User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 334 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 334

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    8
    Very solid film. The comedy wasn't gross out and stupid, it was somewhat articulate. I didn't feel like I was a little kid getting read a story like I have with the past few comedies I have seen. Jason Sudekis, Charlie Day and Jason Bateman are very funny together. You have the Player (Sudekis), the Mature One (Bateman) and the Crazy (Day) much like the Hangover. Very watchable and very funny. 8 out of 10 Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    2
    The perfect adjective for Horrible Bosses is right there in the title. Horrible Bosses is an abysmal attempt at eliciting laughs out of disturbing and disgusting situations. Bosses has a decent cast with Kevin Spacey, Colin Farrell and Jennifer Aniston playing the bosses. All three give decent performances considering the material they are given (Spacey even makes a joke about a grandmothers nickname pass as funny despite the fact its awful. I mean you feel bad for laughing not because of how mean Spacey is but because you feel as though you just degraded yourself.) Its the trio of actors who try and pass as the sympathetic yet weird underlings who plan to have their bosses murdered Strangers on a Train style who let the side down (if the script hadn't already done that). Jason Sudeikis brings nothing to the table despite his extensive comedy work on Saturday Night Live, Jason Bateman just plays the same old regular everyman character that he does in just about everything (Where is State of Play Jason, I liked that guy). Finally Charlie Day, as funny as he is on Its Always Sunny In Philadelphia seems to shout his lines in hope that loud noises will be interpreted by the audience as amusing instead of just plain annoying. Its a film that grates constantly because it never gets the dark comedy tone right because its too busy relying upon Hangover style jokes involving pubic hair and nymphomania (not necessarily in that order) Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2011
    8
    Three hard-working guys (Charlie Day, Jason Bateman, Jason Sudeikis) are tormented by their bosses (Jennifer Aniston, Kevin Spacey, Colin Farrell), so they decide to do them in. Instead of relying of gross-out gags and over-the-top outrageousness, this film features genuinely funny characters and situations. The leading trio have great comic chemistry and their non-stop banter provides most of the laughs. The bad guys are obviously having lots of fun, too. This film won't break any new ground (although it may launch Charlie Day's big screen stardom), but it's energy will certainly keep you amused. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2011
    5
    Thanks Hangover. Now that you were so successful with the buddy trio movie we are going to have to suffer through all the wannabees. The only problem is that the Hangover was not predictable. This movie was like an extended bad TV sitcom. Everything was predictable. I laughed twice, and looked at my watch at least 4 times wondering when it would end. I admit, however, that other people in the audience were laughing a lot more than I was, so others liked it more than I did. I also have to say that all the guest stars seemed to be having fun. Kevin Spacey in particular seemed to revel in his bad guy persona. Colin Farrell wasn't used enough, and Jennifer Anniston looked like she was having fun. Too bad the writing just wasn't up to par for me. Example - how many times have we seen someone find a container of cocaine and either drop it or sneeze on it? The whole movie was unoriginal and predictable like that. And VERY sitcomy. People don't act like this in real life. Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Better than the Hangover in the way that it's going to be far more re-watchable, and I doubt it will have an almost identical sequel which has a third of the funny parts and really should have been called a remake. Jason Bateman and Charlie Day rule while Spacey and Aniston(surprisingly Aniston honestly)really bring it home. The guy from SNL wasn't bad but really reminded me of Ed Helms only Day has the more frantic parts. Both Bateman and Spacey are so brilliant with how deadpan they are... which makes Day's frantic, hilarious character that's quite similar to Charlie on It's Always Sunny but a tad smarter and not the raging drunk that that character is. He had the funniest running joke about being a registered sex offender... Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    With an extremely good cast, "Horrible Bosses" is a surprisingly good comedy! With a reasonably interesting and silly plot, it manages to keep the audience entertained, while not being overly diluted and stupid, like many comedies nowadays are. There are never really dull moments in the film, and the action is ever-present, which provides for good entertainment. What I really enjoyed are the supporting performances, actually. I thought they were amazing - much better than the leads. That being said, Charlie Day is the cutest thing around and I could watch him for hours. But Jennifer Aniston, Kevin Spacey and Colin Farrell all do amazing jobs. Aniston is perfect as the kinky, sexy, sex-crazed maniac boss, and should definitely experiment some more with characters like these. Farrell reminds me of Tom Cruise in "Tropic Thunder" - same look, same crazy, same good performance. Overall, the performances are the really fun, surprising factor here, making the film truly fun and entertaining! Definitely fun to watch! Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Be cautious of reviews that seem overly critical, this movie is Hilarious! My wife and I as well as most of the audience laughed out load throughout this movie. I have not laughed this much since the Hangover and I really enjoyed this movie more. The boss's are all Horrible although most men would wish their boss was Jennifer Aniston, she was great. The three main characters were great and their chemistry worked very, great supporting actors like Jamie Foxx (he was a riot) as the "hitman", Kevin Spacey as the worst boss ever were terrific also. If not for a few brief jokes that did not work I would give this movie a 10. Unlike some of the reviews that I read I would rate this movie higher than Wedding Crashers and on par with the Hangover. If your main reason to go see a comedy is to hae an good time and to laugh ALOT then you wil love this movie. Most of the scenes with Jennifer Aniston were gut busters! A fun time for sure, I may have to see it again! Expand
  8. Jul 9, 2011
    7
    Horrible Bosses is a sort of modern day remake of 9 to 5 by way of Superbad. I honor this film for the several laughs that it got out of me, but by the end, I found myself ready to move on to something with more lofty comedic goals. Easily worth your matinee admission price, but be a bit cautious if you are considering paying full evening admission price on this movie. This is the kind of movie that Saturday night cable premieres were made for, in my opinion. Expand
  9. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Wow, this movie was great, it deserves every positive review it receives, a 57 is way too low for this film. It is highly underrated by critics. This is what i was looking for in the hangover part 2, a laugh. I laughed countless times throughout this movie. It was fregen hilarious, the acting was great, the comedy was outstanding and the casting for this film was perfect. Jason Bateman, Charlie Day, and Jason sudekis were hilarious and perfectly casted for this film. I believe they stole the summer, this was the hangover of 2011. The comedy was nonstop. Everybody should go see this film, whether for a laugh, for a cheering up, or just to go see a good movie, you must see this. You wont be disappointed, 10/10 definitely! Expand
  10. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    This movie was SUPER funny. The only reason it did not get a 10 is because it could have been a tad bit longer. It was very entertaining and could have been stretched out a little bit more. Other than that movie was Awesome and well cast. Every actor was perfect for their role, especially Charlie Day. Jennifer Aniston was WOW! and has never looked so good. Although Jaime Foxx's parts were short they were hilarious. Jason Bateman is a great actor and I hope to see more of him in future roles. Jason Sudeikis was funnier than I thought he would be. Also Kevin Spacey is bad ass as a bad guy and Collin Ferrel play a good crack head. Expand
  11. Jul 28, 2011
    7
    A good enough popcorn flick, with Jen Aniston and Kevin Spacey stealing the show. The former plays against type, and the latter playing himself to the extreme. Basically a slacker bromance caper film with some neat homage to predecessors
  12. Jul 23, 2011
    1
    If you have any semblance of a brain or intelligence or a tuned sense of humor skip this film. Its tres' weak and just like so not funny. Bad. Pedestrian. #fail.
  13. Jul 11, 2011
    6
    This movie was a respectable comedy, however, I feel it had a lot of wasted potential. This movie had a stellar premise, and began with a solid start. Yet, as the movie progressed, both the storyline and the protagonists become hard to believe and blatantly dumb, and this is where the movie is at its weakest. While the movie was much more humorous and enjoyable when the protagonists and their jokes were underplayed and cleverly placed. Again, this movie still was funny and entertaining and will give the audience some good laughs, just I feel that it could have done more with the material at hand had the movie more cleverly utilized its exceptional comedic premise. Expand
  14. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    This movie had me laughing from beginning to end! I even saw it twice to make sure it was that funny and i still laughed my butt off!Loved all the characters everyone is hilarious especially Charlie Day.Overall this is the funniest movie i have seen all summer(and i watch a lot of movies) and one of the top films of the year!!!
  15. Aug 28, 2011
    5
    Horrible Bosses was one film that I thought had the potential to be a great comedy however I found it to be just another average, wannaebe film. Sure, I laughed here and there but in all honesty this just wasn't as funny as it should have been, its very much a wasted oppertunity. The idea is so so ridiculous it gave them a chance to ring it out for all its worth but unfortunately they fall miserably short. The comedy threesome (Bateman, Day and Sudeikis) are probably like most people and hate their bosses but these three are having an exceptionally difficult time. Bateman's psychotic boss is portrayed by Kevin Spacey and robs him of a job he believes should be his, Day has the maneater Jennifer Aniston as his hot boss and makes his job a "nightmare" on a daily basis, yes I know get molested by Jennifer Aniston seems so bad? and Sudeikis is under employment of coke-head Colin Farrell. Actually, Farrell is a revelation and quite funny. But they deicde they've had enough and hatch a plan from "m****r-f****r" Jones (Jamiee Foxx) to kill their bosses. A problem I had was with the similarities between the three leads of this and a film some may of heard of in the Hangover, you have the crazy, mental one, the sensible grown up and mr cool. Sadly they don't have the same charisma or coolness of the Wolfpack but thats not to say they are bad by any strech of the imagination. Ultimately, Horrible Bosses has the premise and the cast but it forgot the most vital ingredient, the funny! Expand
  16. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    Horrible Bosses is just a good time all around. I went in with very high expectations and I think it's safe to say they were met. The only negative thing I can say about this movie is that it just feels like something is missing, and the worst part about that is, I'm not sure what it is that's missing.
  17. Jul 31, 2011
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie. Best comedy I've seen this year. I don't know why everyone is comparing it to the Hangover, because there are 3 guys as the main characters?? I guess if u were disappointed with Hangover 2 like i was you should appreciate this movie. Solid film, Great actors. Charlie Day is amazing. When you go see this movie, enjoy it for what it is, a hilarious comedy. Don't go in there expecting it to be like something else, do the comparing after u watch the movie. Just sit and enjoy. Expand
  18. Jul 23, 2011
    5
    Horrible Bosses is an alright film. It definitely funny parts in the film and the cast did a great performance for their characters. The problems with this film is alot of the scenes were they try to be funny really isnt funny at all and some of the things they try to do to be funny they could of done it in a better way then the way they did. Its not the worst comedy film ive ever seen but its not the best. I would give this film a high rental. Expand
  19. Jul 11, 2011
    2
    I liked the cast, I liked the premise, the only problem was they forgot the funny. I can literally count on my fingers the number of times I heard even a chuckle come from the relatively packed theater.
