User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 127
  2. Negative: 56 out of 127
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlanB.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This is a good movie for those who like the sick & twisted. Anyone who gave it a really bad vote are the type of people who dislike twisted movies and are most likely very close minded people. I give it a 10 because it's unique and a refreshing view from the mainstream slew of run of the mill movies.
  2. KM
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Rob Zombie takes you on a road trip into hell and I loved it.
  3. Bamso
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    This film rocks, and anyone who doesn't think so, is wrong!
  4. SimonM.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    In the way of TCM:2 (the original). Extreme violence mixed with extreme dark humor. A great debut for senior Zombie!
  5. DellP.
    Aug 24, 2004
    10
    BRILLIANT!!! This is the perfect holloween movie.Is apiece of art.I give it a 10 because i love it but it doesn't deserve less than a 7.This movie is beyond good,its TERRIFIC!!!
  6. Brundlefly7
    May 30, 2004
    10
    I loved this movie. I didn't think it was scary as much as totally demented! If you like the bizarre and twisted, this is for you. I added it to my collection the day i rented it.
  7. RachelG.
    May 12, 2003
    10
    Are you people f..king retarded? this movie kicked ass. i went and saw it and immediately downloaded it. it's so bad ass, unless you don't like horror movies and cool sh.t like that then you have no business watching and criticising this movie. if you had good taste, maybe you would have a different opinion. rob did an amazing job. a sequel would be too much, but he shouldAre you people f..king retarded? this movie kicked ass. i went and saw it and immediately downloaded it. it's so bad ass, unless you don't like horror movies and cool sh.t like that then you have no business watching and criticising this movie. if you had good taste, maybe you would have a different opinion. rob did an amazing job. a sequel would be too much, but he should definitely make more movies. i can't get enough, i f..king live for this sh.t. GOD IS DEAD. Expand
  8. Cin
    May 24, 2003
    10
    I wish I could give this movie higher than a 10 because that's what it deserves. It is a cult classic in my mind and its up there with Evil Dead and TCM to me. I would suggest this movie to anyone. A great horror movie!!!!!
  9. Amber
    Jun 19, 2003
    10
    I've seen it four times and will see it again. It's the greatest horror film I've seen. Eye candy , ramones , and lot's of LSD mixed with a huge white zombie video. It's perfect.
  10. Shayna
    May 3, 2003
    10
    The character "Baby" made me question my sexuality or at the very least, wnat to invite her into a threesome with me and my boyfriend. She's Hot!!! This movie is awesome, especially for Rob Zombie fans. It's like an hour and a half long White Zombie video. It was more disturbing than anything, but definitely something that I plan to add to my collection.
  11. DoctorSatan
    May 2, 2003
    10
    This was the greatest movie I've ever seen what people don't seem to realize is That you've gOt a DeMoN! Sticking out of your Ass! I mean Whooeee Boys I've got me live one here! Mindless sensless killing is just what this country needs to snap it out of the population overgrowth anywho thats why me and my family live way out in the country. When we finally got to the This was the greatest movie I've ever seen what people don't seem to realize is That you've gOt a DeMoN! Sticking out of your Ass! I mean Whooeee Boys I've got me live one here! Mindless sensless killing is just what this country needs to snap it out of the population overgrowth anywho thats why me and my family live way out in the country. When we finally got to the city last week to catch the flick we were amazed at the accuracy in real life that they stuck too unlike some of these other silly so called "horror" movies So after eating some fried chicken while waiting for our gasoline We've decided in favor of DOCTOR SATAN!!! :) Expand
  12. NikkiA.
    Jun 15, 2003
    10
    This has to be the best horror flick I have seen in a long time. Everything is so graphic and the torture is so endless.
  13. AurelieS.
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    Great stuff! Rock on Zombie.. f..k the rest..
  14. MrYeti
    May 7, 2003
    10
    Excellent film. Nice one, Mr Zombie.
  15. ArnieE.
    May 4, 2003
    10
    Unfortunately, we live in a world poisoned by entertainment that sells itself as so-called "reality." Many people loved "Blair Witch" and "The Ring". The world also has a lot of cattle. "House of 1000 Corpses" is a movie that is, in a word, brilliant. Notice I use the word "movie", not "film". Does anyone remember fun? You just don't make this kind of movie in the year 2000, and Unfortunately, we live in a world poisoned by entertainment that sells itself as so-called "reality." Many people loved "Blair Witch" and "The Ring". The world also has a lot of cattle. "House of 1000 Corpses" is a movie that is, in a word, brilliant. Notice I use the word "movie", not "film". Does anyone remember fun? You just don't make this kind of movie in the year 2000, and that's exactly why Rob Zombie made it. It's disheartening to think that the genius of this movie is being completely missed, while the aforementioned cattle will undoubtedly push and shove to be first in line for "The Real Cancun." If you are a person of intelligence who doesn't take yourself too seriously, and misses the days when horror movies didn't have to appeal to the "MTV's Real World", short attention span generation, go see this movie. Expand
  16. ChrisR.
    Jun 4, 2003
    10
    This is the greatest horror movie ever made. It's every horror movie thrown into one and I can't wait till the dvd comes out. House of 1000 Corpses beats Texas Chainsaw Massacre and Evil Dead by a mile!!!
  17. NicholasP.
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    I have long been a fan of the horror genre and of Rob Zombie. I was delighted when I heard about this film and ever since I have become somewhat obsessed with it. First off, I have to say this to the critic that said it was a knock-off of texas chainsaw massacre. If it really was a knock off then tobe hooper would have hated it but it just so happens that he loved the movie. Plus, while I have long been a fan of the horror genre and of Rob Zombie. I was delighted when I heard about this film and ever since I have become somewhat obsessed with it. First off, I have to say this to the critic that said it was a knock-off of texas chainsaw massacre. If it really was a knock off then tobe hooper would have hated it but it just so happens that he loved the movie. Plus, while there is some similarities, texas chainsaw massacre is in a class of its own. I loved the cast in this movie. Bill Moseley was my favorite as Otis and then of course Sid Haid (Spider Baby) as Capt. Spaulding. Every minute of this film had my attention and when it was over I wouldn't to watch it again. Since I have the DVD I have watched it about 15 time but that is in the space of about 6 weeks. Bottom line: this movie was great. You either love it or hate it and that is the way that it should be, I hate those people that say a movie is Ok, you either love it or you don't! I love it. Expand
  18. AriD.
    May 20, 2003
    10
    I absolutely loved everything about this movie. To me, its a masterpiece! Rob Zombie's direction is brilliant and honestly eerie. The movie did a great deal of impact on me and left me craving more. I consider it a work of art only to be admired for those on a different level.
  19. DeniseL.
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    This movie was great!!! rob needs to do a sequel!!!
  20. KR1Ztiaan
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    We want more!
  21. JubalB.
    Apr 7, 2004
    10
    This is one of my favorite movies of all time. i'm a huge horror fan and own texas chainsaw massacre... what i don't understand is why everyone compares the plots, they barely have any resemblance aside from the hitch-hiker, but tons of movies have that. The family is bigger, there's not only one killer, there's girls, there's a billion different reasons why this This is one of my favorite movies of all time. i'm a huge horror fan and own texas chainsaw massacre... what i don't understand is why everyone compares the plots, they barely have any resemblance aside from the hitch-hiker, but tons of movies have that. The family is bigger, there's not only one killer, there's girls, there's a billion different reasons why this movie kicks ass. And now on to you fools who think that it's stupid because there's "too many cut scenes" or that it "takes away from the suspense" That is the point idiots! It's called being stylized, and plus it gives background information, i would have loved to see things like that in TCM. I love the colors and the grainy picture... it really takes me back to the classic pictures. This movie totally blows all horror films of the past 10 to 15 years out of the water, i'm tired of all these gross-out action/horror flick lovers who are into movies like cabin fever and i know what you did last summer. the acting in HOTC shows off the amazing talents of most all of the actors and actressses, Bill Mosely and Sheri Moon play particularly believable badass parts. And for those of you who say things like "this movie gives too much plot" and all that mess, what do you think a movie is!? you're the type of people who would like to "read" a picture book instead of getting the full experience out of a 1000 page masterpiece. Give me a break, this movie rocks. Expand
  22. layla
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    The most amazing 70's style cult horror ever. I can't wait for the sequel.
  23. MissFirefly
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    Nobody can ever put this film down in my mind. Without a doubt it is the most amazing movie ever made. Who can resist a murdering clown and an unforgetable and haunting laugh. This film has everything it needs including fantastic screen effects. The whole film is full of cliche and relates to previous films such as TCM but that's just what makes it so brilliant. The film is designed Nobody can ever put this film down in my mind. Without a doubt it is the most amazing movie ever made. Who can resist a murdering clown and an unforgetable and haunting laugh. This film has everything it needs including fantastic screen effects. The whole film is full of cliche and relates to previous films such as TCM but that's just what makes it so brilliant. The film is designed to represent old school horror and it defiantly pulls this off with it's odd and sometimes seemingly pointless plot. Seeing character's 'play' with skeletons is disturbing along with other things which i won't spoil but let me say might remind you of Buffalo Bill. Also, with the including of Grimm's fairy tales and also appearing similar to Alice in 'Horrorland' at one point the film puts a whole new perspective on fairy tales. Don't forget to listen to the soundtrack which just compliments the already twisted story perfectly. So, guess i better go get watchin the best film ever all over again. Expand
  24. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Rob Zombie gives us a cult classic horror film that we all have been craving for quite some times. I remember first seeing this film and being terrified by the Firefly family. I would highly recommend.
  25. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    It's scary, suspensful, funny, and features a ton of great characters that will haunt your dreams. Rob Zombie has created something special with this movie. I loved it.
  26. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    The message here is quite simple: You either get this film or you don't.

    If you read the reviews with low scores, it becomes very apparent who is leaving them.
  27. Chuck
    May 29, 2003
    9
    This movie was nothing short of awesome. Zombie takes horror to the next level. However, you really have to understand the hidden messages to get all the film. Furthermore, if you do not like the hybridization of horror and the surreal, then Joe Q. Public probably won't get it or like it. What he did with the budget he had if far more brilliant than what others do with 20 times that This movie was nothing short of awesome. Zombie takes horror to the next level. However, you really have to understand the hidden messages to get all the film. Furthermore, if you do not like the hybridization of horror and the surreal, then Joe Q. Public probably won't get it or like it. What he did with the budget he had if far more brilliant than what others do with 20 times that in the horror genre. Bottom line, film critics are usually idiots who usually are afraid to risk their reputation. I loved the film. Expand
  28. DanD.
    Aug 20, 2003
    9
    This was one of the best movies I've seen in the past 20 years in the horror genre, it was surprisingly a very artistic movie, and it was the most gruesome movie I've ever seen, this movies makes current horror movies look like a spongebob video, rob zombie makes a terrific directorial debut, and I, personally can't wait for the sequel. Although this movie was more directed This was one of the best movies I've seen in the past 20 years in the horror genre, it was surprisingly a very artistic movie, and it was the most gruesome movie I've ever seen, this movies makes current horror movies look like a spongebob video, rob zombie makes a terrific directorial debut, and I, personally can't wait for the sequel. Although this movie was more directed at Zombie fans who understand his work, ther were others that did enjoy it. The cast Zombie choose was a superb choice, most people that did not like this movie either went intothe movie not wanting to like it, or just didn't have the cranial capacity to understand the full extent of the film, my only complaint is that the trailers of the movie made it seem that it was based the the Dr. Satan character, when it was actually based on a family around Dr. Satan, with only a short appearance by the doctor himself, but all in all I have no other choic but to give this movie a near perfect 9. Expand
  29. DerekW.
    Jun 23, 2003
    8
    I liked this movie a lot. It was different from all the other crappy horror flicks out there that insult your intelligence when they make the "victims" act like idiots. Its not for everyone, but I happen to like the odd twisted movie where the bad guys have all the "power" and are basically unstoppable. For those who gave it a low score, I totally understand, not everyone likes these I liked this movie a lot. It was different from all the other crappy horror flicks out there that insult your intelligence when they make the "victims" act like idiots. Its not for everyone, but I happen to like the odd twisted movie where the bad guys have all the "power" and are basically unstoppable. For those who gave it a low score, I totally understand, not everyone likes these types of movies. But I really hate all those other horror movies who use the same formula over and over. Long live texas chainsaw masacre, evil dead, from dusk til dawn, and all those other movies who stray from "norm" and dare to be different. Expand
  30. Jeremy
    Apr 19, 2003
    8
    This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to previous horror movies. The people who complain that they can not see the plot or understand the motivation of this movie are just stupid. Any horror This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to previous horror movies. The people who complain that they can not see the plot or understand the motivation of this movie are just stupid. Any horror movie fan worth his salt will see this film and be satisfied. By no means is this a ground breaking film, but for the hardcore horror film lovers, this will be a great movie. Expand
  31. Jeremy
    Apr 19, 2003
    8
    This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to previous horror movies. The people who complain that they can not see the plot or understand the motivation of this movie are just stupid. Any horror This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to previous horror movies. The people who complain that they can not see the plot or understand the motivation of this movie are just stupid. Any horror movie fan worth his salt will see this film and be satisfied. By no means is this a ground breaking film, but for the hardcore horror film lovers, this will be a great movie. Expand
  32. Jeremy
    Apr 19, 2003
    8
    This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to previous horror movies. The people who complain that they can not see the plot or understand the motivation of this movie are just stupid. Any horror This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to previous horror movies. The people who complain that they can not see the plot or understand the motivation of this movie are just stupid. Any horror movie fan worth his salt will see this film and be satisfied. By no means is this a ground breaking film, but for the hardcore horror film lovers, this will be a great movie. Expand
  33. Jared
    Jun 8, 2003
    8
    Cool imagery...awesome characters... I really enjoyed this movie! It has its faults, but is still worth seeing! It'll make you writh in your seat!
  34. L.Liu
    Jun 9, 2003
    8
    Don't try to figure it out. Go with the flow and you'll see just how twisted and funny it is.
  35. Marc-o
    Oct 8, 2003
    8
    Hitchcock said as a critisism of modern cinema ' that it was just pictures of people talking' . One thing Rob Zombie's debut cannot be accused of. As for the it's too much like Chainsaw Massacre any of you people heard of homage. This movie was fun not in a nice Finding Nemo way but in a tear your flesh off you as soon as spit in your face kinda way. It was bloody, Hitchcock said as a critisism of modern cinema ' that it was just pictures of people talking' . One thing Rob Zombie's debut cannot be accused of. As for the it's too much like Chainsaw Massacre any of you people heard of homage. This movie was fun not in a nice Finding Nemo way but in a tear your flesh off you as soon as spit in your face kinda way. It was bloody, funny, fast paced and in some places down right bizzare. Although fundamentally made for the horror fan in mind this movie i feel has the power to move over to cult status and mabey win over a few new fans. Please release a dir. cut as i heard lots of the really grizzly stuff hit the cutting room floor. Expand
  36. JohnM.
    Mar 28, 2004
    8
    All I'm gonna say, because this has been driving me nuts from moron critics. the car didn't BREAK DOWN!!! They were set up! Do you ppl actually pay attention to these movies!? Or do you refuse to look beyond your preconceived notions going in?
  37. Walker
    Apr 14, 2003
    7
    The movie is a throwback to a certain genre of movies that requires a certain audience to want to admire. The movie is very watchable with a decent amount of style and probably the coolest execution ever caught on film. I cant go as far to recomend this movie to anyone. You know full well when buying the ticket what to expect. And when leaving try not to get blood on your best clown suit.
  38. A-DAWG
    Oct 23, 2003
    7
    i didnt think the movie was all that great but it was a nice change from the movies that are out right now.
  39. Sep 3, 2011
    7
    This Movie Was Pretty Good it was Bloody Insane Strange And Chilling it has all the good element of a Decent Horror Film It is alot better then Ridculas Horror Films Like Final Destination House of The Dead and So On
  40. JakeM.
    Apr 17, 2003
    5
    Its best to think of this movie as a Rob Zombie music video. Only without all the great music and a bit more fancier scenes. The bad side to this movie is the plot just totally blows, I could watch a John Mayor music video and get more of a plot out of it than this movie. But after a grouling 90 minutes of watching this movie, I sit back and remember that it wasn't such a bad Its best to think of this movie as a Rob Zombie music video. Only without all the great music and a bit more fancier scenes. The bad side to this movie is the plot just totally blows, I could watch a John Mayor music video and get more of a plot out of it than this movie. But after a grouling 90 minutes of watching this movie, I sit back and remember that it wasn't such a bad movie... After all Rob Zombie made it. Expand
  41. Sep 1, 2010
    5
    Rob Zombie's take on 1970's B-Movies.
    Full of weird and wonderful characters especially Sid Haig as the almost iconic Captain Spaulding.
    The acting is pretty bad throughout (I assume this was to get the B-Movie feel in parts) & it gets a bit silly at the end. A mention for the great use of Slim Whitman's "I remember you" in quite a morose scene as well. Not as good as Robert Rodriguez's
    Rob Zombie's take on 1970's B-Movies.
    Full of weird and wonderful characters especially Sid Haig as the almost iconic Captain Spaulding.
    The acting is pretty bad throughout (I assume this was to get the B-Movie feel in parts) & it gets a bit silly at the end.
    A mention for the great use of Slim Whitman's "I remember you" in quite a morose scene as well.
    Not as good as Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror which is in the same genre & done a lot better.
    Expand
  42. GerrickC.
    Apr 30, 2006
    3
    Sounds like Rob Zombie's film is past dead- which is dull-dead and dreary.
  43. M.M.
    Mar 19, 2006
    2
    Surprised to see only 0's and 10's for the most part this movie is much closer to a 0. This movie was not scary and I found myself very bored watching it. I kept waiting for the gore, but there were only a few scenes of active violence - most of the offensive material were slow shots of already dead, mutilated bodies. There was really nothing original about any of the Surprised to see only 0's and 10's for the most part this movie is much closer to a 0. This movie was not scary and I found myself very bored watching it. I kept waiting for the gore, but there were only a few scenes of active violence - most of the offensive material were slow shots of already dead, mutilated bodies. There was really nothing original about any of the murders/deaths. For example, upon opening a trunk, a dead body is found with the words "treat or trick" (or something close) etched into the leg of a slightly overweight girl. I can think of a 1000 ways to make that discovery more horrifying. I did like Capt. Spaulding's character and the baby character (agreeing with a former reviewer) and give this a 2 as a result. I kept waiting for some good B movie thrills, instead I got spliced footage of old 50's topless C-level "models" Bottomline: no scares, no good T&A, no good gore. Expand
  44. HermioneB.P.
    Aug 4, 2004
    2
    It was pointless, had no story line, i didnt know what was goin on most of the time. it was a sick idea of a film and very hard to follow!!!
  45. Axle
    Apr 22, 2003
    2
    Hurray for Captain Spaulding!
  46. JoshW.
    Oct 21, 2003
    2
    I finally got around to seeing this movie on DVD. I'd been out of the country during its release and I was really anxious to see it. Ohh the agony. I love a good horror flick and this wasn't it. There was nothing scary about this movie. If it wanted to go for the guts and just be a gore fest, well it would have needed at least two more pools full of blood to even come close. I I finally got around to seeing this movie on DVD. I'd been out of the country during its release and I was really anxious to see it. Ohh the agony. I love a good horror flick and this wasn't it. There was nothing scary about this movie. If it wanted to go for the guts and just be a gore fest, well it would have needed at least two more pools full of blood to even come close. I was let down by the movie, but I will give the DVD serious credit for making the menus really fun. It's just sad when a movie is completely over shadowed by it's DVD options. I did enjoy the Capt. Spaulding and Baby characters (one point for each) but they were wasted in this movie. I think the lesson here is that just because your a die hard fan of B/horror/slasher movies, doesn't mean that your necessarily the most qualified person on the planet to write and direct one. Expand
  47. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    I have one word to describe this movie AWFUL! It doesn't even compare to it's sequel, The Devil's Rejects. This is just a weird, drugged out, gore fest, that makes absolutely no sense. It's not even funny, It's a complete waste of time. Even Rob Zombie's sister was said to have walked out of the screening in disgust, saying, "what the F is wrong with you!?"
  48. MauriceV.
    Dec 12, 2007
    1
    I give it one because it was a nice try....the other nice try extra points went away when I started feeling like I was watching a boring extended version of the "I feel so numb" music video.... now seriously, after this film I got so angry that, though I am a big fan of the music from Rob Zombie, I didn't even want to hear a single song from him. though if you are really into bizarre I give it one because it was a nice try....the other nice try extra points went away when I started feeling like I was watching a boring extended version of the "I feel so numb" music video.... now seriously, after this film I got so angry that, though I am a big fan of the music from Rob Zombie, I didn't even want to hear a single song from him. though if you are really into bizarre experiences, not wanting to watch a horror nor a terror film but some surreal comedy with horror parodies go ahead, you might enjoy it. Then again I seriously doubt it. Still I think he evolved from this shitty standard with his next movies, and though everybody hates it, I think Zombie does the exact opposite with Halloween delivering a great new angle for a movie (switching -in my opinion- the genre of it from a slow paced suspense thrill to a very well done violent horror pic). Expand
  49. NinjaMafia
    Oct 21, 2003
    1
    [***SPOILERS***] I'm apologizing ahead of time because I know I am going to say alot of offensive things to people who love this movie. Just remember, I probably don't mean it in the worse possible way, just a very bad one. Ok, One night we went to our local video store to get some kung fu movies for our weekly kung fu party, well some dumb ass friend of mine said that we needed[***SPOILERS***] I'm apologizing ahead of time because I know I am going to say alot of offensive things to people who love this movie. Just remember, I probably don't mean it in the worse possible way, just a very bad one. Ok, One night we went to our local video store to get some kung fu movies for our weekly kung fu party, well some dumb ass friend of mine said that we needed to see house of 1000 corpses because it was supposed to be the best movie his rommate ever saw. We watched it first seeing how it wasn't a kung fu movie so we could put it away afterwards. The storyline to the movie is extremely predictable and boring. OK there are these two couples and, while stopping for gas, they encounter a really cool gas station filled with creepy things. The owner of the station, a demented clown seen killing someone at the start of the movie, gives them a ride to see some famous serial killers. The most noticable was Dr. Satan. The kids then leave the place wanting to find out more about Dr. Satan. Their car "breaks down" after they pick up a slutty hitch hicker. The hitch hicker tells them to go to her house so they do. Inside her house is a bunch of idiotic red necks and a son with a hockey mask over his face (was it a hockey mask I can't remember). Okay, now the red necks are mutilating the couples in very graphic scenes that looked to be ripped from a really bad music video. The surviving girl goes underground and finds Dr. Satan. If that was a tremendous plot twist to you then I'm terribly sorry. Okay to begin the characters were the biggest idiots I have ever seen. I mean, their kid has a freaky mask on and he is about 7 feet tall. That should tell you to get out of the damn house. The character swere HORRIBLY developed. The clown would have been a semi intersting character if he actually had a role in the story. The scenes were they mutilate someone is done in a grainy camera that is constantly switching views with Rob Zombie music in the backround. Also, the red necks have no need to kill. They just do it bnecause Mr. Zombie couldn't think of anything. The acting was also horribly bad. The couples were just droning on their lines trying to sound like they are meaningful when theyreally aren't. This movie is probably the worst I have ever seen. I really don't see what people see in it. Is it the blood? If so there are tons of good action movies with pretty good amount of blood in them. This also had no scary moments at all. I was waiting for a zombie to pop up and eat someone but no, all it was was horrible mutilations of people. I mean, just watch a surgery and you will see the same thing. For those of you who do like it, I actually envy you, if I could like almost everyrhing this bad, then hell, I would be a very happy person right now. This movie isn't very recommendable at all. Expand
  50. JoelT.
    Apr 4, 2004
    1
    This movie was very dissappointing. It was just Rob Zombie showing off how demented he is, and how bad at making movies he is. No one should watch this movie, unless they want to laugh at a wanna-be horror movie. The House of 1000 Corpses was also overly violent, and was absolutely sickening. Hopefully this will be Rob Zombie's last movie.
  51. Julie
    Mar 17, 2005
    1
    This movie was incredibly boring. Rob Zombie tried so hard to make it demented and creepy that he totally missed putting in a story line. None of the characters are developed so you end up not caring if any of them live or die. I kept waiting for something scary to happen and it never did. If you like the Blue Collar Comedy Tour movie you might like the stupid dialogue. This movie failed This movie was incredibly boring. Rob Zombie tried so hard to make it demented and creepy that he totally missed putting in a story line. None of the characters are developed so you end up not caring if any of them live or die. I kept waiting for something scary to happen and it never did. If you like the Blue Collar Comedy Tour movie you might like the stupid dialogue. This movie failed to even disturb me. If you have any taste at all, you won't like this movie. Expand
  52. Jul 29, 2012
    1
    I went through the annoying process of registering with metacritic just to discourage you from watching this movie.

    Pros: the captain clown character, the first scene, general weirdness
    Cons: bad, bad soundtrack, annoying cut scenes
  53. Mar 16, 2015
    1
    (going to watch again)

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  54. Acuzzam
    Jan 9, 2009
    0
    Some people say that this is a good movie in the "horror trash" style. I have to disagree. I'm a fan of all kind of movies including trash movies and this one its not a good one. It's surprisingly boring, it's the kind of movie that is just a waste of time.
  55. jefff.
    Aug 3, 2005
    0
    A lame and pathetic ripoff of the "the texas chainsaw massacre". Don't quit your day job Rob.
  56. Philter137
    Sep 16, 2005
    0
    I am not being extreme, I honestly believe this film deserves a zero. My friends stopped watching after half and hour, one by one they found something better to do. I watched for as long as I could, a full 30 minutes longer than the others, but eventually I did something I've never done with a rental film before... I hit fast-forward and watched the film fly past, just so I could get I am not being extreme, I honestly believe this film deserves a zero. My friends stopped watching after half and hour, one by one they found something better to do. I watched for as long as I could, a full 30 minutes longer than the others, but eventually I did something I've never done with a rental film before... I hit fast-forward and watched the film fly past, just so I could get to the end and put this behind me. I must have stopped and watched 20 times before reaching the end, but it was the same old sh*t. I'm sure there are fans of this flick out there, someone on Rob Zombie's wavelength, and that's great. I hope you enjoyed it. You're on your own in a very small, special group of people. Expand
  57. JJJohson
    Dec 22, 2003
    0
    Nice visuals. Free violence. No plot at all.
  58. QuinnP.
    Sep 17, 2004
    0
    If you ever feel like watching an hour long music video go ahead and rent House of a 1000 Corpses. Be prepared to see excessive amounts of blood, gore, and gunk, with little, or no, reason for it. Also, be sure not to take it seriously at all, because if you do, you will only be disappointed. Another point to look for: the most annoying laugh you'll ever hear in your life. This movie If you ever feel like watching an hour long music video go ahead and rent House of a 1000 Corpses. Be prepared to see excessive amounts of blood, gore, and gunk, with little, or no, reason for it. Also, be sure not to take it seriously at all, because if you do, you will only be disappointed. Another point to look for: the most annoying laugh you'll ever hear in your life. This movie is not enjoyable. Expand
  59. BeckyP.
    Aug 4, 2004
    0
    This film was the worst film i have ever seen! it was only scare in the way that it was sick and who would ever want to do that! this film had no story line what so ever and i think the ideas of the film were sick and affensive! it was pointless because you knew what was goin to happen before it did! this film didnt make me jump and i am never again goin to watch another rob zombie film. This film was the worst film i have ever seen! it was only scare in the way that it was sick and who would ever want to do that! this film had no story line what so ever and i think the ideas of the film were sick and affensive! it was pointless because you knew what was goin to happen before it did! this film didnt make me jump and i am never again goin to watch another rob zombie film. it was a total waste of time and effort to produce such a meeningless film! only sick people would ever watch this! i rented this film out because i enjoy horror movies but i think this film has put me off ever watching a horror movie agen. it isnt horror it is sick and it was a waste of money and time watching this movie (if thats what you call it)!!! if i could i would rate this movie -10 out of infinity!!! Expand
  60. AdamM.
    Apr 14, 2003
    0
    I was very disappointed in this movie. The film had a promising beginning, and I found the Spaulding character quite amusing, but it was all down hill once the kids left the museum. Is has been two days since I've seen this movie. I am still trying to figure out not WHAT the plot is, but WHERE it is. I am a big fan of Rob Zombie, but I think he should stick to making music. I think I was very disappointed in this movie. The film had a promising beginning, and I found the Spaulding character quite amusing, but it was all down hill once the kids left the museum. Is has been two days since I've seen this movie. I am still trying to figure out not WHAT the plot is, but WHERE it is. I am a big fan of Rob Zombie, but I think he should stick to making music. I think the scariest part of the entire movie is the "?" after THE END. Expand
  61. TomS.
    Apr 13, 2003
    0
    Rob Zombie's film is just a bloody mess. Seeing the trailer I thought, hell maybe the movie will be scary and maybe good. But the only good thing that could be done with this film is in fact to send it straight to hell.
  62. [Anonymous]
    Aug 30, 2003
    0
    Your best bet would be to go rent texas chainsaw masacre. it's a better movie, its the movie rob zombie ripped off to make this piece of garbage, and it's in the 1.99 section instead of the overpriced hot new release for four bucks section.
  63. AJD.
    Jul 5, 2003
    0
    I've been watching horror movies of every type since I was 5 years old (some 21 years of horror) and have loved the genre. This movie made my top 5 list of worst movies I've ever seen, right up there with "JEEPERS CREEPERS" and 'THE DOOM GENERATION". As for horrible horror movies following poor predictible formula, it's as bad as the teeny slashers like SCREAM and I've been watching horror movies of every type since I was 5 years old (some 21 years of horror) and have loved the genre. This movie made my top 5 list of worst movies I've ever seen, right up there with "JEEPERS CREEPERS" and 'THE DOOM GENERATION". As for horrible horror movies following poor predictible formula, it's as bad as the teeny slashers like SCREAM and their ilk. It's like Rob spent a night watching old slasher flicks and going "Yeah, let's put that part in." It was more of a 70's clip-show than new movie. And even Rob's drug fried mind should have been able to come up with a more interesting name than "Dr. Satan." I would rather spend 2 hours taking kicks to the groin than see this movie a 2nd time. The only positive aspect of the movie was seeing Baby in G-string jeans. Expand
  64. GentlemanJimC.
    May 19, 2003
    0
    I've watched hundreds of horror, slasher, gore, etc. movies, and I was highly disappointed with this effort. It's a clumsy miasma of schlocky references to other movies mixed with stuttering violent images. This is supposed to be an avant garde way to make films, but in reality, it's an easy way out for untalented movie makers. To those that give this a 10, you know nothing I've watched hundreds of horror, slasher, gore, etc. movies, and I was highly disappointed with this effort. It's a clumsy miasma of schlocky references to other movies mixed with stuttering violent images. This is supposed to be an avant garde way to make films, but in reality, it's an easy way out for untalented movie makers. To those that give this a 10, you know nothing about good horror films. Expand
  65. Paul
    Apr 17, 2003
    0
    This is probably, flat out, the worst movie I have EVER seen. I'm not a huge Rob Zombie fan, rather someone that wanted to see a dumb, "so-bad-it's-funny" movie but instead I got a recycled mess of stale blood that Zombie compiled straight out of his ASS. This movie is just plain awful, ripping off every horro movie I can think of. This guy has no fucking clue how to make a This is probably, flat out, the worst movie I have EVER seen. I'm not a huge Rob Zombie fan, rather someone that wanted to see a dumb, "so-bad-it's-funny" movie but instead I got a recycled mess of stale blood that Zombie compiled straight out of his ASS. This movie is just plain awful, ripping off every horro movie I can think of. This guy has no fucking clue how to make a movie, and his music isn't even that good. He could have at least had the film not take it's self seriously, which might have been even remotely close to a tad funny. Even during the tense seens crappy hard rock music is balring making the whole thing blatantly predictable and bland. This movie is no funny, scary, good or creative in any way. How the hell did he get backed fro this film??? This steaming pile of blended mixed trash with random usage of sepia and negative arts should have gone straight to blockbuster! Half the people left in the frist 20 minutes of the movie. Screw you Zombie. Expand
  66. Phatman
    Apr 18, 2003
    0
    I don't normally rate movies a zero but this one deserves it. Very disappointing.
  67. RichardK.
    Apr 22, 2003
    0
    This movie is absolutely stupid. It was a texas chainsaw massacre rip off. I was dissapointed.It hardly has a story line that you could follow.If you want to see this movie, i would reconsider.
  68. js
    Apr 23, 2003
    0
    Biggest waste of 1.5hrs of my life that i will never get back now.
  69. SaintHarry
    May 9, 2003
    0
    One horrible horror flick. Rob Zombie is a lousy director I must say. I hope Marilyn Manson doesn't follow suit in directing.
  70. LillyM.
    Aug 7, 2003
    0
    This is the worst piece of sh*t I have ever seen in my entire life. It was FREE..a FREE rental from blockbuster and I feel ripped off. Rob Zombie can't direct for shit. The movie was a complete mess. No plot. If Zombie ever creates another movie like this I'd rather shoot myself than sit through even the opening credits. I do not recommend this movie to anyone..it shouldn't This is the worst piece of sh*t I have ever seen in my entire life. It was FREE..a FREE rental from blockbuster and I feel ripped off. Rob Zombie can't direct for shit. The movie was a complete mess. No plot. If Zombie ever creates another movie like this I'd rather shoot myself than sit through even the opening credits. I do not recommend this movie to anyone..it shouldn't have gone to theatres..it should have went straight to the cutting room floor. Expand
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 7 out of 15
  1. 50
    Shock-rocker Rob Zombie's loving homage to flat-out nasty horror films of the 1970s will leave many post-"Scream" (1996) horror fans cold because of what it's not. It's not slick or glossy. It's not funny or self-referential.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    38
    Zombie's film plays more like an experimental pastiche than an outright homage to those classic road-trip-gone-wrong movies.
  3. 12
    Kicks off as a cheap piece of retro schlock and quickly devolves into a putrid bloodbath with a thin narrative made utterly indecipherable by the first-time director's clueless approach to filmmaking.