Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: From the creators of "Despicable Me" comes "Hop," the comic tale of Fred, an out-of-work slacker who accidentally injures the Easter Bunny and must take him in as he recovers.(Universal Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    The movie's appeal is largely the result of the perfectly cast James Marsden as Fred, a lovable slacker who accidentally injures a floppy-eared rabbit who calls himself E.B. (perfectly voiced by Russell Brand).
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Mar 29, 2011
    70
    Despite its scattered frenzy, Hop-thanks to its fondness for smushing together seemingly incongruous elements and Marsden's goofy, bug-eyed mugging-is just demented enough to deliver a fleeting sugar rush.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Why rock, rather than hip-hop, is anybunny's guess, though either way, the basic overnight-sensation pop-star fantasy will surely appeal to a demographic weaned on "American Idol."
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    Check your driver's license - if you have one, you're probably too old to get the most out of it. If not, you may find your satisfaction a little harder - though not impossible - to come by.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 31, 2011
    40
    Some films are saccharine, but Hop is pure sugar.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 1, 2011
    38
    It's supposed to be sweet, but Hop is a headache waiting to happen.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 30, 2011
    25
    It's "Alvin and the Chipmunks" with only one chipmunk, and (if possible) even less fun.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is a totaly awesome movie!! this is just so good I give it such a good rating and of cose I recomend it !!!
  2. Apr 30, 2011
    7
    "Hop is a harmless , cute , innocent , and furry fun ride the whole family is going to enjoy. Its inventive , creative and seemingly original."Hop is a harmless , cute , innocent , and furry fun ride the whole family is going to enjoy. Its inventive , creative and seemingly original. At times it feels like a kids movie with just enough humor in there to entertain the older audiences" .. B Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    Weak script but Russel Brand's perfect comedic timing, the few well-executed adult jokes, the striking visuals, and James Mardsen'sWeak script but Russel Brand's perfect comedic timing, the few well-executed adult jokes, the striking visuals, and James Mardsen's performance make it a fun flick Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    5
    Technically and visually perfect and my 9 & 11 year olds both gave it a 10. But while I enjoyed a good deal of it, the script, story andTechnically and visually perfect and my 9 & 11 year olds both gave it a 10. But while I enjoyed a good deal of it, the script, story and pacing were all sub-par. The ending was especially poor. I have not read anything in the trades about the making of this film, but it really felt like they slapped an ending together as they rushed to finish the film due to time/money constraints. While great movies like the Toy Story's allow us to get fully immersed and forget that we're in a fantasy world, lazy storytelling like this keeps reminding you of how preposterous the premise is.

    My suggestion: hire the Toy Story folks to write the sequel.
    Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2011
    4
    HOP is just a hare above being annoying (thatâ
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    Your children will be slightly amused and enjoy a few hours out of the house. Brand, as he always does, milks everything he can out of theYour children will be slightly amused and enjoy a few hours out of the house. Brand, as he always does, milks everything he can out of the role as Hop. It's a good thing he does too. I can't imagine what a bore this film would've been without him. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2011
    0
    Just another bad movie producers put out to make some money.

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers