User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 89
  2. Negative: 11 out of 89
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    Despite the overly loud, and somewhat hokey soundtrack, this movie is so much more than I expected. I knew that it would be cute, charming, and with Ms. Streep in it, well-acted. But, it really is a relationship movie for adults that quite honestly addresses the realities of marriage/adult intimacy. This movie is a reminder to anyone who has been married for even a few years that lifeDespite the overly loud, and somewhat hokey soundtrack, this movie is so much more than I expected. I knew that it would be cute, charming, and with Ms. Streep in it, well-acted. But, it really is a relationship movie for adults that quite honestly addresses the realities of marriage/adult intimacy. This movie is a reminder to anyone who has been married for even a few years that life is too short for complacency. Ms. Streep (as always) is phenomenal, and Mr. Jones is funny and surprisingly natural as her accountant-husband of 31 years. I expected pure formula, but the movie delivers so much more! If you've been married more than 5 years and you are older than 40 this is a must-see! Singles and youngsters may still enjoy the wit and honesty that the story and actors deliver. Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    Arnold and Kay (Jones and Streep) are a typical suburban couple that have been married for 31 years. The magic has disappeared from their marriage, which doesn't seem to bother Arnold, who has become a distant, cynical curmudgeon over the years. Kay, however, is not happy and turns to marriage counselor Bernie Feld (Steve Carell) for assistance. The majority of the movie takes placeArnold and Kay (Jones and Streep) are a typical suburban couple that have been married for 31 years. The magic has disappeared from their marriage, which doesn't seem to bother Arnold, who has become a distant, cynical curmudgeon over the years. Kay, however, is not happy and turns to marriage counselor Bernie Feld (Steve Carell) for assistance. The majority of the movie takes place during the week they are in counseling. All the actors are perfect for their roles. When the doctor asks them about their sex lives, they both squirm and are understandably uncomfortable, and you will be uncomfortable watching it as well. The movie has the right mix of humor and drama, and you will be rooting for this couple to recreate what they once had. Streep is particularly noteworthy - her smile lights up the screen in this film. I enjoyed the soundtrack as well. This was a refreshing alternative to the loud special effects films that are the norm during summer. Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    What a brilliant Film i am not sure which one of the three main stars you would say steels the show they are all equally as good as each other and play there parts excellently there are some very funny bits but I would not necessarily call it a typical comedy if you like The Best Marigold Hotel and Beginners you will love this if not keep away its not for you.
  4. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You can't ask for better than two talented, well-established actors as Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones. From the very start, their characters, Kay and Arnold, were easily believable. I'm sure everyone knows a couple like them- cordial, reserved, nice people, but roommates instead of the lovers they once were. Steve Carell's character as their marriage therapist, on the other hand, though likable, could have been played by almost anyone. He is fresh from "The Office", so perhaps some of us unfairly waited for him to be sarcastic and a bit funnier? (And was anyone else expecting Dwight to come waltzing in? No? Anyway...) It was a lot of fun watching Kay and Arnold muck their way through the counseling sessions and through, ahem, their "homework". I found myself at times laughing with amusement, tinged with the embarrassment one feels when they've accidentally walked in on their father changing his shorts. It would have been a more well-rounded movie had the dialogue gone further, particularly in the counseling room. There was much discussion of feelings, and assignments to get Kay and Arnold acquainted with each other, but they could have gone further, including the differences between intimacy and sex, the areas that started them down the path to a ho-hum marriage in the first place. All in all, I highly recommend this movie, as it's honest, real, and downright hilarious. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Having been exactly where the main characters come from in this movie, let me say that the screenwriter is dead on. The pain of being in love without being able to love your spouse is indescribable, and the appalling inertia that sets in and prevents a couple from coming back to that place in life where being together was a total celebration of life is captured well in this movie. TheHaving been exactly where the main characters come from in this movie, let me say that the screenwriter is dead on. The pain of being in love without being able to love your spouse is indescribable, and the appalling inertia that sets in and prevents a couple from coming back to that place in life where being together was a total celebration of life is captured well in this movie. The people who are dissing this film are being dishonest with themselves, to their own detriment.

    If your marriage is like the Soames's, don't give up! Get help, the pain of getting back what you've lost is excruciating, but exponentially less than giving up.
    Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    Tommy Lee Jones steals the show as a long time married man set in his ways. The effort to rekindle the romance can at times be awkward. Carrell is ok for his limited role.
