User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 375 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    0
    This movie... doesn't exist. It is probably the least creative movie I've ever seen. It's really mentally grathing and slow, and it may not be the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's pretty close. I know it's not about shock and more about gross out scares, but you can't really be grossed out too much if you're not immersed in the movie (maybe the infamouse "eyegasm", but nothing else),This movie... doesn't exist. It is probably the least creative movie I've ever seen. It's really mentally grathing and slow, and it may not be the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's pretty close. I know it's not about shock and more about gross out scares, but you can't really be grossed out too much if you're not immersed in the movie (maybe the infamouse "eyegasm", but nothing else), and this movie does nothing interesting to help itself. What little story there is the most cliched I've ever heard. I'd like to dig more deeply into it, but there is nothing there to dig into. All you have to know is that people get tortured while the audience wonders what's so great about it. This may not be a part of a genre I like, but a truely good movie could suck you in regardless of the genre. Not to get off track or anything, but a good example is, Pulp Fiction. It is listed under "crime", "drama", "suspence", and "comedy" all at once, but you don't think "hey, I'm watching a crime/drama/suspence/comedy", you just think "hey, I'm watching a movie". Hostel is so cliched that it seems like a genre template and nothing else. I read the user reviews of people who liked it in case I missed something, but the argument of "saterizing the audiences lust for pain" could be said for any movie in the genre. Bottom line: you can't have a gross-out movie without the "movie" part. I was grossed out when i stepped in dog poop, but that doesn't make it the apitamy of cinema. Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2011
    2
    Let me say to start that I am NOT the target audience for this movie. This moive is more for the gore for the sake of gore crowd, anyone else watching this movie has chosen to punish themselves. This movie has no higher purpose, no greater wisdom, no real story. Hack and slash, hack and slash.
  3. RyanH.
    Jan 3, 2007
    0
    One of the the worst movies I have ever seen. I think i was watching a stupid teenage trip movie that went wrong and had added gore for fun. It is the standard gory movie with the stupidest characters who set themselves up to be killed with one person making it out alive.
  4. MarkC.
    Aug 20, 2006
    3
    this moive is not scary at all it just freakin nasty it is very boring it has no suspense.You already know whats going to happen before it happens now can u tell me how lame it that?
  5. Mar 8, 2014
    4
    The film is effective at giving you creeps with its gory scenes, but the film took quite a long time to get going. Ultimately, the film is a disappointment. If you're interested in this type of genre, I would recommend you to check out the first three movies in the "Saw" series.
  6. AmandaP.
    Jan 6, 2006
    3
    Was not scary at all!!
  7. RD.
    Apr 4, 2007
    4
    Not scary enough. Not as gory as some say. I saw unraTED VERSION btw. Just flinched twice in the whole movie. One during the removing a finger from the legs of a woman and during cutting of an eyeball scene if you know what I mean. Roth needs to seriously do something different or else his Hostel series will become just another Saw series except the fact thatS aw 1 is intelligent while Not scary enough. Not as gory as some say. I saw unraTED VERSION btw. Just flinched twice in the whole movie. One during the removing a finger from the legs of a woman and during cutting of an eyeball scene if you know what I mean. Roth needs to seriously do something different or else his Hostel series will become just another Saw series except the fact thatS aw 1 is intelligent while Hostel which had a good premise is not! Expand
  8. danieli.
    Jan 10, 2006
    1
    It's a pretty pathetic plot line with little or no back story. The movie is not all deep, with only scenes that will shock the audience. The first half is a glorified porno, while the last 45 minutes are made as groteskly as possible. If you like movies with no plot and horrible lines this Hostel was made for you.
  9. Melissa
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    Very disturbing and degrating movie towards women. Definitely not a date movie. The gore aspect was just too much they showed peoples faces being burned with blow torches. It sucked.
  10. Wendy
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    A movie made for juvenile teenagers [Ed: uhhh..]. With the garbage currently playing it should do well at the box office. But the truth is it is pretty bad. Move over Mr. Jackson, Mr. Q has joined you as a one-trick pony. Avoid.
  11. NickiC.
    Jan 8, 2006
    2
    I was disappointed in Quentin Tarantino for turning out this film. The overall theme of the moview was sex, drugs, and gore. The plot played out in a manner where there were no surprises. I didn't like it. We were waiting outside the theater as the first show let out and most of the people were commenting that it was just stupid and disappointing. We should have listened to them an I was disappointed in Quentin Tarantino for turning out this film. The overall theme of the moview was sex, drugs, and gore. The plot played out in a manner where there were no surprises. I didn't like it. We were waiting outside the theater as the first show let out and most of the people were commenting that it was just stupid and disappointing. We should have listened to them an had chosen a different movie to watch. Expand
  12. BrookL.
    Jan 8, 2006
    2
    The first hour was Eurotrip, of which I'm not a fan. The second hour, for about 5 minutes, gave the impression that it might do okay. But no, somehow Roth managed to take one of the best original plots of the year and completely screw it up. The score was absolutely terrible, the movie seemed like a joke. I was so disappointed, you willl be too. Avoid this.
  13. MichaelB.
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    It's early in 2006, but I can't see anything topping this piece of garbage for the "worst movie of the year" award. You know how in some horror movies they introduce some mindless inane characters at the beginning and kill them off quickly to give you a taste of whats to come, and then introduce you to the real main characters? In Hostel, the mindless inane characters are the It's early in 2006, but I can't see anything topping this piece of garbage for the "worst movie of the year" award. You know how in some horror movies they introduce some mindless inane characters at the beginning and kill them off quickly to give you a taste of whats to come, and then introduce you to the real main characters? In Hostel, the mindless inane characters are the main characters... total disappointment. I was almost happy to watch them get killed off. Everything about this movie is awful. Watching this movie was way more torture than any of the characters experienced. Don't waste a penny of your hard-earned cash on this piece of crap. Expand
  14. NickA.
    Sep 8, 2006
    1
    So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and doesnt work on any level. The characters to begin with are so annoying and one dimensional that as the viewer you couldnt care less what happened to So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and doesnt work on any level. The characters to begin with are so annoying and one dimensional that as the viewer you couldnt care less what happened to them and this is the big problem here, the tension never gets going, the gore becomes laughable, basically this sucks big time ! Please Eli Roth go back to your day job! Expand
  15. AB
    Sep 9, 2007
    2
    It is surprising that "Hostel" was advertised as a particularly shocking horror film; it turns out to be standard horror fare: it is boring, fairly gory, and has no plot whatsoever. And, of course, it is not scary. Its only merit is that, although it is sharply degrading (especially toward women and children), it is not as offensive as its preposterous sequel.
  16. CarlW.
    Jan 13, 2006
    0
    If you're going to put all your eggs in one basket, it should be a pretty gory basket... gorier than a few chopped-off fingers and a cheesy hanging eyeball. I would've given this a 1 if the obnoxious main character had been tortured and killed.
  17. ChrisA.
    Jan 21, 2006
    1
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen. There's over the top, and then there's Hostel. It starts out as a badly scripted (and acted) teenage Eurotrip-style movie: gratuitous sex and nudity, copious amounts of pot-smoking, and the word "dude" said every 2 lines. Then it becomes an assault on the senses with absolutely brutal and depraved torture scenes. You do NOT go to this One of the worst movies I've ever seen. There's over the top, and then there's Hostel. It starts out as a badly scripted (and acted) teenage Eurotrip-style movie: gratuitous sex and nudity, copious amounts of pot-smoking, and the word "dude" said every 2 lines. Then it becomes an assault on the senses with absolutely brutal and depraved torture scenes. You do NOT go to this movie if you want a nice night out - this is not entertainment. And any Slovakians out there will most likely be appalled at how their country (and Europe in general) is portrayed. I don't know what to call this movie: a psychological thriller perhaps? It's not a traditional horror movie, as it doesn't "scare" you, it just makes you want to leave the theatre. Absolutely brutal in every sense of the word. Expand
  18. JoeM.
    Jan 6, 2006
    0
    A very poorly made teeny-bopper shocker film. Misleading in that Trantino is just a producer of the film (it's obviously been hinted that he is more than that) and that it's somehow shocking when it's just another "hack-em up try and gross out the audience" film among many that seem to be coming out of the woodwork lately. Nothing new, surprising or otherwise interesing in A very poorly made teeny-bopper shocker film. Misleading in that Trantino is just a producer of the film (it's obviously been hinted that he is more than that) and that it's somehow shocking when it's just another "hack-em up try and gross out the audience" film among many that seem to be coming out of the woodwork lately. Nothing new, surprising or otherwise interesing in this film. Acting is terrible and the story is ho hum. Don't bother spening your 10 bucks on this one. Expand
  19. Andy
    Jan 7, 2006
    1
    I don't know what crack these other reviewers are smoking. This is not the best horror film made. This is not at all traumatizing. It is not even the goriest movie 'EVA'. Devoid of tension or suspense but lots of gore mixed with fresh harvests of European jiggly-tits. Wait for the DVD.
  20. ShoshanahM.
    Feb 28, 2006
    0
    Worst movie I've seen this year. Not so much a horror film, more of a glorified snuff film. The filmmaker seemed only interested in how many times he could gross out the audience, rather than building up genuine fear and suspense. You could not *pay* me to watch this movie again.
  21. Cory
    Apr 21, 2006
    2
    How bad? Awfull bad. I love horror movies and I had just finished watching 'Wolf Creek". Hostel went for laughs and gore. From me all it got was laughs. Bad gore scenes. Only missplaced fingers to see. The torture scenes were few and far between. Can you imagine a guy slipping and cutting himself in half? Niether could I, but i saw it anyway. Stay away from this crap. You want a How bad? Awfull bad. I love horror movies and I had just finished watching 'Wolf Creek". Hostel went for laughs and gore. From me all it got was laughs. Bad gore scenes. Only missplaced fingers to see. The torture scenes were few and far between. Can you imagine a guy slipping and cutting himself in half? Niether could I, but i saw it anyway. Stay away from this crap. You want a movie that is really tough to watch? Wolf Creek". A real man's horror movie. Don't say I didn't warn you. Expand
  22. JakeK.
    Apr 21, 2006
    2
    I really dont get how anyone can say how this movie was gory. I thought there wasnt that much of it. [***SPOILERS***] i mean , when the guy takes that electric screw driver over to the guy and puts it in his leg, u dont even see it. the only good part of this movie was when there was all of this naked hott chicks but other wise, it was horrible.
  23. MikM.
    Apr 24, 2006
    3
    Poor story, weak acting, and a couple torture scenes. Not worth 2 hours of your life (let alone rental or purchase price).
  24. OllyF.
    Apr 3, 2006
    4
    A movie that aimed to scare but only shocked using over the top gore. Pretty brainless stuff without any real watchable factors.
  25. DrunkenMaster
    Jan 11, 2006
    1
    It's total poop. Strictly for sadists w/ severe learning disabilities.
  26. KingChad
    Jan 15, 2006
    0
    Sorry little boys and girls but this film really sucked. Not worthy of your time or money. Avoid.
  27. TroyS.
    Jan 16, 2006
    1
    Utterly worthless piece of gratuitous junk. An embarassment to the film industry. It should have been rated NC-17.
  28. DaveK.
    Jan 19, 2006
    0
    How did this piece of garbage get an "r" rating? Very predictible plot; gratuitous sex and violence; an utterly filthy and disgusting journey into the twisted minds of Roth and Tarentino. Don't go!
  29. CoryC.
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    Not good. Not enough horror. It took an hour to get to something at least bit scary. The first hour is basically American Pie and all u see are naked chicks. No time is really spent in the tortue rooms. Overall, not scary and not that gory as i thought.
  30. artp
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    The whole first part of the movie is awefully directed. The rest is glorified violence with no purpose but to shock audiences. This movie is a disgrace to the art of movie making.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. It's obligatory for a horror film to feature exploitative sex as an appetizer, but Roth, even as he fulfills the sleaze imperative, does something shrewder: He mocks his heroes, presenting them as cold-eyed horndog jerks who fail to see that they've wandered into an entire country of exploitation.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    70
    Hostel may become something of a classic among Fangoria magazine's readership, acolytes of George Romero and audiences who thought "Saw II" was for babies.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    60
    Although he damn near slanders an entire country - expect poor Slovakia's tourism industry to take a hit - Roth is not an unskilled ringleader of gory crisis moments, or breathless escapes. The squeamish should simply stay away, but carnage queens will appreciate some of Roth's less grisly, even amusing details.