User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 51
  2. Negative: 11 out of 51

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    4
    Spoiler alert the easter bunny isn't real and its ( i'm sure as Charlie Sheen is about winning) not British!!! People who could be a better easter bunny: The Queen of England, The women who plays Bart Simpson, and the voice of Darth Vader. Thank you for reading my review of hop
  2. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    Weak script but Russel Brand's perfect comedic timing, the few well-executed adult jokes, the striking visuals, and James Mardsen's performance make it a fun flick
  3. Apr 30, 2011
    7
    "Hop is a harmless , cute , innocent , and furry fun ride the whole family is going to enjoy. Its inventive , creative and seemingly original. At times it feels like a kids movie with just enough humor in there to entertain the older audiences" .. B
  4. Apr 2, 2011
    0
    Just another bad movie producers put out to make some money.
  5. Apr 1, 2011
    4
    HOP is just a hare above being annoying (thatâ
  6. Apr 28, 2011
    6
    For what it is and with taking it as seriously as one can, Hop can be a fun and entertaining film. Brand does well and his supporting cast helps makes his character believable. It's true that the film is comprised of mostly mindless storytelling, but if you can muster up enough courage to sit back and TRY to enjoy it, you will.
  7. May 3, 2011
    6
    good film sortta at times overall it was decent i think
  8. Oct 16, 2011
    7
    A good animated movie, and a great one for Easter time, as this is the theme of the film. It's all about the Easter bunny. Not all of the movie is animated, lot's of it is live action. It's a great film for children and really get's you in the mood for Easter.
  9. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    It was a fun movie i admit it the whole thing about the easter bunny or E.B. was just great
    this movie is about the life of a man(James Marsden) who meets an easter bunny(Russell Brand)
    and they become friends
  10. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is a totaly awesome movie!! this is just so good I give it such a good rating and of cose I recomend it !!!
  11. Apr 12, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers. Oh, by the way, Christmas called. It wants its holiday back. Christmas wants to know why the Easter Bunny is delivering his holiday treats in a sleigh pulled by a flock of baby chicks. Who does this rabbit think he is? Santa Claus? On every Easter eve, according to "Hop", the bunny makes his airborne rounds around the world while the good little boys and girls are asleep, all except for Fred O'Hare, who as a child, catches a glimpse of the copycat critter as he lands in his backyard, where the Santa-wanna-be leaves behind a basket of Easter goodies on the child's front doorstep. Thankfully, some traditions remain sacred. At least the rabbit has the tact not to infringe on St. Nick's signature move: the chimney drop. But otherwise, the Easter Bunny is one shrewd character. He closely follows the successful business model laid out by the dictatorial St. Nicholas. As de facto leader of a candy factory located on, predictably enough, Easter Island, the rabbit too runs a tight ship. Also known as Rapa Nui, the Polynesian island with an infamous history of colonization, in which Dutch settlers completely wiped out the native population by the mid-nineteenth century through their spreading of infectious diseases. "Hop", however, suggests an alternative history during the film's opening credit sequence, where the moviegoer sees a long-running lineage of Easter bunnies in portraiture that traces back far enough in time to coincide with the genocide of the Rapa Nui population. The paintings, rendered in a distinctly European style, recasts the seemingly harmless rabbit as the colonizer. In the absence of Rapa Nui descendants, or elves, the Easter Bunny uses chicks(he's violating child labor laws!) to manufacture the vast array of holiday candies, including Hershey's Kisses, an American institution which creates a host of troubling connotations, since it suggests that the venerable Pennsylvania chocolate-makers moved their operations abroad to keep the cost of labor to a minimum. The silver-foiled mainstay, in essence, gives this factory the appearance of a sweatshop. After all, it's non-American workers who produce the chocolate treats, seemingly without wages or any opportunities for occupational advancement. Carlos(Hank Azaria), the Easter Bunny's foreman, a disgruntled lifer, always at his master's beck and call, seizes the moment to make it known that his services are available when E.B.(Russell Brand), the heir apparent, chooses instead to pursue a career in music. Despite being qualified for the top job, the chick's ingratiating behavior toward his pink-nosed boss leads him nowhere, as Carlos learns the hard truth about being a chicken in a rabbit's world. His job has a glass ceiling. That's because the chick is a victim of species discrimination. While E.B. is off galivanting in Hollywood, slumming as a musician because he can afford to, being a child of privilege(in the film's trailer, the bunny drums to Blur's "Song 2", but it's another Brit-pop smash, Pulp's "Common People", that's much more apropos to the bunny's breeding), Carlos loyally remains by the Easter Bunny's side, making sure that the gargantuan-sized operation stays right on schedule. Carlos deserves a shot. Insensitive to the chick's aspirations, the Easter Bunny confides to Carlos about E.B., saying, "I called his dreams ridiculous," which is precisely what he infers to the crestfallen chick after the yellow fuzzball's intimations for securing the top job gets a rise out of the racist rabbit. The chicks are in the same boat as the Short Ears(!) in Kevin Reynolds' "Rapa Nui", who stage a rebellion against the Long Ears, their longtime oppressors, which culminates in a race called the Birdman Competition, a convoluted triathlon that resembles, ironically enough, during one stage, an Easter egg hunt, where the first man to return home with a Sooty Tern egg intact wins. Just like "Hop", in the Reynolds film, you're rooting for the underdog(even though Jason Scott Lee is the main protagonist), the Short Ear, but Make(Esai Morales) breaks the yolk just before he crosses the finish line, allowing Noro(Lee), the Long Ear, to win the competition by default. In "Hop", the moviegoer may want the insurrection to succeed because the chick is better qualified for the job(maybe Carlos could open the gateway to China) than E.B. The rabbits treat the chicks like an indigenous race of people they've held rule over for generation upon generation(as suggested by the portraits). So in the end, E.B. returns to the fold when his dream to bang the skins in a band comes up short(The Blind Boys of Alabama reject him). To add insult to injury, the Easter Bunny deems that Fred(James Marsden), a human, share the mantel with his slacker son, even though he's not nearly as suited for the job as the chick. (Incidentally, there's a North Pole reference in "Rapa Nui" by way of an iceberg sighted off-shore.) Collapse
  12. Apr 20, 2011
    5
    Technically and visually perfect and my 9 & 11 year olds both gave it a 10. But while I enjoyed a good deal of it, the script, story and pacing were all sub-par. The ending was especially poor. I have not read anything in the trades about the making of this film, but it really felt like they slapped an ending together as they rushed to finish the film due to time/money constraints. While great movies like the Toy Story's allow us to get fully immersed and forget that we're in a fantasy world, lazy storytelling like this keeps reminding you of how preposterous the premise is.

    My suggestion: hire the Toy Story folks to write the sequel.
    Expand
  13. Jul 16, 2011
    2
    I have to give credit for the great animation this film offers. Dare I say, better than Rio's animation?

    Although the bad thing is, well, everything else. Some of the jokes are funny, SOME, but in retrospect, this movie is uninspiring and stupid. The script is REALLY childish, i mean don't get me wrong, i know it's a kid's movie, but why go so far to release it in Theaters? besides money
    of course, but even there it fails, even as an Easter-themed movie. John Marsden as the main character of any movie will fail, especially Voice Acting. The story was obviously rushed and underdeveloped. The music in this movie i didn't care less about. Typical "happish" mood you find in every kid's movie. Although I could understand the music situation, but I just thought they would put a bit more effort into it.

    Overall, this movie sucks at the important parts. Enjoyment, depth, even any sense of Adventure is missing.
    Expand
  14. CRL
    Sep 5, 2011
    5
    Hop was never meant to be a great work of cinema, even though it's animation is top-notch. However the acting is spot-on, and the jokes are funny enough to make it an enjoyably 'built for kids' comedy.
  15. Feb 6, 2012
    4
    What the .... puh! Ok a british english speaking easter bunny who wants to play drums? And a guy who wants to be the next easter bunny? Are you serious? This movie is **** But the CG is really good! I love Kaley Cuoco in TBBT but in Hop her acting was not as good... There heaps of family movies out so watch another one then this!
  16. Apr 28, 2012
    6
    HOP is a surprisingly enjoyable and fun little kids film that makes great viewing for kids and a decent viewing for older audiences just in time for Easter.
  17. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    Your children will be slightly amused and enjoy a few hours out of the house. Brand, as he always does, milks everything he can out of the role as Hop. It's a good thing he does too. I can't imagine what a bore this film would've been without him.
  18. May 26, 2013
    7
    I can't say I was watching this very closely but I think from what I gathered it was actually a pretty decent film. James Marsden is pretty likable as Fred who accidentally hits the Easter Bunny, or E.B., with his car and befriends him. It's aimed at youngsters and they will clearly enjoy it, but there is enough here for adults too. It's not a great film and has its flaws but there is enough here to make it an entertaining film for anyone to enjoy. Overall nothing too special but worth a look. Expand
  19. Jul 6, 2013
    4
    "Hop" is pretty hopeless, despite its sweetness but put with little to no care. It's script is very weak, but its sure enough to entertain children. While I didn't completely hate Hop, there was little to like about it.
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 1, 2011
    63
    A slick and sweet film all on its own, a harmless bit of fun that fills the Easter-movie void.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 1, 2011
    38
    It's supposed to be sweet, but Hop is a headache waiting to happen.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 1, 2011
    40
    As fake and forgettable as a marshmallow Peep, Hop goes down easy enough.