Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: March 26, 2010
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 265 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
153
Mixed:
73
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
The movie is sorta similar to "The Hangover" with its chronologically misplaced plot. But its surprisingly fun.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
RobMApr 20, 2010
Walked out. Loved The Hangover, but this was absolutely worthless.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RazvSep 22, 2010
Much better movie than i expected initially. Hilarious movie. Good jokes, funny actors, absolutely random but funny plot. A very interesting and funny comedy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Lambo442Jan 7, 2011
this film has all the makings of a timeless classic. A great cast, superb dialouge, great plot and an original atmosphere. It gets funnier every time you watch it. I had no idea it would become one of my favourite comedies when I firstthis film has all the makings of a timeless classic. A great cast, superb dialouge, great plot and an original atmosphere. It gets funnier every time you watch it. I had no idea it would become one of my favourite comedies when I first watched it, but it's really grown on me. So damn funny. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LondonTrueloveNov 10, 2010
One of my favorite movies of the year. Had a lot of hilarious moments and the characters were awesome, especially Lou. Made me want to go to a ski resort.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
FortinbrasNov 26, 2010
Hilarious. By the end you will be "Is that what were going with? Awesome!" At first I thought this would be serious about the issues with time traveling and then it so funny you don't care.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
DukeLMar 30, 2010
It's like The Godfather, Bonnie and Clyde, Star Wars, Pulp Fiction, Back to the Future and Jaws all in one movie. I'm kidding. It's a solid B. A lot funnier and crude than I thought it would be and I'm all the more It's like The Godfather, Bonnie and Clyde, Star Wars, Pulp Fiction, Back to the Future and Jaws all in one movie. I'm kidding. It's a solid B. A lot funnier and crude than I thought it would be and I'm all the more happier for it. Yes, there are some cliches, but the fun and humor definitely outweight it. Like an incomprehensible Chevy Chase and a cooky Crispen Glover in supporting roles. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
YourMotherApr 4, 2010
I laughed a few times, but there really wasn't any memorable moments. I think it was at least worth seeing for me, but never really wowed me like The Hangover did.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DavidSJun 12, 2010
The 80's references were cute and one or two jokes were kind of funny, but overall this thing was just awful. (spoiler ahead) And I am usually just offended by a final message saying "just be rich and things will work out great".
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MPVahalikSep 7, 2010
Not that funny. I laughed maybe once or twice the whole time. I had a friend tell me this was funnier then The Hangover. I no longer accept movie recommendations from this friend
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
StephenColbertOct 1, 2010
Just a generally poor movie. I didn't think the movie executed much of what it set out to do. The plot was weak. This of course was no surprise it is a movie about a Hot Tub Time Machine after all, but that set them up with a lot ofJust a generally poor movie. I didn't think the movie executed much of what it set out to do. The plot was weak. This of course was no surprise it is a movie about a Hot Tub Time Machine after all, but that set them up with a lot of potential and yet the movie still fell flat on its face. The movie pretty much just tries to live off of the 1980s nostalgia for teen movies. The sad thing is that its a worse picture than many of the 1980s teen comedies and that's saying something. Its raunchy, which can be ok, but this movies humor just generally fails. It certainly doesn't find the perfect match between raunchiness and laughs like a movie such as The Hangover or Superbad does. Overall unless your really in the right mind set for this movie it isn't worth your time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
randomdudeJun 7, 2011
Watchable, when you're bored off your ass, otherwise forget it.

I need 150 chars... here we go 12345678901234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
tarcottiMar 20, 2012
So, I was looking at different time travel films to watch, and I was appalled that this film has a 6.6 metascore. What the hell is wrong with society? This is just some raunchy, lazy, worthless piece of crap excuse for horny males. I mean,So, I was looking at different time travel films to watch, and I was appalled that this film has a 6.6 metascore. What the hell is wrong with society? This is just some raunchy, lazy, worthless piece of crap excuse for horny males. I mean, how many boobs, F* bombs and sex jokes does Hollywood need to make? This genre should be banned, its not art. Its CRAP. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Mr.BeelyApr 1, 2010
This movie was hilarious. I laughed from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KyleA.Apr 6, 2010
It was a very funny movie, many funny moments as with all of these kinds of movies, but I feel like they leave a lot of gaps in the story line and plot, such as you never find out what the "Great White Buffalo" is. But for a good, funny film It was a very funny movie, many funny moments as with all of these kinds of movies, but I feel like they leave a lot of gaps in the story line and plot, such as you never find out what the "Great White Buffalo" is. But for a good, funny film to see with your friends, I recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnCMar 26, 2010
Bad movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelDMar 26, 2010
I saw this movie 2-3 weeks ago at a screening, I was so excited for this movie and would talk about how funny and great it looked. I was incredibly disappointed. Even though the story isn't meant to make sense, you can't help I saw this movie 2-3 weeks ago at a screening, I was so excited for this movie and would talk about how funny and great it looked. I was incredibly disappointed. Even though the story isn't meant to make sense, you can't help yourself but cringe at how bad the story is. I get the fact it's supposed to be dumb, but It could have been dumb and great at the same time. You'll be cringing all the way through it based on how bad the story is put together, It just moves from one dick joke to another, then the movie is over. I'm 18, I love movies like that too, but this movie was shit. I laughed 2 or 3 times, but they were cheap laughs that were thrown at the audience to keep them interested, like unfair shock laughs. You wont be quoting this movie to friends, and you won't remember this movie a year from now. It's just a total waste of what talent the movie had to offer. Thank Christ I saw this movie for free, or else I'd be even more pissed off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GaryMar 26, 2010
Saw a late night screening last night, very funny. What crack me up even more are the actual
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkJ.Mar 27, 2010
Guys-only stupid movie comedies come in two flavors: stupid-stupid and smart-stupid. Stupid-stupid comedies are stupid movies made by stupid guys. Smart-stupid comedies are made by smart guys who get together and say, "HEY! Let's make a Guys-only stupid movie comedies come in two flavors: stupid-stupid and smart-stupid. Stupid-stupid comedies are stupid movies made by stupid guys. Smart-stupid comedies are made by smart guys who get together and say, "HEY! Let's make a really stupid gross-out movie that's makes us laugh." Think "Beerfest" vs. "The Hangover." "Hot Tub TIme Machine" is the latter. It makes guys laugh so hard we gag and wheeze, makes us feel vaguely ashamed at having such a good time and let's us ease our guilty consciences by saying, "It was just a stupid little gross-out laugh in the boys' room in between Marlboroughs." What's wrong with that? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CarlosMar 29, 2010
Relies heavily on cheap laughs, but does contain a few genuine lol moments. For mature audiences definitely, no 12 years old please.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Mar 30, 2010
Did black people really listen to Rick Springfield? Sure, they did. Unaware of the ostensible incongruity of his race and song selection, Nick(Craig Robinson) belts out "Jessie's Girl" before a ski resort audience, and probably means Did black people really listen to Rick Springfield? Sure, they did. Unaware of the ostensible incongruity of his race and song selection, Nick(Craig Robinson) belts out "Jessie's Girl" before a ski resort audience, and probably means every word of that chart-topping power-pop classic. Set ten years prior to the Telecommunications Act of 1996, "Hot Tub Time Machine" recalls an era in which niche marketing had less of a stranglehold on the music industry. By deregulating the airwaves, rock parted ways with soul, creating a musical segregation that, to this day, keeps all the genres in isolation from each other. But Nick lived through the eighties, so in spite of his Kid & Play hairdo, Nick's eighteen-year-old self was probably an anglophile, as well, which is hinted at by the straightaway older man's universal inquiry, "Where can I find a woman like that?" Such music cosmopolitanism can also be glimpsed in Dito Montiel's "A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints", where Robert Downey Jr.(as Montiel, reflecting back on his formative days spent in Astoria, New York circa 1986) marvels that Puerto Ricans had once listened to Journey. "Yo, Steve Perry is the s***!" proclaims one of the Latino youths. That's debatable. In my mind, Dave Wakeling of The English Beat was the s***. The inclusion of "Save it For Later" on the soundtrack was probably John Cusack's idea. (General Public's "Tenderness" is my favorite eighties song.) Although "Hot Tub Time Machine" disappointingly fails to detect "The Heart of Rock and Roll" in spite of its numerous "Back to the Future" references, the amiable enough film perfectly nails down the decade's tacky surfaces. If you want a love letter to Generation X: see Greg Mottola's "Adventureland" instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CaseyFApr 3, 2010
This made me laugh a hell of a lot more than The Hangover did. It was a screwy plot and it left a lot unanswered, but in this kind of movie you really just don't care. It's a feel good romp, one that left me thoroughly entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrandoApr 3, 2010
You'll get the most out of this movie by going in expecting exactly what the title offers. The comedy seems a little dated because of the success of The Hangover, but it offers a lot of laughs and brilliant cameos by Chase and Glover.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FatimaMApr 4, 2010
If you are between the ages of 33 and 55 and grew up in the United States, you must go see HOT TUB TIME MACHINE. I laughed the entire 1 hr and 45 min. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZinTMay 6, 2010
God damn awful. Like a bad version of the Hangover. It's like none of the jokes made the final cut. Half the time it was like the actors didn't even want to be there. CRAP.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KevMJun 11, 2010
Walked out. Insult to the genre and complete waste of time. It's biggest crime...not funny...at...all. I am completely baffled by the "professional" critics on this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
berbanJun 3, 2010
Better than I expected for a comedy of this caliber... but not too much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TeakWMar 26, 2010
Vulgar but utterly hilarious. The trailers really don't give it any justice. Don't miss this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Steve-OMar 27, 2010
I worked at a ski resort for 7 years in the 80's. This movie was made for and is about me. Ah...the mammeries...erm, memories! Best comedic movie since The Hangover.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CriticMar 27, 2010
going into it ii though it would suck much to my surprise it pretty funny now how am i gonna survive raw after wrestlemania.......
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamG.Mar 28, 2010
Way better than I initially thought. There's some gruesome humor, but it's nothing you're not used to! I'd say a must-see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MilesRMar 28, 2010
Overall, a decently funny movie. However, there are a few select scenes which will make your gut hurt, making the movie a must-see. The plot was weak, but it was meant to be a silly comedy, so it should be treated as such.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeBMar 29, 2010
Roger Ebert says that John Cusack has never made a bad movie. Has he ever seen 2012? If it's not merely "bad", then it's certainly "awful".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BoomSizzleMar 29, 2010
Wow...this movie sucked. Not funny all and super disjointed. It was disappointing because I love the cast. Not even close to being as funny as the Hangover or Superbad or something like that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidHillMar 29, 2010
It's just not that funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TheDudeApr 11, 2010
If you have a Pen15 or know someone who does, there is a good chance that you will get a decent number of laughs from this movie. Jerk-of-a-friend jokes are the name of the game here... the only disappointing part was that Chevy Chase had If you have a Pen15 or know someone who does, there is a good chance that you will get a decent number of laughs from this movie. Jerk-of-a-friend jokes are the name of the game here... the only disappointing part was that Chevy Chase had such a small role :( Anyway a run-through comedy which makes use of its time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
joseApr 2, 2010
Sorry but this movie just wasn't that great. It did have a few real funny scenes but compared to a movie like dumb and dumber it sucked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SaMoGuyApr 2, 2010
You will laugh often enough to justify the price of admission but you
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnthonyApr 3, 2010
It does what is intended. To Boom Sizzle, Superbad was an absolutely terrible movie..so this had no trouble living up to that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AronJ.Apr 5, 2010
Has potential to be a classic. It's a simple premise, a simple idea, a simple move, and I wouldn't have it any other way. Very well made, very well cast, very funny. I work at a theater, and sit in this movie all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CharlesDMay 16, 2010
I liked The Hangover, but this movie was just a gross, totally unfunny waste. I just cannot understand the 'critics' great reviews. That NY Times critic who gave this movie a 100 rating should be fired for total incompetence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mauriciolMay 31, 2010
Wow very good, it had the sam feeling as hangover and the plot was great, the was funny too , so i am saying that u have to watch it, especialy if u can relate to how things have changed in the last 20 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Meimi132/EmilyCMay 5, 2010
Enjoyed it immensely. Far more than I thought I would. Originally wanted to see it simply because I love John Cusack, and some of Pinks past movies(such as High Fidelity/Grosse Point Blank) and because of the insane title. But I was Enjoyed it immensely. Far more than I thought I would. Originally wanted to see it simply because I love John Cusack, and some of Pinks past movies(such as High Fidelity/Grosse Point Blank) and because of the insane title. But I was pleasantly surprised. Laughed ALOT. As did most of the cinema I was in, twas a preview showing, as its not out till Friday in the UK. I was surprised so many people were in there actually, I expected it almost completely empty. I'm not usually one for comedies with alot of gross-out stuff, but it was funny, cringeworthy in places, but funny enough to counter the cringe aspects of it lol Also, loved seeing Lizzy Caplan, as I always remember her fondly from Cloverfield :), and I knew that was the daughter from How I Met Your Mother!! Knew it! Actor-spotting is always fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiaCMar 26, 2010
Leave the DeLorean in the garage, get in the tub! GREAT MUSIC, INTERESTING CASTING, FUNNY & NEAT ENDING....left me HOPING for a sequel!!!!! Movie was a GREAT escape, lots of 80's inside jokes, I can't wait to get the soundtrack and Leave the DeLorean in the garage, get in the tub! GREAT MUSIC, INTERESTING CASTING, FUNNY & NEAT ENDING....left me HOPING for a sequel!!!!! Movie was a GREAT escape, lots of 80's inside jokes, I can't wait to get the soundtrack and I'm really hoping there's a sequel to really catch us up what happened when they altered the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeeR.Mar 26, 2010
Awesome, if your under 25 you might not understand some jokes but its awesome! SEE IT
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Mar 26, 2010
I thought it was a ten, not saying ten as in "art" but it entertains. There was so much funny stuff that I was pressed to remember it all afer the show :D
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DustyN.Mar 27, 2010
Hilarious. Rob Corddry makes this movie. Crispin Glover was great too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenKJ.Mar 27, 2010
Hot Tub Time Machine was much, MUCH funnier than I anticipated. I expected a mediocre movie in which I would force myself to laugh so that I didn't have to accept the fact that such a great concept had been ruined. Instead, I was Hot Tub Time Machine was much, MUCH funnier than I anticipated. I expected a mediocre movie in which I would force myself to laugh so that I didn't have to accept the fact that such a great concept had been ruined. Instead, I was treated to a laugh-a-minute, genuinely funny film where it seemed that the actors and writers were having just as much fun as they wanted the audience to. It greatly exceeded my expectations, and is one of the funniest movies I've seen in a long time. 9/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulA.Mar 27, 2010
I'm sorry, but anyone who says that this movie is anything less than greatness either has no sense of humor or really wasn't paying attention. If you're interested in story and character development go watch Precious or I'm sorry, but anyone who says that this movie is anything less than greatness either has no sense of humor or really wasn't paying attention. If you're interested in story and character development go watch Precious or something, because that's not what this movie is for. It's a tongue-in-cheek masterpiece that kept the audience in stitches the whole way through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LougleMar 28, 2010
This was real funny, but the pacing is off when it comes to the humor because the beginning of the movie before they enter the time machine is so funny and then the rest of it is good but not as good. Every scene with Lou is funny, and This was real funny, but the pacing is off when it comes to the humor because the beginning of the movie before they enter the time machine is so funny and then the rest of it is good but not as good. Every scene with Lou is funny, and I'm glad the writers didn't spend too much time as far as the love interest subplot with Adam went. I'd say you should see it because I don't think it would be as funny watching this as home than in the theater with friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveMar 29, 2010
Great movie, the lowest score it got was a 40 so even if u don't like it u wont be completely upset but if u like it you'll love it i laughed the whole movie at some pretty dirty jokes with mostly older people in the audience it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JayLApr 26, 2010
I wish a pox on anyone and everyone who made this dreadful, awful movie. Not funny, not once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TrickyMay 18, 2010
This is the first film I have ever walked out on. After over an hour we had not laughed once. Awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
aabender002Aug 11, 2010
While it may not resonate with viewers as well as 'The Hangover', 'Hot Tub Time Machine' is hilarious, raunchy comedy that is cut from similar cloth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
walrusgodAug 25, 2010
Hot Tub Time Machine suffers what I like to call "post-Hangover syndrome." The bar for R-rated comedies was raised by 2009's smash hit, and now movies like Hot Tub Time Machine, which are occasionally funny but madly inconsistent, have toHot Tub Time Machine suffers what I like to call "post-Hangover syndrome." The bar for R-rated comedies was raised by 2009's smash hit, and now movies like Hot Tub Time Machine, which are occasionally funny but madly inconsistent, have to suffer for it. Unfortunately, Hot Tub Time Machine falls into just about every problem a comedy can fall into (actors going through the motions, plot-hole filled storyline, lame ending), except that it manages to avoid the cardinal sin of being unfunny. The jokes aren't top notch, but there are some very funny moments. Sometimes it forgets that crude does not automatically equal funny, however, and it seems to wear pretty thin after the first hour or so. Probably worth at least a rental for those who like raunchy comedy, but those expecting any level of sophistication or the laugh-out-loud moments that were prevalent in The Hangover will be sorely disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
thelordoffilmAug 13, 2010
I thought this movie was a Hangover knock off but you know what it was just too damn funny for me to call it like that. Hold on I need my bright blue leg warmers to write this review. This movie has one of the funniest titles since Snakes onI thought this movie was a Hangover knock off but you know what it was just too damn funny for me to call it like that. Hold on I need my bright blue leg warmers to write this review. This movie has one of the funniest titles since Snakes on The Plane. The plot is as well pretty much ridiculous but what the hell letâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
a decent comody in the years of alot of epic fails . really the last decent comodey ive seen befor this film was the hang over . it seems like hollywood is getting less funny with there films as time goes by. it has some good funny moments toa decent comody in the years of alot of epic fails . really the last decent comodey ive seen befor this film was the hang over . it seems like hollywood is getting less funny with there films as time goes by. it has some good funny moments to it . the premise is rediculas but its a comodey so who cares right ? its worth a rental atleast but dont expect to be rolling on the floor laughing or any thing close to that. you will get some good laughs and some mild entertainment out of it . which for a rental i didnt think was so bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CoDFatherAug 14, 2010
This could've been John Cusack's best movie of all time. All the actors whose names you, just can't **** remember, outstanding humor that we all know and love. Even though it involves time- travel, which isn't a very good starting point, theThis could've been John Cusack's best movie of all time. All the actors whose names you, just can't **** remember, outstanding humor that we all know and love. Even though it involves time- travel, which isn't a very good starting point, the rest was hilarious and, that kind of stupid, that makes it even funnier, like Airplane!. The storyline, except the time travel part, is unpredictable and as funny as you will want it, if you have a sense of humor like me, or course. Filled with quotes and events you will bring up in conversations for the rest of the time that it takes this movie to be old crap of yesterdecade, or longer, if the good ratings of this movie reach out to the people begging for a good movie so much as to trust strangers on the internet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobFeb 19, 2015
Hot Time Machine is a movie that I’m surprised I enjoy as much as I do. The film can feel a little cheesy at times and some of the main characters aren’t interesting but I can see through that. The film uses time travel to do some niceHot Time Machine is a movie that I’m surprised I enjoy as much as I do. The film can feel a little cheesy at times and some of the main characters aren’t interesting but I can see through that. The film uses time travel to do some nice celebration of youth, the 80s, and making something of your life and is topped off with some good humor, mainly jokes related to time travel to the 80s and stuff. What makes the movie is Crispin Glover as the bell hop and Chevy Chase as the repair man. Some people may be put off by this film’s cheesy premise but for me I was able to have a lot more fun with the film than I was expecting. People of the 80s should definately give this one a watch as it will take you back. Don’t know if I’ll be able to say the same for the sequel but this film is good in my book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JustinSmithSep 26, 2010
Occasionally a comedy comes along that's so great, it's guaranteed to be enjoyed for generations to come. Hot Tub Time Machine is one such comedy, and it's earned its place among great comedies, as everyone in Hot Tub Time Machine is in topOccasionally a comedy comes along that's so great, it's guaranteed to be enjoyed for generations to come. Hot Tub Time Machine is one such comedy, and it's earned its place among great comedies, as everyone in Hot Tub Time Machine is in top form, and it shows as the laughs keep coming in this time-traveling bromance.
The plot is simple, Adam (John Cusack), Nick (Craig Robinson), and Lou (Rob Corddry) are best friends who have grown apart as adults, but after an alleged suicide attempt by Lou, their **** friend" (as Adam points out, every group has one), Adam and Nick (with Adam's nephew, Jacob (Clark Duke), in tow) decide it's time to revisit Kodiak Valley where they attended Winterfest in 1986. Their return visit initially produces a rundown town littered with closed businesses and an empty hot tub in their cabin. Once the hot tub is mysteriously fixed, filled, and operating, the guys hop in only to be taken back to the very night they hoped to relive, but there's a catch, the mysterious hot tub repair man (whom you'll recognize immediately) tells them they have to relive the night exactly as they did in 1986. This may sound as lame as the title, but the director, cast, and writers know what their doing and provide one of the most enjoyable comedies I've seen in a while.
The unrated version has enough boobs, barfing and bad behavior to go around, as Craig Robinson delivers a performance every bit as good as his roles in Pineapple Express (2008) and Zack and Miri Make a Porno (2008). Robinson has great comedic timing and always brightens up a scene. John Cusack has been hit and miss with me for years, but he shines here as Adam, whose recently single and lives with his nephew, Jacob, who never leaves the basement or the internet, at least until they go to Kodiak Valley. Speaking of Jacob, the young Clark Duke proves himself a force to be reckoned with, I expected him to be the weakest link, but in Hot Tub Time Machine, there is no weakest link and Duke holds his own among the more experienced actors. Rob Corddry has been showing up in various roles since gaining popularity on The Daily Show (1996), however, he's never been used to his full potential until now. Lou is the perfect fit for Corddry as he's able to cut loose with nothing to hold him back except himself. Lou's the **** friend to a tee, but we like him enough to want him to succeed.
It's no secret that I'm a huge fan of Crispin Glover, it's also no secret that Glover can deliver a performance like no other. His unmistakable appearance and willingness to go in any direction for a role, make him a constant joy while on screen. I won't give away the details of his character, except to say you won't be forgetting Phil anytime soon.
Hot Tub Time Machine is bromance comedy through and through, and beneath all the "dick and fart" jokes, there's a solid message about lifelong friendships and how important it is to maintain them in your adult life, even if one of those friends can be difficult at times. Now, if you'll excuse me, I have an old **** friend" to call.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KandraaOct 7, 2010
The trailers made this movie look unfunny and lame but when I saw it I was actually surprised to see that it actually was funny. Even though some parts were lame it was an all around good movie. I was very entertained. I've heard lots ofThe trailers made this movie look unfunny and lame but when I saw it I was actually surprised to see that it actually was funny. Even though some parts were lame it was an all around good movie. I was very entertained. I've heard lots of people complain about how they did not explain enough of the inside joke like "the great white buffalo" but for me that didn't ruin it and left more for the imgination. I thought this movie hada life is good parkty hard kind of mood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerFeb 20, 2015
The absurd plot centered centered around going sent back in time by a hot tub leads to a very funny comedy. It relies on familiar themes like not letting the past define you and to keep your best friends close, but the intelligent "dumb"The absurd plot centered centered around going sent back in time by a hot tub leads to a very funny comedy. It relies on familiar themes like not letting the past define you and to keep your best friends close, but the intelligent "dumb" humor keeps things fun and most importantly hilarious. The cast works well together and the laughs just keep on coming. A hilarious comedy I highly recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MichaelDApr 10, 2011
I only could watch 20 minutes of this so from what I've watched, there pretty much is only one word to describe this film: DIRTY.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheRobotGuyJul 25, 2012
I don't ask for much when it comes to comedies. All I want is for it to make me laugh. I don't care about the plots or character development, I just want to laugh. That's exactly what I got with Hot Tub Time Machine. Some of the jokes wereI don't ask for much when it comes to comedies. All I want is for it to make me laugh. I don't care about the plots or character development, I just want to laugh. That's exactly what I got with Hot Tub Time Machine. Some of the jokes were really clever and the time period helped define these jokes. I also loved the on running joke about how the porter lost his arm. It's not a great film, but it did exactly what I wanted, so I'm happy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheChaser1985May 13, 2012
There were some pretty funny parts, but a lot of boring moments. The characters were well done though, so that keeps you interested. Kind of a boring ending, but good enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
rotkuSep 19, 2011
Disappointing and unfunny movie which doesn't work. Why John Cusack wasted his talent on this rubbish baffles me, he must have owed somebody a big favour!!! The only saving grace was the performance of Rob Corddry as Lou who at least gave meDisappointing and unfunny movie which doesn't work. Why John Cusack wasted his talent on this rubbish baffles me, he must have owed somebody a big favour!!! The only saving grace was the performance of Rob Corddry as Lou who at least gave me some reason to chuckle and stopped me from hitting the off button. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
drlowdonMay 25, 2013
Three old friends (Adam, Nick and Lou) along with Adams nephew find themselves transported back to 1986 thanks to an incident involving a banned Russian energy drink and a hot tub. At first they determine not to do anything that will affectThree old friends (Adam, Nick and Lou) along with Adams nephew find themselves transported back to 1986 thanks to an incident involving a banned Russian energy drink and a hot tub. At first they determine not to do anything that will affect their futures but soon realize that maybe they have been given an opportunity to change things for the better.

Exploring many of the same concepts it is difficult not to be constantly reminded of the classic sci-fi comedy Back to the Future and in this regard there really is no comparison. While Hot Tub Time Machine may falter in terms of originality and pacing however it certainly has a good enough cast and enough genuinely funny moments to make for a fairly entertaining watch for the majority of its running time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lovemusicMay 15, 2011
hilarious. this movie had me crying. it was so funny. if you hated this movie you have no sense of humor. it was funny and good. hahahahahahahahahahahaah lou was my favorite character. funny as ****
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
davenbettridgeFeb 5, 2012
Too make up for an unfunny script the film makers had to resort to cheap swearing, sexual innuendo and cheap jokes for no purpose other than to make up for a lack of substance... this is the definition of a BAD MOVIE. Pass on this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LevelsAndGearDec 27, 2011
"Hot Tub Time Machine" Brief Review - B!

I was really looking forward to this movie from the first time I saw the absurd trailer and the ridiculous concept - I knew it was going to be silly fun. I was not disappointed - aimed primarily at
"Hot Tub Time Machine" Brief Review - B!

I was really looking forward to this movie from the first time I saw the absurd trailer and the ridiculous concept - I knew it was going to be silly fun. I was not disappointed - aimed primarily at your 40ish crowd, this silly Time Travel comedy delivers pretty much what you expect from a movie named Hot Tub Time Machine. Silly laughs, retro gags and jokes, and a buddy movie plot from a different era. The acting and characters were all great, and the bottom line is I had fun while watching it. Not as memorable as movies like Anchorman or the Hangover, still a fun movie to watch and hey - No movie with "Once in A Lifetime" by Talking Heads can be that bad. So if you know what you're getting into, there's definitely a lot of fun to be had. I give it a B!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
J-ShapAug 28, 2011
Hot Tub Time Machine is the ideal example of a movie that you like in spite of yourself, it applies to all the lowest forms of comedy and half-assed homage, but succeeds simply as a laugh generator due to its own enthusiasm and confidence inHot Tub Time Machine is the ideal example of a movie that you like in spite of yourself, it applies to all the lowest forms of comedy and half-assed homage, but succeeds simply as a laugh generator due to its own enthusiasm and confidence in itself to be such. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hoops2448Feb 2, 2012
Hot Tub Time Machine not only understands what is needed from an adult comedy, it doesnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
rhyme4freedom5Oct 2, 2011
simply hilarious! very clever script and the cast is epic. the only thing that buged me was snowboarding was invented in like 82 and this movie took place in 86 and one of the ski patrol men asked "Whats that plank thing that guy is on?" theysimply hilarious! very clever script and the cast is epic. the only thing that buged me was snowboarding was invented in like 82 and this movie took place in 86 and one of the ski patrol men asked "Whats that plank thing that guy is on?" they wouldve known what a snowboard is after 4 years.... that just me being me though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jefflyn90Jun 3, 2012
The 80s weren't nice but for movie comedies they were great, hot tub time machine brings us back to that experience. This movie shows that R-rated comedies is what we want. The story works beautifully and the jokes are almost always veryThe 80s weren't nice but for movie comedies they were great, hot tub time machine brings us back to that experience. This movie shows that R-rated comedies is what we want. The story works beautifully and the jokes are almost always very funny. The big win tough is the cast.... there great to say the least. Of course not everything is so great there are a couple of lines which are a bit misplaced but all-in-all its fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TTW107Feb 10, 2012
Hilarious! Stupid premise but that's the god damned point people. Everything from the really cool opening credits to the getting f*cked up scene in the hot tub right onto the closing credits is enjoyable. Don't try and take it seriously, just enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Hot Tub Time Machine attempts to make a decent film strictly out of outrageousness. The film is lazy and, at no surprise, unfunny. Uneven and not worth following these boys back in time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Aug 24, 2012
I thought the film would be fairly rubbish, but despite having been born in the 90s, this film was fantastic. It had me yearning for the 80s.I have watched it several times and I feel that the first viewing doesn't do it justice. I canI thought the film would be fairly rubbish, but despite having been born in the 90s, this film was fantastic. It had me yearning for the 80s.I have watched it several times and I feel that the first viewing doesn't do it justice. I can understand people who wouldn't like the film as well as those who will love it. For me, I'm kind of in the middle but leaning more towards the 'love it' side. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Follows a Hangover type plot with a Hangover type cast. The script is, unfortunately the only thing about Hot Tub Time Machine that doesn't echo The Hangover, but hey- it's still funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It may be a tad silly, but "Hot Tub Time Machine" is also supremely funny and contains a hefty amount of charming nods to a fun decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Hot Tub Time Machine is a average movie this is the 3rd time i have watched it now and i can say that its not really that bad but its not that good either. Some of the jokes are funny while some dont fit and feel forced. I like the castHot Tub Time Machine is a average movie this is the 3rd time i have watched it now and i can say that its not really that bad but its not that good either. Some of the jokes are funny while some dont fit and feel forced. I like the cast though John Cusack, Craig Robinson, Rob Corddry, Lizzy Caplan, Clark Duke, Chevy Chase as the hot tub repairman was great. The running gag throught the movie is Phil(Crispin Glover) an employee of the resort town they visit gets himslef into sitations where his arm might get chopped off i did find that pretty funny especially when it finally does it chopped off. I did enjoy the movie but its difinitely a movie you would put on for background noise or if someone likes 80's films and hasnt seen it.

Overall i give it a 6.5 i didnt really think i was going to like this movie when i first seen it but i was surprise that it wasnt has bad as i thought it was going to be. Still though i dont know why Hollywood thinks making a sequel is a good idea oh well lastest news is that the sequel is coming out in December this year.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
This film might have a promising idea, but most of the potential is wasted on unoriginal and stupid gags that just get worse as the movie progresses. This makes it just become more and more desperate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
keemtDec 30, 2015
This movie is funny but above all it has the greatest energy and it has a heart to the story that is rarely paralleled. And those END CREDITS !!!! If you don't feel deeply connected to this movie, then unfortunately you probably will in theThis movie is funny but above all it has the greatest energy and it has a heart to the story that is rarely paralleled. And those END CREDITS !!!! If you don't feel deeply connected to this movie, then unfortunately you probably will in the next ten years, but that's why it's great. This movie has love, heartbreak, time-travel, failure, sex, redemption, breasts, and memories that characters can't forget. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMar 17, 2017
The premise was silly and the movie was, overall, not that funny, but it sure was entertaining and it was fun to watch. It's definitely not one of the greatest comedy around, but it's entertaining and it will pass the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews