Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 417 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: For Nick, Kurt and Dale, the only thing that would make the daily grind more tolerable would be to grind their intolerable bosses into dust. Quitting is not an option, so, with the benefit of a few-too-many drinks and some dubious advice from a hustling ex-con, the three friends devise aFor Nick, Kurt and Dale, the only thing that would make the daily grind more tolerable would be to grind their intolerable bosses into dust. Quitting is not an option, so, with the benefit of a few-too-many drinks and some dubious advice from a hustling ex-con, the three friends devise a convoluted and seemingly foolproof plan to rid themselves of their respective employers...permanently. There's only one problem: even the best laid plans are only as foolproof as the brains behind them. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jul 6, 2011
    100
    The funniest comedy of degeneracy since "Bad Santa," and a career-changer for Aniston and Farrell if they'll only keep following their perverted muses. Horrible Bosses spins hostile work environments into a movie surpassing "9 to 5" and "Office Space" as the touchstone flick for disenchanted drones.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jul 7, 2011
    75
    Cleverly structured, Horrible Bosses works in spite of its cruder, scrotum-centric instincts.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jul 8, 2011
    75
    Gets considerable gas from the fact that Bateman, Sudeikis and Day so convincingly play three idiotic pals. The real fun, though, is in the fantastic supporting cast.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 6, 2011
    63
    As its titular tyrants, Spacey, Aniston, and Farrell all revel in their over-the-top noxiousness, though the latter is mysteriously given short shrift even though his performance is far and way the most novel and gonzo.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jul 7, 2011
    50
    Horrible Bosses doesn't quite qualify as a black comedy. Without the conviction to follow through on its own macabre premise, this underachieving little movie washes out to a muddy grayish-brown.
  6. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Jul 22, 2011
    40
    These bosses cannot justify either murder or lasting comic memories, fatally compromising a farce that could have been great but ends up merely mediocre.
  7. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Jul 5, 2011
    30
    The lameness of the gags and dialogue and the film's frequent deep dives for the bottom at the expense of real comedy speak to desperation in Hollywood to figure out the audience for contemporary naughty comedy.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 108
  2. Negative: 9 out of 108
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Better than the Hangover in the way that it's going to be far more re-watchable, and I doubt it will have an almost identical sequel which has a third of the funny parts and really should have been called a remake. Jason Bateman and Charlie Day rule while Spacey and Aniston(surprisingly Aniston honestly)really bring it home. The guy from SNL wasn't bad but really reminded me of Ed Helms only Day has the more frantic parts. Both Bateman and Spacey are so brilliant with how deadpan they are... which makes Day's frantic, hilarious character that's quite similar to Charlie on It's Always Sunny but a tad smarter and not the raging drunk that that character is. He had the funniest running joke about being a registered sex offender... Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    This movie was SUPER funny. The only reason it did not get a 10 is because it could have been a tad bit longer. It was very entertaining andThis movie was SUPER funny. The only reason it did not get a 10 is because it could have been a tad bit longer. It was very entertaining and could have been stretched out a little bit more. Other than that movie was Awesome and well cast. Every actor was perfect for their role, especially Charlie Day. Jennifer Aniston was WOW! and has never looked so good. Although Jaime Foxx's parts were short they were hilarious. Jason Bateman is a great actor and I hope to see more of him in future roles. Jason Sudeikis was funnier than I thought he would be. Also Kevin Spacey is bad ass as a bad guy and Collin Ferrel play a good crack head. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2011
    8
    Very solid film. The comedy wasn't gross out and stupid, it was somewhat articulate. I didn't feel like I was a little kid getting read aVery solid film. The comedy wasn't gross out and stupid, it was somewhat articulate. I didn't feel like I was a little kid getting read a story like I have with the past few comedies I have seen. Jason Sudekis, Charlie Day and Jason Bateman are very funny together. You have the Player (Sudekis), the Mature One (Bateman) and the Crazy (Day) much like the Hangover. Very watchable and very funny. 8 out of 10 Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    Horrible Bosses is hilarious, and even then, it doesn't go as far as it good have. It had Hangover potential, but, nevertheless, I'mHorrible Bosses is hilarious, and even then, it doesn't go as far as it good have. It had Hangover potential, but, nevertheless, I'm thoroughly entertained. Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2012
    7
    So hilarious. The chemistry between everyone was just on point, it was a cast full of veterans making a great dirty rated R movie. I loved it,So hilarious. The chemistry between everyone was just on point, it was a cast full of veterans making a great dirty rated R movie. I loved it, one of the better comedies of 2011. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2011
    6
    It was a pretty generic comedy film for the most part. The actors/actress who played the bosses were outstanding and definently worth watchingIt was a pretty generic comedy film for the most part. The actors/actress who played the bosses were outstanding and definently worth watching for them but the other actors of the main cast werent as good. Also its pretty boring and stupid as well. Expand
  7. May 17, 2013
    0
    Too many talkings, bra, bra, bra, boring.

See all 108 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.