Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 8, 2011
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 516 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
381
Mixed:
107
Negative:
28
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
Another studio comedy with no real surprises and an creaky plot, boosted by solid jokes. Realistically, this is more acting reel material for Jennifer Aniston, Colin Farrell, Kevin Spacey, and Charlie Day than anything else.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
BikerjamesJul 11, 2011
Thanks Hangover. Now that you were so successful with the buddy trio movie we are going to have to suffer through all the wannabees. The only problem is that the Hangover was not predictable. This movie was like an extended bad TV sitcom.Thanks Hangover. Now that you were so successful with the buddy trio movie we are going to have to suffer through all the wannabees. The only problem is that the Hangover was not predictable. This movie was like an extended bad TV sitcom. Everything was predictable. I laughed twice, and looked at my watch at least 4 times wondering when it would end. I admit, however, that other people in the audience were laughing a lot more than I was, so others liked it more than I did. I also have to say that all the guest stars seemed to be having fun. Kevin Spacey in particular seemed to revel in his bad guy persona. Colin Farrell wasn't used enough, and Jennifer Anniston looked like she was having fun. Too bad the writing just wasn't up to par for me. Example - how many times have we seen someone find a container of cocaine and either drop it or sneeze on it? The whole movie was unoriginal and predictable like that. And VERY sitcomy. People don't act like this in real life. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
6
FennltJul 11, 2011
This movie was a respectable comedy, however, I feel it had a lot of wasted potential. This movie had a stellar premise, and began with a solid start. Yet, as the movie progressed, both the storyline and the protagonists become hard toThis movie was a respectable comedy, however, I feel it had a lot of wasted potential. This movie had a stellar premise, and began with a solid start. Yet, as the movie progressed, both the storyline and the protagonists become hard to believe and blatantly dumb, and this is where the movie is at its weakest. While the movie was much more humorous and enjoyable when the protagonists and their jokes were underplayed and cleverly placed. Again, this movie still was funny and entertaining and will give the audience some good laughs, just I feel that it could have done more with the material at hand had the movie more cleverly utilized its exceptional comedic premise. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
Edward9630Jul 23, 2011
Horrible Bosses is an alright film. It definitely funny parts in the film and the cast did a great performance for their characters. The problems with this film is alot of the scenes were they try to be funny really isnt funny at all and someHorrible Bosses is an alright film. It definitely funny parts in the film and the cast did a great performance for their characters. The problems with this film is alot of the scenes were they try to be funny really isnt funny at all and some of the things they try to do to be funny they could of done it in a better way then the way they did. Its not the worst comedy film ive ever seen but its not the best. I would give this film a high rental. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
RoscoAug 28, 2011
Horrible Bosses was one film that I thought had the potential to be a great comedy however I found it to be just another average, wannaebe film. Sure, I laughed here and there but in all honesty this just wasn't as funny as it should haveHorrible Bosses was one film that I thought had the potential to be a great comedy however I found it to be just another average, wannaebe film. Sure, I laughed here and there but in all honesty this just wasn't as funny as it should have been, its very much a wasted oppertunity. The idea is so so ridiculous it gave them a chance to ring it out for all its worth but unfortunately they fall miserably short. The comedy threesome (Bateman, Day and Sudeikis) are probably like most people and hate their bosses but these three are having an exceptionally difficult time. Bateman's psychotic boss is portrayed by Kevin Spacey and robs him of a job he believes should be his, Day has the maneater Jennifer Aniston as his hot boss and makes his job a "nightmare" on a daily basis, yes I know get molested by Jennifer Aniston seems so bad? and Sudeikis is under employment of coke-head Colin Farrell. Actually, Farrell is a revelation and quite funny. But they deicde they've had enough and hatch a plan from "m****r-f****r" Jones (Jamiee Foxx) to kill their bosses. A problem I had was with the similarities between the three leads of this and a film some may of heard of in the Hangover, you have the crazy, mental one, the sensible grown up and mr cool. Sadly they don't have the same charisma or coolness of the Wolfpack but thats not to say they are bad by any strech of the imagination. Ultimately, Horrible Bosses has the premise and the cast but it forgot the most vital ingredient, the funny! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
ShiiraAug 16, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In retrospect, we concur with Buddy Ackerman(Kevin Spacey), the movie mogul in "Swimming with Sharks", when he tells his disgruntled personal assistant to "grow up", because, culturally speaking, being a horrible boss is just par for the course in the movie biz. Bad behavior is just part of the culture. The flunky should know this. Upon its initial release, and the intervening years leading up to "The Devil Wears Prada", in essence, the female version of this "Player(The)" rethink, the moviegoer, for the most part, sided with Guy, the beleaguered assistant driven to desperate measures, when during a home invasion, Buddy gets his comeuppance for treating the hard-working underling like dirt, with rope and a chair, and a gun that just might go off. But now, courtesy of Andy Sachs, Guy is seen in a different light; a whiner, just one big baby, since the assistant for Runway editor Miranda Priestly, who in the 2006 film, bends but never breaks, even when faced with the seemingly impossible task of securing an unpublished manuscript for the next "Harry Potter" book. Compared to that, Guy's assignment is a relative piece of cake. He lacks Andy's resourcefulness. She would know to hire a helicopter pilot in order to hunt down a whitewater rafting client, somewhere in the Rockies. Guy just isn't cut out for the movie business. "I want my life back," goes the sniveling ingrate, while he holds Buddy hostage in exactly the same housebound manner as the secretaries' handling of their immediate supervisor, Mr. Hart, in "9 to 5". Although he lacks the intestinal fortitude to be a movie executive, Guy climbs the corporate ladder, nevertheless, as a reward for sparing his boss' life(he shoots the girl instead), therefore taking the buddy system to surreal heights. Feeling like a woman in a steno pool, he kills Dawn as a way of overcompensating for his emasculated feelings. Conversely, Andy, despite going toe-to-toe with the reconstituted woman(read: masculine), parlays her success for naught. Even though Andy may be the heir apparent of Miranda's empire, she goes to work for a dying industry, but the journalist doesn't worship haute couture, whereas Guy loves the movies, and is dumbstruck by the film illiteracy of his colleagues, who know Shelly Winters only from "The Poseidon Adventure". Insidiously, the filmmaker assigns a director with the name of Foster Kane, as a way to implicate the moviegoer as complicit philistines. He knows that the reference to "Citizen Kane" will go undetected. Similarly, in "Horrible Bosses", Nick draws a complete blank when Kurt compares their murder plot to "Strangers on a Train", while Dale confuses the Hitchc*ck film with "Throw Momma from the Train". To say the least, Kurt's analogizing of art and life is deeply flawed, but will anybody notice? In the 1951 thriller, it's not the bosses that Bruno and, arguably, Guy conspire to kill, but a domineering father and a promiscuous wife who won't give the tennis star a divorce. If these best of friends were to actually sit down and watch the movie, they would realize the fallacy in their thinking, since, as the title clearly articulates, the passengers are "strangers", not familiars, therefore, the proposed murder swap could easily be linked back to them. Does the filmmaker know this, or is the film as smart as its characters, and the baby sharks working under Guy who don't have the slightest apprehension of classic Hollywood? This misappropriated homage, to its credit, tweaks the plot points with some deftness, especially when Nick's boss(Spacey, again) discovers a lighter in his abode belonging to Kurt's boss, unwittingly planted by the unreliable film buff(as if fulfilling Bruno's plan to drop Guy's lighter at the crime scene), which propels the jealous husband(thinking that his wife is cheating) to gun down the idiot son of Kurt's mentor. Unfortunately, it lets the passed over VP candidate off the hook. Since the murder(regardless of its unexpected third party participation) is going to incriminate them anyway, it would have been a lot more interesting had Nick gotten out of the car. This raunchy, but ultimately tame comedy practically desecrates Hitch's good name by it the film's unwillingness to follow through with its lurid premise: What would drive an ordinary man to murder his boss? In "Strangers on a Train", Bruno feels double-crossed when Guy doesn't hold up his end of the deal. Arguably, he owes Bruno, since the film hints that the tennis star would have eventually done in the wife himself. "Horrible Bosses" isn't calibrated right. Unlike the other targets, Harken is truly horrible, making the game comic performances by Farrell and Aniston seem out of place. Given the chance, Nick would have slipped the rat poison in Pellitt's cocaine. He has a real axe to grind. Never mind the promotion. Things turn personal when the boss makes light of his grandmother's death. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
asylumspadezNov 27, 2011
It was a pretty generic comedy film for the most part. The actors/actress who played the bosses were outstanding and definently worth watching for them but the other actors of the main cast werent as good. Also its pretty boring and stupid as well.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
wishmasterNov 3, 2011
jajajajajajjaaj ... I loved Julia (Jennifer Aniston), the movie was something ridiculous but fulfilled his mission: to entertain and get me laughing...
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
podunk411Jul 17, 2011
definitely a DVD rental, not a lets-go-to-the-movies-full-price-ticket movie. If Bridesmaids is still out in your area, that's a far funnier film and worth a full price ticket.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
TheGorillaOct 6, 2011
Horrible bosses isn't that horrible, but it tragically failed as a comedy, because, this 'comedy', isn't funny at all. Just skip this movie, and save your hour and a half of your life on doing something. Do the dishes
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
TokyochuchuMar 20, 2012
A fun, yet forgettable film. This is a shame, as the premise of the movie is pretty ace and could have been woven into a much meatier project. Collin Farrell is very funny, though, and you can't help but wish that he had more screen time.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
asthobaskoroJun 17, 2012
Albeit far from original and uneven. Thanks to smartly assembles cast that makes the most of solid premise works. Kevin Spacey's line makes me laugh hard.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
oldmanyoungerAug 8, 2011
Saw this, Bridesmaids, and Change-Up in the same weekend. This was at the bottom of the pack. The first two-thirds of the movie were slow and not all that funny. When all hell starts breaking loose during the last third, it gets funny, butSaw this, Bridesmaids, and Change-Up in the same weekend. This was at the bottom of the pack. The first two-thirds of the movie were slow and not all that funny. When all hell starts breaking loose during the last third, it gets funny, but it's not enough to save the movie. Thank god for Charlie Day, though. He still plays himself (aka almost Charlie from Sunny), but he's so darn likable. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Khunter4382Dec 12, 2011
This movie is so ridiculous! That's it's strong suit! That's what makes it funny and interesting! The audience gives it the benefit of the doubt and rolls with the characters. Bateman is quite subdued here as opposed to his other films. HisThis movie is so ridiculous! That's it's strong suit! That's what makes it funny and interesting! The audience gives it the benefit of the doubt and rolls with the characters. Bateman is quite subdued here as opposed to his other films. His supporting costars really shine, Sudeikis and Day, with Day really stealing the show. The bosses.....each one is spectacular! Spacey, Aniston, and Farrell truly grow into people you love to hate and it translates well with the audience. Collapse
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
drlowdonJun 4, 2013
During the movies opening we are introduced to three friends and the problems that each of them are experiencing with their employers. Inspired by the movie ‘Strangers on a Train’ they decide that the only option left to them is to kill eachDuring the movies opening we are introduced to three friends and the problems that each of them are experiencing with their employers. Inspired by the movie ‘Strangers on a Train’ they decide that the only option left to them is to kill each others bosses, of course things pretty quickly fall apart.

This type of movie is not exactly original anymore (see The Hangover, Due Date etc) but, as is often the case with these kind of comedies, the quality of the cast is vital. Fortunately in this area at least Horrible Bosses excels. Jason Bateman, Charlie Day, Jason Sudeikis are all very good as the downtrodden friends and have excellent on screen chemistry although the best roles are certainly reserved for the bosses. Collin Farrell and Kevin Spacey both demonstrate excellent comic timing and Jennifer Aniston is stunning as the nymphomaniac dentist trying to seduce her employee (to the point where it is pretty difficult to imagine anyone resisting her for too long!).

The plot itself is obviously a little unbelievable but, after a slow(ish) opening, the script is well-paced with some genuinely funny scenes and one-liners making for a fairly enjoyable hour and a half.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
lususgreeneJul 11, 2011
It was decent could have been better. The movie was well acted but some the the jokes just were not funny. The movie falls a little short of its potential but it is still not a bad watch. I would never buy it, but I will never regret watching it.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
MusicMovesMeJul 11, 2011
I found this movie to be very funny in parts. Near the beginning I thought some of the plot was so far-fetched as to be ridiculous. However as the movie progressed it became easier to look past those minor parts and accept that the entireI found this movie to be very funny in parts. Near the beginning I thought some of the plot was so far-fetched as to be ridiculous. However as the movie progressed it became easier to look past those minor parts and accept that the entire plot was suppose to be a little over the top and outrageous. I'm already a fan of Kevin Spacey and Jason Bateman (esp his role in Arrested Development). After seeing Horrible Bosses, I find myself interested in seeing what else Charlie Day and Jason Sudeikis have done. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
bighead6000Nov 22, 2011
overall, i think this is a good movie with an interesting plot. The characters were also good, especially the bosses who i found to be huge a**holes, but in a funny way.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
DMuhnyJul 11, 2011
Went with high expectations. Overall the movie was pretty good, however there were a few slow parts and parts where the ADD kicks in and I would look around in boredom. Several funny scenes that had me laughing the whole duration (probablyWent with high expectations. Overall the movie was pretty good, however there were a few slow parts and parts where the ADD kicks in and I would look around in boredom. Several funny scenes that had me laughing the whole duration (probably annoying others in the theater). It's worth a watch, but that's all. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
alexandergreenSep 4, 2011
Generally, a better movie than I was expecting. Jennifer Aniston plays a shockingly sexual role, and the three main characters are likeable enough that you're interested to see where their stupid scheme takes them. Some of the jokes don'tGenerally, a better movie than I was expecting. Jennifer Aniston plays a shockingly sexual role, and the three main characters are likeable enough that you're interested to see where their stupid scheme takes them. Some of the jokes don't land so well, but it is worth a watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
rxqueenDec 13, 2011
predictable. but still slightly solid. worth seeing once but easily forgettable. though Kevin Spacey was great.. that man can do no wrong.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Ven-WedeJan 4, 2012
While not "horrible", Horrible Bosses serves to be nothing more than an average comedy film, despite the promise of its premise. The actors give solid performances, with only Charlie Day's constant shouting really getting on my nerves. TheWhile not "horrible", Horrible Bosses serves to be nothing more than an average comedy film, despite the promise of its premise. The actors give solid performances, with only Charlie Day's constant shouting really getting on my nerves. The main problem with the film is the writing, which is nothing more than Hangover worship. Often the jokes fall flat as they are either all set-up with no punchline, or the opposite. Recommended for a look if you're a comedy fan, but if not, it is not likely to turn you into one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
lasttimeisawMar 17, 2012
Too raunchy to be applauded and appreciated, this slapstick ragbag squeezes a whiff of middling laughters while all its characters are in deficit of credibility (compared with BRIDESMAIDS 2011). The film typifies that while possessing anToo raunchy to be applauded and appreciated, this slapstick ragbag squeezes a whiff of middling laughters while all its characters are in deficit of credibility (compared with BRIDESMAIDS 2011). The film typifies that while possessing an engrossing notion, it falls short of imagination and practical measures to present it into a gleeful feature-length work, a filmmaker's block? Surely it is. The glistening cast presents a leading-star-playing-wacky-supporting-role pattern, passably attracts their most loyal groupies and also intrigues many non-comedy cinema-goers to witness the fervently hyped overturn of these stars. Quite a cunning move and ostensibly it has functioned (a worldwide gross $209,638,559 is purely stunning). Plot-wise, Jennifer Anistonâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobJan 28, 2012
This film would have been a lot better if they focused on the bosses more then they did the 3 main characters. The bosses were hilarious (Colin Farrell was the best but sadly only has a small part) but the main characters were just genericThis film would have been a lot better if they focused on the bosses more then they did the 3 main characters. The bosses were hilarious (Colin Farrell was the best but sadly only has a small part) but the main characters were just generic and boring. The acting was good and it did have quite a few funny moments that justify watching the film but is it as good as everyone makes it out to be? No. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeAug 31, 2014
Horrible Bosses is an exaggeration of human feelings we all likely experience on a day-to-day basis. The cast and writers are able to create a funny and entertaining take on how we all feel about "horrible bosses."
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
The premise of the movie is an interesting and funny one. It takes the wishes of many of us and puts it on the big screen. The story is ridiculous, but to an extent well crafted. Each character has a legit reason to kill their boss, some moreThe premise of the movie is an interesting and funny one. It takes the wishes of many of us and puts it on the big screen. The story is ridiculous, but to an extent well crafted. Each character has a legit reason to kill their boss, some more than others. However the movie is kind of slow to start off. The stylized introduction of each boss is cool and even funny. I felt the ending was bit of a cop out for how much they build it up. The movie is predictable, but manages to take some left turns to spice up the formula.

The characters are were the movie shines. The actors do a good job portraying their characters. However, I felt they could have been a bit more extreme with the bosses. They could have made them more unbearable to the point where you would illegitimately want to kill them. Jamie Foxxâ
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
I actually liked this a lot. Nothing special but still funny, smart, terrible...it all worked. I was definitely entertained. Jennifer Aniston was particularly funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
SatiricalewokNov 9, 2014
This film does have laughs. Just not enough, the funniest scenes are with Jamie Foxx, but he is only in the movie for a short period of time. Really this film ends up being a collection of funny ideas that aren't quite realised. The acting isThis film does have laughs. Just not enough, the funniest scenes are with Jamie Foxx, but he is only in the movie for a short period of time. Really this film ends up being a collection of funny ideas that aren't quite realised. The acting is actually very good in this film, particularly Colin Farrell and Jamie Foxx. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleJan 26, 2015
Horrible Bosses is an above average comedy. It has an interesting idea that really winds up being a fun film to watch unfold. The acting from the large cast is good on the whole, in particular Kevin Spacey and the trio of Jason Bateman, JasonHorrible Bosses is an above average comedy. It has an interesting idea that really winds up being a fun film to watch unfold. The acting from the large cast is good on the whole, in particular Kevin Spacey and the trio of Jason Bateman, Jason Sudeikis, and Charlie Day. The main problem this one has that all mainstream comedies seem to have is how silly and absurd it all feels. While enjoyable and all, this is always a sticking point for me. However, as I said, the acting is good and the writing is pretty solid as the film is actually pretty funny. I just wish it was a bit more grounded and played less like an alright network sitcom. But, again, Horrible Bosses is an entertaining little film with good acting, which does outweigh the negatives for me, though I certainly wouldn't go out of my way to watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticDec 27, 2014
The film, while sophomoric, is solid with a cast that saves the film's too loose and immature structure. For one thing, Jennifer Aniston is a knockout in her role. All the bosses are. They're all excruciatingly hilarious. The victims areThe film, while sophomoric, is solid with a cast that saves the film's too loose and immature structure. For one thing, Jennifer Aniston is a knockout in her role. All the bosses are. They're all excruciatingly hilarious. The victims are equally fun. But the story fails by being a border of black comedy and raunchy comedy, which in my opinion, are opposites, the former being much more sophisticated and taking an actual brain to write. Opposites do attract. That's not one of them. But again, one big applause to the comedy genius-filled cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
marcmyworksDec 20, 2016
Predictable plot and subpar jokes from a fantastic cast whose characters felt underdeveloped. The lackluster ending added to my dismay but overall the film was entertaining enough for a Sunday afternoon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Viper8787Apr 23, 2014
Didn't love this movie but I didn't hate it either it was just ok. I thought it was going to be funnier. Every time someone mentions this movie they say how funny it is and I say it was just ok they are sometimes shocked I didn't find itDidn't love this movie but I didn't hate it either it was just ok. I thought it was going to be funnier. Every time someone mentions this movie they say how funny it is and I say it was just ok they are sometimes shocked I didn't find it funny. It isn't one of the best comedy movies but entertaining enough. Some really funny jokes and some awful one make it an ok movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AliceofXMar 9, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are some funny parts in Horrible Bosses but they are entirely predictable. Most of the time it's just not funny and instead of being smart it settles for being raunchy and explicit with crude, disgusting sex jokes.

The bosses were too unrealistic. Zero subtlety was involved in their roles. Instead they just openly said how horrible they are in such a cartoonish way that it was heard to take the main characters situation seriously. It didn't develop any empathy for them. The only boss that really sticks in your mind is the one played by Kevin Spacey as the rest are barely given any time to develop as characters.

Probably the best thing about this film was the three main characters. They had great chemistry together and you really liked watching their failures as they went about their mission like bumbling idiots. And that's what basically happens in the movie – despite their idiocy through sheer luck they manage to come on top and solve all their problems.

Overall this is not a completely unwatchable movie and personally I rather liked it but I can't see myself ever recommending it to anyone or even watching it a second time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeFeb 19, 2016
This movie does have horrible bosses indeed. I would never work for bosses that are so horrible to work with... in this case... I would never work with anyone to make such a movie like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieMasterEddyApr 9, 2016
Three hard-working professionals turn out to be pretty hopeless assassins in “Horrible Bosses,” a sorta-dark comedy predicated on the easily relatable notion that killing your supervisor would make the world a much better place. Too craven toThree hard-working professionals turn out to be pretty hopeless assassins in “Horrible Bosses,” a sorta-dark comedy predicated on the easily relatable notion that killing your supervisor would make the world a much better place. Too craven to take this idea to its properly nasty conclusion, this foul-mouthed effort instead coasts on its leads’ strong three-way chemistry and crack timing (quite literally, in a scene involving spilled cocaine), eliciting steady chuckles even as the plot bogs down in various dumbass shenanigans involving firearms, cell phones and fatal peanut allergies.

Written by Michael Markowitz, John Francis Daley and Jonathan Goldstein (from a story by Markowitz), the pic lives up to its blunt title, rapidly introducing three highly competent employees and their impossibly despicable employers.

Office drone Nick Hendricks (Jason Bateman) works endless hours on a regular diet of abuse from his sadistic supervisor, Dave Harken (Kevin Spacey). Nick’s two closest buddies aren’t much better off: Dental hygienist Dale Arbus (Charlie Day) must fend off the aggressive sexual advances of Novocain-wielding nymphomaniac Dr. Julia Harris (Jennifer Aniston), while accountant Kurt Buckman (Jason Sudeikis) can only watch as newly installed superior Bobby Pellit (Colin Farrell) destroys his company to finance a coke-snorting, hooker-happy lifestyle.

Since Pellit’s reckless waste-disposal methods could result in the deaths of millions, killing him is the only moral thing to do, Kurt argues during a boozy venting session with Dale and Nick. Soon all three of them are plotting to bump off their respective bosses with the help of a gangster (Jamie Foxx) whose expletive-derived name more or less sums up the script’s idea of wit. Bumbling burglaries and high-speed car chases ensue, as “Horrible Bosses” splits the difference between the I’ll-kill-yours-if-you-kill-mine setup of “Strangers on a Train” (directly acknowledged here) and the anti-corporate ethos of “Office Space,” though it’s seldom as amusing or thrilling as that combo would suggest.

The manner in which the central scheme plays out is predictably moronic, vulgar and juvenile, though the parties involved just about make up for it. The three lead funnymen (all of whom honed their comedic chops on television) are seasoned enough to make their displays of bumbling ineptitude seem positively skillful, building a consistently amusing rapport while inhabiting well-defined types — Bateman the measured voice of reason, Sudeikis the group’s skirt-chasing id and Day the squeaky third wheel.

Structurally, there’s a certain deftness to the way various gags pay off down the road as plot twists; audiences will be gratified to know that the sight of Sudeikis, introducing a toothbrush to an orifice without teeth, is not entirely gratuitous. And director Seth Gordon (“Four Christmases”) seems to grasp that the pic’s kill-your-boss fantasy is primal enough to excuse, and perhaps even warrant, a crude, sloppy approach. Indeed, it’s hard not to wish the helmer had abandoned the safety net and pushed his characters into darker, more daring territory; there’s at least one moment of violence so shockingly abrupt it provides a brief glimpse of the edgier comedy “Horrible Bosses” could have been.

As it is, Gordon falls back on over-the-top comic exaggeration by stacking the deck against the three big, bad bosses, who shrewdly account for most of the movie’s collective star wattage. While Aniston seems to be having a fun, vampy time as a succubus in scrubs, she’s the most tangential figure in a film that radiates a casual, leering contempt for women; for his part, Farrell lets his awesome combover do most of the heavy lifting. That leaves Spacey’s ever-reliable snarl to carry the day, lending the pic a twisted energy it could have used more of.

Tech credits are appropriately grungier than the usual studio standard. Brisk pic doesn’t overstay its welcome.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews