie by its animation quality or Good grief, some people really need to lighten up. Maybe it helped that I was with my friends and it was late at night, but we laughed almost the whole time. Well, not the beginning. The beginning sucked, in fact we were about ready to walk out, but as soon as the wolf and the squirrel showed up it was excellent from there. Note: do not try and enjoy this movie by its animation quality or sophisticated storyline. It has neither. It's just funny. Expand
  7. SheriA
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    In our house, we have two ratings for kids films: worth buying on DVD, and not worth buying on DVD. Hoodwinked is definitely worth buying on DVD. It's a movie you can watch over and over and still find new things that make you laugh. The wolf and Twitchy the squirrel are a riot. (The DVD extras with them are also great.) We're looking forward to Hoodwinked 2.
  8. SeanD.
    Jan 14, 2006
    0
    Wow, this movie is terrible. It seems tired, old, very used and drawn out. I was hoping for something as clever as many of the other animated movie that have come out in the past several years, however, this does not come close. This movie isn't even enjoyable for little children, makes little sense. The only good part about this movie is it was very short, otherwise I would've Wow, this movie is terrible. It seems tired, old, very used and drawn out. I was hoping for something as clever as many of the other animated movie that have come out in the past several years, however, this does not come close. This movie isn't even enjoyable for little children, makes little sense. The only good part about this movie is it was very short, otherwise I would've walked out. Expand
  9. Nat
    May 18, 2006
    8
    This is a great movie! I don't know why this is getting such bad reviews. I usually don't like movies like this one, but it actually has smart and funny plots and lines.
  10. Pete
    May 5, 2006
    10
    Can't believe so many people are panning this film for poor animation. Looks pretty awesome to me, especially compared to some of the kids cartoons out today. The movie has some incredibly laugh out loud scenes as well. I think the success at the box office and rental store says it all.
  11. KyleW.
    Jan 14, 2006
    1
    Terrible material we've all seen in previous clever animated movies - myself and all those in the movie theatre could not wait for the flick to end. For those that stayed the entire movie, it felt as we had wasted part of our lives.
  12. PaddyO.
    Jan 17, 2006
    7
    This is a better movie than most of the reviews would have you think, and much more entertaining and funny (for both kids and adults) than Disney's latest, Chicken Little. My six year old loved it (as did most of the other kids in the theater, judging from their laughter) and keeps asking when the DVD is coming out.
  13. PYou
    Feb 2, 2006
    0
    Man did this movie look bad. Animation has taken a step backwards with this one. Kids were bored, I was bored. Skip it and buy Corpse Bride or another good movie.
  14. BenH.
    Jun 13, 2006
    10
    i work at a movie theater and am part time screen writer at UCF. I was originally going to go see tristen and isolde but it was sold out and all the other movies looked horrible, so my friend convinced me to see this one, and i said i was leaving if i didnt like it. i stayed through the entire thing and got a good luagh out of it too. it was a great comical twist and adaptation of all the i work at a movie theater and am part time screen writer at UCF. I was originally going to go see tristen and isolde but it was sold out and all the other movies looked horrible, so my friend convinced me to see this one, and i said i was leaving if i didnt like it. i stayed through the entire thing and got a good luagh out of it too. it was a great comical twist and adaptation of all the characters. and as for the guy at the very bottom, i could take a crap in a bag and put a jingle to it and it would be a better movie then the corpses bride. Expand
  15. JeffM.
    Sep 21, 2006
    8
    I really expected to hate this movie, since it looked like it desperately wanted to be clever and painfully smart-alecky, but my kids and I both enjoyed very much.
  16. ChuckH.
    Jan 22, 2006
    0
    I felt like I was pick pocketed after seeing this cheap rip off, stay away from this movie stay very far away.
  17. B.W.
    Jan 25, 2006
    8
    I thought this movie was great, it was funny and witty, yea it didnt have the greatest animation, so what, does that make a great movie, no. I was entertained and had a good time. This isnt shrek 3 nor is it trying to be, and thats a good thing. Expect to be entertained and to have a good time and you will. Expect to be overawed by amazing cgi and you wont. Expect a typical animated show, I thought this movie was great, it was funny and witty, yea it didnt have the greatest animation, so what, does that make a great movie, no. I was entertained and had a good time. This isnt shrek 3 nor is it trying to be, and thats a good thing. Expect to be entertained and to have a good time and you will. Expect to be overawed by amazing cgi and you wont. Expect a typical animated show, and thats what youll get. It sounds to me like those critics who didnt like it, couldnt have a good time if they wanted to, heck they watch movies for a living, how can you expect them to be entertained, thats not why there watching these movies. It was great, ill see it agian and recommend to my friends. Expand
  18. Thomas
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    Innocuous and amusing, this certainly fits the bill for harmless film fare. Those viewers incapable of overlooking animation that isn't groundbreaking (ah, you jaded souls...you ADD sufferers ought not see this, but instead stay home and pop Ritalin like candy) would be well-advised to stay home. Those looking for humorous, diversionary, inoffensive entertainment---perhaps a bit Innocuous and amusing, this certainly fits the bill for harmless film fare. Those viewers incapable of overlooking animation that isn't groundbreaking (ah, you jaded souls...you ADD sufferers ought not see this, but instead stay home and pop Ritalin like candy) would be well-advised to stay home. Those looking for humorous, diversionary, inoffensive entertainment---perhaps a bit fluffy, but it's animated---will find this much to their liking. "Brokeback Mountain" this ain't. That's a bloody good thing, too. Expand
  19. JakeH.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    It was hilarious I laughed my head off especially twitchy the hyper active squirrel. People are just saying that cause they have no child side or sense of humor.
  20. SeanM.
    May 2, 2006
    8
    Ok it may not be the best animated movie ever, but it is def worth a watch. The animation itself was a little lacking but it was still a step forward, not back. You just need to sit back and enjoy this movie and put your mind into a younger mind set. Too bad some of you have grown up
  21. Mixmastajb
    Sep 17, 2007
    1
    This movie was crap! It was boring, stupid, and unfunny! The only reason I'm giving it a single point is because the concept is a pretty neat one.
  22. WilliamT
    Jan 21, 2008
    4
    The concept has promise but Hoodwinked ultimately fails to deliver any laughs or full fledged entertainment. The characters feel very thrown together at the last minute and the truly humorous jokes are very few and far between. How this movie managed to get reviewers on it's box cover, I'll never know.
  23. JaimyV.
    Jul 4, 2008
    8
    Without pixar's animation quality (mind you this is sort of an indie CG animation!) the only things you can rely on is: good plot, good songs, good voice actors and great jokes. Hoodwinked doesn't succeed summa cum laude, but it doesn''t fail either. Now, every once in a while a joke will misfire, true, but Hoodwinked! has loads an loads of jokes. There are enough Without pixar's animation quality (mind you this is sort of an indie CG animation!) the only things you can rely on is: good plot, good songs, good voice actors and great jokes. Hoodwinked doesn't succeed summa cum laude, but it doesn''t fail either. Now, every once in a while a joke will misfire, true, but Hoodwinked! has loads an loads of jokes. There are enough funnies to go around with. Like in most cases of CG entertainment, the hero- in this case heroine, Red, is the most boring of all. Anne Hathaway does a great job in voice acting. But she's the girl-scout. That can't be interesting. Unless she's played by Tim Curry (öowilderness guwls, see loaded weapon 1 if you still haven't figured that one out). She finds herself surrounded by great characters. Wolf (a great Fletch parody for which Patrick Warbuten is perfect, perhaps only outclassed by mr. Chevy C himself! Boingo - I won't go into this much. Triple G Granny (a reference to Vin Diesels XXX), Nicky Flippers, The Woodsman (who sells schnitzel on a stick to kids), Japheth, a singing hillbilly goat (Japheth is by far the most brilliant creation for this film). Twitchy a squirrel with ADHD. The incompetent keystone PIGS (get the pun?). The movie plays on the fact that we got Little Red Ridinghood all wrong, and this is her real story. This twist is nice and original, but it can't carry a tune over an odd 80 minutes. The real twist is to play the plot like rashomon (Kurosawa, 1950). All the important Little Red Ridinghood characters are suspects and they are being interrogated. This is by far the most distinguishable thing from the movie. This sets this movie aside and above from all other mediocre tries to CG enterainment. It creates an opportunity to have the stories intertwine and interact. Which the creators have done perfectlty and only during the last interrogation all things fall together (if you have been paying enough attention to every detail -even the minor details -hence the term "detail") The jokes are funny, though I agree some may misfire, and maybe, they rely on too many injokes. A lot of jokes aimed at all-ages or us adults too! I love this movie. If you can see through the mediocre animation, you'll see the great characters and smart plot and storytelling. Although the animation style with the fairy tale style, so I didn;t think it was annoying. Besides, the characters, the rashomon style and the jokes distracted me from the animation. Overall an above average movie that could have been great. Now, it's "only"a whole lotta fun! Expand
  24. E.Garcia
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    We loved it. My kids, my wife and I laughed throughout the movie. The story was clever and there were no annoying characters. The animation was weak at best but the story, the voices and the fact that it was short kept my families attention. The kids were already asking about the DVD release.
  25. TonyM.
    Jan 24, 2006
    8
    Boy are there some dumb comments about this movie, and clearly a lot of critics made up their mind in advance. Yes, it is low budget animation--so what? And no, Shrek did not invent the idea of parody. If you can get over those two notions you'll find a pretty funny movie. My wife and I laughed as much as our kids (10 and 7). Forget the animation snobs and just go--you'll enjoy it.
  26. Sam
    Feb 24, 2006
    3
    The ok characters and few funny lines don't change how ugly and poor this movie is. We don't this this movie isn't funny because of our sense of humor (which we have Jake H.) we think this movie isn't funny because we know a good movie when we see one, and this isn't a good movie.
  27. DavidM.
    May 18, 2006
    9
    Nay sayers say what you want. I dropped $20 to buy the DVD of the movie, something rarely done.
  28. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    this is definitely an awesome CGI hit.
  29. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    A Great Childrens Movie For All Ages!!
  30. May 6, 2011
    8
    wow this is funny i love this movie i could watch this a million times
  31. CRL
    Aug 27, 2011
    9
    Wow... some people take life way too seriously. This movie had great voice acting and every scene was hilarious with its 'behind-the-scenes' look at Red Riding Hood. So many great lines, so many funny characters, and a little twist at the end that will leave you shaking your head and saying 'I should have seen that coming...'
  32. Aug 18, 2011
    6
    Cheesy? Yes. But good, lighthearted fun. I watched this the other night with my kids and found myself laughing much more than I expected. When searching for info about the sequel I found a game on the App Store called Red's Escape that's based off of this series, and both me and my offspring have been enjoying playing it on the iPad.
  33. Nov 27, 2011
    8
    Hoodwinked is underated. Despite a few plot holes, there is a lot of charm from this film. It has some of the same ideas as Shrek but executes them in a different way. The jokes are funny as well.
  34. Feb 13, 2012
    5
    alright, this film has some good bits and some bad bits, it has funny bits and rubbish bits, one thing that is really bad about it is the animation. basically, every bit with red in isn't good, every bit with the wolf and other characters is good, it's mixed, yellow.
  35. Sep 6, 2012
    3
    It's not nearly as bad as Eragon, but I could make this in Windows Movie Maker in five minutes.
    The acting isn't all that great, it was very poorly written (the funniest joke in the entire film was a small fast talking rodents speech being made intelligible by slowing its speech down after recording it, not all that funny,) it took to many risks that it didn't know how to deal with
    It's not nearly as bad as Eragon, but I could make this in Windows Movie Maker in five minutes.
    The acting isn't all that great, it was very poorly written (the funniest joke in the entire film was a small fast talking rodents speech being made intelligible by slowing its speech down after recording it, not all that funny,) it took to many risks that it didn't know how to deal with (making the granny a extreme sports fanatic,) the visuals where worse than a first year CGI student trying to use Flash to make Avatar and could easily be made in five minutes in pretty much given CGI program and it was overall just unfunny and unappealing to me.
    Expand
  36. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    Very entertaining. You will be surprised.
  37. Jul 15, 2013
    6
    Original idea de la clásica caperucita roja tierna y poco objetiva una nueva idea que se logra desarrollar eficasmente, y de una forma nueva e interesante
  38. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    Deu a Louca na Chapeuzinho é uma animação marcante, com vários pontos excelentes. Ele é outro filme que marcou minha infância, porque ele é muito divertido.
  39. Jan 11, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do admit that the movie does have abysmal animation on the wood-cutter character and just... NO!!! And there are some really embarrassing moments in the movie in which... spoiler alert. No seriously, spoiler alert. Granny is doing extreme sports to a rap song... urgh. BUUUUUUT there are some genuinely funny moments in the film with the character dialogue and with the squirrel's fixation on coffee during the movies ending scenes. Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    50
    With its chatty, overstuffed patter, Hoodwinked strains at the seams to look with it, like one of those dressed-alike Beverly Hills mother-daughter combos. Having said all that, the songs (yes, there are songs, too), mostly written by Todd Edwards, provide an unexpected bright spot.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    50
    Little Red Riding Hood gets a cheeky CGI makeover in Hoodwinked!, a fast-paced, fitfully clever 3-D-animated feature that will entertain tykes.
  3. Hoodwinked occupies some considerably shaky turf situated uncomfortably between "Shrek" and dreck.