Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Seeking a fresh start, newly divorced Sarah and her daughter Elissa find the house of their dreams in a small, upscale, rural town. But when startling and unexplainable events begin to happen, Sarah and Elissa learn the town is in the shadows of a chilling secret. Years earlier, in the house next door, a daughter killed her parents in their beds, and disappeared - leaving only a brother, Ryan, as the sole survivor. Against Sarah's wishes, Elissa begins a relationship with the reclusive Ryan - and the closer they get, the deeper they're all pulled into a mystery more dangerous than they ever imagined. (Relativity Media) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Sep 21, 2012
    70
    Working from a story by all-around genre specialist Jonathan Mostow, director Mark Tonderai steers the story cleanly around its queasy hairpin turns, perversely toying with one of pop cinema's most cherished clich├ęs: the audience's inculcated desire to side with the underdog.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Sep 21, 2012
    50
    This PG-13 scare-fest is more psychological terror than blood and guts, and should satisfy-not repulse-young genre fans.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Sep 21, 2012
    50
    Yes, there are the requisite jump-in-your-seat scares, many of them false alarms, and it all plays out basically exactly like any other horror movie, but Lawrence does elevate the proceedings.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Sep 21, 2012
    38
    Most of the comedy, however, is unintentional. House At The End of the Street may not draw much of an audience during its initial run, but the movie's preposterousness certifies it for future midnight screenings, where the story will get the jeering it deserves.
  5. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Sep 21, 2012
    30
    Exploiting Lawrence's newfound fame is the only hope this ill-conceived, poorly executed venture has of connecting with audiences before poisonous word of mouth sends potential buyers in search of a more attractive address.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 21, 2012
    25
    The film is essentially toothless, but it never stoops to humorless torture-porn theatrics.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 26, 2012
    11
    Shue, to her credit, looks like she's trying to crawl out of her skin, but hey, anything to get away from this hell house, right? Right.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    The house at the end of the street is the most emotional, powerful, moving cinematic piece. This film needs a nomination for Best Picture and may I go to say Best Film Of The Decade, my grandma even said that it deserves a Best Picture Ever sticker, I mean its that good. Go and see it NOW.....please Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    The House at the End of the Street, the new Jennifer Lawrence's movie, and I wanna say that I like it, the movie is very intereseting, but the development have some mistakes, the performances are good -the better is Lawrence- and the funny can be interesting for much people. Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2013
    6
    It's a good movie with a nice background talking about production, and I consider Jennifer Lawrence's performance is great. However, it is "supposed" to be a horror movie and the film is principally focused on a teenager's relationship instead of scary and suspense aspects, fact that lowers movie's rating notably and creates a film unsure about its general genre. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    5
    What the critics don't tell you is that this movie makes you think. Its characters are all well developed and the performances are good. A pretty darn underrated movie. Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    The only quality in this movie is the acting, but House at the End of the Street has nothing to do with horror, it is more of a Romantic Thriller, as a movie, it isn't bad it is mediocre, is HATES unwatchable? No, but you better spent your time on something else, good idea. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    4
    Jennifer Lawrence puts up a decent performance but it can't save the film from what it is; boring, predictable, and terribly scripted. Hopefully this film won't tarnish the career of one of hollywood's most promising actresses. Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    I was expecting a bad movie but JESUS!!! This was AWFUL!! The enitre time I spent watching this dreck I prayed to God for him to KILLL ME!! AND I'M AN ATHEIST!! Hideous writing, hideous acting, hideous lighing, hideous, hideous, hideous!! Worst film of the CENTUARY!! Expand

See all 34 User Reviews