User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 86
  2. Negative: 11 out of 86

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 29, 2014
    6
    Disguised by what may seem like a light romantic comedy is instead an honest look at mature relationships. Meryl Streep, great as always; but Tommy Lee Jones? Surprisingly strong in his role--perhaps, because it was reflective of himself?
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    It may maintain an unsettling tendency to shift from mundanity to extremely mature subject matter in the same breath, but with two lovable performances from both Jones and Streep, "Hope Springs" narrowly pulls ahead of its own inconsistencies.
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    Lets face it, marriage certainly isn't what it used to be. The sacred element of marriage has changed dramatically over the decades, it doesn't hold the same tradition or relevance it once did, but there are those out there who have been married for several years, but 'Hope Springs' addresses the concept of being "happily married", a term that is thrown around all too frequently these days, Kay (Meryl Streep) and Arnold (Tommy Lee Jones) are said couple, married for 31 years as Arnold keeps reminding us, reminding us because Kay knows the spark is gone, and Arnold uses this fun fact to remind her, just because the number is there doesn't mean it's a happy one. Kay makes Arnold his breakfast every single morning, they exchange very few words, then Arnold pecks his wife on the cheek and leaves for work. Kay takes a plunge and seeks couples counselling with Dr. Bernie Feld (Steve Carell). They fly out to secluded Maine, where their small but significant arguments begin, with Arnold naturally against the idea of a stranger helping them, but they do attend all the same. What makes the film different is its substance, it feels real, awkward, and doesn't conform to other counselling routine, they have real trouble speaking to each other, they are certainly devoted, but empty. Meryl Streep continues to fulfil the idea of her being one of the finest actresses of her time as she plays a doting but nervous wife who it seems is afraid to change the routine she and her husband partake in. Arnold seems content, while Tommy Lee Jones excellently capture a man stuck in a rut, with al the evidence of being in one too long. Steve Carell is a welcome addition to the mix, he delivers a very heartfelt and subdued performance as Bernie Feld, not falling into traps of having some miracle cure or having some special trait which sets him aside, this also puts the film above others of the same genre. It doesn't try to show some drastic change, but it does attempt to convince others that change can indeed happen, it also never puts blame on one person, because obviously with marriage it is a joint effort, there will be trials and on other occasions it simply won't work, but time and commitment can change that, rarely can a simple film like this address so much in such limited issues, but sharp, often improvisational dialogue and strong performances create a very real and insightful piece that underplays everything for maximum effect, which works. Expand
  4. Lyn
    May 26, 2013
    4
    If you've ever been to marriage counseling, this film might give you PTSD flashbacks. But admonitions to have more oral sex probably didn't solve your problems, and it doesn't immediately work wonders for Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones, either. Streep can be just as brilliant at frowsy, doormat types as she is playing queen-of-the-world types see "One True Thing." But Jones is given such a humorless, curmudgeonly role that even as you root for them to work things out, you never quite buy them as a couple. Of course, it's nice to see starring parts for AARP types and they can't all be rollicking, luminous productions with great soundtracks, e.g. "Something's Gotta Give." But this really was pretty dull and dry, and the soundtrack was clueless. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    I was incredibly uncomfortable watching this movie. It didn't have any funny moments and it just made me feel very weird. I don't want to watch a mediocre movie about unhappy people. It's not a fun movie to watch and there are many other movies about unhappy couples which are much better. Not worth watching.
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    I've been married for 20 years. I can see my future in this movie if I don't hold on to the passion and values I currently have in my marriage. Tommy and Meryl have been two of the worst actors that I have come not to appreciate (sorry but it's MY opinion of them) but in this, very realistic depiction of a story, they won my heart back. I watched movie this cuddling with my wife, begging her to slap me up side the head if I ever start to act like Arnold (or Kay for that matter). What a great look into the future of mundane, settle for marriages if you let it happen that way. I am not a fan of rom-com-drama what-evers but this completely surprised me with it's relatble and realistic story. I'm truly a Meryl and Tommy fan again and my wife and I made a vow to never let our relationship get to this point. And if we do, we both understand if we go talk to a Steve Carrel (spot on performance) about it, we won't hold it against each other. What a great, "really" feel good movie. Rare for Hollywood these days. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    As a romantic at heart I really fell for this story. Meryl Streep's desire to rekindle her romance with her husband and realizing when you reach a certain age you sometimes want boring consistency.
  8. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    Tommy Lee Jones steals the show as a long time married man set in his ways. The effort to rekindle the romance can at times be awkward. Carrell is ok for his limited role.
  9. Dec 29, 2012
    6
    This is a film with limited appeal. I cannot imagine enjoying or even understanding it, if you are not on the far side of middle-age and a long time married. If that does describe you, then this is s movie you will likely relate to and find interesting.
  10. Dec 26, 2012
    6
    A look into the sex lives of the elderly that is worth a glance due to some fine work from Tommy Lee Jones, Steve Carell, and Meryl Streep. The film isn't nearly as revelatory as it may think it is relating to the topic of sex, but it is defiantly non-commercial in the sense that it is frank and honest about sex and the movie treats its audience with respect - a rarity for a film aimed at mainstream audiences. The most interesting scenes involve the three leads talking during therapy and the revelations that come from their discussions. The movie tends to lag whenever we spend time away from the doctor's office and the plot treads familiar water right up to the finale scene. For the most part, though, 'Hope Springs' is some refreshing hollywood fare and stands as David Frankel's finest film to date. Expand
  11. Dec 20, 2012
    6
    Meryl fan? A must see for sure! Otherwise, probably not a movie you will like. I wanted to love it. I didn't. I watched it on DVD and it took me 4 evenings to finish it. It was a great premise and the actors were wonderful, but it was very slow. Definitely the director's fault. No one else's. Now I can see why it didn't do well in theaters. They needed to move it along a lot more quickly! But if you love Meryl Streep...of course you must see it! Collapse
  12. Dec 15, 2012
    3
    If my relationship was as bad as the one pictured, this film may be of benefit, or at least parts of it might be considered a bit therapeutic. But as a mainstream entertainment vehicle, it is not profound enough to be gripping and it isn't entertaining in any other way. And casting the excellent Steve Carell as a therapist mislead me, and who knows how many others, into thinking of this as at least a sometimes humorous Hollywood look into marriage, which it is not. That may be a fault of my expectations but also should be a concern of those who market the film. As a non-comedy, the music is too overpowering and inappropriate, the scenery too pretty, and the cliched actions of the husband too broadly cruel and inexplicable for any of it to have real gravity. Then, suddenly, there is repair and a cheerful ending, a disservice to the real work needed in saving a marriage this badly derailed. There is a nugget for a tough, revelatory film about the common marital issue it tries to portray... but Hollywood is possibly too timid to make it. In any case, if you are looking for a light evening's entertainment, this IS NOT IT. Expand
  13. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Having been exactly where the main characters come from in this movie, let me say that the screenwriter is dead on. The pain of being in love without being able to love your spouse is indescribable, and the appalling inertia that sets in and prevents a couple from coming back to that place in life where being together was a total celebration of life is captured well in this movie. The people who are dissing this film are being dishonest with themselves, to their own detriment.

    If your marriage is like the Soames's, don't give up! Get help, the pain of getting back what you've lost is excruciating, but exponentially less than giving up.
    Expand
  14. Sep 20, 2012
    2
    Terrible movie. Save your money. I was wishing I had a fast forward button on my seat so I could get through the boring parts, which was most of the movie.
  15. Sep 18, 2012
    6
    After her hard-earned third Oscar statuette earlier this year from THE IRON LADY (2011, 8/10), Meryl Streep keeps her momentum on and this summer, she is back with a more earthly contemporary comedy looking into the sex life between an elder couple, after marrying for over 30 years, their lethargic and stereotyped life has hemmed themselves into a dead water, so it all starts when the wife initiates to break the status quo and resorts to a marriage counselling to Expand
  16. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    What a brilliant Film i am not sure which one of the three main stars you would say steels the show they are all equally as good as each other and play there parts excellently there are some very funny bits but I would not necessarily call it a typical comedy if you like The Best Marigold Hotel and Beginners you will love this if not keep away its not for you.
  17. Sep 10, 2012
    6
    As a middle aged couple married for over 20 years I found lots to relate to and if you fit a similar demographic you will too. HOWEVER... Its not the movie the trailer wants you to think it is. The comedic genius of Steve Carrel was completely suppressed. The cast had the potential to deliver a raucous comedy of awkward old couple sex therapy but instead settled for a dry Hollywood expose about a miserable marriage. That said... If a couple is tricked into seeing it and decides to repair their damaged marriage it will have accomplished a greater purpose than merely two hours of comedic relief. Expand
  18. Sep 8, 2012
    1
    The most awkward movie ever..... If you aren't at least 60 wanting a cheap alternative to couple's therapy I recommend steering clear from this one! However, the movie is great for those that wish to start a diet as one scene in particular is sure to leave you with deep mental scaring. How this movie was green-lit I'll never know!
  19. Aug 31, 2012
    2
    Just because "Hope Springs" has well known stars with historically big box office draw does not a good movie make. Merrill Streep is OK in her part but Tommy Lee Jones is bad for this movie. Just like Clint Eastwood in "Bridges" he is totally miscast. He (and Clint) has one persona and a whipped salaryman is not it. Then the dialog- it is slow and over the top sexual, making everyone in the theater squirm and occasionally issue nervous giggles. Not recommended by me. Bridges had some redeeming qualities and I watched it several times over the years but this is "hopelessly broken springs".
    Bob
    Expand
  20. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You can't ask for better than two talented, well-established actors as Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones. From the very start, their characters, Kay and Arnold, were easily believable. I'm sure everyone knows a couple like them- cordial, reserved, nice people, but roommates instead of the lovers they once were. Steve Carell's character as their marriage therapist, on the other hand, though likable, could have been played by almost anyone. He is fresh from "The Office", so perhaps some of us unfairly waited for him to be sarcastic and a bit funnier? (And was anyone else expecting Dwight to come waltzing in? No? Anyway...) It was a lot of fun watching Kay and Arnold muck their way through the counseling sessions and through, ahem, their "homework". I found myself at times laughing with amusement, tinged with the embarrassment one feels when they've accidentally walked in on their father changing his shorts. It would have been a more well-rounded movie had the dialogue gone further, particularly in the counseling room. There was much discussion of feelings, and assignments to get Kay and Arnold acquainted with each other, but they could have gone further, including the differences between intimacy and sex, the areas that started them down the path to a ho-hum marriage in the first place. All in all, I highly recommend this movie, as it's honest, real, and downright hilarious. Expand
  21. Aug 19, 2012
    1
    This movie was horrible!!!. NOT FUNNY AT ALL!!! I am not young and I was grossed out watching Tommy Lee and Meryl Streep make out and talk about their sex life. Thank God we only payed $6 to watch this disaster of a movie.
  22. Aug 18, 2012
    6
    Meryl Streep gives a sweet, slightly-mannered performance as a woman who's in a 31-year marriage that's deteriorated into a remote, robotic relationship. Tommy Lee Jones, as her husband, is all bluster and gripes, especially when she insists on intensive counseling (provided by Steve Carell in a non-comedy role). Basically, this is couples therapy on the big screen with all the predictable setbacks and breakthroughs. Although it's being billed as a comedy, there aren't a lot of big laughs, just knowing chuckles. I kept waiting for the whole enterprise to rise above ho-hum, but it just plods along. The women around me LOVED this film, especially the ones "of a certain age," but I found it wimpy and disappointing. Expand
  23. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    Arnold and Kay (Jones and Streep) are a typical suburban couple that have been married for 31 years. The magic has disappeared from their marriage, which doesn't seem to bother Arnold, who has become a distant, cynical curmudgeon over the years. Kay, however, is not happy and turns to marriage counselor Bernie Feld (Steve Carell) for assistance. The majority of the movie takes place during the week they are in counseling. All the actors are perfect for their roles. When the doctor asks them about their sex lives, they both squirm and are understandably uncomfortable, and you will be uncomfortable watching it as well. The movie has the right mix of humor and drama, and you will be rooting for this couple to recreate what they once had. Streep is particularly noteworthy - her smile lights up the screen in this film. I enjoyed the soundtrack as well. This was a refreshing alternative to the loud special effects films that are the norm during summer. Expand
  24. Aug 10, 2012
    6
    Right up front it has to be stated that Tommy Lee Jones steals
  25. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    Despite the overly loud, and somewhat hokey soundtrack, this movie is so much more than I expected. I knew that it would be cute, charming, and with Ms. Streep in it, well-acted. But, it really is a relationship movie for adults that quite honestly addresses the realities of marriage/adult intimacy. This movie is a reminder to anyone who has been married for even a few years that life is too short for complacency. Ms. Streep (as always) is phenomenal, and Mr. Jones is funny and surprisingly natural as her accountant-husband of 31 years. I expected pure formula, but the movie delivers so much more! If you've been married more than 5 years and you are older than 40 this is a must-see! Singles and youngsters may still enjoy the wit and honesty that the story and actors deliver. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 16, 2012
    40
    As the couple try to rekindle the bedroom flame the note of cutesy comedy kicks in and the movie gets phonier and phonier.
  2. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Sep 10, 2012
    80
    Very funny, it's also penetrating on the ravages of time on love and marriage and sweetly touching, but with abundantly incongruous randy content to heartily amuse.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen E. Jones
    Sep 1, 2012
    60
    Fine turns from Streep and Jones bedrock this compassionate, quietly subversive drama.