Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 28, 2012
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 242 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
150
Mixed:
63
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
JacobAug 14, 2013
So overall I enjoyed the film. I will admit that the writing is pretty lazy and the film is kind of babiesh but this is not a bad kid’s film. It is bright and colorful, has likeable characters, and some great humor. The film has some clichésSo overall I enjoyed the film. I will admit that the writing is pretty lazy and the film is kind of babiesh but this is not a bad kid’s film. It is bright and colorful, has likeable characters, and some great humor. The film has some clichés but there is nothing terrible in here. If I had kids I would not mind showing this film at all. Enough of the humor works in this movie and is not dumb humor so adults will get through it ok. In short if you have kids and you want something bright, colorful, and funny to show them show them this. Hotel Transylvania is definitely the most upbeat of the three Halloween movies of 2012 but it is also the weakest because it is mainly for kids whereas the others were darker and had some more adult moments. However as kid’s films go its ok. If you are a little kid you’ll probably enjoy this one but if you are going into this movie expecting something at the same level as Dexter’s Laboratory or Samurai Jack you’ll probably be disappointed because this film is not even close to being on the same level it’s just a little kids films with enough laughs to make it watchable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Knicksfan7Oct 18, 2012
I usually like animated movies but Hotel Transylvania wasn't anything too exciting. I had hopes that it would be pretty funny but i can count the amount of times i laughed on one hand, it was just kinda boring most of the time. Nothing iI usually like animated movies but Hotel Transylvania wasn't anything too exciting. I had hopes that it would be pretty funny but i can count the amount of times i laughed on one hand, it was just kinda boring most of the time. Nothing i would see again. 4/10 Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
MikefromAngusApr 1, 2013
Overall a fun movie with a good story. But alittle too goofy for my taste. good animations, good voice acting. and decent 3D effects. Worth watching on blu ray.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellFeb 22, 2013
So overall I feel that this is good fun. The main characters consist of Dracula, his daughter Mavis, and Jonathan, a human who managed to discover Hotel Transylvania. The film does a good job of developing these characters, but sadly most ofSo overall I feel that this is good fun. The main characters consist of Dracula, his daughter Mavis, and Jonathan, a human who managed to discover Hotel Transylvania. The film does a good job of developing these characters, but sadly most of the others don't have much of their personalities shown. The film starts off slow, but soon it is a speedy sugarfilled ride. So there are some noticable flaws, but I feel that this will be pretty enjoyable overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
NedRyerson1Feb 4, 2013
Hotel Transylvania got my attention when I knew that there was a bunch of creepy animated movies that would be release at cinemas. Like Frankenweenie or ParaNorman; both films surprised me not only because of the technique of animation andHotel Transylvania got my attention when I knew that there was a bunch of creepy animated movies that would be release at cinemas. Like Frankenweenie or ParaNorman; both films surprised me not only because of the technique of animation and the esthetic, but also because of the message that these pictures gives, which clearly demonstrate that they were not the typical movie for children. Hotel Transylvania was the exception. It could not reach a least half the level than the films mentioned before. Despites that the idea of a hotel for monsters in vacations is original, everything else does not: the overprotective father, the rebel teenage daughter, the cool young guy and love at first sight; because of this the movie is absolutely predictable. In between it has some interesting topics, like the anger of Dracula cause by the images that the humans have of him (the scene of the plane is spectacular); and the stereotypes that the monsters have about the humans. Above all, this picture is very erratic, makes you laugh? Yes, but is empty. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
ZalDec 14, 2012
It's harmless, I guess, but if you want to see a Halloween themed kids movie I have some better suggestions: The Nightmare Before Christmas, ParaNorman, Frankenweenie. It's one of of Adam Sandler better movies, but that's not saying much. TheIt's harmless, I guess, but if you want to see a Halloween themed kids movie I have some better suggestions: The Nightmare Before Christmas, ParaNorman, Frankenweenie. It's one of of Adam Sandler better movies, but that's not saying much. The best word to describe it is "forgettable." There's no major conflict or villain. It's a whole lot of nothing. While it's not harmful, it's not interesting. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
robert2012Nov 11, 2012
No puedo creer que muchos hayan esperado esta m....a, en serio es m....a, la trama es predecible, la animación es horrenda y ridícula y los personajes pueden ser comicos, clicheados o irritantes. La única razón porNo puedo creer que muchos hayan esperado esta m....a, en serio es m....a, la trama es predecible, la animación es horrenda y ridícula y los personajes pueden ser comicos, clicheados o irritantes. La única razón por la que todos la aman es por el director Gendy Tartakovsky, quien trajo "Dexter's Laboratory", pero eso no significa que siempre va a estar buena. Ni siquiera esta para Halloween, prefiero ParaNorman o Frankenweenie honestamente. Admito que me dio risa la película. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
5
msichalJan 2, 2013
Really bad movie. Seems like the producers tried to create a universal story to match with every age group, but they failed miserably. For adult people the movie is boring and dull, while younger children might be spoiled by the language* orReally bad movie. Seems like the producers tried to create a universal story to match with every age group, but they failed miserably. For adult people the movie is boring and dull, while younger children might be spoiled by the language* or scared. The story is just bad. One more thing, the movie is really short, it was first family film I've watched in ages, so one and a half hour might be a normal movie duration in that category, but i find it much too short. Also, 3D effects are nearly imperceptible. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
barnet42Oct 15, 2012
A fast, funny and wildly inventive animated tale with enough laughs and heart to appeal to audiences of all ages. http://www.facebook.com/pages/Carrie-2013-has-hemorrhoids-/154149308058300
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DollisOct 25, 2012
Checking into this hotel will give you a thrill and get you in the mood for Halloween ,A fast, funny and wildly inventive animated tale with enough laughs and heart to appeal to audiences of all ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DarkToonLinkNov 4, 2012
Despite featuring Adam Sandler, this movie is not quite awful enough to turn it around to warrant a high score like Sandler's live-action classics. Truly bafflingly unfunny, the real humour is in how random and crazy the attemps at humourDespite featuring Adam Sandler, this movie is not quite awful enough to turn it around to warrant a high score like Sandler's live-action classics. Truly bafflingly unfunny, the real humour is in how random and crazy the attemps at humour are. Worth a watch anyway. Maybe. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
WayneThomas412Mar 11, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "HUMAN POT PIEE!!" Oh the lines you get stuck in your head while watching animated films with your children. For me I thought it was okay. A little fast paced. Maybe I'm just getting old, I was waiting for the film to slow down. A lot going on. But the animation is pretty sweet and it makes my daughter dance. If it grabs the attention of my little film critic then I'm sure its not a stinker. She's picky! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
As expected by most, "Hotel Transylvania" isn't that impressive, and manages to pull off some humor, but not does not take any risks. It feels average, and despite the times it tries to act emotional, a few minutes later, it's just comedyAs expected by most, "Hotel Transylvania" isn't that impressive, and manages to pull off some humor, but not does not take any risks. It feels average, and despite the times it tries to act emotional, a few minutes later, it's just comedy again. The comedy has several cheap jokes that sometimes work, but most of the times annoy. But despite it's several flaws, it's not that bad and at points, you may get a chuckle or two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FranzHcriticJul 1, 2014
So full of heart my bowels cramp. Every part of the script is nailed with idiotic and childish jokes, which mimic every other Sandler movie I've seen, with the exception being 'Punch-Drunk Love'. Animation is dead, except for Disney and Pixar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Sep 29, 2015
Hotel Transylvania is the sort of stuff that Adam Sandler should be doing. The characters in this film are memorable and children will likely get a kick out of it. There is not that much humour for adults unfortunately but it knows itsHotel Transylvania is the sort of stuff that Adam Sandler should be doing. The characters in this film are memorable and children will likely get a kick out of it. There is not that much humour for adults unfortunately but it knows its audience. This film seems to resemble Pixar films with its humour but it doesn't have the strong script and enough depth to be considered a classic animated film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DavidTejadaNov 5, 2016
Welcome to the hotel.... "Transylvania"????? I have to say that it was just OK. To see parents reactions to children-growing up, the click moments with sb and some funny moments. But the pop culture here doesn't work at all (6/10) BESIDES theWelcome to the hotel.... "Transylvania"????? I have to say that it was just OK. To see parents reactions to children-growing up, the click moments with sb and some funny moments. But the pop culture here doesn't work at all (6/10) BESIDES the last song was really weirdly-annoying (5/10). Although is a fun ride to villains side. (C) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews