House at the End of the Street

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 123
  2. Negative: 34 out of 123

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 22, 2012
    4
    Dumb plot, dumb scares and unsure of what it wants to be. I still love you Jennifer, good on you for not promoting this piece of crap. http://www.facebook.com/ElvisPresleySonElvisAaronPresleyJr
  2. May 20, 2013
    4
    There are really no scares in this movie.
    Not at any second. Jennifer Lawrence did her job great but because of its terrible story the movie is damn bad!
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    6
    It was an ok film, decent story which keeps you in a little bit of suspense till near the end.
    its worth watching if your into this kind of film but don't expect too much
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    4
    I'm not sure why this is considered a horror movie, I'm someone who's extremely easily scared and I wasn't at all. All the attempts at horror are just jump scares that you can see coming from miles away. It's boring and the acting is poor. It seems like it started out as a drama, as it has a lot of the elements of one, but then the developers saw how boring and bland it all was, and theI'm not sure why this is considered a horror movie, I'm someone who's extremely easily scared and I wasn't at all. All the attempts at horror are just jump scares that you can see coming from miles away. It's boring and the acting is poor. It seems like it started out as a drama, as it has a lot of the elements of one, but then the developers saw how boring and bland it all was, and the poor acting performances, and just said "Hey let's make it a horror". House at the End of the Street falls flat, it isn't scary, entertaining, or worth your time. Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    6
    House at the End of the Street is an enjoyable film and can be entertaining at times, though it is often slow-paced at times. It also has hit-and-miss acting and the dialogue (to be honest) wasn't very good and was even cringe-worthy at times. The climax is thrilling, but it leads up to a predictable conclusion and an unoriginal twist ending that turns the film into a teen Psycho rip-off.House at the End of the Street is an enjoyable film and can be entertaining at times, though it is often slow-paced at times. It also has hit-and-miss acting and the dialogue (to be honest) wasn't very good and was even cringe-worthy at times. The climax is thrilling, but it leads up to a predictable conclusion and an unoriginal twist ending that turns the film into a teen Psycho rip-off. In the end, HATES isn't a bad film though it could have been much better. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2013
    5
    What the critics don't tell you is that this movie makes you think. Its characters are all well developed and the performances are good. A pretty darn underrated movie.
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    5
    As far as thriller/horror films go, House at the End of the Street wasn't all that bad. Jennifer Lawrence is amazing as usual. Her stunning and unique look combined with her incredible range as an actress means she provides a solid lead, regardless of the plot. Speaking of which, this one actually had a halfway decent premise with some real potential. I think the movie ultimately fellAs far as thriller/horror films go, House at the End of the Street wasn't all that bad. Jennifer Lawrence is amazing as usual. Her stunning and unique look combined with her incredible range as an actress means she provides a solid lead, regardless of the plot. Speaking of which, this one actually had a halfway decent premise with some real potential. I think the movie ultimately fell apart for the lazy writing that led to a poor execution of the plot and the mediocre supporting cast. Elisabeth Shue leads a lot to be desired as the worrisome mother and Max Thieriot just doesn't deliver. A major part of the lazy writing I referenced earlier is the cliched "person gets themselves into trouble by being stupid" element that plagues so many of these movies. Lawrence's character might be among the nosiest I've ever seen in a movie. I leave it at that but I will say, it's tough for a movie to be suspenseful when you spend more time aggravated at the characters than you do worried for their safety. Expand
  8. May 26, 2013
    5
    House at The End of The Street is another ambitious, low budget, Horror film, that tries to make a name for itself by using star power, but how much was I really expecting from a PG-13 Horror film? The story begins when Elissa and her mother move to a new house in the country, a house that is across the street from the scene of a grizzly double murder four years earlier. The house andHouse at The End of The Street is another ambitious, low budget, Horror film, that tries to make a name for itself by using star power, but how much was I really expecting from a PG-13 Horror film? The story begins when Elissa and her mother move to a new house in the country, a house that is across the street from the scene of a grizzly double murder four years earlier. The house and story is surrounded by rumors and still occupied by the son of the victims, who Elissa quickly befriends. Once again we have a common theme that has been done to death, but the producers of this film were hoping that by spending big bucks on Jennifer Lawrence (Hunger Games) and Max Thieriot (Bates Motel) that they could get people to watch their film and it worked, but I suspect most people were sadly disappointing like I was. The acting was terrific and everything you would expect from these actors, but the story was so simple and predictable that it really wasn't worth watching. Being a PG-13 film didn't help either as there wasn't really anything too horrific or creepy to really catch your attention. If that wasn't bad enough, the first hour of the film was so slow, that I almost turned it off. The only thing that kind of gave me a laugh was that there was a lot of scenes with Jennifer Lawrence in the woods and I couldn't help but think that Katniss wished she had her bow. House at The End of The Street is a film that has the star power, but not much else, as it's a slow, tame, predictable film, that's been done and it leaves far too many unanswered questions. If you're a die hard Jennifer Lawrence fan, check it out, otherwise, I wouldn't waste my time on this one. Expand
  9. Jan 2, 2013
    4
    Jennifer Lawrence puts up a decent performance but it can't save the film from what it is; boring, predictable, and terribly scripted. Hopefully this film won't tarnish the career of one of hollywood's most promising actresses.
  10. Sep 1, 2014
    6
    Jennifer Lawrence has this incredible pull that attracts us to the screen almost instantly, regardless of what mess is brewing. No, this film is not perfection--but we're thrilled nonetheless.
  11. Feb 17, 2013
    5
    For all its problems, the movie isn't half bad in the end. Although it had a bizarre twist, it was a twist nonetheless and that kept my attention. This certainly isn't going to be the highlight of Jennifer's career, but the movie was interesting.
  12. Jan 31, 2013
    6
    Elissa becomes enamored with the neighbor next door despite his family's bloody history, but Ryan has several secrets of his own that he plans to keep hidden in the HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET. Mark Tonderai's new thriller loses itself in tired old cliches that have long since lost their appeal. The film is terribly miscast, forcing Elisabeth Shue and Jennifer Lawrence into an awkwardElissa becomes enamored with the neighbor next door despite his family's bloody history, but Ryan has several secrets of his own that he plans to keep hidden in the HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET. Mark Tonderai's new thriller loses itself in tired old cliches that have long since lost their appeal. The film is terribly miscast, forcing Elisabeth Shue and Jennifer Lawrence into an awkward mother/daughter relationship that feels very unnatural on screen. Max Thieriot's mousy performance is rather unconvincing as well, and lacks the impact needed in order to leave a lasting impression. The supposed twists offer few surprises, especially for audiences that have already seen the same story played out in a hundred different ways. This drains the film of any suspense, while the lapses in logic and poor decision making by the characters are sure to infuriate viewers. It would be better to just lock HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET away in the cellar with the countless other PSYCHO-spawns than to have anyone else suffer through another uninspired copy. Expand
  13. Jul 12, 2014
    6
    A half-decent thriller/teenage horror movie. The story is okay, the acting is okay, not many "screamers" - thanks for that. Won't watch it if not Jennifer Lawrence.
  14. Jan 26, 2013
    5
    The film is hard to see ... Wing time is predictable but unpredictable. The film is to see it once and forget about it.
  15. Jan 20, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. House at the End of the Street is a classic thriller movie. It is indeed not in the correct genre of its placing in horror. The movie is about a young teenage girl that just moved to a new place with her mother next to a teenage boy that survived his sister Expand
  16. Jan 30, 2013
    4
    Considering the movie stars the talented actress Jennifer Lawrence, I was definitely expecting better of this movie. It starts off generally promising, even if a bit generic, giving us time to get to know our main characters. Lawrence's character seemed to be level-headed and able to look out for herself. This character trait seems to diminish in the second half of the film, with herConsidering the movie stars the talented actress Jennifer Lawrence, I was definitely expecting better of this movie. It starts off generally promising, even if a bit generic, giving us time to get to know our main characters. Lawrence's character seemed to be level-headed and able to look out for herself. This character trait seems to diminish in the second half of the film, with her character instead being written as a typical horror chick, making pratfalls and idiotic decisions. The movie overall has a rushed feel to it, which can't be saved by it's adequate cast or relatively good set-pieces. It all just feels like it's trying to distract the audience from the awful writing. In places it feels like this movie is an experiment rather than a box office entry, which makes it even more obvious this film was made by a (relative) newcomer. In conclusion, I don't think the cast had the opportunity to put all of their effort into the roles due to the poorly written script, and although the visuals are good, the plot overall is extremely run-of-the-mill and unoriginal. It had the potential to be good, a piteous disappointment. Expand
  17. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    The only quality in this movie is the acting, but House at the End of the Street has nothing to do with horror, it is more of a Romantic Thriller, as a movie, it isn't bad it is mediocre, is HATES unwatchable? No, but you better spent your time on something else, good idea.
  18. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    Obviously this film has been on the shelf looking for an audience for a couple of months, maybe years, from its release date, because Jennifer would never take work like this post-Silver Linings.

    The movie is clich├ęd, poorly acted, and predictable. Also, it's silly, nonsensical and dry. But, I give it 5 stars for Ms. Lawrence's solid performance, making all the other actors look like amateurs.
  19. Dec 15, 2013
    4
    It's a good movie with a nice background talking about production, and I consider Jennifer Lawrence's performance is great. However, it is "supposed" to be a horror movie and the film is principally focused on a teenager's relationship instead of scary and suspense aspects, fact that lowers movie's rating notably and creates a film unsure about its general genre.
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 26, 2012
    11
    Shue, to her credit, looks like she's trying to crawl out of her skin, but hey, anything to get away from this hell house, right? Right.
  2. Reviewed by: A. A. Dowd
    Sep 25, 2012
    20
    Utterly incompetent psychological thriller.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Sep 22, 2012
    20
    At a certain point this would-be shocker suddenly jerks into high gear and becomes a blatant, incompetent rip-off of "Psycho."