Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 14, 2008
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 180 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
137
Mixed:
31
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
ZilcellDec 17, 2011
Horton Hears a Who! may be simplistic in story, but that doesn't keep it from having charm. Great visuals and faithfulness to the book make it a very interesting animated film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Oct 23, 2011
Horton Hears a who! But I don't hear anything.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
EvanO.Apr 6, 2008
I went into this movie thinking that it would would be one of those surprisingly funny Pixar movies, along the lines of Ratatouille or Bee Movie, but this movie was just not funny. I expected with Carell(the Office is great) and Carrey, it I went into this movie thinking that it would would be one of those surprisingly funny Pixar movies, along the lines of Ratatouille or Bee Movie, but this movie was just not funny. I expected with Carell(the Office is great) and Carrey, it would have some good jokes. But there were maybe 3 times in the entire movie that I laughed out loud. That's not very good. The plot was alright , and the moral was fine(Now that would have been hard to blow!), but overall, just a wasted opportunity. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
F86S.Mar 22, 2008
that movie is the worst movie i have ever seen. it was the only movie in my life that made me hungry. i rate it a 0 because i think that Ratatouille, which is all about food is better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
IanB.Apr 6, 2008
Boring ans way too sappy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
emiliomiceli31Apr 12, 2015
horton y el mundo de los quien es la mejor pelicula tiene buen diseño de personajes es graciosa y divertida buena y brinda una leccion "todos cuentan hasta los seres pequeños
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeFeb 1, 2016
The best in any Dr. Seuss installment. Second is "The Lorax", third is "How the Grinch Stole Christmas!", and dead last is... drum roll... "The Cat in the Hat." Something that's sweeter to imagine than the Lorax, actually has more feelingsThe best in any Dr. Seuss installment. Second is "The Lorax", third is "How the Grinch Stole Christmas!", and dead last is... drum roll... "The Cat in the Hat." Something that's sweeter to imagine than the Lorax, actually has more feelings than How the Grinch Stole Christmas, and actually works unlike the Cat in the Hat. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RyanB.Mar 12, 2008
I saw an early screening and the movie is really, really good!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CameronG.Apr 10, 2008
Overall it was a great movie and made me laugh a lot. Plus its a good movie to see with your mom.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Apr 15, 2008
The Best Animated Movie I Have Seen In Years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanP.Apr 20, 2008
This movie was better than I expected and much better than most expert movie critics gave it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimApr 20, 2008
I loved the movie, especially the Japanese anime which was hysterical and a seeming random take-off from that genre. Although not so random as the directors put that in there as a nod towards Seuss's often overlooked anti-war propaganda I loved the movie, especially the Japanese anime which was hysterical and a seeming random take-off from that genre. Although not so random as the directors put that in there as a nod towards Seuss's often overlooked anti-war propaganda in Japan. I believe Seuss had also just returned from Japan when he wrote Horton Hears a Who. Thought the movie was very funny throughout! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Dec 6, 2008
7.5/10. The movie captures the creativity of Dr. Seuss very well. Well animated, amusing screenplay and excellent voice overs. It is a very enjoyable film that all ages will enjoy. Funny, touching and well worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasA.Mar 12, 2008
I loved it. The best last half hour of any movie I've seen in a long time. Steve Carell is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Mar 17, 2008
"Horton Hears a Who!" is "The Truman Show" for kids. This time around, Jim Carrey plays Christof(Ed Harris) as a pachyderm named Horton, and Steve Carrell is Truman Burbank(Carrey) as the Mayor of Whoville. Unlike recent animated films like "Horton Hears a Who!" is "The Truman Show" for kids. This time around, Jim Carrey plays Christof(Ed Harris) as a pachyderm named Horton, and Steve Carrell is Truman Burbank(Carrey) as the Mayor of Whoville. Unlike recent animated films like "Cars" and "Happy Feet", in particular, "Horton Hears a Who" deals with the paradox of our being. This "children's film" engages the viewer with a fairly sophisticated dialectic between science and religion. Horton is like a scientist. He knows that an invisible world exists. In this passion play of sorts, the second player: Kangaroo(Carol Burnett) is the embodiment of the religious fanatic who doesn't believe in science. Under Christian dogma, baptismals are conducted to prevent a person's soul from spending an eternity in hell. Keeping this in mind, makes the kangaroo's actions during the film's climax all the more provocative. Conversely, in Whoville, the mayor hears voices, like Abraham, or Moses, or any of the eighteen prophets. But Horton is more like a naive scientist than a god. And a scientist with ecclesiastical leanings to boot. Horton has faith that a self-contained world exists on that speck...based on empirical observations...he heard a voice. Science and religion have a pretzel logic in "Horton Hears a Who"; it's own set of rules, which makes sense. This is a cartoon, after all. This is science fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
blarghblanginMar 18, 2008
I really liked it, funny voice acting... really good adaptation of a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PeppersmithMar 28, 2008
didn't like the animae section in teh middle - looked like they ran out of budget or time to truly complete the movie in the quality they established in the rest of the movie - concept of superhero was cute during this secion - i just didn't like the animae section in teh middle - looked like they ran out of budget or time to truly complete the movie in the quality they established in the rest of the movie - concept of superhero was cute during this secion - i just HATED the illustration style - GLAD it is not the technique used through out the movie - Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
khanM.Mar 20, 2008
For kids its a 10 on 10. But if your above 15 its a waste of time. I would rather suggest wait for the DVD to come out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomMar 31, 2008
Loved this movie. It was one of the funniest movies to come out in the last few years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamApr 20, 2008
Great movie. It was funny, and entertaining. Horton had a great personality, and the creators were very imaginative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisC.Aug 20, 2008
I love it. Simply superlative. The script is superbly written and each character is very well realized. Definitely in my top 5.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KE.Jan 9, 2009
The only thing that I was worried about was the fact I was watching a movie this childish. But, this movie was still great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HyperSDec 4, 2008
Wasn't feeling it. Nope, not once during the whole movie was I feeling it. The plot just wasn't something to make a full length feature off of so no matter how well animated it never grabbed my attention, made me care, or peeked my Wasn't feeling it. Nope, not once during the whole movie was I feeling it. The plot just wasn't something to make a full length feature off of so no matter how well animated it never grabbed my attention, made me care, or peeked my curiosity. There was also little character development, then again since there were no memorable characters [villian stunk; Hero nothing special; victims in peril (snore)] I guess we didn't miss much. Maybe we should thank the directors for not wasting our time. Also, zippo in the comedy department. Its just a very average... very forgettable movie. Although I should say at least it was a kid friendly Dr. Suessian movie unlike that awful train wreck of a movie titled, "Cat in the Hat". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Mar 13, 2008
Finally, a Dr. Seuss film that captures the heart of the book! Horton was one of my favorites growing up and my kids have grown to be fans as well. I'm coming back with the family. Love Steve Carell!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CoryC.Mar 16, 2008
Very cute movie. My 5 year old really enjoyed it. By far the best Dr. Suess movie to date.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JudyTMar 17, 2008
Okay but some of the jokes are over kides heads and it get really slow in the middle, ask my four year old grand son.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Momof3Mar 18, 2008
Great film. I was laughing out loud in spots as were all of the children in the theatre. Certainly a movie for all ages!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyD.Mar 21, 2008
Amazing study this film is. Perhaps another Animal Farm to be discussed in classes for years to come? The review by Chad S (advanced Scout Team) was close, but got it backwards on the science and religion thing. The Kangaroo was the Amazing study this film is. Perhaps another Animal Farm to be discussed in classes for years to come? The review by Chad S (advanced Scout Team) was close, but got it backwards on the science and religion thing. The Kangaroo was the embodiment of the closed-minded science and atheistic community that will only accept what they see, touch, or comprehend with their own intellect. The Kangaroo represents a centralized government (communist, leftist?) that bans faith and freedom. Such things would only lead to anarchy! Only atheistic intellectuals such as herself need to be in control because everyone else is too stupid to think for themselves. So her prejudices and twisted logic drives her to whip an angry mob into arresting the Horton (the believer) and attempting to extinguish his faith from the public square. I wouldn't be surprised if the Roo is a member of the ACLU! Great movie. Go see. I would've gave it a 10 if not for that annoying anime sequence halfway through the flick. Couldn't done without that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenMar 20, 2008
This was the funniest and greatest movie ever. The music empowered you, and made you hope that Whovile would stay alive, the characters made you laugh out loud from the start, and Dr Seuss' idea of a world living on a spec fules the This was the funniest and greatest movie ever. The music empowered you, and made you hope that Whovile would stay alive, the characters made you laugh out loud from the start, and Dr Seuss' idea of a world living on a spec fules the entire movie. This movie is great for EVERYONE, including not just young kids, but teenagers and adults too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndreGMar 25, 2008
I should have known better, considering it's a movie for kids, but unlike every Pixar movie I've seen, this movie was extremely boring. The person I went with actually fell asleep about 15 mins into it and I couldn't bring I should have known better, considering it's a movie for kids, but unlike every Pixar movie I've seen, this movie was extremely boring. The person I went with actually fell asleep about 15 mins into it and I couldn't bring myself to wake him up so as to not miss any of the "action". That being said, it was cute enough and I'm sure parents looking for a movie to bring their 3 to 12 year olds will find something of value here. Adults looking for something of Pixar caliber, however, should probably look elsewhere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful