Hostel

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 540 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 13, 2010
    0
    This movie... doesn't exist. It is probably the least creative movie I've ever seen. It's really mentally grathing and slow, and it may not be the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's pretty close. I know it's not about shock and more about gross out scares, but you can't really be grossed out too much if you're not immersed in the movie (maybe the infamouse "eyegasm", but nothing else),This movie... doesn't exist. It is probably the least creative movie I've ever seen. It's really mentally grathing and slow, and it may not be the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's pretty close. I know it's not about shock and more about gross out scares, but you can't really be grossed out too much if you're not immersed in the movie (maybe the infamouse "eyegasm", but nothing else), and this movie does nothing interesting to help itself. What little story there is the most cliched I've ever heard. I'd like to dig more deeply into it, but there is nothing there to dig into. All you have to know is that people get tortured while the audience wonders what's so great about it. This may not be a part of a genre I like, but a truely good movie could suck you in regardless of the genre. Not to get off track or anything, but a good example is, Pulp Fiction. It is listed under "crime", "drama", "suspence", and "comedy" all at once, but you don't think "hey, I'm watching a crime/drama/suspence/comedy", you just think "hey, I'm watching a movie". Hostel is so cliched that it seems like a genre template and nothing else. I read the user reviews of people who liked it in case I missed something, but the argument of "saterizing the audiences lust for pain" could be said for any movie in the genre. Bottom line: you can't have a gross-out movie without the "movie" part. I was grossed out when i stepped in dog poop, but that doesn't make it the apitamy of cinema. Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2011
    2
    Let me say to start that I am NOT the target audience for this movie. This moive is more for the gore for the sake of gore crowd, anyone else watching this movie has chosen to punish themselves. This movie has no higher purpose, no greater wisdom, no real story. Hack and slash, hack and slash.
  3. MarkC.
    Aug 20, 2006
    3
    this moive is not scary at all it just freakin nasty it is very boring it has no suspense.You already know whats going to happen before it happens now can u tell me how lame it that?
  4. RyanH.
    Jan 3, 2007
    0
    One of the the worst movies I have ever seen. I think i was watching a stupid teenage trip movie that went wrong and had added gore for fun. It is the standard gory movie with the stupidest characters who set themselves up to be killed with one person making it out alive.
  5. Dec 22, 2012
    6
    Solid acting and incredibly gory. What I love most about this movie is that it proves that Americans can still make gruesome horror movies. Eli Roth is on his way to become the next great horror film director.
  6. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Hostel is the first torture porn horror that scared me and disturbed me, it is funny and entertaining, but with a build up that people will criticize on, I think that such movies should have such executions, because if the climax starts from the beginning, you will be bored half through the movie. Albeit that the story needs more explanation, it terrifies indeed. The acting is good as farHostel is the first torture porn horror that scared me and disturbed me, it is funny and entertaining, but with a build up that people will criticize on, I think that such movies should have such executions, because if the climax starts from the beginning, you will be bored half through the movie. Albeit that the story needs more explanation, it terrifies indeed. The acting is good as far as a horror movie go, it is better than other horror movies. The action sequences are will done, they are intense, and the plot is interesting, it is a really great horror movies, that will scare and terrify, almost anyone. Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    This film actually has the power to impress when it comes to gore, but lacks the movie story to be complete, I still do not know what the true meaning of the tattoo used in the film. And I still do not know anyone who founded the empire of murder. I just to know who the leader is behind all this, but not the purpose. As already mentioned, the film is good in the gore category, but just asThis film actually has the power to impress when it comes to gore, but lacks the movie story to be complete, I still do not know what the true meaning of the tattoo used in the film. And I still do not know anyone who founded the empire of murder. I just to know who the leader is behind all this, but not the purpose. As already mentioned, the film is good in the gore category, but just as impressive film images, but as a good movie needs a good story I'm going to grade 6 for the lack of story that could make this film much more interesting Expand
  8. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    Hostel: 10 out of 10: Half Eurotrip style sex comedy (with a seventies level of nudity) and half the doctor scene from Bloodsucking Freaks, yeah I might as well stop my review right there it's a 10.

    Director Eli Roth (Cabin Fever) has scored a bull's eye simply by going back to what makes exploitation films great. Thus he produces a film that could have been lensed in the freewheeling
    Hostel: 10 out of 10: Half Eurotrip style sex comedy (with a seventies level of nudity) and half the doctor scene from Bloodsucking Freaks, yeah I might as well stop my review right there it's a 10.

    Director Eli Roth (Cabin Fever) has scored a bull's eye simply by going back to what makes exploitation films great. Thus he produces a film that could have been lensed in the freewheeling year of 1975 rather than PG-13 stuffy year of 2005.

    The film starts with two American college students and an Icelandic hanger on enjoying some debauchery in Amsterdam. They hear about a nirvana for sex and drugs in Slovakia and they pursue it as if they were traversing the Himalayas to find Shangri-La.

    What they find is,,,, well I won't spoil it for you but they should have stuck with the marijuana brownies and overpriced Dutch hookers.

    The movie actually makes torture scenes enjoyable again. (I generally have hated the whole torture motif in modern film for example Rest Stop.) Roth unlike his contemporaries shows the gore without those annoying zooming camera tricks. The leads are unlikable in a fun rather than irritating way (not easy to do) and the film has both a wonderful energy and plentiful surprises.

    Oh and there is copious amounts of extremely well done gratuitous nudity and sadistic gore. One of the best films of 2005.
    Expand
  9. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    An ironic well-made gory film, has what you wanted, gore, jokes and is sexy, the performances are OK I think they should have improved more, you can notice the effects and the make up sometimes, but anyway is a good movie.
  10. Nov 7, 2012
    6
    It's no Cabin Fever, but it's gross as hell, and it takes exploitation horror about as far as it can possibly go.
  11. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    The first in a three-part trilogy that I really enjoy despite it being rather messed up! It's a torture film so some of it is rather hard to stomach, but you're on Paxton Josh's side and you hope they can escape! There is a nice blend of gore as well as some good thrills in there with some great acting from the leads. I probably enjoyed the next two installments a little better, but thisThe first in a three-part trilogy that I really enjoy despite it being rather messed up! It's a torture film so some of it is rather hard to stomach, but you're on Paxton Josh's side and you hope they can escape! There is a nice blend of gore as well as some good thrills in there with some great acting from the leads. I probably enjoyed the next two installments a little better, but this was the start of a great series. Overall a great Horror that won't be easy for all to stomach! Expand
  12. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    In Hostel, two American college students go traveling across Europe. On the train they hear about a hostel in Slovakia that attracts lots of girls, so naturally they head there. Unbeknownst to them, the hostel is run by a group who mercenaries who kidnap tourists and sell them to rich people to torture for kicks. While the situation is a nightmare, the story really isn't that scary. It'sIn Hostel, two American college students go traveling across Europe. On the train they hear about a hostel in Slovakia that attracts lots of girls, so naturally they head there. Unbeknownst to them, the hostel is run by a group who mercenaries who kidnap tourists and sell them to rich people to torture for kicks. While the situation is a nightmare, the story really isn't that scary. It's bloody and very gory, but it's not going to keep you up at night. It was a good movie, I like blood and guts, but that's not how it was advertised! This was advertised as being one of the scariest movies ever and it just wasn't. If you're a horror fan, it's defiantly worth seeing, but be warned, it's more about shock and awe than it is scary. Expand
  13. Oct 28, 2013
    5
    For its first hour, 'Hostel' plays out as some sort of soft core porno, before turning into a mildly exciting (albeit grisly) thriller for its last half.
  14. Mar 8, 2014
    4
    The film is effective at giving you creeps with its gory scenes, but the film took quite a long time to get going. Ultimately, the film is a disappointment. If you're interested in this type of genre, I would recommend you to check out the first three movies in the "Saw" series.
  15. Sep 2, 2014
    7
    While the first 45 minutes of "Hostel" are overly boring and slow, the story (and blood) really pick up quickly, and it becomes very dark and entertaining. If you can get past the first half of the movie, I'd recommend it.
  16. Sarah
    Nov 12, 2007
    0
    This was the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. There was barely any gore or violence until the end. The whole beginning of the movie is sex. It is pretty much a soft core porno. It is so disgusting. I would not recommend it to anyone at all.
  17. JohnF.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Disgusting and horrible... but I love it.
  18. JoeM.
    Jan 6, 2006
    0
    A very poorly made teeny-bopper shocker film. Misleading in that Trantino is just a producer of the film (it's obviously been hinted that he is more than that) and that it's somehow shocking when it's just another "hack-em up try and gross out the audience" film among many that seem to be coming out of the woodwork lately. Nothing new, surprising or otherwise interesing in A very poorly made teeny-bopper shocker film. Misleading in that Trantino is just a producer of the film (it's obviously been hinted that he is more than that) and that it's somehow shocking when it's just another "hack-em up try and gross out the audience" film among many that seem to be coming out of the woodwork lately. Nothing new, surprising or otherwise interesing in this film. Acting is terrible and the story is ho hum. Don't bother spening your 10 bucks on this one. Expand
  19. V.Martinez
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    This movie is well made and directed. It is graphic, so be forewarned. It has a plot, though, and despite no-name actors, the acting is pretty good. I had no complaints. It's not a date movie, unless you both like 'Reservoir Dogs' or something. I gave it a ten because it was done on a low budget with well-made gory effects courtesy of Tarantino and the other Director.
  20. SanshiS.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    unbelievably, the best horror flick ever made. i was seriously disturbed by the movie. people were leaving the theater. definitely not for the faint or light-hearted. i can't believe how this movie gets under your skin. if you want to be utterly traumatized by a movie, see this one.
  21. JoeW.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    If you want to watch a movie with all the good stuff (excessive sex, violence, drugs...the works), and want to be scared pantless while doing it? See this movie now. Definately the GORIEST movie EVA!!! Sqeemish beware... you're in for a scare...
  22. AmandaP.
    Jan 6, 2006
    3
    Was not scary at all!!
  23. Wendy
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    A movie made for juvenile teenagers [Ed: uhhh..]. With the garbage currently playing it should do well at the box office. But the truth is it is pretty bad. Move over Mr. Jackson, Mr. Q has joined you as a one-trick pony. Avoid.
  24. DrewF.
    Jan 7, 2006
    9
    Best horror flick i've seen in awhile. Torture sequences are incredibly well-done. Be forewarned: not for the squeamish. Horror seems to have FINALLY kicked the self-referential "SCREAM" stuff. It is the better for it.
  25. LaTriceW.
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    this movie was excellant but it was alot of sex but other than that the mystery was great.
  26. Andy
    Jan 7, 2006
    1
    I don't know what crack these other reviewers are smoking. This is not the best horror film made. This is not at all traumatizing. It is not even the goriest movie 'EVA'. Devoid of tension or suspense but lots of gore mixed with fresh harvests of European jiggly-tits. Wait for the DVD.
  27. Melissa
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    Very disturbing and degrating movie towards women. Definitely not a date movie. The gore aspect was just too much they showed peoples faces being burned with blow torches. It sucked.
  28. MeaganD.
    Jan 7, 2006
    5
    In regards to what Joe M. said, the movie was NOT a teeny-bopper-shocker film...what kind of movies are you watching? The first 45 minutes are soft core pron...if you can handle that your ok....but I do have to admit....this was the bloodiest movie I have ever seen!!! Acting was awesome, you try going to eurpoe and getting kidnapped and then waking up in a chair and getting your limbs In regards to what Joe M. said, the movie was NOT a teeny-bopper-shocker film...what kind of movies are you watching? The first 45 minutes are soft core pron...if you can handle that your ok....but I do have to admit....this was the bloodiest movie I have ever seen!!! Acting was awesome, you try going to eurpoe and getting kidnapped and then waking up in a chair and getting your limbs slowly cut off...it really happens!!! Expand
  29. NickiC.
    Jan 8, 2006
    2
    I was disappointed in Quentin Tarantino for turning out this film. The overall theme of the moview was sex, drugs, and gore. The plot played out in a manner where there were no surprises. I didn't like it. We were waiting outside the theater as the first show let out and most of the people were commenting that it was just stupid and disappointing. We should have listened to them an I was disappointed in Quentin Tarantino for turning out this film. The overall theme of the moview was sex, drugs, and gore. The plot played out in a manner where there were no surprises. I didn't like it. We were waiting outside the theater as the first show let out and most of the people were commenting that it was just stupid and disappointing. We should have listened to them an had chosen a different movie to watch. Expand
  30. SEanM.
    Jan 8, 2006
    9
    Eli Roth is a brilliant director with a lot of potential, I would not mind seeing a full length rotten fruit feature. Hostel provides the gore, the women, the drugs, and boatloads of endless laughter. The kids in this movie are priceless.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. It's obligatory for a horror film to feature exploitative sex as an appetizer, but Roth, even as he fulfills the sleaze imperative, does something shrewder: He mocks his heroes, presenting them as cold-eyed horndog jerks who fail to see that they've wandered into an entire country of exploitation.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    70
    Hostel may become something of a classic among Fangoria magazine's readership, acolytes of George Romero and audiences who thought "Saw II" was for babies.
  3. 60
    Although he damn near slanders an entire country - expect poor Slovakia's tourism industry to take a hit - Roth is not an unskilled ringleader of gory crisis moments, or breathless escapes. The squeamish should simply stay away, but carnage queens will appreciate some of Roth's less grisly, even amusing details.