Relativity Media | Release Date: September 21, 2012
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 129 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
43
Mixed:
50
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
DollisOct 22, 2012
Dumb plot, dumb scares and unsure of what it wants to be. I still love you Jennifer, good on you for not promoting this piece of crap. http://www.facebook.com/ElvisPresleySonElvisAaronPresleyJr
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
4
JacobparkerMay 20, 2013
There are really no scares in this movie.
Not at any second. Jennifer Lawrence did her job great but because of its terrible story the movie is damn bad!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
maddocks2379Oct 9, 2012
It was an ok film, decent story which keeps you in a little bit of suspense till near the end.
its worth watching if your into this kind of film but don't expect too much
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
TheQuietGamerMar 2, 2013
I'm not sure why this is considered a horror movie, I'm someone who's extremely easily scared and I wasn't at all. All the attempts at horror are just jump scares that you can see coming from miles away. It's boring and the acting is poor. ItI'm not sure why this is considered a horror movie, I'm someone who's extremely easily scared and I wasn't at all. All the attempts at horror are just jump scares that you can see coming from miles away. It's boring and the acting is poor. It seems like it started out as a drama, as it has a lot of the elements of one, but then the developers saw how boring and bland it all was, and the poor acting performances, and just said "Hey let's make it a horror". House at the End of the Street falls flat, it isn't scary, entertaining, or worth your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BrandonBonaseraFeb 7, 2013
House at the End of the Street is an enjoyable film and can be entertaining at times, though it is often slow-paced at times. It also has hit-and-miss acting and the dialogue (to be honest) wasn't very good and was even cringe-worthy atHouse at the End of the Street is an enjoyable film and can be entertaining at times, though it is often slow-paced at times. It also has hit-and-miss acting and the dialogue (to be honest) wasn't very good and was even cringe-worthy at times. The climax is thrilling, but it leads up to a predictable conclusion and an unoriginal twist ending that turns the film into a teen Psycho rip-off. In the end, HATES isn't a bad film though it could have been much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZilcellFeb 8, 2013
What the critics don't tell you is that this movie makes you think. Its characters are all well developed and the performances are good. A pretty darn underrated movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Bruce722Aug 6, 2013
As far as thriller/horror films go, House at the End of the Street wasn't all that bad. Jennifer Lawrence is amazing as usual. Her stunning and unique look combined with her incredible range as an actress means she provides a solid lead,As far as thriller/horror films go, House at the End of the Street wasn't all that bad. Jennifer Lawrence is amazing as usual. Her stunning and unique look combined with her incredible range as an actress means she provides a solid lead, regardless of the plot. Speaking of which, this one actually had a halfway decent premise with some real potential. I think the movie ultimately fell apart for the lazy writing that led to a poor execution of the plot and the mediocre supporting cast. Elisabeth Shue leads a lot to be desired as the worrisome mother and Max Thieriot just doesn't deliver. A major part of the lazy writing I referenced earlier is the cliched "person gets themselves into trouble by being stupid" element that plagues so many of these movies. Lawrence's character might be among the nosiest I've ever seen in a movie. I leave it at that but I will say, it's tough for a movie to be suspenseful when you spend more time aggravated at the characters than you do worried for their safety. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Tss5078May 26, 2013
House at The End of The Street is another ambitious, low budget, Horror film, that tries to make a name for itself by using star power, but how much was I really expecting from a PG-13 Horror film? The story begins when Elissa and her motherHouse at The End of The Street is another ambitious, low budget, Horror film, that tries to make a name for itself by using star power, but how much was I really expecting from a PG-13 Horror film? The story begins when Elissa and her mother move to a new house in the country, a house that is across the street from the scene of a grizzly double murder four years earlier. The house and story is surrounded by rumors and still occupied by the son of the victims, who Elissa quickly befriends. Once again we have a common theme that has been done to death, but the producers of this film were hoping that by spending big bucks on Jennifer Lawrence (Hunger Games) and Max Thieriot (Bates Motel) that they could get people to watch their film and it worked, but I suspect most people were sadly disappointing like I was. The acting was terrific and everything you would expect from these actors, but the story was so simple and predictable that it really wasn't worth watching. Being a PG-13 film didn't help either as there wasn't really anything too horrific or creepy to really catch your attention. If that wasn't bad enough, the first hour of the film was so slow, that I almost turned it off. The only thing that kind of gave me a laugh was that there was a lot of scenes with Jennifer Lawrence in the woods and I couldn't help but think that Katniss wished she had her bow. House at The End of The Street is a film that has the star power, but not much else, as it's a slow, tame, predictable film, that's been done and it leaves far too many unanswered questions. If you're a die hard Jennifer Lawrence fan, check it out, otherwise, I wouldn't waste my time on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
OnAnarchyJan 2, 2013
Jennifer Lawrence puts up a decent performance but it can't save the film from what it is; boring, predictable, and terribly scripted. Hopefully this film won't tarnish the career of one of hollywood's most promising actresses.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Jennifer Lawrence has this incredible pull that attracts us to the screen almost instantly, regardless of what mess is brewing. No, this film is not perfection--but we're thrilled nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Feb 17, 2013
For all its problems, the movie isn't half bad in the end. Although it had a bizarre twist, it was a twist nonetheless and that kept my attention. This certainly isn't going to be the highlight of Jennifer's career, but the movie was interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ILHMJan 31, 2013
Elissa becomes enamored with the neighbor next door despite his family's bloody history, but Ryan has several secrets of his own that he plans to keep hidden in the HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET. Mark Tonderai's new thriller loses itself inElissa becomes enamored with the neighbor next door despite his family's bloody history, but Ryan has several secrets of his own that he plans to keep hidden in the HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET. Mark Tonderai's new thriller loses itself in tired old cliches that have long since lost their appeal. The film is terribly miscast, forcing Elisabeth Shue and Jennifer Lawrence into an awkward mother/daughter relationship that feels very unnatural on screen. Max Thieriot's mousy performance is rather unconvincing as well, and lacks the impact needed in order to leave a lasting impression. The supposed twists offer few surprises, especially for audiences that have already seen the same story played out in a hundred different ways. This drains the film of any suspense, while the lapses in logic and poor decision making by the characters are sure to infuriate viewers. It would be better to just lock HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET away in the cellar with the countless other PSYCHO-spawns than to have anyone else suffer through another uninspired copy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
StaticSpineJul 12, 2014
A half-decent thriller/teenage horror movie. The story is okay, the acting is okay, not many "screamers" - thanks for that. Won't watch it if not Jennifer Lawrence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeJan 26, 2013
The film is hard to see ... Wing time is predictable but unpredictable. The film is to see it once and forget about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SarahfawJan 20, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. House at the End of the Street is a classic thriller movie. It is indeed not in the correct genre of its placing in horror. The movie is about a young teenage girl that just moved to a new place with her mother next to a teenage boy that survived his sister Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AD_PhoenixJan 30, 2013
Considering the movie stars the talented actress Jennifer Lawrence, I was definitely expecting better of this movie. It starts off generally promising, even if a bit generic, giving us time to get to know our main characters. Lawrence'sConsidering the movie stars the talented actress Jennifer Lawrence, I was definitely expecting better of this movie. It starts off generally promising, even if a bit generic, giving us time to get to know our main characters. Lawrence's character seemed to be level-headed and able to look out for herself. This character trait seems to diminish in the second half of the film, with her character instead being written as a typical horror chick, making pratfalls and idiotic decisions. The movie overall has a rushed feel to it, which can't be saved by it's adequate cast or relatively good set-pieces. It all just feels like it's trying to distract the audience from the awful writing. In places it feels like this movie is an experiment rather than a box office entry, which makes it even more obvious this film was made by a (relative) newcomer. In conclusion, I don't think the cast had the opportunity to put all of their effort into the roles due to the poorly written script, and although the visuals are good, the plot overall is extremely run-of-the-mill and unoriginal. It had the potential to be good, a piteous disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AReviewsJun 18, 2013
The only quality in this movie is the acting, but House at the End of the Street has nothing to do with horror, it is more of a Romantic Thriller, as a movie, it isn't bad it is mediocre, is HATES unwatchable? No, but you better spent yourThe only quality in this movie is the acting, but House at the End of the Street has nothing to do with horror, it is more of a Romantic Thriller, as a movie, it isn't bad it is mediocre, is HATES unwatchable? No, but you better spent your time on something else, good idea. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysOct 22, 2013
Obviously this film has been on the shelf looking for an audience for a couple of months, maybe years, from its release date, because Jennifer would never take work like this post-Silver Linings.

The movie is clichéd, poorly acted, and
Obviously this film has been on the shelf looking for an audience for a couple of months, maybe years, from its release date, because Jennifer would never take work like this post-Silver Linings.

The movie is clichéd, poorly acted, and predictable. Also, it's silly, nonsensical and dry. But, I give it 5 stars for Ms. Lawrence's solid performance, making all the other actors look like amateurs.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jppl1999Dec 15, 2013
It's a good movie with a nice background talking about production, and I consider Jennifer Lawrence's performance is great. However, it is "supposed" to be a horror movie and the film is principally focused on a teenager's relationshipIt's a good movie with a nice background talking about production, and I consider Jennifer Lawrence's performance is great. However, it is "supposed" to be a horror movie and the film is principally focused on a teenager's relationship instead of scary and suspense aspects, fact that lowers movie's rating notably and creates a film unsure about its general genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews