Hotel Rwanda

Hotel Rwanda Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 300 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Based on true events from the civil war in Rwanda, this film profiles Paul Rusesabagina (Cheadle), the manager of a luxury hotel who opened his establishment to Tutsi refugees despite the danger to himself and his family.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    100
    Emerges as an African version of "Schindler's List."
  2. Cheadle impressively carries the entire picture, delivering the kind of note-perfect performance that's absolutely deserving of Oscar consideration.
  3. 88
    This role could represent a career performance for Cheadle, whose forceful and multi-dimensional portrayal keeps Hotel Rwanda at a consistently high level.
  4. 80
    Cheadle's quiet, superbly modulated performance as an ordinary man driven to heroism by hellish events reminds us that the slogan "no justice, no peace" has a private as well as a public dimension.
  5. 78
    Scrappy, powerful, and shocking.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    I wish Hotel Rwanda felt like something more than a very, very good TV movie.
  7. Reviewed by: Phil Hall
    40
    The film presents the Rwandans in the worst possible way: venal, corrupt, vicious, stupid, barbaric and completely incapable of governing themselves. Honestly, I've seen more intelligent and sympathetic depictions of Africans in Tarzan movies.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 148
  1. AnneI.
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    There is no doubt in my mind that the miracles that were depicted in this movie were from God. It was a very moving and powerful movie.
  2. Jan 9, 2016
    10
    One of my favourite movies. I also feel like this is pretty accurate of what's happening in middle east & what happened in nazi germany. IOne of my favourite movies. I also feel like this is pretty accurate of what's happening in middle east & what happened in nazi germany. I also like how the head character changes his view on the situation and risks everything he owns for the people he didn't seem to care much about in the beginning. Expand
  3. SkylerP.
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    Brilliant film!
  4. royr
    Dec 24, 2008
    10
    Film threat- africa is experiencing the various messes it has because of the exact traits that some african leaders have that you say this Film threat- africa is experiencing the various messes it has because of the exact traits that some african leaders have that you say this film negatively depicts. for god sake man, how could an atrocity like this happen where sensibility and intelligence reigned? look no further than robert mugabe to see that the faults pointed out in some african leaderships, in this film are very accurately depicted. Expand
  5. ForettaW
    Jun 13, 2010
    10
    I was 11 when I watched this heartbreaking movie! I can say it made my tear up watching people being killed. I handled it well though because I was 11 when I watched this heartbreaking movie! I can say it made my tear up watching people being killed. I handled it well though because the point in my class was to see what is actually happening in the world of ours. It touched my heart so much! Wouldn't you think I am too young to watch a rated R movie? Expand
  6. SamD.
    Dec 10, 2005
    9
    Beautifully acted, and portrayed. What people and critics must understand is that Rusesabagina was not a saint and that the Hutu population Beautifully acted, and portrayed. What people and critics must understand is that Rusesabagina was not a saint and that the Hutu population were not all evil and corrupt. Imagine having to choose, as a Hutu, whether to kill your neighbors and their children, or have yourself and your children be killed. That is what many of the nay-saying critics below do not understand. In that genocide there were three types of people; the Hutu extremists, the Tuitsi victims and the moderate Hutus. The extremists killed the other to groups bcause both were a threat to their goal: To wipe out the entire Tutsi population. At the end of thd movie, when the Tutsi "rebels" are shooting at the Hutus who are evacuating the country, it is also important to understand two more things; One, the group of Hutus running away is made up of mostly innocent Hutus but the Tutsi "Rebel" Army neither knows this or have the time to figure it out. Two, most of the "rebels" have lost family and friends to these people and therefore are pursuing reckless revenge, hence the "not caring" part. Truefully, this movie did not show ENOUGH bloodshed so it came off a little weak and civilized as to what it was: A barbaric GENOCIDE. Expand
  7. PatC.
    May 11, 2006
    7
    A good movie presenting a story that needed to be told. While emotionally and morally self-evident, it was strangely lacking in lasting A good movie presenting a story that needed to be told. While emotionally and morally self-evident, it was strangely lacking in lasting cerebral understanding. A film done well within the limits imposed on itself. Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 12 Films to See in September

    12 Films to See in September Image
    Published: August 30, 2016
    Our editors select the month's most promising releases, including a Blair Witch revival and new films from Clint Eastwood, Andrea Arnold, Oliver Stone, Ron Howard, and more.
  2. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.