Miramax Films | Release Date: March 11, 2005
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 263 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
224
Mixed:
30
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
SusanM.Mar 15, 2005
It was okay. A bit loooooong in parts, a lot unrealistic toward the end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
wossnameMar 25, 2005
The promising start gives way to tedium as the pacing falls out of the window as we wait for the inevitable ending in which Bruce Willis will save the day; when the ending comes, it is so stupid and implausable that I wonder if Bruce Willis The promising start gives way to tedium as the pacing falls out of the window as we wait for the inevitable ending in which Bruce Willis will save the day; when the ending comes, it is so stupid and implausable that I wonder if Bruce Willis read this script at all! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
FrankO.Jan 15, 2006
I was looking forward to viewing this movie because it was based on a novel by Robert Crais who I admire as a mystery writer. Needless to say, it was too much over the top with special effects and way too long.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
DezJul 8, 2005
I want my MacLane back...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VinceH.Mar 12, 2005
Bruce Willis is one of the rare major actors (Keitel, Walken, Dafoe, etc.) who is always compelling and powerful no matter what crappy movie they are in. He once again proves to be a really magnetic screen prescence (not that he hadn't Bruce Willis is one of the rare major actors (Keitel, Walken, Dafoe, etc.) who is always compelling and powerful no matter what crappy movie they are in. He once again proves to be a really magnetic screen prescence (not that he hadn't already of course) amidst all the overly-coincidental cliches that the screenplay piles up. Ben Foster is one of my favorite up-and-coming actors but he is mostly wasted here, essentially playing the role that Matthew Pitt normally plays. It has some compelling moments (and a very cool Panic Room-inspired opening credits sequence). In the end all you can think is...what's the point? On a side note, the best thing of seeing this was a chance to see the new Sin City trailer. Cannot wait. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregT.Jun 29, 2005
I love Bruce Willis movies. However, in the middle of this one, I went for a pee and a smoke and kept it running. I wasn't sure that I cared enough about the corrupt father, the bitchy daughter and the precocious son to worry what I love Bruce Willis movies. However, in the middle of this one, I went for a pee and a smoke and kept it running. I wasn't sure that I cared enough about the corrupt father, the bitchy daughter and the precocious son to worry what happened to them. This movie perked up towards the end, but.... I wouldn't write to anyone and suggest that they rent this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
bruceishotJul 1, 2005
Bruce willis is sooo hot! anyway, the movie was not great... it was not confident with what it wanted to be, a movie aboutt: rowdy kids trying to steal a car, a sick cold-blooded murderer, or a company who wants its money or something... the Bruce willis is sooo hot! anyway, the movie was not great... it was not confident with what it wanted to be, a movie aboutt: rowdy kids trying to steal a car, a sick cold-blooded murderer, or a company who wants its money or something... the is a 1, but Bruce get a 50! He has gotten old, but retained sexyness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TonyBAug 17, 2005
There's not a boring minute in it but not too many believable ones either. "Hostage" takes itself more seriously than basically silly claptrap has a right to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RayB.Oct 19, 2005
This film is really difficult to judge. The film itself is a good old fashioned Bruce Willis action movie. But and it's a big BUT the novel it is based on by Robert Crais is one of the best crime thriller books ever written and the This film is really difficult to judge. The film itself is a good old fashioned Bruce Willis action movie. But and it's a big BUT the novel it is based on by Robert Crais is one of the best crime thriller books ever written and the movie decided to pick parts of the story to follow and not always the best parts i.e. the discovery in MARS home which is not in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BeanoS.Mar 18, 2005
So tired of seeing the same predictible suspence. Is Bruce's gardener picking scripts, now? Yawn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NickHJul 19, 2005
Die Hard in a duplex... minus the drama, tension, acting, and crazy Europeans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful