Rogue Pictures | Release Date: April 20, 2007
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 620 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
570
Mixed:
35
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
MrMovieBuffSep 18, 2016
Crime learns to pay a big price when a police officer is re-assigned in 'Hot Fuzz', the second chapter in Edgar Wright's "Three Flavors of Cornetto" trilogy after 'Shaun of the Dead' (2004).

Sergeant Nick Angel (Simon Pegg), a well working
Crime learns to pay a big price when a police officer is re-assigned in 'Hot Fuzz', the second chapter in Edgar Wright's "Three Flavors of Cornetto" trilogy after 'Shaun of the Dead' (2004).

Sergeant Nick Angel (Simon Pegg), a well working member of the Metropolitan Police is told that he has been re-assigned to the village of Sanford in Gloucestershire because his hard work makes everyone else in the service look bad. The village that he is sent to seems to be devoid of any crime whatsoever, there are no crimes or anything to report, so it seems that everything is hunky dory.

Nick meets a fellow colleague named Danny Butterman (Nick Frost) who likes to think that working in the police force is like being in an action movie.

A frustrated Sergeant Angel notices that there is crime happening everywhere in the village, but cannot seem to convince anyone else since they think everything that is happening are all accidents. People are getting killed up and down the village, but his colleagues thinks that the people are just getting into serious accidents resulting in death.

'Hot Fuzz' is very funny, and at times, it's better than 'Shaun of the Dead' (2004), which I thought was great. Director Edgar Wright and co-writer Simon Pegg deliver a very sharp and over-the-top comedy, there are no limits with their humor, 'Hot Fuzz' is a delight for fans of hardcore action films and buddy cop movies.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheArchetypesSep 9, 2016
This is a great movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. While being made by the same people as Shaun of the Dead, it is not the same kind of humour and really shouldn't be compared with. This is an english spoof of cop movies, while the other is aThis is a great movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. While being made by the same people as Shaun of the Dead, it is not the same kind of humour and really shouldn't be compared with. This is an english spoof of cop movies, while the other is a spoof of zombie movies. Not exactly comparable. Anyway, see this movie and Shaun of the Dead, then the next movie they make, which I believe has something to do with a spoof of space invaders or something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
This is a great movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. While being made by the same people as Shaun of the Dead, it is not the same kind of humor and really shouldn't be compared with. This is an english spoof of cop movies, while the other is aThis is a great movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. While being made by the same people as Shaun of the Dead, it is not the same kind of humor and really shouldn't be compared with. This is an english spoof of cop movies, while the other is a spoof of zombie movies. Not exactly comparable. Anyway, see this movie and Shaun of the Dead, then the next movie they make, which I believe has something to do with a spoof of space invaders or something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
A by-the-book top cop and his bozo sidekick uncover murder and mayhem in a picturesque English village in “Hot Fuzz,” a straight-faced British spoof of everything from Yank crimers and slasher pics to Agatha Christie whodunits and homoeroticA by-the-book top cop and his bozo sidekick uncover murder and mayhem in a picturesque English village in “Hot Fuzz,” a straight-faced British spoof of everything from Yank crimers and slasher pics to Agatha Christie whodunits and homoerotic U.S. buddy movies.

Aside from Pegg (again co-scripting) and Frost, his colleagues on the cult TV comedy series “Spaced” (1999-2001), Wright has assembled a roll call of well-known character actors, including Bill Nighy and Steve Coogan in cameos, an almost unrecognizable Billie Whitelaw as a hotelier and vets Edward Woodward, Timothy Dalton and Jim Broadbent as village folk. Recognition factor is part of the joke — as is the multitude of comic references in the dialogue (some strictly British, others more international) — but the pic’s fast pacing and general targets should ensure a warm welcome beyond U.K. shores.

In a zappy intro, we meet dedicated cop Nicholas Angel (Pegg), whose idea of an evening’s entertainment is watering his Japanese peace lily. Humorless Angel is so good at everything he does (with an arrest rate 400% higher than that of any other cop) that his superiors (Martin Freeman, Coogan, Nighy) elevate him to sergeant but also exile him to the West Country village of Sandford to stop him from showing them up.

The local cop shop is run by chummy Inspector Frank Butterman (Broadbent), and the two detectives (Paddy Considine, Rafe Spall) are leering idiots who wouldn’t know a crime if it bit them on the ass. Angel gets everyone’s backs up his first night by arresting all the under-18s in the local pub and hauling in for drunk driving a slob called Danny (Frost), who turns out to be Butterman’s son and Andy’s future partner.

The sly comedy, paragraphed at regular intervals by machine-gun editing inserts, moseys along in a style similar to “Shaun of the Dead” for the first hour, though without the laid-back, couch-potato tone that reflected that movie’s characters. Pegg is very good at this kind of double-take humor sans the double take, and his chemistry with Frost (which later morphs into a parody of buddy movies) seems effortless.

A plot of sorts hoves into view at the halfway mark as a figure in Grim Reaper garb begins killing the villagers, starting with an obnoxious lawyer and then fanning out to include a businessman, a florist and a local journo. Decorated with gallons of spurting blood, the murders — the last of which is hilariously spectacular — prep the ground for the third act, in which Sandford becomes the unlikely stage for bullet ballets and screeching car chases as Angel and Danny lay bare the truth.

Some may miss the bumbling humor and 100% English tone of “Shaun,” which was painfully exact in hitting its targets. “Fuzz” is much slicker and more international in feel, and in its final reels, it doesn’t know when to quit. Pic could easily lose 15 minutes from its two-hour running time.

Still, there are few dull patches, largely thanks to a cast that seems to be having a ball and, more importantly, communicates that via Wright’s script and direction. Broadbent and Dalton are especially good as Angel’s hail-fellow-well-met superior and oily No. 1 suspect.

Production values are fine, with flavorsome use of the village of Wells, Somerset, standing in for the fictional Sandford; Jess Hall’s widescreen lensing and Chris Dickens’ smart editing proving smooth partners. Color temperatures on print caught were not ideal, ranging from warm and reddish to cold and steely. David Arnold’s brash score hits the Stateside genre mark.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Jan 11, 2016
The comedic duo of Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are changing the way people view British comedy. For decades, the Brits have been far behind us, featuring the dry, the peculiar, the tedious, and worst of all, Monty Python. Ten years ago, IThe comedic duo of Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are changing the way people view British comedy. For decades, the Brits have been far behind us, featuring the dry, the peculiar, the tedious, and worst of all, Monty Python. Ten years ago, I wouldn't see a British comedy if you paid me, but now, all I need is to see this duo involved and I'm there! Hot Fuzz was the duos follow up to the wildly successful Shaun of The Dead, and while it doesn't compare to that film, it is still a really funny movie. The film features Simon Pegg as London's toughest cop, who is unwillingly transferred to a small town in the country. Paired with an idiot, he's about to die of boredom, and starts looking into the towns history of mysterious accidents, only to discover a pattern. Once Pegg has the scent, he's on the trail of a long running town secret, one that is ridiculous yet hilarious. Unlike Shaun of The Dead, the story here isn't as cut and dry. It requires some background and does take quite a while to get going. Unlike any of their other films, previously or since, the duo decided to pack all the fun into the last half hour of the film. Hot Fuzz certainly has it's moments, but it's the last half hour that makes it a classic. Simon Pegg plays the serious one for a change, leaving much of the laughs up to Nick Frost who certainly doesn't disappoint. Personally, I prefer Pegg over Frost and would have liked to see his character loosen up a little bit, but it doesn't really take anything away from the story. The first half hour of this film, you're going to think I'm crazy, but by the last half hour, you'll be thanking me for recommending you see this film. It is a must for fans of buddy comedies and it just might force you to watch Shaun of The Dead again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: It properly makes you smile - Pegg and Frost deliver humour and quirkiness round ever corner. 'Hot Fuzz' even has a great, off the wall plot and action too
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's not their funniest adventure as the humour
WHAT I LIKED: It properly makes you smile - Pegg and Frost deliver humour and quirkiness round ever corner. 'Hot Fuzz' even has a great, off the wall plot and action too
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's not their funniest adventure as the humour isn't consistent, plus 'Hot Fuzz' doesn't feel so much of a movie, more like a great tv show thanks to it's single setting
VERDICT: An off the wall gem from Frost and Pegg, that just could be funnier.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisSep 28, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hot Fuzz will ruin the buddy-cop genre for you, and you'll love it for it. While it's not an amazing action film or an outstanding comedy of its own right, the way it blends the two into both an homage and a satire is brilliant. Its characters, plot, setting, and style (especially its use of absurdly fast cuts, a la The Bourne series) all say "Isn't this awesome?" and "Isn't this stupid?" at once, and it's right about both. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGAug 22, 2015
By far the best of the cornetto trilogy. Finally a good proper story with some actually funny moments and impressive action sequences as well. Just wish this movie was 30 minutes shorter as the first act is a little dry,
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cryhardhumorJul 26, 2015
It's a breath of fresh air to watch a movie which is more than just pointing the camera at an actor and telling them to say something funny, but instead is stylish, hilarious, action packed, and beautifully uses both audio and visuals toIt's a breath of fresh air to watch a movie which is more than just pointing the camera at an actor and telling them to say something funny, but instead is stylish, hilarious, action packed, and beautifully uses both audio and visuals to create jokes and laughs through out instead of just a punchline here and there Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moslegend34Jun 26, 2015
Loved it! Pegg really comes of age after a breakthrough performance in 'Shawn of the Dead. The director uses a combination of diegetic music, short sharp camera shots as well as the recurring motif such as 'The Greater good' to dish up anLoved it! Pegg really comes of age after a breakthrough performance in 'Shawn of the Dead. The director uses a combination of diegetic music, short sharp camera shots as well as the recurring motif such as 'The Greater good' to dish up an absolute feast of a police flick.
Worth a look if you're a fan of slapstick comedy and old English charm. Tim Dalton particularly excels as the voraciously charming supermarket attendant. The blistering car chases and action scenes are certainly nothing to scoff at either. Quality flick!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 21, 2015
A great blend of comedy, intrigue, and comedy action, Hot Fuzz is a fun film by director Edgar Wright that continues to show his talents as an auteur. Brilliantly directed and scripted, the film features great performances from Simon Pegg andA great blend of comedy, intrigue, and comedy action, Hot Fuzz is a fun film by director Edgar Wright that continues to show his talents as an auteur. Brilliantly directed and scripted, the film features great performances from Simon Pegg and Nick Frost and features a plot that is incredibly interesting to follow. The characters are all really well done, but above all, the film is a ton of fun. As with all Edgar Wright films, they are well made and well written, so they meet those requirements for a good film and then they are entertaining, so you get to watch something that is really well put together and is fun to watch. A win-win, really. The action is as over the top as it should be in this one, as it is intended to be comedic and boy is it ever. The comedy is sometimes quite overt and sometimes a bit more subtle, which I really enjoy, as it adds a sharpness and wittiness that many comedy films ignore. Overall, Hot Fuzz is a really good film that entertains throughout and is a perfect display of Wright's directing ability. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
It has been remarked by more than one critic that the action comedy can be one of the easiest movies to make poorly and one of the most difficult to make effectively. The problem is evident: comedy and action often war with one another, eachIt has been remarked by more than one critic that the action comedy can be one of the easiest movies to make poorly and one of the most difficult to make effectively. The problem is evident: comedy and action often war with one another, each trying to steal the spotlight at the expense of the other. If there's too much humor or the jokes are too fatuous, the action feels extraneous. And if the film is slanted toward action, the comedy can feel out of place and, if poorly executed, can kill the momentum. The team of Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg, the guys who combined guffaws and gore in Shaun of the Dead, have elected to follow their offbeat zombie farce with an action comedy. Considering their earlier success, it is perhaps unsurprising that they have gotten it mostly right. Hot Fuzz is a little too long and suffers from a sagging midsection when the level of exposition becomes laborious, but the spectacularly entertaining final 30 minutes compensates for a lot of flaws.

One key element that Wright and Pegg nail is to develop characters we care about and situations that, while not breathtakingly compelling, are at least interesting. While there have been plenty of exceptions throughout the years (48 Hours, True Lies, and so forth…), the generic action comedy cannot boast either quality. Often, action scenes are just flashy ways to pad out things between the jokes and the protagonists are thinly drawn caricatures. Given the backing of someone with money, it's easy enough to make those soulless, by-the-numbers comedies and we see a few every year. Attempting and succeeding at something more ambitious is the mark of an interesting filmmaker. In the end, Hot Fuzz does for the action comedy what Shaun of the Dead did for the horror comedy.

Hot Fuzz relies so heavily on character and plot development that it takes an overlong 90 minutes before things start getting outrageous. That's not to say the setup is without merit, but the humor during these sequences is more restrained than what comes later. There are plenty of subtle jabs, visual gags, and a few high profile cameos (Cate Blanchett, Peter Jackson, Bill Nighy). The wink-wink-nudge-nudge "buddy" relationship between partners Angel and Danny is developed in such a way that it mimics the formula of a romantic liaison without ever straying beyond the platonic. This is part of the parody. These two never whisper sweet nothings or engage in anything that might disturb homophobes, but they fall asleep on the couch next to each other after watching movies on TV and Angel later buys flowers for Danny. The movie has fun toying with this dynamic.

Then, 30 minutes before the film winds down, all hell breaks loose. The filmmakers pull out the stops and satirize every imaginable cliché of the genre, throwing in visual references to dozens of contemporary cop movies. John Woo, Quentin Tarantino, and Clint Eastwood collide in a hail of gunfire as the fuzz go in, guns blazing, to reclaim the grocery store and the town from the nefarious do-badders who have taken possession of it. And just because this is a comedy doesn't mean Wright shies from gore. The impaling of one character is shown in the most graphic manner possible. There are no sacred cows, either. Priests blaspheme and an old woman gets kicked in the face.

Hot Fuzz is the second police satire to arrive in theaters this year and it is vastly superior to Reno 911. That earlier film is an example of what happens when a movie uses lame material to tie together an uneven string of jokes. Hot Fuzz has a higher agenda, and it shows. This movie wants to tickle the funny bone while telling a story that's worth telling. For the most part, Wright achieves this aim. A slightly trimmed down Hot Fuzz might have provided a more heady brew, but even with a little more fat than is necessary, this one offers enjoyable fare with more than one masterful course.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FilmVirtueSep 10, 2014
This has to be the best buddy cop film every created. But is that a surprise? You have Pegg and Wright pulling the strings on the film. Nothing but pure entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chwJul 17, 2014
Hot Fuzz was slow, but it turned out being quite good. It's not as funny as Shaun of the Dead or The World's End, but storywise, it's up there with the other two.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Meth-dudeApr 19, 2014
The trio Wright/Pegg/Frost are again in the best comedy/action movie of the year!There is a lot of action and the humour is really funny, i enjoyed the movie from the first minute to the last.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
marcmyworksJan 20, 2014
This film is a "Midsomer Murder" to the ultimate extreme. The execution, effects and ideas are out of this World amazing. The references to American television and film culture in a quiet English village is a true testament to how 'meta' theThis film is a "Midsomer Murder" to the ultimate extreme. The execution, effects and ideas are out of this World amazing. The references to American television and film culture in a quiet English village is a true testament to how 'meta' the film world has become. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticJan 9, 2014
A hilarious parody of the buddy-cop comedy with elaborate camerawork, ludicrous and ridiculous yet witty dialogue, and yet again brilliant writing by Pegg and Wright, who always can turn a known American genre into a comedic screwball satire.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sinadoomDec 26, 2013
An amazing movie. This is what it's all about. It's funny all the way through, has great acting, is genuinely gripping and not predictable. The story, action, everything is perfectly paced and very original, light-hearted and witty. WhatAn amazing movie. This is what it's all about. It's funny all the way through, has great acting, is genuinely gripping and not predictable. The story, action, everything is perfectly paced and very original, light-hearted and witty. What makes it so good is how they capitalised on every opportunity to make hilarious scenes out of what one would expect to be emotional situations. Whilst a lot of action movies try really hard by using a lot of special effects, near-perfect scenery and high budgets, Hot Fuzz is very much a realist movie. It blends real-world situations with outrageously impossible physics and cliché combat. The result is something which nearly everyone will like, because it doesn't take itself seriously yet isn't boring or shallow to watch. A definite must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
THEBUTTONMASHERDec 17, 2013
This movie is a funny, action comedy, Starring Simon Pegg & Nick Frost, based on funny hilarious cops, there are some very nice laughs and tense action scenes it also has a great plot and script, overall I would give a 9/10 for this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cag11Nov 29, 2013
This movie is much more funny than Shaun of the Dead, and has a much better story with just as good if not better acting. It even executed the story almost perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Hot Fuzz heats up.
The very beginning of the movie appears a bit bland, a few one liners, but nothing spectacular. It then masterfully evolves into a mystery, action, and comedy all simultaneously, which it somehow manages to nail. Hot Fuzz
Hot Fuzz heats up.
The very beginning of the movie appears a bit bland, a few one liners, but nothing spectacular. It then masterfully evolves into a mystery, action, and comedy all simultaneously, which it somehow manages to nail. Hot Fuzz is extremely unique and very entertaining.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFOct 22, 2013
The second part of the "Cornetto trilogy" which belongs to writers Edgar Wright (also director) and Simon Pegg takes a more in your face approach to parody than Shaun of the Dead did with its zombie theme, this outing, 'Hot Fuzz', focuses onThe second part of the "Cornetto trilogy" which belongs to writers Edgar Wright (also director) and Simon Pegg takes a more in your face approach to parody than Shaun of the Dead did with its zombie theme, this outing, 'Hot Fuzz', focuses on Nicholas Angel, played by Pegg, who has quite the immaculate record working in London as the city's finest police officer, he wipes the floor clean single-handedly which is how the film sets itself up, he's being kicked out to the country for making the rest of the city officers look bad. His first night out in his new country village of Sandford consists of cleaning out a pub full of underage drinkers and escorting a drunken man to the station, which turns out to be his new partner, Danny (Nick Frost). Danny is the cop who wants to see all the explosions and take part in car chases, but Sergeant Angel is the one who has experienced it and now must adjust to life in this quiet and slow moving way of life, which turns out isn't so quiet after all.
Angel begins to notice patterns in a series of gruesome 'accidents', yet the attitude of his colleagues remains playful while they munch out on cookies and cake, the sharp wit returns from 'Shaun', with even a few of the same lines carrying over to bridge the films together for those following them, we also have the heightened tension of the film style which applies to anything, whether pouring pint or an intense gunfight, it takes all the best and cheesiest elements of classic cop films of the 80s and throws them all into the one pot, sometimes it feels like too much, but it's still better than 'Shaun', taking a different approach and involving many more characters, including the perfectly cunning Timothy Dalton as a supermarket owner, Jim Broadbent as the likeable Inspector Frank, also father to Danny, the two Andy's, played by Paddy Considine and Rafe Spall with Bill Bailey also making a comical appearance. The film offers up all the side-splitting comedy that the first of the variety trilogy offered, but it goes a step further with taking various characters and introducing them to new ways of life, even offering up a finale that was much more fun and thrilling than many of the films it is sending up. Pegg and Frost continue to be a dynamic pairing onscreen with the help of an ensemble cast, this is a simple story which is proven by Angel coming up with a complex idea as to why these grisly occurrences have happened when in actual fact, it was simpler than he thought, funny, dark but also thrilling with excellent performances that mirror a finely tuned and humorous script that will sit nicely sit firmly as a classic amongst UK audiences.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mymediaSep 30, 2013
Witty and hilarious with a nice dose of action What more do you need in a movie? Nick Frost and Simon Pegg are brilliant together and this movie is a riot from start to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jake_Sep 28, 2013
Hot Fuzz is brilliantly written. It has an amazing storyline and some great characters. The 2nd in the Cornetto Trilogy, Hot Fuzz is an instant classic. The ending is fantastic, and satisfyingly anticlimactic. Loved this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nafeesSep 3, 2013
One of the best comedy ever. A landmark for Simon Pegg and Nick Frost. This movie definitely defined them. Hope they make more of this sort.
The cast is good. The acting is almost there. And over all Hilarious.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
yanleproSep 2, 2013
This is my very favourite film ever. I think I've watched it 6 times and I still discovered little funny details I hadn't spotted the 5 previous times. Hot fuzz is absolutely brilliant, as by the story it relates than by the background or theThis is my very favourite film ever. I think I've watched it 6 times and I still discovered little funny details I hadn't spotted the 5 previous times. Hot fuzz is absolutely brilliant, as by the story it relates than by the background or the characters or the references to other films or the actors... I think we can compare watching this film to eating a huge chocolate egg which contains big chocolate eggs which themselves contain other chocolate eggs etc... We don't know when finding new tiny eggs will stop Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VelsuanAug 28, 2013
One of the best British film ever made! That's it. Spread the word! The script is brilliant, every word count, the acting is brilliant, every character is relevant. But.... just stop right here and watch this masterpiece right now. The storyOne of the best British film ever made! That's it. Spread the word! The script is brilliant, every word count, the acting is brilliant, every character is relevant. But.... just stop right here and watch this masterpiece right now. The story may seem slow within the first half hour, but the entire plot became soon extremely satisfying. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Saggarwal20Aug 22, 2013
I really liked Hot Fuzz it's got action, gore and comedy I also liked the acting from Simon Pegg and Nick Frost and all the other cast involved in this awesome movie, great directing by Edgar Wright I think he's the best British director
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrandonBonaseraAug 10, 2013
An epic, bloody and hilarious satire than is both well-made and extremely clever along with the film also being constantly entertaining. Hot Fuzz is plenty of fun and will please both action and comedy fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Luke_McLaughlinJul 27, 2013
Hot Fuzz is, without any doubt, the best comedic buddy cop film ever made. It strategically places golden nuggets throughout that are referenced over and over again throughout the movie. It can be watched countless times and still present newHot Fuzz is, without any doubt, the best comedic buddy cop film ever made. It strategically places golden nuggets throughout that are referenced over and over again throughout the movie. It can be watched countless times and still present new jokes to the viewer. It is written to an unbelievably polished level, the editing is sharp, the directing is fantastic, and the acting of the entire ensemble is absolutely unbelievable. Pegg, Frost, and Wright are masterminds. They proved it firstly in Shaun of the Dead and they continued that tradition with this brilliant film. It is crude yet sophisticated, simple yet complicated, funny yet heartbreaking, but most importantly comedy film making at its absolute finest. A must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moonman1994Jul 26, 2013
The brilliant chemistry of Pegg and Frost is once again tied together by the great writing and directing of Edgar Wright. Once again Wright makes a film that is a perfect blend of two film styles. It is both a perfect Comedy and perfect Action film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuJun 22, 2013
Hot Fuzz is a great comedy, riffing on the English countryside and American action movies. Love Dalton as the supermarket manager... Hilarious! And the climactic action scene had me almost peeing my pants.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
b-radMay 31, 2013
Just as good or better than Shaun of the Dead
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
axelkochMar 12, 2013
It's a dumb movie, but there's a big difference between simply dumb and hilariously dumb and Hot Fuzz certainly belongs to the latter. Edgar Wright knows how to parody stuff and he did it right again with this 2007 cop mockery. The screenplayIt's a dumb movie, but there's a big difference between simply dumb and hilariously dumb and Hot Fuzz certainly belongs to the latter. Edgar Wright knows how to parody stuff and he did it right again with this 2007 cop mockery. The screenplay is great, the line of high-class British film-stars in the cast is awfully funny, and the numerous running gags and cult film references will give every movie lover a reason to keep Hot Fuzz in their DVD rack. It does get exaggeratedly dumb at times and 116 minutes are maybe a smidge too long, but that's totally venial, considering how awesome the rest of the movie is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ninja_dolphinFeb 7, 2013
A fantastic British movie on par with Shaun of the dead. The film is hilarious with great performances from Pegg and Frost and the other side characters. The story is great with a fantastic twists and some pretty gory scenes. Also near theA fantastic British movie on par with Shaun of the dead. The film is hilarious with great performances from Pegg and Frost and the other side characters. The story is great with a fantastic twists and some pretty gory scenes. Also near the end of the movie it becomes a balls out parody of over the top cop movies with an hilarious twist. Overall a really good time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
I honestly thought that there would be no way for them to make a movie as good as Shaun of The Dead but suprisingly they did. Hot Fuzz is a very enjoyable comedy that is definently worth watching, Especially if you like Shaun of The Dead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ballpark_frankNov 24, 2012
I never actually intended to see this film, mistaking the title for "Hot Shots". Finally, there was nothing on TV, except one channel (Comedy Central) showing this. I decided to give it a whirl (not realizing that it starred Pegg andI never actually intended to see this film, mistaking the title for "Hot Shots". Finally, there was nothing on TV, except one channel (Comedy Central) showing this. I decided to give it a whirl (not realizing that it starred Pegg and Frost). Once I'd realized my mistake, I stuck with it and feel I was well rewarded. The Pegg/Angel character, in a complete turn-around from Pegg's role in "Shaun of the Dead", is a real go-getter. There's trouble...and he's itching to solve the crime. In this case, it's a series of "accidents" which have been resulting in the deaths of several people in a quiet little village. Angel, who's been transferred from London, plays things by-the-book, and soon suspects there's a link between those "accidents". The interplay between Angel and Frost/Butterman is outstanding, much like their teamwork in "Shaun...Dead". This is the second in the Pegg & Frost "Blood and Ice Cream Trilogy", and hopefully they can pull off the magic a third time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KTRockerfellerAug 5, 2012
Amazing. The best action movie and the best comedy movie. All Edgar Wright films never disappoint and this is his best. It's awesome, intense, thrilling, hilarious, violent and it blows my mind every time I watch it. I think it's cheap onAmazing. The best action movie and the best comedy movie. All Edgar Wright films never disappoint and this is his best. It's awesome, intense, thrilling, hilarious, violent and it blows my mind every time I watch it. I think it's cheap on iTunes so everyone should go check Hot Fuzz out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EssenceOfSugarJul 22, 2012
Peppered with intelligent humour and all-out action, Simon Pegg really knows how to entertain. Granted the fact that it was a bit drawn-out, it managed to keep my concentration alive with an intriguing plotline and a shocking discovery. WithPeppered with intelligent humour and all-out action, Simon Pegg really knows how to entertain. Granted the fact that it was a bit drawn-out, it managed to keep my concentration alive with an intriguing plotline and a shocking discovery. With a set of colourful characters, the fun never stops. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheguyoffireMay 26, 2012
This movie is hilarious. Plot was top-notch. Great overall movie, and not to mention all the awesome deaths they filmed.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
mickaaayMay 7, 2012
PC Nicholas Angel (Simeon Pegg) is Londonâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EastonReviewsApr 11, 2012
This film is hilarious. You will enjoy how the writers mock their poor plot and change it into something interesting. With that said, you will also enjoy Simon and Ed as their rolls almost around the level of Shaun of the Dead. I also foundThis film is hilarious. You will enjoy how the writers mock their poor plot and change it into something interesting. With that said, you will also enjoy Simon and Ed as their rolls almost around the level of Shaun of the Dead. I also found it very entertaning, so I have no hesitation to recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
spadenxJan 16, 2012
It was funny, interesting, and gave a well deserved nod to action films. I just dont hold it in high regards like others do. I enjoyed it but I dont think it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lgnburrisDec 11, 2011
Simon Pegg and Nick Frost can do no wrong, an excellent spoof of the buddy cop genre, with nice homages to Point Break and Bad Boys 2. I remember the first time I watched this feeling underwhelmed in comparison to Shaun of the Dead but it isSimon Pegg and Nick Frost can do no wrong, an excellent spoof of the buddy cop genre, with nice homages to Point Break and Bad Boys 2. I remember the first time I watched this feeling underwhelmed in comparison to Shaun of the Dead but it is in fact really good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 22, 2011
Eh it was ok. It lived up to the previous work by the duo, Which is a rather rare sight to see nowadays. It wasnt all that funny though and it was a bit boring at times. It was better then what I expected though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moviekretikNov 20, 2011
Hot Fuzz is a brilliant new Britsh comedy that really hits its mark!!! Hands down this fantastic film is the new benchmark in British comedies!

Simon Pegg throws you into the extremely tongue in cheek narrative with its quick pace edits,
Hot Fuzz is a brilliant new Britsh comedy that really hits its mark!!! Hands down this fantastic film is the new benchmark in British comedies!

Simon Pegg throws you into the extremely tongue in cheek narrative with its quick pace edits, booming sounds and terrific camera work that we have come to expect from Edgar Wright since Shaun of the Dead. Simon Pegg has really exceeded my expectations and credit must also go to Nick Frost who plays the classic sidekick which he accomplishes so well. The aforementioned crafty work by Edgar Wright proves that his style creates some of the best action sequences in the business. Whether it be the shoot'em ups, chase scenes or the jump out of your seat surprises, Wright can really make a film move and does this one ever!!! People who thought the cop-comedy genre was finished should definitely see this creative film which will pluck those heart strings and have you slapping that knee while feasting your eyes on the adrenaline fueled action!!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerSep 28, 2011
Another fantastic movie by the people who brought us Shaun of the Dead and the newly released Paul, it's funny, action packed, and just plain awesome, it does have a darker sense of humor that the other movie they have done, but this is myAnother fantastic movie by the people who brought us Shaun of the Dead and the newly released Paul, it's funny, action packed, and just plain awesome, it does have a darker sense of humor that the other movie they have done, but this is my opinion the best of the three, and once again Simon Pegg and Nick Frost do a fantastic job together, honestly I highly recommend this, you will not be disappointed, a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bram29Sep 22, 2011
well-made action-packed comedy-detective story. breaks the buddy-cop routine up nicely. definitely worth seeing until the very end to see the story unfold.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
"Hot Fuzz" blows off the movie core with mind-less action, agreeable humor (that has no penis jokes), and bad ass performances by Simon Pegg and Nick Frost. Every minute is a blast, every second is worth the watch.

! NOTE-I GAVE THE WRONG
"Hot Fuzz" blows off the movie core with mind-less action, agreeable humor (that has no penis jokes), and bad ass performances by Simon Pegg and Nick Frost. Every minute is a blast, every second is worth the watch.

! NOTE-I GAVE THE WRONG SCORE FOR THE FIRST ONE!
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
chicagopianoAug 12, 2011
I really enjoyed this movie, a bit more than Shaun of the Dead, which i didn't find as funny, though i saw Hot Fuzz first maybe I had higher expectations for Shaun of the Dead. It's hilarious and the story is pretty good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Andy92May 21, 2011
i am giving this movie edition the same as its previous movie it provided a good level of both humor and drama and i enjoyed watching it and would recommend it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KarthXLRMar 14, 2011
Hilariously over-the-top, action-packed, and coupled with both subtle and melodramatic performances from the whole cast. It's also fast-paced, tightly edited, and just a fun watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
muzzikloverMar 6, 2011
One of the best British films for quite some time. The second of the Blood And Ice Cream (Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg), first being Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz is the perfect parody of the buddy cop genre. Carefully paced story, brilliantlyOne of the best British films for quite some time. The second of the Blood And Ice Cream (Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg), first being Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz is the perfect parody of the buddy cop genre. Carefully paced story, brilliantly edited, solid acting and chemistry from Pegg and Frost and furthermore the jokes are everywhere and will keep you on your toes just to see what the joke was but you just subconsciously laugh at it without knowing. I could watch this again and again. It's too good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Noodle_BlogNov 7, 2010
Brilliant film, but it's not as good or funny as Shaun of the Dead. Hopefully the final one in the 'trilogy' will be the best. I'm struggling to get 150 chars here XD
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Paul_YoonSep 19, 2010
Hot Fuzz delienates full of actions and black-comedy stuffs reaches the zenith of the buddy-cop genre series - geat plot, setting, and even characteristic style until the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ManicMorrisAug 21, 2010
Actually one of the best action movies of all time whilst being one of the best Comedies of all time. Absolutely makes everything you see for a short while after seem boring. You'll watch it over and over again for its one-liners, greatActually one of the best action movies of all time whilst being one of the best Comedies of all time. Absolutely makes everything you see for a short while after seem boring. You'll watch it over and over again for its one-liners, great action sequences (especially at the end) and it's characters which include some of the best british talent ever seen in film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
WiseMarosisAug 17, 2010
Very funny movie, Simon Pegg is a great and very funny actor. There are countless things I laughed at whilst watching this movie, from the SWAN!!!!! to the bar gun fight scene. Hilarious movie, worth watching.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
BKLAug 14, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a very funny movie. I have to say it is a killer movie. It will give you reason to suggestion what it takes to be a cop in a small village called Sanford. This movie will give you the time of your life! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
pulptikAug 14, 2010
One of the best movies i have ever watched. Definitely in my top 20. After a few years, it will probably lead its place to my top 10. Edgar's best movie, in my opinion.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JamieC.Mar 9, 2009
This movie is cleverly written with great comedy and a unique plotline. Like no other movie out there. I've watched it several times and it gets better and better...
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
maxjFeb 11, 2009
Very funny and full of silly and fun action and an impressive storyline makes me want to watch it over and over again.
12 of 12 users found this helpful
10
TimBJun 30, 2008
Hot Fuzz will ruin the buddy-cop genre for you, and you'll love it for it. While it's not an amazing action film or an outstanding comedy of its own right, the way it blends the two into both an homage and a satire is brilliant. Hot Fuzz will ruin the buddy-cop genre for you, and you'll love it for it. While it's not an amazing action film or an outstanding comedy of its own right, the way it blends the two into both an homage and a satire is brilliant. Its characters, plot, setting, and style (especially its use of absurdly fast cuts, a la The Bourne series) all say "Isn't this awesome?" and "Isn't this stupid?" at once, and it's right about both. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JakeH.Jun 20, 2008
Awesome Movie!!! So funny and violent!
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
CraigAApr 10, 2008
Not as good as Shaun, but near perfection anyway.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MuttD.Feb 27, 2008
Incredible action comedy which manages to both lavish, lampoon, and love the genre while also managing to distinguish itself from it's counterparts.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ArthurO.Sep 11, 2007
First of all, give this view at least a second viewing. Once you do that you can much better appreciate how great this movie is. I can easily see why some reviews have Hot Fuzz in the mediocre range. That's because this is a completely First of all, give this view at least a second viewing. Once you do that you can much better appreciate how great this movie is. I can easily see why some reviews have Hot Fuzz in the mediocre range. That's because this is a completely different sort of film than we are accustomed to in the US. Comedies are formulaic and you "feel" when they try to make you laugh, even when the jokes or gags don't hit. This gives the average person the impression that the movie is funnier than what they actually laugh at. Most of the humor in Hot Fuzz is done subtly. There are laughs to be had every minute of this movie when you understand why it is funny. Much of this subtly is hidden in the main storyline itself. Yes, the plot is believable as is the action. Many will say "that's impossible" several times. However, the plot walks a very delicate line between being a far fetched action plot and using considerable satire. It's the way that it mixes little satirical bits and other jokes you have to think about with slapstick and mindless comedy that makes it so funny. It's not just about the comedy, though. The action is always entertaining, especially the incredible last half hour. Entertaining and funny all the way through, the film still manages to craft genuine characters that you actually care about. The end also left me inspired more than the typical cliche Hollywood formula. If you take the time to find all the hidden comedic gems Hot Fuzz has to offer, it just may the best movie you have seen, as it is mine. There is more than enough, though, for those expecting a dumb action comedy to have fun. But either way, we need more movies like this. We need more movies made by people who have a true passion for the art. More movies that are this multidimensional and that get all of them right. We need more movies like Hot Fuzz. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MaxC.Sep 7, 2007
This is a great movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. While being made by the same people as Shaun of the Dead, it is not the same kind of humor and really shouldn't be compared with. This is an english spoof of cop movies, while the other This is a great movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. While being made by the same people as Shaun of the Dead, it is not the same kind of humor and really shouldn't be compared with. This is an english spoof of cop movies, while the other is a spoof of zombie movies. Not exactly comparable. Anyway, see this movie and Shaun of the Dead, then the next movie they make, which I believe has something to do with a spoof of space invaders or something. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
abbylSep 3, 2007
This movie was so good and ridiculously funny.
4 of 4 users found this helpful
9
R.D.Aug 28, 2007
I only looked at my watch once when it started to drag slightly about 40 minutes from the end... at which point it ramped up steeply to a fantastic finish. Worth your attention. I rated Shaun of the Dead a "10".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeckyAug 21, 2007
When i saw this film, i laughed so hard i nearly cried. I love the whole plot and i loved to acting. This is easily one of my favorite films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StacyB.Aug 20, 2007
Wonderfully funny. I loved it. Not quite as good as Shaun but still enjoyable. Lots of wit!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RayS.Aug 19, 2007
This is a parody of action/buddy cop movies, along with references to other genres. It was consistently amusing, with a lot of dry British humor. Those giving the flick a low score just don't like parodies. Yes, the ending is over the This is a parody of action/buddy cop movies, along with references to other genres. It was consistently amusing, with a lot of dry British humor. Those giving the flick a low score just don't like parodies. Yes, the ending is over the top, but in a good way! Shaun of the Dead was a different parody, and the filmakers did not want to repeat themselves. With all the sequels out there it is refreshing to get an original film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WayneAug 10, 2007
The way they parodied themselves with reworking of jokes from "Shaun of the dead" is pure genius. Maybe more suited to UK sense of humour than USA but I'm sure most of the jokes carry across. BTW England isn't really like this film The way they parodied themselves with reworking of jokes from "Shaun of the dead" is pure genius. Maybe more suited to UK sense of humour than USA but I'm sure most of the jokes carry across. BTW England isn't really like this film LOL, well most of it isn't ;) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sanderv.Aug 6, 2007
Brilliant. Just brilliant. I told my wife about this film and she asked what kinda movie it was. Well, eh... it's a comedy, and a drama, and a thriller, a little bit of horor, a buddy movie, a cop spoof, an action flick and so on. Best Brilliant. Just brilliant. I told my wife about this film and she asked what kinda movie it was. Well, eh... it's a comedy, and a drama, and a thriller, a little bit of horor, a buddy movie, a cop spoof, an action flick and so on. Best thing released this year (at least). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveFAug 6, 2007
Hilariously over-the-top, but also subtle and inventive. I was expecting a (real) British Austin Powers, but got something brilliant. Definitely one-ups Shawn of the Dead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HM.Jul 31, 2007
This is far and away my favorite film of the year. It functions perfectly as action and comedy, and is both in-your-face and nuanced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricaPJul 30, 2007
I know it may be outrageous to say this, but I have to admit I enjoyed this movie a great deal more than I liked Shaun of the Dead. I found myself laughing till I hurt, 'aww'ing in all the right places, and leaving the movie with a I know it may be outrageous to say this, but I have to admit I enjoyed this movie a great deal more than I liked Shaun of the Dead. I found myself laughing till I hurt, 'aww'ing in all the right places, and leaving the movie with a great feeling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickF.Jul 16, 2007
By far the best & funniest movie of the year. I laughed so hard & so loud during this I'm sure I would have irritated the heck out of the rest of the theater - but they were all laughing with me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BitBurnJul 2, 2007
Hey Hollywood movie makers: watch and learn! Pure fun, adrenalized, great cast, hilarious, all the right ingredients for an entertaining night at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexG.Jul 2, 2007
This is a sophisticated and an authentic parody. The duo made it again, but with class and knowledge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielBJun 30, 2007
One of the best comedy movies make this year. If you haven't seen it then your really missing out, its serious and funny. Its the end was ok, but at least it ended properly unlike other movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamB.Jun 21, 2007
While not as good as Shaun of the Dead, of course what is, this was a blast although a bit slow at first.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DangdangJun 16, 2007
This movie is sooo funny. The story is very creative. I love this movie. Some woman sit in front of me couldn't stop laughing during the whole 2 hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RirenJun 15, 2007
Nowhere as creative a response to cop movies as Shaun of the Dead was to zombie movies, Hot Fuzz is still pretty funny. It could have survived shaving twenty minutes off, and there's a good deal of worthless and even annoying antagonism Nowhere as creative a response to cop movies as Shaun of the Dead was to zombie movies, Hot Fuzz is still pretty funny. It could have survived shaving twenty minutes off, and there's a good deal of worthless and even annoying antagonism and uncomfortability that doesn't need to be there and doesn't entertain, but the remaining film is quite amusing, with a familiar chemistry between the two lead cops and an irreverent spirit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ValS.Jun 8, 2007
It seems that Ted L doesn't understand satire otherwise he'd be laughing his head off with the rest of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FXTJun 5, 2007
Hilarious! From the begining to the end, a little gory at some points but british are used to this so it's ok. Waiting for some kind of seqwel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanP.May 23, 2007
Smashing! This movie blew me away because it was both funny and action-packed. Sure, "Shaun" was great too, but this was another step for British film-making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeG.May 21, 2007
The funniest movie of the year by far, British comedy has never been better! It is slightly boring in the middle, however the ending action sequence balances it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillB.May 21, 2007
This movie starts well, is enjoyable in the middle, and ends fantastically. Not only is there the fact that this movie was hilariously awesome, but it gives off a totally different and new vibe. And the fact that they touched on some old This movie starts well, is enjoyable in the middle, and ends fantastically. Not only is there the fact that this movie was hilariously awesome, but it gives off a totally different and new vibe. And the fact that they touched on some old jokes from shaun of the dead, made it that much more great. This movie was awesome and full of action, but it also mad me laugh hysterically. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.May 19, 2007
What if "Local Hero" was produced by Jerry Bruckenheimer? That's "Hot Fuzz" in a nutshell. Those cute Irish comedies about some small-town of eccentric provincial folks with their quaint crises will never be the same again after this What if "Local Hero" was produced by Jerry Bruckenheimer? That's "Hot Fuzz" in a nutshell. Those cute Irish comedies about some small-town of eccentric provincial folks with their quaint crises will never be the same again after this deadpan, then high burlesque send-up. Interestingly, the action-half of "Hot Fuzz" is so convincing, the testosterone bombast, which is prevalent in every film from Danny's DVD collection, becomes the very thing he cherishes and the filmmaker mocks. The final action-driven sequence seems to go on forever, just like your average Michael Bay-directed flick. "Hot Fuzz" is more of a homage, than a parody of Hollywood blockbusters. This comedy is grounded in a realism we're not accustomed to. The actors aren't aware they're in a comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricC.May 16, 2007
I'm a huge Shaun of the Dead fan, so I couldn't help but have high hopes for this movie, which reunited the two heros in a buddy cop flick. And while it almost never happens, my expectations were exceeded. Starts off slow, but once I'm a huge Shaun of the Dead fan, so I couldn't help but have high hopes for this movie, which reunited the two heros in a buddy cop flick. And while it almost never happens, my expectations were exceeded. Starts off slow, but once it starts gradually gaining speed, my god. Most fun movie I've seen since watching Anchorman in a crowded theater. And trust me, that's a huge compliment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonS.May 14, 2007
This is the best movie I have seen in a long time. The movie starts out with blantely hilarious stuff. Then you movie to the crime mystery part. Then you top it all off with the 45min of over the top action. This one of the best action I This is the best movie I have seen in a long time. The movie starts out with blantely hilarious stuff. Then you movie to the crime mystery part. Then you top it all off with the 45min of over the top action. This one of the best action I have watched. For those who did not like it why don Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RamzeezeB.May 13, 2007
It was really funny and great action. I highly recommend it. The only reason I gave it a 9 is because it wasn't as funny as I thought it would but it was still awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyW.May 12, 2007
It's hard to compare this movie to Shaun Of the Dead, because they're both on completely different levels. Yes, they're both smart, and at some occasions they're gorier, (mostly Shaun Of the Dead in particular), but the It's hard to compare this movie to Shaun Of the Dead, because they're both on completely different levels. Yes, they're both smart, and at some occasions they're gorier, (mostly Shaun Of the Dead in particular), but the plot to Hot Fuzz seems more consistent, as for some weird reason it actually keeps you guessing until the very end, in which most comedies these days fail. i've always thought Simon Pegg to be a genius, and I'm equally impressed with the writing for this movie. Overall, this could be one of the best comedies of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.May 12, 2007
What can I say but that this movie was the most brilliant comedy of the year thus far. I have not seen a comedy this smart since Little Miss Sunshine. Almost everything was spot on from the story line to the acting to the special effects. What can I say but that this movie was the most brilliant comedy of the year thus far. I have not seen a comedy this smart since Little Miss Sunshine. Almost everything was spot on from the story line to the acting to the special effects. [***WARNING POTENTIAL SPOILER****] Keep in mind it is a very slow but interesting build for about 4/5ths of the movie and then things really break loose, but this makes the absurdity all the more funny. Also it will help if you've seen a lot of cop movies before especially "Point Break", which was another great movie of a more serious vein. It seems the Brits have done it again. I cannot more heartily recommend this movie. Though it should be warned there is some gore and parents should be advised before taking the kiddies to see this one. In any case I consider this film a piece of art in my book. I was kind of surprised to see it in the major theaters. Maybe there is hope for pop culture after all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneS.May 12, 2007
This is a straight up a true action masterpiece!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattH.May 9, 2007
Whilst not capturing the success (crictially) of Shaun of the Dead, I believe the boys have done it again with a funny police comedy. Not hitting the heights of Shaun, this still has an intriging story and engaging characters. If Shaun was Whilst not capturing the success (crictially) of Shaun of the Dead, I believe the boys have done it again with a funny police comedy. Not hitting the heights of Shaun, this still has an intriging story and engaging characters. If Shaun was all about Simon Pegg, this is Nick Frosts's movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasH.May 7, 2007
Enjoyed shawn of the dead so much is was just great seeing most of the cast again in another strange and humorous farce.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickC.May 7, 2007
The funniest Comedy of the whole year. Following Shaun of the dead, gave me mixed feelings about this film. Shaun was very good but this film is much better. The film is one movie you must run to the theaters to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EthicsE.May 6, 2007
This movie is brilliant, when my buds and I came out of it we all agreed it evoked the same feeling as Shawn of the dead. I would say this movie is perfect and henceforth deserves the rating 10 out of 10.
1 of 2 users found this helpful