Lions Gate Films | Release Date: January 6, 2006
3.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 637 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
174
Mixed:
64
Negative:
399
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
imthenoobDec 22, 2012
Solid acting and incredibly gory. What I love most about this movie is that it proves that Americans can still make gruesome horror movies. Eli Roth is on his way to become the next great horror film director.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
JoseRochaPTOct 3, 2011
This film actually has the power to impress when it comes to gore, but lacks the movie story to be complete, I still do not know what the true meaning of the tattoo used in the film. And I still do not know anyone who founded the empire ofThis film actually has the power to impress when it comes to gore, but lacks the movie story to be complete, I still do not know what the true meaning of the tattoo used in the film. And I still do not know anyone who founded the empire of murder. I just to know who the leader is behind all this, but not the purpose. As already mentioned, the film is good in the gore category, but just as impressive film images, but as a good movie needs a good story I'm going to grade 6 for the lack of story that could make this film much more interesting Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
4
OfficialMar 8, 2014
The film is effective at giving you creeps with its gory scenes, but the film took quite a long time to get going. Ultimately, the film is a disappointment. If you're interested in this type of genre, I would recommend you to check out theThe film is effective at giving you creeps with its gory scenes, but the film took quite a long time to get going. Ultimately, the film is a disappointment. If you're interested in this type of genre, I would recommend you to check out the first three movies in the "Saw" series. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
It's no Cabin Fever, but it's gross as hell, and it takes exploitation horror about as far as it can possibly go.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
charlie_westOct 28, 2013
For its first hour, 'Hostel' plays out as some sort of soft core porno, before turning into a mildly exciting (albeit grisly) thriller for its last half.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
RD.Apr 4, 2007
Not scary enough. Not as gory as some say. I saw unraTED VERSION btw. Just flinched twice in the whole movie. One during the removing a finger from the legs of a woman and during cutting of an eyeball scene if you know what I mean. Roth Not scary enough. Not as gory as some say. I saw unraTED VERSION btw. Just flinched twice in the whole movie. One during the removing a finger from the legs of a woman and during cutting of an eyeball scene if you know what I mean. Roth needs to seriously do something different or else his Hostel series will become just another Saw series except the fact thatS aw 1 is intelligent while Hostel which had a good premise is not! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MeaganD.Jan 7, 2006
In regards to what Joe M. said, the movie was NOT a teeny-bopper-shocker film...what kind of movies are you watching? The first 45 minutes are soft core pron...if you can handle that your ok....but I do have to admit....this was the In regards to what Joe M. said, the movie was NOT a teeny-bopper-shocker film...what kind of movies are you watching? The first 45 minutes are soft core pron...if you can handle that your ok....but I do have to admit....this was the bloodiest movie I have ever seen!!! Acting was awesome, you try going to eurpoe and getting kidnapped and then waking up in a chair and getting your limbs slowly cut off...it really happens!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
OllyF.Apr 3, 2006
A movie that aimed to scare but only shocked using over the top gore. Pretty brainless stuff without any real watchable factors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AmurabiM.Jul 8, 2006
"Hostel" is an exercise of innecesary sadism. This is an exploration of the American POV, no more than that. It is a metaphor as amercans being torturers and people who suffers torture. This is waht we get, people!. Eli Roth makes an "Hostel" is an exercise of innecesary sadism. This is an exploration of the American POV, no more than that. It is a metaphor as amercans being torturers and people who suffers torture. This is waht we get, people!. Eli Roth makes an excercise of hyper violence, hyper realism and exploitation without any guilt. Mixing all the cliches of the genre and twisting them in a mean humor. "Hostel" is just a shocking film, no more than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffM.Oct 29, 2006
If you want a soft-core porn movie that turns into a torture flick halfway through, this is your movie. I like naked breasts as much as the next guy, but the gore was mostly disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SteveA.Apr 20, 2006
This movie had your stereotypical Americans in it: fat, lazy, belligerent, horny, stoned (look out your window; I'm sure you'll see one or two walking around). I think this worked for and against the movie. I was rooting against This movie had your stereotypical Americans in it: fat, lazy, belligerent, horny, stoned (look out your window; I'm sure you'll see one or two walking around). I think this worked for and against the movie. I was rooting against the main characters the whole time. I found them utterly horrid. However, it also made the torture scenes tolerable and, sadly to say, somewhat entertaining. Overall, though, I'd say it was an okay movie. The gore, sex, and nudity made up for some of the movie's corniness. [***SPOILERS***] Also, what was up with the second main character (the American who had just lost his girlfriend)? Was he a latent homosexual? The second meeting with he and the surgeon just struck me as odd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JonathanD.Jun 7, 2006
This movie is the sickest most disgustiong movie i have ever seen. I have seen Saw Saw 2 Dawn of the Dead, Seven, any other gross out movie and believe me when i say this: the movie Hostel is one hundred times grosser then all those This movie is the sickest most disgustiong movie i have ever seen. I have seen Saw Saw 2 Dawn of the Dead, Seven, any other gross out movie and believe me when i say this: the movie Hostel is one hundred times grosser then all those combined. The story could've been worse ill say that but the beginning is pretty much a porno... nothing against that but thats what it is. The next hour is all blood and gore and stuff that will make everyone look away. The movie will creep you out and believe me you will not sleep well the next couple nights. It will be better if you see the movie and skip say an hour and 15 minutes of it because its so awful. Avoid and have a friend tell u about it instead Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NoahG.Sep 13, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] I thought this was awesome! It was really wrenching at times, like when the guys feet freakin get cut & he stands up.....gross!, but all in all it was really good..... real gore....But it didnt really go any where..... all [***SPOILERS***] I thought this was awesome! It was really wrenching at times, like when the guys feet freakin get cut & he stands up.....gross!, but all in all it was really good..... real gore....But it didnt really go any where..... all it was was people getting tortured or dieng but yea it was good... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RyanJ.Feb 24, 2006
An excellent premise and some clever torture make the movie worth seeing. However, the movie honestly feels like it was going overbudget and they felt the need to wrap up all of the plot points at the end within 5 minutes. The end was An excellent premise and some clever torture make the movie worth seeing. However, the movie honestly feels like it was going overbudget and they felt the need to wrap up all of the plot points at the end within 5 minutes. The end was rushed, and some of the scenes towards the end were just ridiculous. How could nobody at the train station notice there was a Japanese girl wandering around with her eye hanging out of its socket. A great premise, I recommend to hardcore horror or torture fans, but I just can not give this more than a 4 due to the rushed and unintentionally comical ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnK.Apr 21, 2006
Reality is much more terrifying, HollyWood writers suck, The only thing HollyWood hasn't done is a King Kong Vs Jason Vs Freddie Vs Rocky fim. Sincerely. A-Tetrapod
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GarageBandApr 21, 2006
Not dumb, but a bit simple at times. The girl with half a face will live in my head for a while. The sad part is that this movie isn't so far fetched. The disturbing part is that we now have movie makers more interested in putting on a Not dumb, but a bit simple at times. The girl with half a face will live in my head for a while. The sad part is that this movie isn't so far fetched. The disturbing part is that we now have movie makers more interested in putting on a show very much like the Roman Colosseum games than telling a story. Gore, blood lust, violence...the worst part is these shows are becoming more dehumanizing and demonic. How much longer until Faces of Death is becomes a legit movie review? Man I'm not even religious and I've about had my fill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AaronB.Jun 28, 2006
The premise of this moving is interesting. I agree with many reviewers in saying that the gore in the movie is a little over the top. However, isn't that what a blood and guts horror movie is all about? I gave this movie a '5' The premise of this moving is interesting. I agree with many reviewers in saying that the gore in the movie is a little over the top. However, isn't that what a blood and guts horror movie is all about? I gave this movie a '5' because that is what it deserves. It's not as great as some would have you believe but, at the same time, it certainly isn't as bad others would tell you. My advice: check it out and make come up with your own opinion. At least with the DVD you can turn off the disgust at any time you like. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WJSOct 12, 2015
A strong narrative highlights this at time exploitive body parts feature. The first act of the film is nothing more than a frat boy, soft core porn fest, with lots of T & A. The second act is the definitive example of torture porn, with bloodA strong narrative highlights this at time exploitive body parts feature. The first act of the film is nothing more than a frat boy, soft core porn fest, with lots of T & A. The second act is the definitive example of torture porn, with blood and guts and body parts flying all over the place. In the third act the film morphs into a fairly effective Jason Bourne style game of cat and mouse, which really proves quite entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews