User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 401 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    0
    This movie... doesn't exist. It is probably the least creative movie I've ever seen. It's really mentally grathing and slow, and it may not be the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's pretty close. I know it's not about shock and more about gross out scares, but you can't really be grossed out too much if you're not immersed in the movie (maybe the infamouse "eyegasm", but nothing else),This movie... doesn't exist. It is probably the least creative movie I've ever seen. It's really mentally grathing and slow, and it may not be the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's pretty close. I know it's not about shock and more about gross out scares, but you can't really be grossed out too much if you're not immersed in the movie (maybe the infamouse "eyegasm", but nothing else), and this movie does nothing interesting to help itself. What little story there is the most cliched I've ever heard. I'd like to dig more deeply into it, but there is nothing there to dig into. All you have to know is that people get tortured while the audience wonders what's so great about it. This may not be a part of a genre I like, but a truely good movie could suck you in regardless of the genre. Not to get off track or anything, but a good example is, Pulp Fiction. It is listed under "crime", "drama", "suspence", and "comedy" all at once, but you don't think "hey, I'm watching a crime/drama/suspence/comedy", you just think "hey, I'm watching a movie". Hostel is so cliched that it seems like a genre template and nothing else. I read the user reviews of people who liked it in case I missed something, but the argument of "saterizing the audiences lust for pain" could be said for any movie in the genre. Bottom line: you can't have a gross-out movie without the "movie" part. I was grossed out when i stepped in dog poop, but that doesn't make it the apitamy of cinema. Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2011
    2
    Let me say to start that I am NOT the target audience for this movie. This moive is more for the gore for the sake of gore crowd, anyone else watching this movie has chosen to punish themselves. This movie has no higher purpose, no greater wisdom, no real story. Hack and slash, hack and slash.
  3. RyanH.
    Jan 3, 2007
    0
    One of the the worst movies I have ever seen. I think i was watching a stupid teenage trip movie that went wrong and had added gore for fun. It is the standard gory movie with the stupidest characters who set themselves up to be killed with one person making it out alive.
  4. MarkC.
    Aug 20, 2006
    3
    this moive is not scary at all it just freakin nasty it is very boring it has no suspense.You already know whats going to happen before it happens now can u tell me how lame it that?
  5. AmandaP.
    Jan 6, 2006
    3
    Was not scary at all!!
  6. danieli.
    Jan 10, 2006
    1
    It's a pretty pathetic plot line with little or no back story. The movie is not all deep, with only scenes that will shock the audience. The first half is a glorified porno, while the last 45 minutes are made as groteskly as possible. If you like movies with no plot and horrible lines this Hostel was made for you.
  7. Melissa
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    Very disturbing and degrating movie towards women. Definitely not a date movie. The gore aspect was just too much they showed peoples faces being burned with blow torches. It sucked.
  8. Wendy
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    A movie made for juvenile teenagers [Ed: uhhh..]. With the garbage currently playing it should do well at the box office. But the truth is it is pretty bad. Move over Mr. Jackson, Mr. Q has joined you as a one-trick pony. Avoid.
  9. NickiC.
    Jan 8, 2006
    2
    I was disappointed in Quentin Tarantino for turning out this film. The overall theme of the moview was sex, drugs, and gore. The plot played out in a manner where there were no surprises. I didn't like it. We were waiting outside the theater as the first show let out and most of the people were commenting that it was just stupid and disappointing. We should have listened to them an I was disappointed in Quentin Tarantino for turning out this film. The overall theme of the moview was sex, drugs, and gore. The plot played out in a manner where there were no surprises. I didn't like it. We were waiting outside the theater as the first show let out and most of the people were commenting that it was just stupid and disappointing. We should have listened to them an had chosen a different movie to watch. Expand
  10. BrookL.
    Jan 8, 2006
    2
    The first hour was Eurotrip, of which I'm not a fan. The second hour, for about 5 minutes, gave the impression that it might do okay. But no, somehow Roth managed to take one of the best original plots of the year and completely screw it up. The score was absolutely terrible, the movie seemed like a joke. I was so disappointed, you willl be too. Avoid this.
  11. MichaelB.
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    It's early in 2006, but I can't see anything topping this piece of garbage for the "worst movie of the year" award. You know how in some horror movies they introduce some mindless inane characters at the beginning and kill them off quickly to give you a taste of whats to come, and then introduce you to the real main characters? In Hostel, the mindless inane characters are the It's early in 2006, but I can't see anything topping this piece of garbage for the "worst movie of the year" award. You know how in some horror movies they introduce some mindless inane characters at the beginning and kill them off quickly to give you a taste of whats to come, and then introduce you to the real main characters? In Hostel, the mindless inane characters are the main characters... total disappointment. I was almost happy to watch them get killed off. Everything about this movie is awful. Watching this movie was way more torture than any of the characters experienced. Don't waste a penny of your hard-earned cash on this piece of crap. Expand
  12. NickA.
    Sep 8, 2006
    1
    So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and doesnt work on any level. The characters to begin with are so annoying and one dimensional that as the viewer you couldnt care less what happened to So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and doesnt work on any level. The characters to begin with are so annoying and one dimensional that as the viewer you couldnt care less what happened to them and this is the big problem here, the tension never gets going, the gore becomes laughable, basically this sucks big time ! Please Eli Roth go back to your day job! Expand
  13. AB
    Sep 9, 2007
    2
    It is surprising that "Hostel" was advertised as a particularly shocking horror film; it turns out to be standard horror fare: it is boring, fairly gory, and has no plot whatsoever. And, of course, it is not scary. Its only merit is that, although it is sharply degrading (especially toward women and children), it is not as offensive as its preposterous sequel.
  14. CarlW.
    Jan 13, 2006
    0
    If you're going to put all your eggs in one basket, it should be a pretty gory basket... gorier than a few chopped-off fingers and a cheesy hanging eyeball. I would've given this a 1 if the obnoxious main character had been tortured and killed.
  15. ChrisA.
    Jan 21, 2006
    1
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen. There's over the top, and then there's Hostel. It starts out as a badly scripted (and acted) teenage Eurotrip-style movie: gratuitous sex and nudity, copious amounts of pot-smoking, and the word "dude" said every 2 lines. Then it becomes an assault on the senses with absolutely brutal and depraved torture scenes. You do NOT go to this One of the worst movies I've ever seen. There's over the top, and then there's Hostel. It starts out as a badly scripted (and acted) teenage Eurotrip-style movie: gratuitous sex and nudity, copious amounts of pot-smoking, and the word "dude" said every 2 lines. Then it becomes an assault on the senses with absolutely brutal and depraved torture scenes. You do NOT go to this movie if you want a nice night out - this is not entertainment. And any Slovakians out there will most likely be appalled at how their country (and Europe in general) is portrayed. I don't know what to call this movie: a psychological thriller perhaps? It's not a traditional horror movie, as it doesn't "scare" you, it just makes you want to leave the theatre. Absolutely brutal in every sense of the word. Expand
  16. JoeM.
    Jan 6, 2006
    0
    A very poorly made teeny-bopper shocker film. Misleading in that Trantino is just a producer of the film (it's obviously been hinted that he is more than that) and that it's somehow shocking when it's just another "hack-em up try and gross out the audience" film among many that seem to be coming out of the woodwork lately. Nothing new, surprising or otherwise interesing in A very poorly made teeny-bopper shocker film. Misleading in that Trantino is just a producer of the film (it's obviously been hinted that he is more than that) and that it's somehow shocking when it's just another "hack-em up try and gross out the audience" film among many that seem to be coming out of the woodwork lately. Nothing new, surprising or otherwise interesing in this film. Acting is terrible and the story is ho hum. Don't bother spening your 10 bucks on this one. Expand
  17. Andy
    Jan 7, 2006
    1
    I don't know what crack these other reviewers are smoking. This is not the best horror film made. This is not at all traumatizing. It is not even the goriest movie 'EVA'. Devoid of tension or suspense but lots of gore mixed with fresh harvests of European jiggly-tits. Wait for the DVD.
  18. ShoshanahM.
    Feb 28, 2006
    0
    Worst movie I've seen this year. Not so much a horror film, more of a glorified snuff film. The filmmaker seemed only interested in how many times he could gross out the audience, rather than building up genuine fear and suspense. You could not *pay* me to watch this movie again.
  19. Cory
    Apr 21, 2006
    2
    How bad? Awfull bad. I love horror movies and I had just finished watching 'Wolf Creek". Hostel went for laughs and gore. From me all it got was laughs. Bad gore scenes. Only missplaced fingers to see. The torture scenes were few and far between. Can you imagine a guy slipping and cutting himself in half? Niether could I, but i saw it anyway. Stay away from this crap. You want a How bad? Awfull bad. I love horror movies and I had just finished watching 'Wolf Creek". Hostel went for laughs and gore. From me all it got was laughs. Bad gore scenes. Only missplaced fingers to see. The torture scenes were few and far between. Can you imagine a guy slipping and cutting himself in half? Niether could I, but i saw it anyway. Stay away from this crap. You want a movie that is really tough to watch? Wolf Creek". A real man's horror movie. Don't say I didn't warn you. Collapse
  20. JakeK.
    Apr 21, 2006
    2
    I really dont get how anyone can say how this movie was gory. I thought there wasnt that much of it. [***SPOILERS***] i mean , when the guy takes that electric screw driver over to the guy and puts it in his leg, u dont even see it. the only good part of this movie was when there was all of this naked hott chicks but other wise, it was horrible.
  21. MikM.
    Apr 24, 2006
    3
    Poor story, weak acting, and a couple torture scenes. Not worth 2 hours of your life (let alone rental or purchase price).
  22. DrunkenMaster
    Jan 11, 2006
    1
    It's total poop. Strictly for sadists w/ severe learning disabilities.
  23. KingChad
    Jan 15, 2006
    0
    Sorry little boys and girls but this film really sucked. Not worthy of your time or money. Avoid.
  24. TroyS.
    Jan 16, 2006
    1
    Utterly worthless piece of gratuitous junk. An embarassment to the film industry. It should have been rated NC-17.
  25. DaveK.
    Jan 19, 2006
    0
    How did this piece of garbage get an "r" rating? Very predictible plot; gratuitous sex and violence; an utterly filthy and disgusting journey into the twisted minds of Roth and Tarentino. Don't go!
  26. CoryC.
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    Not good. Not enough horror. It took an hour to get to something at least bit scary. The first hour is basically American Pie and all u see are naked chicks. No time is really spent in the tortue rooms. Overall, not scary and not that gory as i thought.
  27. artp
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    The whole first part of the movie is awefully directed. The rest is glorified violence with no purpose but to shock audiences. This movie is a disgrace to the art of movie making.
  28. Chrissy
    Feb 11, 2006
    3
    Perhaps this movie would've been better, if the completely inexplicable (and dreadful) comedy pieces hadn't been pushed into the dialogue. Not only that, but the acting seemed have an unrealistic, and almost dull effect. Nudity is also quite overused in this movie. If you'd like to go and see a torturesome, comedic porno-flick, then this is the movie for you.
  29. JimQ.
    Apr 23, 2006
    0
    I want my 95 minutes of life back.
  30. Aquaman
    May 19, 2006
    3
    I am the kind of guy who likes the typical horror movie. When i came across this at the movie store, i thought "hey, this looks good", i was incorrect. I just could not summon up the strength to find this movie enjoyable.
  31. [Anonymous]
    Jun 17, 2006
    0
    This movie is stupid, it has no plot, its not scary, its just disgusting. The first hour or so is ok, but after that, its one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen.
  32. ZackO.
    Jun 27, 2006
    0
    why why why? the first half hour is pretty much cliche softcore horror movie porn. after that, it becomes a twisted and meaningless film of needless torture and pain. there is no reason for this movie to exist. the eye mayonaise really did it for me. i actually laughed out loud when the blatantly fake thousand island dressing splurged of the asian's eye socket.
  33. MarkW.
    Jan 11, 2006
    0
    I was expecting something alot more scarier. The extreme violence wasnt something that scared you after you left the theatre. You just feel like you wasted two hours.
  34. M.Escher
    Jan 14, 2006
    0
    I am not generally opposed to violence and gore in films, but Hostel has very little else going for it. If you are going to make a movie with such extreme violence as this, I think that you ought to have a strong plot, interesting characters, or at least some point to the movie. Take any of Quentin Tarantino's films, for example: plenty of violence, but they are all well made and I am not generally opposed to violence and gore in films, but Hostel has very little else going for it. If you are going to make a movie with such extreme violence as this, I think that you ought to have a strong plot, interesting characters, or at least some point to the movie. Take any of Quentin Tarantino's films, for example: plenty of violence, but they are all well made and extremely entertaining. Hostel, on the other hand, seemed like a whole lot of sadistic violence with no real justification, and no redeeming qualities. Why a brilliant filmmaker such as Tarantino would put his name and money behind this dog of a film is beyond me. Expand
  35. Tonydannie
    Jan 15, 2006
    2
    I have officialy seen one of the worse movies of the year. The firts hour is nothing but Boob fest for those imature kids who are looking for "boobie shots" If I wanted to see boobie shots I would have poped in American Pie ( either one, it don't matter). THe gore was nothing extrordinary. There was more Gore In SAW 2 then in this crap fest. And Jay Hernandez is no leading actor. I have officialy seen one of the worse movies of the year. The firts hour is nothing but Boob fest for those imature kids who are looking for "boobie shots" If I wanted to see boobie shots I would have poped in American Pie ( either one, it don't matter). THe gore was nothing extrordinary. There was more Gore In SAW 2 then in this crap fest. And Jay Hernandez is no leading actor. That is why Carlito's way 2 went straight to DVD. Stay Home Folks ..This movie was a waste of my time. Two Hours I could have spent playing Video games. 2 out of 10.. I think I am being a little generous here. I cannot wait to stand in line for the shaggy dog movie. You want for torture..well this is your flick. Expand
  36. GrantN.
    Jan 16, 2006
    3
    If you enjoy this movie then you have no taste in movies. The first 45 minutes is just sex and the director uses excessive gore to mask incompatence and a lack of tension.
  37. BobbyJ.
    Jan 23, 2006
    0
    this is a horific exscuse for a movie, how could anyone find this enjoyable, let alone hilarious? (Dan R), anyone who gives this a movie a rating above 2 is almost as sick and twisted as the director, The first 45 mins is all porno, and then they kill them. this movie has no plot first of all and second it is way to explicit. Tarentino and Roth should be forced to go through the torture this is a horific exscuse for a movie, how could anyone find this enjoyable, let alone hilarious? (Dan R), anyone who gives this a movie a rating above 2 is almost as sick and twisted as the director, The first 45 mins is all porno, and then they kill them. this movie has no plot first of all and second it is way to explicit. Tarentino and Roth should be forced to go through the torture the people in the movie went through for this movie. the real question is when is roth's trial date? Expand
  38. JacobY.
    Apr 24, 2006
    0
    I would have to say this is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Don't waist your time watching it, there isn't even a hint of story until about 45 minutes into it. This film was alot of talk with no delivery, cabin fever was good but this is just pathetic in every way.
  39. MarkH.
    Jun 18, 2006
    0
    The first half a very stupid teen movie with all clichés - the rest a desperate attempt to make all previous chainsaw massacres look like "finding nemo". At the end a big question: How sick does one have to be to find the most perverted kinds of torture entertaining?
  40. S.Bannon
    Jul 26, 2006
    3
    I knew the film would suck. But it was supposed to be totally offensive and gruesome, so I thought I should atleast watch it. Not even close. No suspense, no twists, even the gore was lame. Total waste of time.
  41. Sarah
    Nov 12, 2007
    0
    This was the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. There was barely any gore or violence until the end. The whole beginning of the movie is sex. It is pretty much a soft core porno. It is so disgusting. I would not recommend it to anyone at all.
  42. May 10, 2015
    0
    This movie shouldn't have been released. The movie has gratuitous sex, violence and of course profanity.
    The movie tried to capitalize on movies like the saw series. The director hasn't made a quality movie in my opinion. His movie Cabin Fever is just as pointless and offensive as this picture. Fortunately few movies of this type are released. This movie has nothing to enjoy and has no
    This movie shouldn't have been released. The movie has gratuitous sex, violence and of course profanity.
    The movie tried to capitalize on movies like the saw series. The director hasn't made a quality movie in my opinion. His movie Cabin Fever is just as pointless and offensive as this picture. Fortunately few movies of this type are released. This movie has nothing to enjoy and has no originality, a total waste of time for any viewer.
    Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. It's obligatory for a horror film to feature exploitative sex as an appetizer, but Roth, even as he fulfills the sleaze imperative, does something shrewder: He mocks his heroes, presenting them as cold-eyed horndog jerks who fail to see that they've wandered into an entire country of exploitation.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    70
    Hostel may become something of a classic among Fangoria magazine's readership, acolytes of George Romero and audiences who thought "Saw II" was for babies.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    60
    Although he damn near slanders an entire country - expect poor Slovakia's tourism industry to take a hit - Roth is not an unskilled ringleader of gory crisis moments, or breathless escapes. The squeamish should simply stay away, but carnage queens will appreciate some of Roth's less grisly, even amusing details.