Hot Tub Time Machine

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 258

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    The movie is sorta similar to "The Hangover" with its chronologically misplaced plot. But its surprisingly fun.
  2. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    Much better movie than i expected initially. Hilarious movie. Good jokes, funny actors, absolutely random but funny plot. A very interesting and funny comedy.
  3. Jan 7, 2011
    9
    this film has all the makings of a timeless classic. A great cast, superb dialouge, great plot and an original atmosphere. It gets funnier every time you watch it. I had no idea it would become one of my favourite comedies when I first watched it, but it's really grown on me. So damn funny.
  4. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite movies of the year. Had a lot of hilarious moments and the characters were awesome, especially Lou. Made me want to go to a ski resort.
  5. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Hilarious. By the end you will be "Is that what were going with? Awesome!" At first I thought this would be serious about the issues with time traveling and then it so funny you don't care.
  6. DukeL
    Mar 30, 2010
    8
    It's like The Godfather, Bonnie and Clyde, Star Wars, Pulp Fiction, Back to the Future and Jaws all in one movie. I'm kidding. It's a solid B. A lot funnier and crude than I thought it would be and I'm all the more happier for it. Yes, there are some cliches, but the fun and humor definitely outweight it. Like an incomprehensible Chevy Chase and a cooky Crispen Glover It's like The Godfather, Bonnie and Clyde, Star Wars, Pulp Fiction, Back to the Future and Jaws all in one movie. I'm kidding. It's a solid B. A lot funnier and crude than I thought it would be and I'm all the more happier for it. Yes, there are some cliches, but the fun and humor definitely outweight it. Like an incomprehensible Chevy Chase and a cooky Crispen Glover in supporting roles. Expand
  7. Mr.Beely
    Apr 1, 2010
    10
    This movie was hilarious. I laughed from start to finish.
  8. KyleA.
    Apr 6, 2010
    8
    It was a very funny movie, many funny moments as with all of these kinds of movies, but I feel like they leave a lot of gaps in the story line and plot, such as you never find out what the "Great White Buffalo" is. But for a good, funny film to see with your friends, I recommend it.
  9. Gary
    Mar 26, 2010
    8
    Saw a late night screening last night, very funny. What crack me up even more are the actual
  10. MarkJ.
    Mar 27, 2010
    8
    Guys-only stupid movie comedies come in two flavors: stupid-stupid and smart-stupid. Stupid-stupid comedies are stupid movies made by stupid guys. Smart-stupid comedies are made by smart guys who get together and say, "HEY! Let's make a really stupid gross-out movie that's makes us laugh." Think "Beerfest" vs. "The Hangover." "Hot Tub TIme Machine" is the latter. It makes guys Guys-only stupid movie comedies come in two flavors: stupid-stupid and smart-stupid. Stupid-stupid comedies are stupid movies made by stupid guys. Smart-stupid comedies are made by smart guys who get together and say, "HEY! Let's make a really stupid gross-out movie that's makes us laugh." Think "Beerfest" vs. "The Hangover." "Hot Tub TIme Machine" is the latter. It makes guys laugh so hard we gag and wheeze, makes us feel vaguely ashamed at having such a good time and let's us ease our guilty consciences by saying, "It was just a stupid little gross-out laugh in the boys' room in between Marlboroughs." What's wrong with that? Expand
  11. Carlos
    Mar 29, 2010
    7
    Relies heavily on cheap laughs, but does contain a few genuine lol moments. For mature audiences definitely, no 12 years old please.
  12. ChadS.
    Mar 30, 2010
    7
    Did black people really listen to Rick Springfield? Sure, they did. Unaware of the ostensible incongruity of his race and song selection, Nick(Craig Robinson) belts out "Jessie's Girl" before a ski resort audience, and probably means every word of that chart-topping power-pop classic. Set ten years prior to the Telecommunications Act of 1996, "Hot Tub Time Machine" recalls an era in Did black people really listen to Rick Springfield? Sure, they did. Unaware of the ostensible incongruity of his race and song selection, Nick(Craig Robinson) belts out "Jessie's Girl" before a ski resort audience, and probably means every word of that chart-topping power-pop classic. Set ten years prior to the Telecommunications Act of 1996, "Hot Tub Time Machine" recalls an era in which niche marketing had less of a stranglehold on the music industry. By deregulating the airwaves, rock parted ways with soul, creating a musical segregation that, to this day, keeps all the genres in isolation from each other. But Nick lived through the eighties, so in spite of his Kid & Play hairdo, Nick's eighteen-year-old self was probably an anglophile, as well, which is hinted at by the straightaway older man's universal inquiry, "Where can I find a woman like that?" Such music cosmopolitanism can also be glimpsed in Dito Montiel's "A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints", where Robert Downey Jr.(as Montiel, reflecting back on his formative days spent in Astoria, New York circa 1986) marvels that Puerto Ricans had once listened to Journey. "Yo, Steve Perry is the s***!" proclaims one of the Latino youths. That's debatable. In my mind, Dave Wakeling of The English Beat was the s***. The inclusion of "Save it For Later" on the soundtrack was probably John Cusack's idea. (General Public's "Tenderness" is my favorite eighties song.) Although "Hot Tub Time Machine" disappointingly fails to detect "The Heart of Rock and Roll" in spite of its numerous "Back to the Future" references, the amiable enough film perfectly nails down the decade's tacky surfaces. If you want a love letter to Generation X: see Greg Mottola's "Adventureland" instead. Expand
  13. CaseyF
    Apr 3, 2010
    10
    This made me laugh a hell of a lot more than The Hangover did. It was a screwy plot and it left a lot unanswered, but in this kind of movie you really just don't care. It's a feel good romp, one that left me thoroughly entertained.
  14. Brando
    Apr 3, 2010
    8
    You'll get the most out of this movie by going in expecting exactly what the title offers. The comedy seems a little dated because of the success of The Hangover, but it offers a lot of laughs and brilliant cameos by Chase and Glover.
  15. FatimaM
    Apr 4, 2010
    10
    If you are between the ages of 33 and 55 and grew up in the United States, you must go see HOT TUB TIME MACHINE. I laughed the entire 1 hr and 45 min. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.
  16. TeakW
    Mar 26, 2010
    9
    Vulgar but utterly hilarious. The trailers really don't give it any justice. Don't miss this movie.
  17. Steve-O
    Mar 27, 2010
    9
    I worked at a ski resort for 7 years in the 80's. This movie was made for and is about me. Ah...the mammeries...erm, memories! Best comedic movie since The Hangover.
  18. Critic
    Mar 27, 2010
    8
    going into it ii though it would suck much to my surprise it pretty funny now how am i gonna survive raw after wrestlemania.......
  19. AdamG.
    Mar 28, 2010
    8
    Way better than I initially thought. There's some gruesome humor, but it's nothing you're not used to! I'd say a must-see.
  20. MilesR
    Mar 28, 2010
    7
    Overall, a decently funny movie. However, there are a few select scenes which will make your gut hurt, making the movie a must-see. The plot was weak, but it was meant to be a silly comedy, so it should be treated as such.
  21. MikeB
    Mar 29, 2010
    7
    Roger Ebert says that John Cusack has never made a bad movie. Has he ever seen 2012? If it's not merely "bad", then it's certainly "awful".
  22. Anthony
    Apr 3, 2010
    8
    It does what is intended. To Boom Sizzle, Superbad was an absolutely terrible movie..so this had no trouble living up to that.
  23. AronJ.
    Apr 5, 2010
    8
    Has potential to be a classic. It's a simple premise, a simple idea, a simple move, and I wouldn't have it any other way. Very well made, very well cast, very funny. I work at a theater, and sit in this movie all time.
  24. mauriciol
    May 31, 2010
    10
    Wow very good, it had the sam feeling as hangover and the plot was great, the was funny too , so i am saying that u have to watch it, especialy if u can relate to how things have changed in the last 20 years.
  25. Meimi132/EmilyC
    May 5, 2010
    9
    Enjoyed it immensely. Far more than I thought I would. Originally wanted to see it simply because I love John Cusack, and some of Pinks past movies(such as High Fidelity/Grosse Point Blank) and because of the insane title. But I was pleasantly surprised. Laughed ALOT. As did most of the cinema I was in, twas a preview showing, as its not out till Friday in the UK. I was surprised so many Enjoyed it immensely. Far more than I thought I would. Originally wanted to see it simply because I love John Cusack, and some of Pinks past movies(such as High Fidelity/Grosse Point Blank) and because of the insane title. But I was pleasantly surprised. Laughed ALOT. As did most of the cinema I was in, twas a preview showing, as its not out till Friday in the UK. I was surprised so many people were in there actually, I expected it almost completely empty. I'm not usually one for comedies with alot of gross-out stuff, but it was funny, cringeworthy in places, but funny enough to counter the cringe aspects of it lol Also, loved seeing Lizzy Caplan, as I always remember her fondly from Cloverfield :), and I knew that was the daughter from How I Met Your Mother!! Knew it! Actor-spotting is always fun. Expand
  26. MiaC
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Leave the DeLorean in the garage, get in the tub! GREAT MUSIC, INTERESTING CASTING, FUNNY & NEAT ENDING....left me HOPING for a sequel!!!!! Movie was a GREAT escape, lots of 80's inside jokes, I can't wait to get the soundtrack and I'm really hoping there's a sequel to really catch us up what happened when they altered the future.
  27. DeeR.
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Awesome, if your under 25 you might not understand some jokes but its awesome! SEE IT
  28. SimonM.
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    I thought it was a ten, not saying ten as in "art" but it entertains. There was so much funny stuff that I was pressed to remember it all afer the show :D
  29. DustyN.
    Mar 27, 2010
    9
    Hilarious. Rob Corddry makes this movie. Crispin Glover was great too.
  30. BenKJ.
    Mar 27, 2010
    9
    Hot Tub Time Machine was much, MUCH funnier than I anticipated. I expected a mediocre movie in which I would force myself to laugh so that I didn't have to accept the fact that such a great concept had been ruined. Instead, I was treated to a laugh-a-minute, genuinely funny film where it seemed that the actors and writers were having just as much fun as they wanted the audience to. Hot Tub Time Machine was much, MUCH funnier than I anticipated. I expected a mediocre movie in which I would force myself to laugh so that I didn't have to accept the fact that such a great concept had been ruined. Instead, I was treated to a laugh-a-minute, genuinely funny film where it seemed that the actors and writers were having just as much fun as they wanted the audience to. It greatly exceeded my expectations, and is one of the funniest movies I've seen in a long time. 9/10 Expand
  31. PaulA.
    Mar 27, 2010
    10
    I'm sorry, but anyone who says that this movie is anything less than greatness either has no sense of humor or really wasn't paying attention. If you're interested in story and character development go watch Precious or something, because that's not what this movie is for. It's a tongue-in-cheek masterpiece that kept the audience in stitches the whole way through.
  32. Lougle
    Mar 28, 2010
    8
    This was real funny, but the pacing is off when it comes to the humor because the beginning of the movie before they enter the time machine is so funny and then the rest of it is good but not as good. Every scene with Lou is funny, and I'm glad the writers didn't spend too much time as far as the love interest subplot with Adam went. I'd say you should see it because I This was real funny, but the pacing is off when it comes to the humor because the beginning of the movie before they enter the time machine is so funny and then the rest of it is good but not as good. Every scene with Lou is funny, and I'm glad the writers didn't spend too much time as far as the love interest subplot with Adam went. I'd say you should see it because I don't think it would be as funny watching this as home than in the theater with friends. Expand
  33. Dave
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    Great movie, the lowest score it got was a 40 so even if u don't like it u wont be completely upset but if u like it you'll love it i laughed the whole movie at some pretty dirty jokes with mostly older people in the audience it was great.
  34. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    While it may not resonate with viewers as well as 'The Hangover', 'Hot Tub Time Machine' is hilarious, raunchy comedy that is cut from similar cloth.
  35. Aug 13, 2010
    7
    I thought this movie was a Hangover knock off but you know what it was just too damn funny for me to call it like that. Hold on I need my bright blue leg warmers to write this review. This movie has one of the funniest titles since Snakes on The Plane. The plot is as well pretty much ridiculous but what the hell letâ
  36. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This could've been John Cusack's best movie of all time. All the actors whose names you, just can't **** remember, outstanding humor that we all know and love. Even though it involves time- travel, which isn't a very good starting point, the rest was hilarious and, that kind of stupid, that makes it even funnier, like Airplane!. The storyline, except the time travel part, is unpredictableThis could've been John Cusack's best movie of all time. All the actors whose names you, just can't **** remember, outstanding humor that we all know and love. Even though it involves time- travel, which isn't a very good starting point, the rest was hilarious and, that kind of stupid, that makes it even funnier, like Airplane!. The storyline, except the time travel part, is unpredictable and as funny as you will want it, if you have a sense of humor like me, or course. Filled with quotes and events you will bring up in conversations for the rest of the time that it takes this movie to be old crap of yesterdecade, or longer, if the good ratings of this movie reach out to the people begging for a good movie so much as to trust strangers on the internet. Expand
  37. Feb 19, 2015
    7
    Hot Time Machine is a movie that I’m surprised I enjoy as much as I do. The film can feel a little cheesy at times and some of the main characters aren’t interesting but I can see through that. The film uses time travel to do some nice celebration of youth, the 80s, and making something of your life and is topped off with some good humor, mainly jokes related to time travel to the 80s andHot Time Machine is a movie that I’m surprised I enjoy as much as I do. The film can feel a little cheesy at times and some of the main characters aren’t interesting but I can see through that. The film uses time travel to do some nice celebration of youth, the 80s, and making something of your life and is topped off with some good humor, mainly jokes related to time travel to the 80s and stuff. What makes the movie is Crispin Glover as the bell hop and Chevy Chase as the repair man. Some people may be put off by this film’s cheesy premise but for me I was able to have a lot more fun with the film than I was expecting. People of the 80s should definately give this one a watch as it will take you back. Don’t know if I’ll be able to say the same for the sequel but this film is good in my book. Expand
  38. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    Occasionally a comedy comes along that's so great, it's guaranteed to be enjoyed for generations to come. Hot Tub Time Machine is one such comedy, and it's earned its place among great comedies, as everyone in Hot Tub Time Machine is in top form, and it shows as the laughs keep coming in this time-traveling bromance.
    The plot is simple, Adam (John Cusack), Nick (Craig Robinson), and Lou
    Occasionally a comedy comes along that's so great, it's guaranteed to be enjoyed for generations to come. Hot Tub Time Machine is one such comedy, and it's earned its place among great comedies, as everyone in Hot Tub Time Machine is in top form, and it shows as the laughs keep coming in this time-traveling bromance.
    The plot is simple, Adam (John Cusack), Nick (Craig Robinson), and Lou (Rob Corddry) are best friends who have grown apart as adults, but after an alleged suicide attempt by Lou, their **** friend" (as Adam points out, every group has one), Adam and Nick (with Adam's nephew, Jacob (Clark Duke), in tow) decide it's time to revisit Kodiak Valley where they attended Winterfest in 1986. Their return visit initially produces a rundown town littered with closed businesses and an empty hot tub in their cabin. Once the hot tub is mysteriously fixed, filled, and operating, the guys hop in only to be taken back to the very night they hoped to relive, but there's a catch, the mysterious hot tub repair man (whom you'll recognize immediately) tells them they have to relive the night exactly as they did in 1986. This may sound as lame as the title, but the director, cast, and writers know what their doing and provide one of the most enjoyable comedies I've seen in a while.
    The unrated version has enough boobs, barfing and bad behavior to go around, as Craig Robinson delivers a performance every bit as good as his roles in Pineapple Express (2008) and Zack and Miri Make a Porno (2008). Robinson has great comedic timing and always brightens up a scene. John Cusack has been hit and miss with me for years, but he shines here as Adam, whose recently single and lives with his nephew, Jacob, who never leaves the basement or the internet, at least until they go to Kodiak Valley. Speaking of Jacob, the young Clark Duke proves himself a force to be reckoned with, I expected him to be the weakest link, but in Hot Tub Time Machine, there is no weakest link and Duke holds his own among the more experienced actors. Rob Corddry has been showing up in various roles since gaining popularity on The Daily Show (1996), however, he's never been used to his full potential until now. Lou is the perfect fit for Corddry as he's able to cut loose with nothing to hold him back except himself. Lou's the **** friend to a tee, but we like him enough to want him to succeed.
    It's no secret that I'm a huge fan of Crispin Glover, it's also no secret that Glover can deliver a performance like no other. His unmistakable appearance and willingness to go in any direction for a role, make him a constant joy while on screen. I won't give away the details of his character, except to say you won't be forgetting Phil anytime soon.
    Hot Tub Time Machine is bromance comedy through and through, and beneath all the "dick and fart" jokes, there's a solid message about lifelong friendships and how important it is to maintain them in your adult life, even if one of those friends can be difficult at times. Now, if you'll excuse me, I have an old **** friend" to call.
    Expand
  39. Oct 7, 2010
    7
    The trailers made this movie look unfunny and lame but when I saw it I was actually surprised to see that it actually was funny. Even though some parts were lame it was an all around good movie. I was very entertained. I've heard lots of people complain about how they did not explain enough of the inside joke like "the great white buffalo" but for me that didn't ruin it and left more forThe trailers made this movie look unfunny and lame but when I saw it I was actually surprised to see that it actually was funny. Even though some parts were lame it was an all around good movie. I was very entertained. I've heard lots of people complain about how they did not explain enough of the inside joke like "the great white buffalo" but for me that didn't ruin it and left more for the imgination. I thought this movie hada life is good parkty hard kind of mood. Expand
  40. Feb 20, 2015
    9
    The absurd plot centered centered around going sent back in time by a hot tub leads to a very funny comedy. It relies on familiar themes like not letting the past define you and to keep your best friends close, but the intelligent "dumb" humor keeps things fun and most importantly hilarious. The cast works well together and the laughs just keep on coming. A hilarious comedy I highly recommend.
  41. Jul 25, 2012
    7
    I don't ask for much when it comes to comedies. All I want is for it to make me laugh. I don't care about the plots or character development, I just want to laugh. That's exactly what I got with Hot Tub Time Machine. Some of the jokes were really clever and the time period helped define these jokes. I also loved the on running joke about how the porter lost his arm. It's not a great film,I don't ask for much when it comes to comedies. All I want is for it to make me laugh. I don't care about the plots or character development, I just want to laugh. That's exactly what I got with Hot Tub Time Machine. Some of the jokes were really clever and the time period helped define these jokes. I also loved the on running joke about how the porter lost his arm. It's not a great film, but it did exactly what I wanted, so I'm happy. Collapse
  42. May 15, 2011
    9
    hilarious. this movie had me crying. it was so funny. if you hated this movie you have no sense of humor. it was funny and good. hahahahahahahahahahahaah lou was my favorite character. funny as ****
  43. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    "Hot Tub Time Machine" Brief Review - B!

    I was really looking forward to this movie from the first time I saw the absurd trailer and the ridiculous concept - I knew it was going to be silly fun. I was not disappointed - aimed primarily at your 40ish crowd, this silly Time Travel comedy delivers pretty much what you expect from a movie named Hot Tub Time Machine. Silly laughs, retro gags
    "Hot Tub Time Machine" Brief Review - B!

    I was really looking forward to this movie from the first time I saw the absurd trailer and the ridiculous concept - I knew it was going to be silly fun. I was not disappointed - aimed primarily at your 40ish crowd, this silly Time Travel comedy delivers pretty much what you expect from a movie named Hot Tub Time Machine. Silly laughs, retro gags and jokes, and a buddy movie plot from a different era. The acting and characters were all great, and the bottom line is I had fun while watching it. Not as memorable as movies like Anchorman or the Hangover, still a fun movie to watch and hey - No movie with "Once in A Lifetime" by Talking Heads can be that bad. So if you know what you're getting into, there's definitely a lot of fun to be had. I give it a B!
    Expand
  44. Feb 2, 2012
    8
    Hot Tub Time Machine not only understands what is needed from an adult comedy, it doesnâ
  45. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    simply hilarious! very clever script and the cast is epic. the only thing that buged me was snowboarding was invented in like 82 and this movie took place in 86 and one of the ski patrol men asked "Whats that plank thing that guy is on?" they wouldve known what a snowboard is after 4 years.... that just me being me though.
  46. Jun 3, 2012
    7
    The 80s weren't nice but for movie comedies they were great, hot tub time machine brings us back to that experience. This movie shows that R-rated comedies is what we want. The story works beautifully and the jokes are almost always very funny. The big win tough is the cast.... there great to say the least. Of course not everything is so great there are a couple of lines which are a bitThe 80s weren't nice but for movie comedies they were great, hot tub time machine brings us back to that experience. This movie shows that R-rated comedies is what we want. The story works beautifully and the jokes are almost always very funny. The big win tough is the cast.... there great to say the least. Of course not everything is so great there are a couple of lines which are a bit misplaced but all-in-all its fun. Expand
  47. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    Hilarious! Stupid premise but that's the god damned point people. Everything from the really cool opening credits to the getting f*cked up scene in the hot tub right onto the closing credits is enjoyable. Don't try and take it seriously, just enjoy.
  48. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    I thought the film would be fairly rubbish, but despite having been born in the 90s, this film was fantastic. It had me yearning for the 80s.I have watched it several times and I feel that the first viewing doesn't do it justice. I can understand people who wouldn't like the film as well as those who will love it. For me, I'm kind of in the middle but leaning more towards the 'love it' side.
  49. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    Follows a Hangover type plot with a Hangover type cast. The script is, unfortunately the only thing about Hot Tub Time Machine that doesn't echo The Hangover, but hey- it's still funny.
  50. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    It may be a tad silly, but "Hot Tub Time Machine" is also supremely funny and contains a hefty amount of charming nods to a fun decade.
  51. Dec 30, 2015
    9
    This movie is funny but above all it has the greatest energy and it has a heart to the story that is rarely paralleled. And those END CREDITS !!!! If you don't feel deeply connected to this movie, then unfortunately you probably will in the next ten years, but that's why it's great. This movie has love, heartbreak, time-travel, failure, sex, redemption, breasts, and memories thatThis movie is funny but above all it has the greatest energy and it has a heart to the story that is rarely paralleled. And those END CREDITS !!!! If you don't feel deeply connected to this movie, then unfortunately you probably will in the next ten years, but that's why it's great. This movie has love, heartbreak, time-travel, failure, sex, redemption, breasts, and memories that characters can't forget. Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Kois
    70
    A fundamentally lazy comedy that will probably make you laugh like an idiot.
  2. 60
    Like the "Scream" series, Hot Tub Time Machine is a cake-and-eat-it-too experience; you get both a vintage Brat Pack comedy, albeit one regrettably drenched in post-Hangover raunch, and an ongoing metacommentary at the same time.
  3. 63
    A sloppy, raucous, time travel farce in the grown-men-gone-wild "Hangover" style, it’s a surprisingly satisfying, if not exactly LMAO, riot.