  20. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    I'm with YOU, Brendan, I went to see it last night, I thought IT was going to be very funny.....I was looking forward to see what kind of "vengeance" They were going to execute on their bosses..maybe it WAS...just a Little...my friend and I found it to be extremely crude and crass...we left the theater after not even an hour into the movie. We are not prudes !!!!
  21. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    the movie is very good, because it has a great story and of course a great cast, this film is also an excellent and entertaining comedy that makes atentatos everyone is thrilled with the film
  22. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    It wasn't what I expected, but it WAS funny. The plot was pretty solid, and the acting in it was pretty great. Some parts were better than others, but overall, it was a pretty good movie. I'd defiantly go and see it again.
  23. Oct 22, 2011
    2
    How this movie has a better overall user score than Drive is mind-boggling to me. Clearly these are very different types of movies, but after seeing drive in the theaters last night I decided to rent Horrible Bosses. After 30 minutes we stopped watching this steaming pile. Nothing was humorous, the entire thing was painful. Apparantly I'm in the minority, but this movie sucks.
  24. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    Relatively-vaguely funny caper with Kevin Spacey walking away with best actor. Nice to see Jennifer Aniston looking hot, albeit a bit mental, and Colin Farell's brief appearance was unsettlingly amusing. However nothing to write home about on the comedy front in general. The gags are predictably stoopid, popcorn mush.
  25. Aug 10, 2012
    6
    Another studio comedy with no real surprises and an creaky plot, boosted by solid jokes. Realistically, this is more acting reel material for Jennifer Aniston, Colin Farrell, Kevin Spacey, and Charlie Day than anything else.
  26. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This movie is original, entertaining and has a very good argument. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
  27. Jul 9, 2011
    7
    I was prepared for something much more low brow and raunchy - but no, it's appropriately raunchy, and I laughed very hard with it. It's just not substantial enough to be considered a classic that can sit along side your Old Schools, Hangovers, or Wedding Crashers. But it's much better than Hall Pass! Charlie Day seems to be making every movie he's in better. Makes me fired up for another season of It's Always Sunny. And Jennifer Aniston? I love that she goes all the way and really commits to these roles. I know she had a brief period in her career when some other celeb broke up with her? Who was that, Brad Pitt? Pffft! The days of our needing to feel sorry for her are long over. She's destroying it. Look forward to her next film. Expand
  28. Aug 16, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In retrospect, we concur with Buddy Ackerman(Kevin Spacey), the movie mogul in "Swimming with Sharks", when he tells his disgruntled personal assistant to "grow up", because, culturally speaking, being a horrible boss is just par for the course in the movie biz. Bad behavior is just part of the culture. The flunky should know this. Upon its initial release, and the intervening years leading up to "The Devil Wears Prada", in essence, the female version of this "Player(The)" rethink, the moviegoer, for the most part, sided with Guy, the beleaguered assistant driven to desperate measures, when during a home invasion, Buddy gets his comeuppance for treating the hard-working underling like dirt, with rope and a chair, and a gun that just might go off. But now, courtesy of Andy Sachs, Guy is seen in a different light; a whiner, just one big baby, since the assistant for Runway editor Miranda Priestly, who in the 2006 film, bends but never breaks, even when faced with the seemingly impossible task of securing an unpublished manuscript for the next "Harry Potter" book. Compared to that, Guy's assignment is a relative piece of cake. He lacks Andy's resourcefulness. She would know to hire a helicopter pilot in order to hunt down a whitewater rafting client, somewhere in the Rockies. Guy just isn't cut out for the movie business. "I want my life back," goes the sniveling ingrate, while he holds Buddy hostage in exactly the same housebound manner as the secretaries' handling of their immediate supervisor, Mr. Hart, in "9 to 5". Although he lacks the intestinal fortitude to be a movie executive, Guy climbs the corporate ladder, nevertheless, as a reward for sparing his boss' life(he shoots the girl instead), therefore taking the buddy system to surreal heights. Feeling like a woman in a steno pool, he kills Dawn as a way of overcompensating for his emasculated feelings. Conversely, Andy, despite going toe-to-toe with the reconstituted woman(read: masculine), parlays her success for naught. Even though Andy may be the heir apparent of Miranda's empire, she goes to work for a dying industry, but the journalist doesn't worship haute couture, whereas Guy loves the movies, and is dumbstruck by the film illiteracy of his colleagues, who know Shelly Winters only from "The Poseidon Adventure". Insidiously, the filmmaker assigns a director with the name of Foster Kane, as a way to implicate the moviegoer as complicit philistines. He knows that the reference to "Citizen Kane" will go undetected. Similarly, in "Horrible Bosses", Nick draws a complete blank when Kurt compares their murder plot to "Strangers on a Train", while Dale confuses the Hitchc*ck film with "Throw Momma from the Train". To say the least, Kurt's analogizing of art and life is deeply flawed, but will anybody notice? In the 1951 thriller, it's not the bosses that Bruno and, arguably, Guy conspire to kill, but a domineering father and a promiscuous wife who won't give the tennis star a divorce. If these best of friends were to actually sit down and watch the movie, they would realize the fallacy in their thinking, since, as the title clearly articulates, the passengers are "strangers", not familiars, therefore, the proposed murder swap could easily be linked back to them. Does the filmmaker know this, or is the film as smart as its characters, and the baby sharks working under Guy who don't have the slightest apprehension of classic Hollywood? This misappropriated homage, to its credit, tweaks the plot points with some deftness, especially when Nick's boss(Spacey, again) discovers a lighter in his abode belonging to Kurt's boss, unwittingly planted by the unreliable film buff(as if fulfilling Bruno's plan to drop Guy's lighter at the crime scene), which propels the jealous husband(thinking that his wife is cheating) to gun down the idiot son of Kurt's mentor. Unfortunately, it lets the passed over VP candidate off the hook. Since the murder(regardless of its unexpected third party participation) is going to incriminate them anyway, it would have been a lot more interesting had Nick gotten out of the car. This raunchy, but ultimately tame comedy practically desecrates Hitch's good name by it the film's unwillingness to follow through with its lurid premise: What would drive an ordinary man to murder his boss? In "Strangers on a Train", Bruno feels double-crossed when Guy doesn't hold up his end of the deal. Arguably, he owes Bruno, since the film hints that the tennis star would have eventually done in the wife himself. "Horrible Bosses" isn't calibrated right. Unlike the other targets, Harken is truly horrible, making the game comic performances by Farrell and Aniston seem out of place. Given the chance, Nick would have slipped the rat poison in Pellitt's cocaine. He has a real axe to grind. Never mind the promotion. Things turn personal when the boss makes light of his grandmother's death. Expand
  29. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    The movie was a solid 8, with a fun story line, great casting, plenty of laughs all the way through, and the additional scenes I've never seen in a movie, until this one, in the out-takes during the credits, make this a 9. It is vulgar, sexual and gross, but a good film for those who are not prudes.
  30. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    An ugly little movie. Assuming that production of this movie started with only a story outline, otherwise why would Bateman, Ferrell, Anniston, and Spacey get involved with a script that read like the movie I saw. Seems like actors asked to improvise in quite a few spots: and they improvised none too well. I have liked some movies of this genre, but this one is poorly executed. Ferrell l I have really enjoyed in other roles: but shouldn't he have entirely eliminated his Irish accent for this role? [No set-up for having it, e.g., adopted from Irish orphanage.] I am surprised by high critic ratings on this one. Expand
  31. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    Horrible bosses was quite a great movie. It did remind me of hangover but only the first one. I hope Horrible Bosses 2 is not a flop. This movie had a lot of interesting timeless jokes. By timeless I mean jokes that stand with the test of time with memorable part being Dale singing a song doing the hilarious seat thing. The issues with the bosses were seemingly real and I could personally relate to 2 of them. The people chosen for the movie where not expected to act in such ways - Aniston and Colin Farrel. All in all we laughed the entire way through and the jokes where not all stupid sexual one's that most comedy films end up stooping to. Expand
  32. Aug 12, 2011
    7
    The fashion in the movie industry when it comes to comedy is adult humour. It is delicate to handle as it can easily be misconstrued as crude/crass in the wrong hands. Luckily this film has a number of gifted comedians whose talent helps us forget the inadequacies of the film giving us a number of funny moments.
  33. Nov 27, 2011
    6
    It was a pretty generic comedy film for the most part. The actors/actress who played the bosses were outstanding and definently worth watching for them but the other actors of the main cast werent as good. Also its pretty boring and stupid as well.
  34. Jul 8, 2011
    7
    One of the funniest movies that came out this year. I will start off by saying how evil and psycho is Kevin Spacey's character (Dave Harken), which he played really well. He's so psycho that he scares you. Hopefully nobody will have that type of monster has a boss. But the movie had a lot of focus on this character (and stand out the most from all the horrible bosses). I would of liked to see a little bit more situations involving Dr. Julia Harris, D.D.S. (Jennifer Aniston) and Bobby Pellitt (Colin Farrell). Especially Jennifer Aniston, she was hot. In fact, I would like to had her has a boss. Anyway, the filmmakers did a great job creating theses characters. Has for our heroes, they were hilarious. It was fun to watch these normal people trying to kill there bosses, and failing at it. It's an enjoyable movie, I was waiting to see this for a long time and it didn't disappointed me. Expand
  35. Nov 3, 2011
    6
    jajajajajajjaaj ... I loved Julia (Jennifer Aniston), the movie was something ridiculous but fulfilled his mission: to entertain and get me laughing...
  36. Jul 17, 2011
    5
    definitely a DVD rental, not a lets-go-to-the-movies-full-price-ticket movie. If Bridesmaids is still out in your area, that's a far funnier film and worth a full price ticket.
  37. Oct 6, 2011
    4
    Horrible bosses isn't that horrible, but it tragically failed as a comedy, because, this 'comedy', isn't funny at all. Just skip this movie, and save your hour and a half of your life on doing something. Do the dishes
  38. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    Absolutely hilarious and one of the best comedy's I've seen in a long time. Excellent writing and acting. It will have you rolling. Highly recommended.
  39. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    A fun, yet forgettable film. This is a shame, as the premise of the movie is pretty ace and could have been woven into a much meatier project. Collin Farrell is very funny, though, and you can't help but wish that he had more screen time.
  40. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    Ultimately a good comedy especially with Miss Spotlight Stealer, Jennifer Aniston. HB is your typical comedy, but Hollywood and its brethren has its way by keeping you tuned with sexy twists and turns.
  41. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    Vulgar? Yes. Funny? Yes. Forgetful? Somewhat. This is the type of movie that you go to see if you just want to be entertained. You should not expect to feel compelled to analyze the script when you leave the theater.....or to have a conversation about the quality of acting. This movie will not stand the test of time. I laughed outloud several times. I was pleasantly surprised where the script headed. But, when all was said & done, I was simply entertained and nothing more. Just what I was looking for that afternoon. Expand
  42. Jun 17, 2012
    6
    Albeit far from original and uneven. Thanks to smartly assembles cast that makes the most of solid premise works. Kevin Spacey's line makes me laugh hard.
  43. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    As long as you see this before hype kills it, its worth every dime....every character has a good part, and its nice to see J. Aniston with a dirty mouth. She kills it. Really, everyone did well considering the story is fairly see-through.
  44. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    The best comedy movie i watch in months, maybe years. My god, i LOL-ed many times throughout the movie. Great acting from the 3 guys. Astounding. A must watch. 4.5 stars
  45. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    A more realistic version, (and this year's) Hangover. Absolutely hilarious and pitch perfect. Great cast, great script great time. My favourite comedy of 2011.
  46. Jul 9, 2011
    8
    Proof that Hollywood can still make original, clever movies. Kevin Spacey particularly steals every scene as the twisted boss Harken. This is "Office Space" played to a wider demographic with just as many laughs.
  47. Apr 17, 2012
    2
    Some funny moments. For the most part a piece of fluff that is so over the top that there is nothing believeable in this film. You'd get more laughs watching a few Three Stooges shorts. The three male leads are engaging but just plain stupid. Kevin Spacey is the standout and even his performance is just a little over the top and had this been a serious dramatic piece people would have been talking about Spacey in the Best Acting Supporting category. Anniston is pathetic. She proves she too can attend the Kirtsen Wig school of acting. That being how to enlighten the public with just how vulgar women have become. Come on Jenn you're better than this type of crap. Expand
  48. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    Saw this, Bridesmaids, and Change-Up in the same weekend. This was at the bottom of the pack. The first two-thirds of the movie were slow and not all that funny. When all hell starts breaking loose during the last third, it gets funny, but it's not enough to save the movie. Thank god for Charlie Day, though. He still plays himself (aka almost Charlie from Sunny), but he's so darn likable.
  49. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    This movie is so ridiculous! That's it's strong suit! That's what makes it funny and interesting! The audience gives it the benefit of the doubt and rolls with the characters. Bateman is quite subdued here as opposed to his other films. His supporting costars really shine, Sudeikis and Day, with Day really stealing the show. The bosses.....each one is spectacular! Spacey, Aniston, and Farrell truly grow into people you love to hate and it translates well with the audience. Expand
  50. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    During the movies opening we are introduced to three friends and the problems that each of them are experiencing with their employers. Inspired by the movie ‘Strangers on a Train’ they decide that the only option left to them is to kill each others bosses, of course things pretty quickly fall apart.

    This type of movie is not exactly original anymore (see The Hangover, Due Date etc) but,
    as is often the case with these kind of comedies, the quality of the cast is vital. Fortunately in this area at least Horrible Bosses excels. Jason Bateman, Charlie Day, Jason Sudeikis are all very good as the downtrodden friends and have excellent on screen chemistry although the best roles are certainly reserved for the bosses. Collin Farrell and Kevin Spacey both demonstrate excellent comic timing and Jennifer Aniston is stunning as the nymphomaniac dentist trying to seduce her employee (to the point where it is pretty difficult to imagine anyone resisting her for too long!).

    The plot itself is obviously a little unbelievable but, after a slow(ish) opening, the script is well-paced with some genuinely funny scenes and one-liners making for a fairly enjoyable hour and a half.
    Expand
  51. Jul 11, 2011
    6
    It was decent could have been better. The movie was well acted but some the the jokes just were not funny. The movie falls a little short of its potential but it is still not a bad watch. I would never buy it, but I will never regret watching it.
  52. Jul 11, 2011
    6
    I found this movie to be very funny in parts. Near the beginning I thought some of the plot was so far-fetched as to be ridiculous. However as the movie progressed it became easier to look past those minor parts and accept that the entire plot was suppose to be a little over the top and outrageous. I'm already a fan of Kevin Spacey and Jason Bateman (esp his role in Arrested Development). After seeing Horrible Bosses, I find myself interested in seeing what else Charlie Day and Jason Sudeikis have done. Expand
  53. Jan 12, 2012
    9
    This film is like marmite. You either love it or hate it. I personally loved the movie and I think, wait I KNOW that this movie was funnier than Hangover. I think the reason why people hate it is because the themes of the movie such as sex, vulgar etc are too specific towards a certain target audience but I lie said this film was kick-ass really funny, the characters were interesting and easy to relate to. I think that people that enjoyed Hangover will like this film too. Expand
  54. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    The best R rated comedy since the hangover. The story is well told as well as well written. The comedy is smart and well thought out unlike many comedies in this day of age. If your looking for a movie that's funny and has a good story I suggest you watch horrible bosses. If your looking for a bad movie with dumb comedy I suggest you watch zookeeper
  55. Jul 9, 2011
    8
    Horrible Bosses provides constant laughs throughout. The bosses are truly terrible people but the main characters all bring there likable unique personalities to the movie. Obviously the plot is ridiculous but it's easily the number two comedy of the summer behind Bridesmaids and will hold up as a rewatchable comedy for years to come.
  56. Nov 22, 2011
    6
    overall, i think this is a good movie with an interesting plot. The characters were also good, especially the bosses who i found to be huge a**holes, but in a funny way.
  57. Jul 9, 2011
    8
    A funny movie that provides constant laughs along the way. No, not gut wrenching laughter, but good, solid laughs. A good date night movie experience!
  58. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best comedy movies ever since "the hangover" with a great performances of jennifer aniston,colin farrell and charlie day.

    A great movie to see with your friends
    Expand
  59. Jul 11, 2011
    6
    Went with high expectations. Overall the movie was pretty good, however there were a few slow parts and parts where the ADD kicks in and I would look around in boredom. Several funny scenes that had me laughing the whole duration (probably annoying others in the theater). It's worth a watch, but that's all.
  60. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Much funnier than Hangover, in my opinion, but I also think Hangover was WAY overrated.

    Pretty much the entire movie is funny.

    Don't agree with the person who said the movie was too short; it was just the right length.

    Our movie theater was filled, and everyone seemed to enjoy the movie.
  61. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    LMAO for most of this well paced movie. JA was super hot and a refreshingly new role for her and the boys were hilarious. Most of the negative reviewers tend to over think analyze comedies in general instead of just enjoying the ride.
  62. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This is one of the funniest, not to mention bizarre, films I've seen in a very long time. The whole audience was belly-laughing. The acting was incredible. We couldn't stop talking about it after it was over. A MUST SEE!!!
  63. Aug 6, 2011
    7
    The movie was solid, but with a cast filled with comedy stars like Jason Bateman (Arrested development) , Jennifer Aniston (friends) and Colin Farrell (In Bruges). I was glad it wasn't an all out gross film and the trio of charlie day, Bateman and Jason Sudeikis worked quite well together especially during the break in scene into Bobby's house. The movie delivers non stop laughs with good supporting actors like Kevin Spacey and Jamie Foxx. It wont break any new ground but it is a good start for Charlie Day on the big screen. 7/10 Expand
  64. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    I liked this movie overall. Sudekis, Day, and Bateman are very funny especially together and leads me to ponder why they are not in more films. Spacey is fantastic as usual and Aniston and Farrell fight against type casting and are rewarded thoroughly for it. Not the funniest movie this year, but it does a good job.
  65. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    Horrible Bosses is totally funny and enjoyable movie. New kind of black comedy with a solid story . All the characters in this film was different and awesome & it was done amazingly . Jason Bateman,
    Charlie Day,Jason Sudeikis,Kevin Spacey,Jennifer Aniston,Colin Farrell & Jamie Foxx did really did .Markowitz's story was really good also Seth Gordon's directing.Its different then any other
    comedy film and totally worth watching . Expand
  66. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    Generally, a better movie than I was expecting. Jennifer Aniston plays a shockingly sexual role, and the three main characters are likeable enough that you're interested to see where their stupid scheme takes them. Some of the jokes don't land so well, but it is worth a watch.
  67. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    I liked this movie, it started off a little slow, but sped up and was funny as all get out! The actors were all good, Kevin Spacey is the ultimate SOB, I highly recommend it.
  68. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    Nick, Kurt and Dale are all cursed with a horrible boss. Dave Harken is extremely controlling with psycho traits, keeping a tight leash around Nick, while a cocaine addict ,Bobby Pellit, inherits his fatherâ
  69. Oct 1, 2011
    8
    This is totally the best comedy film of this year
    Way better than bad teacher or bridesmaids
    Must watch 4 all hangover fans
    Almost as gud too and quite similar 2 it n sum ways...great actin by everybdy
  70. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Good and so much funny in some moments, but most of the time it feels really stupid, the story is ok but is to predictable, horrible bosses is a good but not brilliant comedy
  71. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    A great comedy. Finally a comedy that actually can make people laugh. I mainly only saw it because it didn't have Seth Rogan as the lead. It was miles above The Hangover.
  72. Oct 31, 2011
    7
    Horrible Boss is not as horrible as everyone should think (especially if you have a boss like them; for me? of course I have one). There is lots of twists and turns in this surprising comedy. At first you'll think you know what's going to happen -- but wait, and watch the movie to the very end, including the credits. Several in this extraordinary cast (perhaps especially Jennifer Aniston) step outside their "comfort zone" and display aspects of their personalities and acting skills that may surprise you. The acting of the lead stars especially the bosses was so damned good that it actually carry the movie by itself. Horrible Bosses never takes itself seriously, but you'll be too deep into laughter to notice the difference. The movie is dark as the movie earned its R rating easily, but if you can handle it you are in for a uproarious ride. Keep an eye on this one, as it is one of the best summer surprises in recent years. Expand
  73. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    A hilarious comedy. Metascore is totally off on this one. It is a great comedy film, and well, yeah, bit of an action and plot things and whatnot. Yeaaaah, pretty f---ing good movie.
  74. May 26, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mischievous comedy at its near-finest! Unfortunately the movie itself strays from its awesomeness during the second half when one of the two funniest characters in the film (alongside Jenifer Aniston) is murdered. Colin Farrell literally provides a sidesplitting 'barrel of laughs' performance and is the true breakout of the feature. The three leading men were all great casting choices and while some may say their back-stories are virtually non-existent I didn't find that to be a problem as more time was then focused on the titled horrible bosses! Expand
  75. Dec 13, 2011
    5
    predictable. but still slightly solid. worth seeing once but easily forgettable. though Kevin Spacey was great.. that man can do no wrong.
