Rogue Pictures | Release Date: April 20, 2007
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 657 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
604
Mixed:
38
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
maxjFeb 11, 2009
Very funny and full of silly and fun action and an impressive storyline makes me want to watch it over and over again.
12 of 12 users found this helpful
10
TimBJun 30, 2008
Hot Fuzz will ruin the buddy-cop genre for you, and you'll love it for it. While it's not an amazing action film or an outstanding comedy of its own right, the way it blends the two into both an homage and a satire is brilliant. Hot Fuzz will ruin the buddy-cop genre for you, and you'll love it for it. While it's not an amazing action film or an outstanding comedy of its own right, the way it blends the two into both an homage and a satire is brilliant. Its characters, plot, setting, and style (especially its use of absurdly fast cuts, a la The Bourne series) all say "Isn't this awesome?" and "Isn't this stupid?" at once, and it's right about both. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
abbylSep 3, 2007
This movie was so good and ridiculously funny.
4 of 4 users found this helpful
9
MaxC.Sep 7, 2007
This is a great movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. While being made by the same people as Shaun of the Dead, it is not the same kind of humor and really shouldn't be compared with. This is an english spoof of cop movies, while the other This is a great movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. While being made by the same people as Shaun of the Dead, it is not the same kind of humor and really shouldn't be compared with. This is an english spoof of cop movies, while the other is a spoof of zombie movies. Not exactly comparable. Anyway, see this movie and Shaun of the Dead, then the next movie they make, which I believe has something to do with a spoof of space invaders or something. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MuttD.Feb 27, 2008
Incredible action comedy which manages to both lavish, lampoon, and love the genre while also managing to distinguish itself from it's counterparts.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
CraigAApr 10, 2008
Not as good as Shaun, but near perfection anyway.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JakeH.Jun 20, 2008
Awesome Movie!!! So funny and violent!
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
TheguyoffireMay 26, 2012
This movie is hilarious. Plot was top-notch. Great overall movie, and not to mention all the awesome deaths they filmed.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JacobS.Apr 30, 2007
I don't give out 10s lightly, but this film deserved. I literally could not stop laughing. I completely forgot about the popcorn I bought, and nearly busted a rib laughing. However, the 8 of us who went were pretty much the only ones I don't give out 10s lightly, but this film deserved. I literally could not stop laughing. I completely forgot about the popcorn I bought, and nearly busted a rib laughing. However, the 8 of us who went were pretty much the only ones making any noise, but we made a lot of it. I intend to watch this movie at least two more times in theatres, and will buy the DVD in an instant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JefframoneApr 21, 2007
Freakin' HILARIOUS! It pokes fun at how brainless and idiotic American action movies are without being brainless and idiotic itself. It's smart, it's quick (editing, not running time) and best of all funny as hell. I noticed Freakin' HILARIOUS! It pokes fun at how brainless and idiotic American action movies are without being brainless and idiotic itself. It's smart, it's quick (editing, not running time) and best of all funny as hell. I noticed that the only "bad" review it got was from "The Hollywood Reporter", which said "All the action is staged with energy, but it gets relentless without anything really funny going on." Nothing funny going on? Either this person did not even see this movie or he fell asleep. Or, and this is my guess, he is such stupid and numbed by what passes for a good movie by American standards, he didn't get that they were being spoofed. This movie is a great time. See it NOW! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CiaranG.Apr 21, 2007
As the movie progresses, it gets better and better (and crazier).
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
R.JonesApr 26, 2007
I was smiling the entire time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ItaiF.Apr 28, 2007
Love how they combined intense action with dry uproarious humor 2 thumbs up.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobR.May 1, 2007
This is (In my opinion) the BEST movie since Shaun of the Dead. Not only is it very funny throughout the movie, it also reminds you of what made shaun of the dead such a good movie, A GOOD STORY LINE. Very funny while having very serious This is (In my opinion) the BEST movie since Shaun of the Dead. Not only is it very funny throughout the movie, it also reminds you of what made shaun of the dead such a good movie, A GOOD STORY LINE. Very funny while having very serious scenes of action, and this movie was actually scary at times! Some may say that this is bold, but not only is this the best movie in 3 years, It may be the best movie I have ever seen! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArthurO.Sep 11, 2007
First of all, give this view at least a second viewing. Once you do that you can much better appreciate how great this movie is. I can easily see why some reviews have Hot Fuzz in the mediocre range. That's because this is a completely First of all, give this view at least a second viewing. Once you do that you can much better appreciate how great this movie is. I can easily see why some reviews have Hot Fuzz in the mediocre range. That's because this is a completely different sort of film than we are accustomed to in the US. Comedies are formulaic and you "feel" when they try to make you laugh, even when the jokes or gags don't hit. This gives the average person the impression that the movie is funnier than what they actually laugh at. Most of the humor in Hot Fuzz is done subtly. There are laughs to be had every minute of this movie when you understand why it is funny. Much of this subtly is hidden in the main storyline itself. Yes, the plot is believable as is the action. Many will say "that's impossible" several times. However, the plot walks a very delicate line between being a far fetched action plot and using considerable satire. It's the way that it mixes little satirical bits and other jokes you have to think about with slapstick and mindless comedy that makes it so funny. It's not just about the comedy, though. The action is always entertaining, especially the incredible last half hour. Entertaining and funny all the way through, the film still manages to craft genuine characters that you actually care about. The end also left me inspired more than the typical cliche Hollywood formula. If you take the time to find all the hidden comedic gems Hot Fuzz has to offer, it just may the best movie you have seen, as it is mine. There is more than enough, though, for those expecting a dumb action comedy to have fun. But either way, we need more movies like this. We need more movies made by people who have a true passion for the art. More movies that are this multidimensional and that get all of them right. We need more movies like Hot Fuzz. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
pulptikAug 14, 2010
One of the best movies i have ever watched. Definitely in my top 20. After a few years, it will probably lead its place to my top 10. Edgar's best movie, in my opinion.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BKLAug 14, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a very funny movie. I have to say it is a killer movie. It will give you reason to suggestion what it takes to be a cop in a small village called Sanford. This movie will give you the time of your life! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ManicMorrisAug 21, 2010
Actually one of the best action movies of all time whilst being one of the best Comedies of all time. Absolutely makes everything you see for a short while after seem boring. You'll watch it over and over again for its one-liners, greatActually one of the best action movies of all time whilst being one of the best Comedies of all time. Absolutely makes everything you see for a short while after seem boring. You'll watch it over and over again for its one-liners, great action sequences (especially at the end) and it's characters which include some of the best british talent ever seen in film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
muzzikloverMar 6, 2011
One of the best British films for quite some time. The second of the Blood And Ice Cream (Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg), first being Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz is the perfect parody of the buddy cop genre. Carefully paced story, brilliantlyOne of the best British films for quite some time. The second of the Blood And Ice Cream (Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg), first being Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz is the perfect parody of the buddy cop genre. Carefully paced story, brilliantly edited, solid acting and chemistry from Pegg and Frost and furthermore the jokes are everywhere and will keep you on your toes just to see what the joke was but you just subconsciously laugh at it without knowing. I could watch this again and again. It's too good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
nafeesSep 3, 2013
One of the best comedy ever. A landmark for Simon Pegg and Nick Frost. This movie definitely defined them. Hope they make more of this sort.
The cast is good. The acting is almost there. And over all Hilarious.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Noodle_BlogNov 7, 2010
Brilliant film, but it's not as good or funny as Shaun of the Dead. Hopefully the final one in the 'trilogy' will be the best. I'm struggling to get 150 chars here XD
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VelsuanAug 28, 2013
One of the best British film ever made! That's it. Spread the word! The script is brilliant, every word count, the acting is brilliant, every character is relevant. But.... just stop right here and watch this masterpiece right now. The storyOne of the best British film ever made! That's it. Spread the word! The script is brilliant, every word count, the acting is brilliant, every character is relevant. But.... just stop right here and watch this masterpiece right now. The story may seem slow within the first half hour, but the entire plot became soon extremely satisfying. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
"Hot Fuzz" blows off the movie core with mind-less action, agreeable humor (that has no penis jokes), and bad ass performances by Simon Pegg and Nick Frost. Every minute is a blast, every second is worth the watch.

! NOTE-I GAVE THE WRONG
"Hot Fuzz" blows off the movie core with mind-less action, agreeable humor (that has no penis jokes), and bad ass performances by Simon Pegg and Nick Frost. Every minute is a blast, every second is worth the watch.

! NOTE-I GAVE THE WRONG SCORE FOR THE FIRST ONE!
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
JamieC.Mar 9, 2009
This movie is cleverly written with great comedy and a unique plotline. Like no other movie out there. I've watched it several times and it gets better and better...
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
EthicsE.May 6, 2007
This movie is brilliant, when my buds and I came out of it we all agreed it evoked the same feeling as Shawn of the dead. I would say this movie is perfect and henceforth deserves the rating 10 out of 10.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DWillyApr 29, 2007
What a toad of a movie. Not really that awful, but I just got so tired of feeling obligated to find this funny because it's made by British people with above average I.Q.s I had to walk. There's certainly no real acting (even What a toad of a movie. Not really that awful, but I just got so tired of feeling obligated to find this funny because it's made by British people with above average I.Q.s I had to walk. There's certainly no real acting (even though they got lots of successful Brit character actors to drop by for a goof), there's no compelling characters and...oh, yeah... IT'S NOT FUNNY. Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful
5
CarolynM.Apr 23, 2007
Started out hilariously, in that dry English way, but deteriorated into a highly graphic and violent shoot-'em-up which--even though a satire--left our Virginia audience (1 week after Virginia Tech) stunned.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JohnT.Apr 30, 2007
It was not funny at any time during the movie. This should be classified as a manual boring body ache.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
3
RyencokeApr 24, 2007
Did I see the same movie as everyone else? This movie was not funny. It's nothing like Shaun of the Dead, and is really a very boring movie until the last 30 minutes. When I got out of the theater I had the worst head-ache from watching Did I see the same movie as everyone else? This movie was not funny. It's nothing like Shaun of the Dead, and is really a very boring movie until the last 30 minutes. When I got out of the theater I had the worst head-ache from watching this movie. I've never gotten a head-ache from watching a movie, reason being they change the camera angle every..3 seconds? maybe 2? If you're expecting Shaun of the Dead don't go. If you have very high expectations like I did. Don't go. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
ElliotP.May 20, 2007
You have to be able to appreciate English (i.e. sick Monty Python) humor to enjoy this movie.
0 of 3 users found this helpful