  7. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    Lets face it, marriage certainly isn't what it used to be. The sacred element of marriage has changed dramatically over the decades, it doesn't hold the same tradition or relevance it once did, but there are those out there who have been married for several years, but 'Hope Springs' addresses the concept of being "happily married", a term that is thrown around all too frequently theseLets face it, marriage certainly isn't what it used to be. The sacred element of marriage has changed dramatically over the decades, it doesn't hold the same tradition or relevance it once did, but there are those out there who have been married for several years, but 'Hope Springs' addresses the concept of being "happily married", a term that is thrown around all too frequently these days, Kay (Meryl Streep) and Arnold (Tommy Lee Jones) are said couple, married for 31 years as Arnold keeps reminding us, reminding us because Kay knows the spark is gone, and Arnold uses this fun fact to remind her, just because the number is there doesn't mean it's a happy one. Kay makes Arnold his breakfast every single morning, they exchange very few words, then Arnold pecks his wife on the cheek and leaves for work. Kay takes a plunge and seeks couples counselling with Dr. Bernie Feld (Steve Carell). They fly out to secluded Maine, where their small but significant arguments begin, with Arnold naturally against the idea of a stranger helping them, but they do attend all the same. What makes the film different is its substance, it feels real, awkward, and doesn't conform to other counselling routine, they have real trouble speaking to each other, they are certainly devoted, but empty. Meryl Streep continues to fulfil the idea of her being one of the finest actresses of her time as she plays a doting but nervous wife who it seems is afraid to change the routine she and her husband partake in. Arnold seems content, while Tommy Lee Jones excellently capture a man stuck in a rut, with al the evidence of being in one too long. Steve Carell is a welcome addition to the mix, he delivers a very heartfelt and subdued performance as Bernie Feld, not falling into traps of having some miracle cure or having some special trait which sets him aside, this also puts the film above others of the same genre. It doesn't try to show some drastic change, but it does attempt to convince others that change can indeed happen, it also never puts blame on one person, because obviously with marriage it is a joint effort, there will be trials and on other occasions it simply won't work, but time and commitment can change that, rarely can a simple film like this address so much in such limited issues, but sharp, often improvisational dialogue and strong performances create a very real and insightful piece that underplays everything for maximum effect, which works. Expand
  8. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    I've been married for 20 years. I can see my future in this movie if I don't hold on to the passion and values I currently have in my marriage. Tommy and Meryl have been two of the worst actors that I have come not to appreciate (sorry but it's MY opinion of them) but in this, very realistic depiction of a story, they won my heart back. I watched movie this cuddling with my wife,I've been married for 20 years. I can see my future in this movie if I don't hold on to the passion and values I currently have in my marriage. Tommy and Meryl have been two of the worst actors that I have come not to appreciate (sorry but it's MY opinion of them) but in this, very realistic depiction of a story, they won my heart back. I watched movie this cuddling with my wife, begging her to slap me up side the head if I ever start to act like Arnold (or Kay for that matter). What a great look into the future of mundane, settle for marriages if you let it happen that way. I am not a fan of rom-com-drama what-evers but this completely surprised me with it's relatble and realistic story. I'm truly a Meryl and Tommy fan again and my wife and I made a vow to never let our relationship get to this point. And if we do, we both understand if we go talk to a Steve Carrel (spot on performance) about it, we won't hold it against each other. What a great, "really" feel good movie. Rare for Hollywood these days. Expand
  9. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    As a romantic at heart I really fell for this story. Meryl Streep's desire to rekindle her romance with her husband and realizing when you reach a certain age you sometimes want boring consistency.
  10. Feb 22, 2015
    7
    This movie has the kind of a cast that is well picked, and with the proper acting that can pull the dialogue and story off!! Anyone else other than Jones, Carell, and Streep it just wouldn't have been as enjoyable. If your looking for action or a lot of humor then this probably isn't the movie you want. If your looking for a well acted movie that shows the pitfalls of a stalled marriageThis movie has the kind of a cast that is well picked, and with the proper acting that can pull the dialogue and story off!! Anyone else other than Jones, Carell, and Streep it just wouldn't have been as enjoyable. If your looking for action or a lot of humor then this probably isn't the movie you want. If your looking for a well acted movie that shows the pitfalls of a stalled marriage and what can be done to fix it, then this might be the movie for you. A decent story line mixed with some solid truths and good points on how things in life don't always go as planned, and sometimes the path can be changed with good communication and direction. Again a good solid movie with some great acting! Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 16, 2012
    40
    As the couple try to rekindle the bedroom flame the note of cutesy comedy kicks in and the movie gets phonier and phonier.
  2. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Sep 10, 2012
    80
    Very funny, it's also penetrating on the ravages of time on love and marriage and sweetly touching, but with abundantly incongruous randy content to heartily amuse.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen E. Jones
    Sep 1, 2012
    60
    Fine turns from Streep and Jones bedrock this compassionate, quietly subversive drama.