  76. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    If you're looking for a movie that brings on the laughs, look no further than "Horrible Bosses." It's a comedy where the energy of the cast never fails to bring on the fun. Everyone sells their roles perfectly here, particularly Charlie Day and Jennifer Aniston. The script isn't bad either. There's a number of memorable quotes and fun situations to keep this movie going. The one big weak point is the concept itself, and that causes the laughs to diminish a bit, but just as the movie starts to sink, there's an inspired performance to bring it back up. See "Horrible Bosses" if you want some R-rated summer fun. Expand
  77. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    From Arrested Development creator, Brett Ratner, and the star of Freaks Geeks, John Francis Daly, comes Horrible Bosses. What made this film stand out from other raunchy comedies, was that there wasn't just one super funny guy that the other played off of. Every character had their moment and was funny in their own way. The story was fairly original too. Three miserable guys decide all their problems would end if they kill each other's boss and they go on a hilarious mission to get the job done. While I love the idea and thought the movie was genuinely funny, what it lacks is character development. Other than the abuses they face at work, you don't really know too much about these guys and where they are coming from. I feel like that weakened the film, but what more than makes up for it is a ton of hilarious cameos. I love cameos and there are some great ones from Jennifer Aniston, Jamie Foxx, Donald Sutherland, Bob Newhart, and Collin Farrell. Horrible Bosses while lacking substance is defiantly good for a few laughs, which is pretty much all that I expect from these types of movies. Expand
  78. Feb 11, 2012
    7
    So hilarious. The chemistry between everyone was just on point, it was a cast full of veterans making a great dirty rated R movie. I loved it, one of the better comedies of 2011.
  79. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    I went into this movie with pretty low expectations and came out pleasantly surprised. It is one of few movies that I can watch over and over and still find myself laughing throughout the entire movie. The casting was spot on across the board. While the humor can be a bit raunchy at times, it is very relatable, particularly to the younger generation. The main trio have a great chemistry that is present throughout the entire film. Overall, Horrible Bosses remains one of my favorite go-to comedies. Expand
  80. Jan 4, 2012
    5
    While not "horrible", Horrible Bosses serves to be nothing more than an average comedy film, despite the promise of its premise. The actors give solid performances, with only Charlie Day's constant shouting really getting on my nerves. The main problem with the film is the writing, which is nothing more than Hangover worship. Often the jokes fall flat as they are either all set-up with no punchline, or the opposite. Recommended for a look if you're a comedy fan, but if not, it is not likely to turn you into one. Expand
  81. Mar 17, 2012
    5
    Too raunchy to be applauded and appreciated, this slapstick ragbag squeezes a whiff of middling laughters while all its characters are in deficit of credibility (compared with BRIDESMAIDS 2011). The film typifies that while possessing an engrossing notion, it falls short of imagination and practical measures to present it into a gleeful feature-length work, a filmmaker's block? Surely it is. The glistening cast presents a leading-star-playing-wacky-supporting-role pattern, passably attracts their most loyal groupies and also intrigues many non-comedy cinema-goers to witness the fervently hyped overturn of these stars. Quite a cunning move and ostensibly it has functioned (a worldwide gross $209,638,559 is purely stunning). Plot-wise, Jennifer Anistonâ Expand
  82. Jan 28, 2012
    6
    This film would have been a lot better if they focused on the bosses more then they did the 3 main characters. The bosses were hilarious (Colin Farrell was the best but sadly only has a small part) but the main characters were just generic and boring. The acting was good and it did have quite a few funny moments that justify watching the film but is it as good as everyone makes it out to be? No.
  83. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    Horrible Bosses is a crude and raunchy film. Good that is what i want. Funny as hell and a great story with acting by everyone well above par. One of the funniest movies of the year.
  84. Mar 26, 2012
    6
    The premise of the movie is an interesting and funny one. It takes the wishes of many of us and puts it on the big screen. The story is ridiculous, but to an extent well crafted. Each character has a legit reason to kill their boss, some more than others. However the movie is kind of slow to start off. The stylized introduction of each boss is cool and even funny. I felt the ending was bit of a cop out for how much they build it up. The movie is predictable, but manages to take some left turns to spice up the formula.

    The characters are were the movie shines. The actors do a good job portraying their characters. However, I felt they could have been a bit more extreme with the bosses. They could have made them more unbearable to the point where you would illegitimately want to kill them. Jamie Foxxâ
    Expand
  85. Jan 5, 2014
    7
    Funny and raunchy. The movie didn't hold anything back, and pushed actors to their limits. It wasn't cliche as so many other comedies are. It was nice to see Jennifer actually play a different character over her dull self.
  86. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    One of the best comedies of 2011, miles better than The Hangover II, but not on par with Bridesmaids. An ensemble cast that coukdnt have been cast better with all characters taking on their roles brilliantly. But two actors that stand out against the rest of the cast is Charlie Day and Jennifer Aniston, they have excellent chemistry together, and As soon as both appear on screen together you know sparks will fly. Jennifer Aniston is outstanding in a role no one would have expected, with her dirty talk and sexual ways, she is different and excellent at it. Her role could either be a one off or the start of a brilliant new acting route for her. But above all is Charlie Day, every scene he is in is hilarious, and you would seriously believe this is what Charlies real life persona is like. Its hard to describe how execellent and hilarious he is in the film without watching it for yourself. The only bad points of this film is it is not consistently funny, nor a plot that is by the end very intruging or memorable. But overall a truly fantastic comedy film that pretty much everyone could enjoy, just dont watch with your parents or grandparents! Expand
  87. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    Nick, Dale and Kurt are average Americans with reasonable and respected intentions in life. Some of their aspirations are no different from our own. Nick is the hard-working office employee who is always the first to arrive and the last to leave. He dreams of a big promotion, which he clearly deserves. Dale is committed to the woman he loves. His plan is to marry her, sustaining their relationship through his earnings as a dentist's assistant. Kurt is content with his role in the chemical company he's in. He smiles in the thought that he could one day be in charge. Nick, Dale and Kurt are such harmless, typical fellas that, when they agree that it would be best to kill their bosses, we wonder how evil their superiors could be.

    The bosses in "Horrible Bosses" are indeed what the title suggests them to be, and more. Besides being horrible, they're also psychotic, perverted, delusional, and mean. They make other people's life miserable because they can. They take advantage of their authority by engaging in activities that can only be classified as either immoral or illegal. I describe these bullies from observations I made during office hours. How do these people entertain themselves on a Holiday?

    The first of three bosses is Dave Harken, played by Kevin Spacey. Dave is so skilled at publicly humiliating others that he might as well host the next Oscars. Dave knows that he can easily make Nick's dream come true, but won't. Next up is Jennifer Anniston's Dr. Julia Harris, the world's horniest dentist. Julia's instinctive habit of seducing the nearest conscious male would make an ordinary man rejoice, especially if you're her assistant, but not Dale. He fears that Julia's regular sexual stunts will jeopardize his engagement. And then there's Bobby Pellitt (Colin Farrell), who has recently took command of the chemical company that employs Kurt. Because everything that Bobby touches turns to a strip club, Kurt is not confident that the company will last long.

    Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/horrible-bosses-movie- review/
    Expand
  88. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    Funny movie the cast was great Charlie Day was hilarious! So if your a fan of It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia this is a must see movie. Jason Bateman and Jason Sudeikis were great too. If your looking for a good laugh then Horrible Bosses is for you.
  89. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    One of the best comedies of 2011, miles better than The Hangover II, but not on par with Bridesmaids. An ensemble cast that couldnt have been cast better with all characters taking on their roles brilliantly. But two actors that stand out against the rest of the cast is Charlie Day and Jennifer Aniston, they have excellent chemistry together, and As soon as both appear on screen together you know sparks will fly. Jennifer Aniston is outstanding in a role no one would have expected, with her dirty talk and sexual ways, she is different and excellent at it. Her role could either be a one off or the start of a brilliant new acting route for her. But above all is Charlie Day, every scene he is in is hilarious, and you would seriously believe this is what Charlies real life persona is like. Its hard to describe how exeellent and hilarious he is in the film without watching it for yourself. The only bad points of this film is it is not consistently funny, nor a plot that is by the end very intruiging or memorable. But overall a truly fantastic comedy film that pretty much everyone could enjoy, just dont watch with your parents or grandparents! Expand
  90. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    Horrible Bosses is hilarious, and even then, it doesn't go as far as it good have. It had Hangover potential, but, nevertheless, I'm thoroughly entertained.
  91. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Impossibly irreverent and almost mercilessly hilarious, "Horrible Bosses" amounts up to a great comedy for adults.
  92. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    I actually liked this a lot. Nothing special but still funny, smart, terrible...it all worked. I was definitely entertained. Jennifer Aniston was particularly funny.
  93. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    This is one of the funniest movies ever! each and every one of the charecters is amazing in their own right: the three bosses are HILARIOUS, and each of the boys has their own comical charecteristic.
  94. May 17, 2013
    0
    Too many talkings, bra, bra, bra, boring.
  95. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This movie was far better than I expected. Charlie Days part in this movie was awesome. It is funny, disturbing and sometimes just cool. The story is innovative and also breathtaking.
    The best scenes are those with Charlie in it. When you like Always Sunny in Philadelphia you will love this movie.
  96. Jan 28, 2014
    8
    "Horrible Bosses" es una comedia hilarante y divertida, con un buen argumento y buenos dialogos comicos.Lo malo de esta pelicula es que en algunos momentos la pelicula es predecible, pero dentro de todo la pelicula es muy divertida.
  97. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    Great comedy, with great actors and some action and suspense. The trio of the clients were superb. Jennifer anniston was a breakthrough character.Liked it a lot
  98. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    Often very funny, Horrible Bosses has a star studded cast and plays out like four separate stories coming together for one big movie that is sure to entertain, or disgust. It depends on how you view it.
  99. Apr 9, 2014
    7
    This is an original concept and an original movie.There is a lot of funny scenes and it's one of the best 2011's movies.If it's not it's the best comedy of 2011.Tis is a sexy and wild movie that i can only recommend
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Jul 22, 2011
    40
    These bosses cannot justify either murder or lasting comic memories, fatally compromising a farce that could have been great but ends up merely mediocre.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 11, 2011
    75
    For something like Horrible Bosses to sparkle, the actors have to shine... and shine they do.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 8, 2011
    33
    The coarseness wouldn't be so bad if at least the steady stream of obscenities were funny.