Hotel Transylvania

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 241 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 241

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 29, 2015
    6
    Hotel Transylvania is the sort of stuff that Adam Sandler should be doing. The characters in this film are memorable and children will likely get a kick out of it. There is not that much humour for adults unfortunately but it knows its audience. This film seems to resemble Pixar films with its humour but it doesn't have the strong script and enough depth to be considered a classic animated film.
  2. Jul 1, 2014
    4
    So full of heart my bowels cramp. Every part of the script is nailed with idiotic and childish jokes, which mimic every other Sandler movie I've seen, with the exception being 'Punch-Drunk Love'. Animation is dead, except for Disney and Pixar.
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    6
    So overall I enjoyed the film. I will admit that the writing is pretty lazy and the film is kind of babiesh but this is not a bad kid’s film. It is bright and colorful, has likeable characters, and some great humor. The film has some clichés but there is nothing terrible in here. If I had kids I would not mind showing this film at all. Enough of the humor works in this movie and is notSo overall I enjoyed the film. I will admit that the writing is pretty lazy and the film is kind of babiesh but this is not a bad kid’s film. It is bright and colorful, has likeable characters, and some great humor. The film has some clichés but there is nothing terrible in here. If I had kids I would not mind showing this film at all. Enough of the humor works in this movie and is not dumb humor so adults will get through it ok. In short if you have kids and you want something bright, colorful, and funny to show them show them this. Hotel Transylvania is definitely the most upbeat of the three Halloween movies of 2012 but it is also the weakest because it is mainly for kids whereas the others were darker and had some more adult moments. However as kid’s films go its ok. If you are a little kid you’ll probably enjoy this one but if you are going into this movie expecting something at the same level as Dexter’s Laboratory or Samurai Jack you’ll probably be disappointed because this film is not even close to being on the same level it’s just a little kids films with enough laughs to make it watchable. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    5
    As expected by most, "Hotel Transylvania" isn't that impressive, and manages to pull off some humor, but not does not take any risks. It feels average, and despite the times it tries to act emotional, a few minutes later, it's just comedy again. The comedy has several cheap jokes that sometimes work, but most of the times annoy. But despite it's several flaws, it's not that bad and atAs expected by most, "Hotel Transylvania" isn't that impressive, and manages to pull off some humor, but not does not take any risks. It feels average, and despite the times it tries to act emotional, a few minutes later, it's just comedy again. The comedy has several cheap jokes that sometimes work, but most of the times annoy. But despite it's several flaws, it's not that bad and at points, you may get a chuckle or two. Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2013
    6
    Overall a fun movie with a good story. But alittle too goofy for my taste. good animations, good voice acting. and decent 3D effects. Worth watching on blu ray.
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "HUMAN POT PIEE!!" Oh the lines you get stuck in your head while watching animated films with your children. For me I thought it was okay. A little fast paced. Maybe I'm just getting old, I was waiting for the film to slow down. A lot going on. But the animation is pretty sweet and it makes my daughter dance. If it grabs the attention of my little film critic then I'm sure its not a stinker. She's picky! Expand
  7. Feb 22, 2013
    6
    So overall I feel that this is good fun. The main characters consist of Dracula, his daughter Mavis, and Jonathan, a human who managed to discover Hotel Transylvania. The film does a good job of developing these characters, but sadly most of the others don't have much of their personalities shown. The film starts off slow, but soon it is a speedy sugarfilled ride. So there are someSo overall I feel that this is good fun. The main characters consist of Dracula, his daughter Mavis, and Jonathan, a human who managed to discover Hotel Transylvania. The film does a good job of developing these characters, but sadly most of the others don't have much of their personalities shown. The film starts off slow, but soon it is a speedy sugarfilled ride. So there are some noticable flaws, but I feel that this will be pretty enjoyable overall. Expand
  8. Feb 4, 2013
    4
    Hotel Transylvania got my attention when I knew that there was a bunch of creepy animated movies that would be release at cinemas. Like Frankenweenie or ParaNorman; both films surprised me not only because of the technique of animation and the esthetic, but also because of the message that these pictures gives, which clearly demonstrate that they were not the typical movie for children.Hotel Transylvania got my attention when I knew that there was a bunch of creepy animated movies that would be release at cinemas. Like Frankenweenie or ParaNorman; both films surprised me not only because of the technique of animation and the esthetic, but also because of the message that these pictures gives, which clearly demonstrate that they were not the typical movie for children. Hotel Transylvania was the exception. It could not reach a least half the level than the films mentioned before. Despites that the idea of a hotel for monsters in vacations is original, everything else does not: the overprotective father, the rebel teenage daughter, the cool young guy and love at first sight; because of this the movie is absolutely predictable. In between it has some interesting topics, like the anger of Dracula cause by the images that the humans have of him (the scene of the plane is spectacular); and the stereotypes that the monsters have about the humans. Above all, this picture is very erratic, makes you laugh? Yes, but is empty. Expand
  9. Jan 2, 2013
    5
    Really bad movie. Seems like the producers tried to create a universal story to match with every age group, but they failed miserably. For adult people the movie is boring and dull, while younger children might be spoiled by the language* or scared. The story is just bad. One more thing, the movie is really short, it was first family film I've watched in ages, so one and a half hour mightReally bad movie. Seems like the producers tried to create a universal story to match with every age group, but they failed miserably. For adult people the movie is boring and dull, while younger children might be spoiled by the language* or scared. The story is just bad. One more thing, the movie is really short, it was first family film I've watched in ages, so one and a half hour might be a normal movie duration in that category, but i find it much too short. Also, 3D effects are nearly imperceptible. Expand
  10. Zal
    Dec 14, 2012
    4
    It's harmless, I guess, but if you want to see a Halloween themed kids movie I have some better suggestions: The Nightmare Before Christmas, ParaNorman, Frankenweenie. It's one of of Adam Sandler better movies, but that's not saying much. The best word to describe it is "forgettable." There's no major conflict or villain. It's a whole lot of nothing. While it's not harmful, it's not interesting.
  11. Nov 11, 2012
    4
    No puedo creer que muchos hayan esperado esta m....a, en serio es m....a, la trama es predecible, la animación es horrenda y ridícula y los personajes pueden ser comicos, clicheados o irritantes. La única razón por la que todos la aman es por el director Gendy Tartakovsky, quien trajo "Dexter's Laboratory", pero eso no significa que siempre va a estar buena. NiNo puedo creer que muchos hayan esperado esta m....a, en serio es m....a, la trama es predecible, la animación es horrenda y ridícula y los personajes pueden ser comicos, clicheados o irritantes. La única razón por la que todos la aman es por el director Gendy Tartakovsky, quien trajo "Dexter's Laboratory", pero eso no significa que siempre va a estar buena. Ni siquiera esta para Halloween, prefiero ParaNorman o Frankenweenie honestamente. Admito que me dio risa la película. Expand
  12. Nov 4, 2012
    4
    Despite featuring Adam Sandler, this movie is not quite awful enough to turn it around to warrant a high score like Sandler's live-action classics. Truly bafflingly unfunny, the real humour is in how random and crazy the attemps at humour are. Worth a watch anyway. Maybe.
  13. Oct 25, 2012
    5
    Checking into this hotel will give you a thrill and get you in the mood for Halloween ,A fast, funny and wildly inventive animated tale with enough laughs and heart to appeal to audiences of all ages.
  14. Oct 18, 2012
    4
    I usually like animated movies but Hotel Transylvania wasn't anything too exciting. I had hopes that it would be pretty funny but i can count the amount of times i laughed on one hand, it was just kinda boring most of the time. Nothing i would see again. 4/10
  15. Oct 15, 2012
    6
    A fast, funny and wildly inventive animated tale with enough laughs and heart to appeal to audiences of all ages. http://www.facebook.com/pages/Carrie-2013-has-hemorrhoids-/154149308058300
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Oct 12, 2012
    40
    Comedy gothic isn't exactly novel, and frankly there is a sense here of a movie coasting along on Halloween hype-marketing, without providing as many laughs and ideas as it really could have done.
  2. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Oct 8, 2012
    40
    An animation that never drags itself out of mediocrity despite the best efforts of gifted animator Tartakovsky.
  3. Reviewed by: Paul Bradshaw
    Oct 1, 2012
    60
    Despite the all-star talent, an overload of sight gags and an always-amiable vibe, Genndy Tartakovsky's monster house is a bit too loony for its own good.