Hop

Hop Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: From the creators of "Despicable Me" comes "Hop," the comic tale of Fred, an out-of-work slacker who accidentally injures the Easter Bunny and must take him in as he recovers.(Universal Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    The movie's appeal is largely the result of the perfectly cast James Marsden as Fred, a lovable slacker who accidentally injures a floppy-eared rabbit who calls himself E.B. (perfectly voiced by Russell Brand).
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Mar 29, 2011
    70
    Despite its scattered frenzy, Hop-thanks to its fondness for smushing together seemingly incongruous elements and Marsden's goofy, bug-eyed mugging-is just demented enough to deliver a fleeting sugar rush.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Why rock, rather than hip-hop, is anybunny's guess, though either way, the basic overnight-sensation pop-star fantasy will surely appeal to a demographic weaned on "American Idol."
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    Check your driver's license - if you have one, you're probably too old to get the most out of it. If not, you may find your satisfaction a little harder - though not impossible - to come by.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 31, 2011
    40
    Some films are saccharine, but Hop is pure sugar.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 1, 2011
    38
    It's supposed to be sweet, but Hop is a headache waiting to happen.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 30, 2011
    25
    It's "Alvin and the Chipmunks" with only one chipmunk, and (if possible) even less fun.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is a totaly awesome movie!! this is just so good I give it such a good rating and of cose I recomend it !!!
  2. Apr 4, 2015
    7
    A humorous cash-in on the Easter holiday. It's sugary sweet nature and plenty of laughs will give you a buzz just like eating a big chocolateA humorous cash-in on the Easter holiday. It's sugary sweet nature and plenty of laughs will give you a buzz just like eating a big chocolate bunny. However just like Easter candy it's not really a real meal. It is worth a watch though. James Marsden and Russel Brand give perfect performances and there is plenty of ( mostly) harmless humor for the kids. Just don't expect that sugar rush to last long. Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    Weak script but Russel Brand's perfect comedic timing, the few well-executed adult jokes, the striking visuals, and James Mardsen'sWeak script but Russel Brand's perfect comedic timing, the few well-executed adult jokes, the striking visuals, and James Mardsen's performance make it a fun flick Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    5
    Technically and visually perfect and my 9 & 11 year olds both gave it a 10. But while I enjoyed a good deal of it, the script, story andTechnically and visually perfect and my 9 & 11 year olds both gave it a 10. But while I enjoyed a good deal of it, the script, story and pacing were all sub-par. The ending was especially poor. I have not read anything in the trades about the making of this film, but it really felt like they slapped an ending together as they rushed to finish the film due to time/money constraints. While great movies like the Toy Story's allow us to get fully immersed and forget that we're in a fantasy world, lazy storytelling like this keeps reminding you of how preposterous the premise is.

    My suggestion: hire the Toy Story folks to write the sequel.
    Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2016
    4
    Hop is completely 'hop'less. By far the weakest non-Despicable Me installment for Illumination Entertainment and they have better come it backHop is completely 'hop'less. By far the weakest non-Despicable Me installment for Illumination Entertainment and they have better come it back with their next installment coming up this July. Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    Your children will be slightly amused and enjoy a few hours out of the house. Brand, as he always does, milks everything he can out of theYour children will be slightly amused and enjoy a few hours out of the house. Brand, as he always does, milks everything he can out of the role as Hop. It's a good thing he does too. I can't imagine what a bore this film would've been without him. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2011
    0
    Just another bad movie producers put out to make some money.

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Winter TV Preview: Notable New & Returning Shows

    Winter TV Preview: Notable New & Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 2, 2015
    We look at the most notable new and returning shows headed to your TV over the next few months, including Breaking Bad prequel Better Call Saul, Marvel's Agent Carter, hip-hop drama Empire, Duplass brothers comedy Togetherness, Danny Boyle's Babylon, and the final seasons of Parks & Rec, Glee, and Justified.
  2. June's Best New Music

    June's Best New Music Image
    Published: June 30, 2011
    The past month's best new albums include the sophomore set from Bon Iver and the debut from Sub Pop's first hip-hop signing. Find out more about June's best releases and listen to tracks from each one.
  3. The Most Anticipated Albums of 2010

    The Most Anticipated Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 20, 2010
    Our preview of the year in music includes a look at over 75 upcoming releases in indie, alternative, electronica, hip-hop and more.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  7. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.