Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Sep 28, 2012
    38
    After six years in development, this comedy starring and produced by Adam Sandler feels as slapped together one of the comedian's live-action buddy movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Whitty
    Sep 28, 2012
    25
    The only reliable smiles come courtesy of Steve Buscemi, a frequent presence in Sandler movies, here voicing an exasperated, over-extended werewolf dad.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Sep 27, 2012
    25
    Dominated by Adam Sandler's D-minus Bela Lugosi impression, the 3-D animated feature Hotel Transylvania illustrates the difference between engaging a young movie audience and agitating it, with snark and noise and everything but the funny.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 28, 2012
    20
    It features predictable humor and an underdeveloped story.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 26, 2012
    11
    As for Hotel Transylvania,, no need to put a stake in it, it's deadly dull already.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
  1. dpc
    Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Loved it. Took my 6 year old and we both laughed a lot. Being a fan of Tartakovsky from his Dexter's Laboratory days (and others), I thought the animation was incredible, yet warm unlike other recent computer animated films. The director actually uses the method to its fullest. Plus, I LOVED that they didn't throw in pop culture jokes for the adults, instead they found humor within the art style and situations. Yes, the story's kind of just ok. And, yes, there's a few gaps in the character development. The voice acting is great, even Sandler who is NOT over the top as some critics have pointed out. Got kids? Go see it, get the stick out of your butt and just have fun! (Not everything has to be Pixar, you know...) Full Review »
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    This is an animated movie from Adam Sandler. Reviewing it is really simple: if you think you will like it, you will. It is goofy, funny, kinda dumb and really fun. Don't expect anything more, but if that appeals to you, you'll really enjoy this movie a lot. Our family sure did. Full Review »
  3. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    I liked the movie, despite what most may say. Good voice acting, plenty of laughs and action, and a great family movie. Adam Sandler did a great job for this role. Full Review »