User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Hostel is the first torture porn horror that scared me and disturbed me, it is funny and entertaining, but with a build up that people will criticize on, I think that such movies should have such executions, because if the climax starts from the beginning, you will be bored half through the movie. Albeit that the story needs more explanation, it terrifies indeed. The acting is good as far as a horror movie go, it is better than other horror movies. The action sequences are will done, they are intense, and the plot is interesting, it is a really great horror movies, that will scare and terrify, almost anyone. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    This film actually has the power to impress when it comes to gore, but lacks the movie story to be complete, I still do not know what the true meaning of the tattoo used in the film. And I still do not know anyone who founded the empire of murder. I just to know who the leader is behind all this, but not the purpose. As already mentioned, the film is good in the gore category, but just as impressive film images, but as a good movie needs a good story I'm going to grade 6 for the lack of story that could make this film much more interesting Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2010
    0
    This movie... doesn't exist. It is probably the least creative movie I've ever seen. It's really mentally grathing and slow, and it may not be the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's pretty close. I know it's not about shock and more about gross out scares, but you can't really be grossed out too much if you're not immersed in the movie (maybe the infamouse "eyegasm", but nothing else), and this movie does nothing interesting to help itself. What little story there is the most cliched I've ever heard. I'd like to dig more deeply into it, but there is nothing there to dig into. All you have to know is that people get tortured while the audience wonders what's so great about it. This may not be a part of a genre I like, but a truely good movie could suck you in regardless of the genre. Not to get off track or anything, but a good example is, Pulp Fiction. It is listed under "crime", "drama", "suspence", and "comedy" all at once, but you don't think "hey, I'm watching a crime/drama/suspence/comedy", you just think "hey, I'm watching a movie". Hostel is so cliched that it seems like a genre template and nothing else. I read the user reviews of people who liked it in case I missed something, but the argument of "saterizing the audiences lust for pain" could be said for any movie in the genre. Bottom line: you can't have a gross-out movie without the "movie" part. I was grossed out when i stepped in dog poop, but that doesn't make it the apitamy of cinema. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2011
    2
    Let me say to start that I am NOT the target audience for this movie. This moive is more for the gore for the sake of gore crowd, anyone else watching this movie has chosen to punish themselves. This movie has no higher purpose, no greater wisdom, no real story. Hack and slash, hack and slash.
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    An ironic well-made gory film, has what you wanted, gore, jokes and is sexy, the performances are OK I think they should have improved more, you can notice the effects and the make up sometimes, but anyway is a good movie.
  6. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    In Hostel, two American college students go traveling across Europe. On the train they hear about a hostel in Slovakia that attracts lots of girls, so naturally they head there. Unbeknownst to them, the hostel is run by a group who mercenaries who kidnap tourists and sell them to rich people to torture for kicks. While the situation is a nightmare, the story really isn't that scary. It's bloody and very gory, but it's not going to keep you up at night. It was a good movie, I like blood and guts, but that's not how it was advertised! This was advertised as being one of the scariest movies ever and it just wasn't. If you're a horror fan, it's defiantly worth seeing, but be warned, it's more about shock and awe than it is scary. Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2012
    6
    Solid acting and incredibly gory. What I love most about this movie is that it proves that Americans can still make gruesome horror movies. Eli Roth is on his way to become the next great horror film director.
  8. Mar 8, 2014
    4
    The film is effective at giving you creeps with its gory scenes, but the film took quite a long time to get going. Ultimately, the film is a disappointment. If you're interested in this type of genre, I would recommend you to check out the first three movies in the "Saw" series.
  9. Nov 7, 2012
    6
    It's no Cabin Fever, but it's gross as hell, and it takes exploitation horror about as far as it can possibly go.
  10. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    The first in a three-part trilogy that I really enjoy despite it being rather messed up! It's a torture film so some of it is rather hard to stomach, but you're on Paxton Josh's side and you hope they can escape! There is a nice blend of gore as well as some good thrills in there with some great acting from the leads. I probably enjoyed the next two installments a little better, but this was the start of a great series. Overall a great Horror that won't be easy for all to stomach! Expand
  11. Oct 28, 2013
    5
    For its first hour, 'Hostel' plays out as some sort of soft core porno, before turning into a mildly exciting (albeit grisly) thriller for its last half.
  12. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    Hostel: 10 out of 10: Half Eurotrip style sex comedy (with a seventies level of nudity) and half the doctor scene from Bloodsucking Freaks, yeah I might as well stop my review right there it's a 10.

    Director Eli Roth (Cabin Fever) has scored a bull's eye simply by going back to what makes exploitation films great. Thus he produces a film that could have been lensed in the freewheeling
    year of 1975 rather than PG-13 stuffy year of 2005.

    The film starts with two American college students and an Icelandic hanger on enjoying some debauchery in Amsterdam. They hear about a nirvana for sex and drugs in Slovakia and they pursue it as if they were traversing the Himalayas to find Shangri-La.

    What they find is,,,, well I won't spoil it for you but they should have stuck with the marijuana brownies and overpriced Dutch hookers.

    The movie actually makes torture scenes enjoyable again. (I generally have hated the whole torture motif in modern film for example Rest Stop.) Roth unlike his contemporaries shows the gore without those annoying zooming camera tricks. The leads are unlikable in a fun rather than irritating way (not easy to do) and the film has both a wonderful energy and plentiful surprises.

    Oh and there is copious amounts of extremely well done gratuitous nudity and sadistic gore. One of the best films of 2005.
    Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. It's obligatory for a horror film to feature exploitative sex as an appetizer, but Roth, even as he fulfills the sleaze imperative, does something shrewder: He mocks his heroes, presenting them as cold-eyed horndog jerks who fail to see that they've wandered into an entire country of exploitation.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    70
    Hostel may become something of a classic among Fangoria magazine's readership, acolytes of George Romero and audiences who thought "Saw II" was for babies.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    60
    Although he damn near slanders an entire country - expect poor Slovakia's tourism industry to take a hit - Roth is not an unskilled ringleader of gory crisis moments, or breathless escapes. The squeamish should simply stay away, but carnage queens will appreciate some of Roth's less grisly, even amusing details.