Lions Gate Films | Release Date: April 11, 2003
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 153 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
74
Mixed:
9
Negative:
70
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
imthenoobJan 1, 2013
It's scary, suspensful, funny, and features a ton of great characters that will haunt your dreams. Rob Zombie has created something special with this movie. I loved it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
I have one word to describe this movie AWFUL! It doesn't even compare to it's sequel, The Devil's Rejects. This is just a weird, drugged out, gore fest, that makes absolutely no sense. It's not even funny, It's a complete waste of time. EvenI have one word to describe this movie AWFUL! It doesn't even compare to it's sequel, The Devil's Rejects. This is just a weird, drugged out, gore fest, that makes absolutely no sense. It's not even funny, It's a complete waste of time. Even Rob Zombie's sister was said to have walked out of the screening in disgust, saying, "what the F is wrong with you!?" Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
GerrickC.Apr 30, 2006
Sounds like Rob Zombie's film is past dead- which is dull-dead and dreary.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GerardistheWayAug 8, 2016
Say what you will about this film, but it accomplishes its primary goal--it entertains.

The influence of important horror movies such as "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and the low-budget B movies of the 1950s-onward is evident throughout
Say what you will about this film, but it accomplishes its primary goal--it entertains.

The influence of important horror movies such as "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and the low-budget B movies of the 1950s-onward is evident throughout almost the entire film, but that's part of what works for it. The style is too low-brow to look as clean and polished as a typical Hollywood-funded horror flick today, and so the inside (and exterior) of the Firefly house appears dirty and cluttered, as if several truckloads of garbage were spilled out of the floor and a gang of children were handed crayons and told to go nuts on the walls. But it immediately gives you a sense of how bizarre this family truly is (which the protagonists either don't seem to or don't care until it's too late)--which brings me to my second point, the characters.

Like so many horror movies--big Hollywood budgets or not--the lead characters, teenagers traveling cross-country to write a novel on offbeat roadside attractions, are completely and utterly forgettable, as well as stereotypical in their group roles--moron Jerry, frustrated leader Bill (interestingly enough, these two were played by a pre-fame Chris Hardwick and Rainn Wilson), fussy Mary, and Denise, who is so "final girl" designed that she might as well have it tattooed on her forehead. It doesn't take long for you to guess which of the characters are the ones to bite the dust first (except for one that actually surprised me the first time I watched this movie), and it shouldn't; they're not the ones that matter, but rather the various depraved and twisted individuals making up the Firefly family. Zombie's dislike for these kids and preference for his antagonists is evident the second the opening credits begin, before the former group have even been introduced, as the names of the actors playing the main Firefly members are displayed first.

These would be Otis B. Driftwood, played by "Chainsaw Massacre 2" actor Bill Moseley and easily the family's most completely psychopathic member reminiscent of Charles Manson (who is referenced early on in the film), Baby, the youngest of the family and one of its two female members played by Zombie's future wife Sheri Moon, and Mother Firefly, the the deceptively normal-seeming (relatively speaking) matriarch of the family played by Academy Award nominee and another cult-horror icon, Karen Black. Another character who is by far the most interesting one in the film and who may or may not be related to the Fireflys (no spoilers) is Captain Spaulding, the foul-mouthed owner of the Museum of Monsters and Madmen played by Sid Haig who also makes his own homemade fried chicken, who is seen early on in the film taking the law into his own hands and dispensing vigilante justice onto a couple of robbers who attempt to knock over his store (but not before humiliating them due to their supposed inexperience first). Spaulding is, in a sense, a physical representation of the movie itself--funny in some parts, scary in others, but always entertaining.

The story is nothing special, and in fact seems contrived from the most basic of horror elements--rainstorm, hitchhiker picked up, flat tire obtained through pre-set trap, teenagers forced to take refuge with killer family to await their car being fixed/the end of the storm, entire killer family set off by the idiotic actions of one person--but this also seems purposefully done, because the story is hardly the point of this movie; the point is the characters doing what they do, and Zombie showing off his skill as a visual stylist with constant switches between photo negatives and the picture in its original form. There are a few sup-plots that are resolved shortly after they begin, as well as a number of oddball scenes that seem stuffed into random places in order to provide something resembling comic relief and self-recorded videos of Otis and Baby intended to once again recall the Manson family, but there is so much else going on in this film that the plot is forgotten moments after it begins.

In conclusion, not the best horror movie ever created, but certainly not the worst. The cast, intentionally or not, nail their assigned roles to a T, and fans of Zombie's unique visual style should appreciate the film as it is. The two major complaints I can think of are the story, which as I said is take-it-or-leave-it, and a severe lack of Captain Spaulding in any and all scenes he doesn't appear in. All in all, though, this is a solid, entertaining movie that serves as a strong film debut for writer-director Rob Zombie and should satisfy fans of the horror genre and its horror-comedy subcategory. Heed my warning before you run out and watch it, though...This movie is not for everyone, and certainly not for the faint of heart. 7/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
MauriceV.Dec 12, 2007
I give it one because it was a nice try....the other nice try extra points went away when I started feeling like I was watching a boring extended version of the "I feel so numb" music video.... now seriously, after this film I got so angry I give it one because it was a nice try....the other nice try extra points went away when I started feeling like I was watching a boring extended version of the "I feel so numb" music video.... now seriously, after this film I got so angry that, though I am a big fan of the music from Rob Zombie, I didn't even want to hear a single song from him. though if you are really into bizarre experiences, not wanting to watch a horror nor a terror film but some surreal comedy with horror parodies go ahead, you might enjoy it. Then again I seriously doubt it. Still I think he evolved from this shitty standard with his next movies, and though everybody hates it, I think Zombie does the exact opposite with Halloween delivering a great new angle for a movie (switching -in my opinion- the genre of it from a slow paced suspense thrill to a very well done violent horror pic). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanB.Feb 9, 2008
This is a good movie for those who like the sick & twisted. Anyone who gave it a really bad vote are the type of people who dislike twisted movies and are most likely very close minded people. I give it a 10 because it's unique and a This is a good movie for those who like the sick & twisted. Anyone who gave it a really bad vote are the type of people who dislike twisted movies and are most likely very close minded people. I give it a 10 because it's unique and a refreshing view from the mainstream slew of run of the mill movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AcuzzamJan 9, 2009
Some people say that this is a good movie in the "horror trash" style. I have to disagree. I'm a fan of all kind of movies including trash movies and this one its not a good one. It's surprisingly boring, it's the kind of Some people say that this is a good movie in the "horror trash" style. I have to disagree. I'm a fan of all kind of movies including trash movies and this one its not a good one. It's surprisingly boring, it's the kind of movie that is just a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KMMar 17, 2009
Rob Zombie takes you on a road trip into hell and I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jefff.Aug 3, 2005
A lame and pathetic ripoff of the "the texas chainsaw massacre". Don't quit your day job Rob.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Philter137Sep 16, 2005
I am not being extreme, I honestly believe this film deserves a zero. My friends stopped watching after half and hour, one by one they found something better to do. I watched for as long as I could, a full 30 minutes longer than the others, I am not being extreme, I honestly believe this film deserves a zero. My friends stopped watching after half and hour, one by one they found something better to do. I watched for as long as I could, a full 30 minutes longer than the others, but eventually I did something I've never done with a rental film before... I hit fast-forward and watched the film fly past, just so I could get to the end and put this behind me. I must have stopped and watched 20 times before reaching the end, but it was the same old sh*t. I'm sure there are fans of this flick out there, someone on Rob Zombie's wavelength, and that's great. I hope you enjoyed it. You're on your own in a very small, special group of people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BamsoNov 22, 2005
This film rocks, and anyone who doesn't think so, is wrong!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
M.M.Mar 19, 2006
Surprised to see only 0's and 10's for the most part this movie is much closer to a 0. This movie was not scary and I found myself very bored watching it. I kept waiting for the gore, but there were only a few scenes of active Surprised to see only 0's and 10's for the most part this movie is much closer to a 0. This movie was not scary and I found myself very bored watching it. I kept waiting for the gore, but there were only a few scenes of active violence - most of the offensive material were slow shots of already dead, mutilated bodies. There was really nothing original about any of the murders/deaths. For example, upon opening a trunk, a dead body is found with the words "treat or trick" (or something close) etched into the leg of a slightly overweight girl. I can think of a 1000 ways to make that discovery more horrifying. I did like Capt. Spaulding's character and the baby character (agreeing with a former reviewer) and give this a 2 as a result. I kept waiting for some good B movie thrills, instead I got spliced footage of old 50's topless C-level "models" Bottomline: no scares, no good T&A, no good gore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Sep 24, 2007
In the way of TCM:2 (the original). Extreme violence mixed with extreme dark humor. A great debut for senior Zombie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JJJohsonDec 22, 2003
Nice visuals. Free violence. No plot at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
QuinnP.Sep 17, 2004
If you ever feel like watching an hour long music video go ahead and rent House of a 1000 Corpses. Be prepared to see excessive amounts of blood, gore, and gunk, with little, or no, reason for it. Also, be sure not to take it seriously at If you ever feel like watching an hour long music video go ahead and rent House of a 1000 Corpses. Be prepared to see excessive amounts of blood, gore, and gunk, with little, or no, reason for it. Also, be sure not to take it seriously at all, because if you do, you will only be disappointed. Another point to look for: the most annoying laugh you'll ever hear in your life. This movie is not enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DellP.Aug 24, 2004
BRILLIANT!!! This is the perfect holloween movie.Is apiece of art.I give it a 10 because i love it but it doesn't deserve less than a 7.This movie is beyond good,its TERRIFIC!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BeckyP.Aug 4, 2004
This film was the worst film i have ever seen! it was only scare in the way that it was sick and who would ever want to do that! this film had no story line what so ever and i think the ideas of the film were sick and affensive! it was This film was the worst film i have ever seen! it was only scare in the way that it was sick and who would ever want to do that! this film had no story line what so ever and i think the ideas of the film were sick and affensive! it was pointless because you knew what was goin to happen before it did! this film didnt make me jump and i am never again goin to watch another rob zombie film. it was a total waste of time and effort to produce such a meeningless film! only sick people would ever watch this! i rented this film out because i enjoy horror movies but i think this film has put me off ever watching a horror movie agen. it isnt horror it is sick and it was a waste of money and time watching this movie (if thats what you call it)!!! if i could i would rate this movie -10 out of infinity!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HermioneB.P.Aug 4, 2004
It was pointless, had no story line, i didnt know what was goin on most of the time. it was a sick idea of a film and very hard to follow!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Brundlefly7May 30, 2004
I loved this movie. I didn't think it was scary as much as totally demented! If you like the bizarre and twisted, this is for you. I added it to my collection the day i rented it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdamM.Apr 14, 2003
I was very disappointed in this movie. The film had a promising beginning, and I found the Spaulding character quite amusing, but it was all down hill once the kids left the museum. Is has been two days since I've seen this movie. I am I was very disappointed in this movie. The film had a promising beginning, and I found the Spaulding character quite amusing, but it was all down hill once the kids left the museum. Is has been two days since I've seen this movie. I am still trying to figure out not WHAT the plot is, but WHERE it is. I am a big fan of Rob Zombie, but I think he should stick to making music. I think the scariest part of the entire movie is the "?" after THE END. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChuckMay 29, 2003
This movie was nothing short of awesome. Zombie takes horror to the next level. However, you really have to understand the hidden messages to get all the film. Furthermore, if you do not like the hybridization of horror and the surreal, then This movie was nothing short of awesome. Zombie takes horror to the next level. However, you really have to understand the hidden messages to get all the film. Furthermore, if you do not like the hybridization of horror and the surreal, then Joe Q. Public probably won't get it or like it. What he did with the budget he had if far more brilliant than what others do with 20 times that in the horror genre. Bottom line, film critics are usually idiots who usually are afraid to risk their reputation. I loved the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomS.Apr 13, 2003
Rob Zombie's film is just a bloody mess. Seeing the trailer I thought, hell maybe the movie will be scary and maybe good. But the only good thing that could be done with this film is in fact to send it straight to hell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelG.May 12, 2003
Are you people f..king retarded? this movie kicked ass. i went and saw it and immediately downloaded it. it's so bad ass, unless you don't like horror movies and cool sh.t like that then you have no business watching and criticisingAre you people f..king retarded? this movie kicked ass. i went and saw it and immediately downloaded it. it's so bad ass, unless you don't like horror movies and cool sh.t like that then you have no business watching and criticising this movie. if you had good taste, maybe you would have a different opinion. rob did an amazing job. a sequel would be too much, but he should definitely make more movies. i can't get enough, i f..king live for this sh.t. GOD IS DEAD. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Aug 30, 2003
Your best bet would be to go rent texas chainsaw masacre. it's a better movie, its the movie rob zombie ripped off to make this piece of garbage, and it's in the 1.99 section instead of the overpriced hot new release for four bucksYour best bet would be to go rent texas chainsaw masacre. it's a better movie, its the movie rob zombie ripped off to make this piece of garbage, and it's in the 1.99 section instead of the overpriced hot new release for four bucks section. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DerekW.Jun 23, 2003
I liked this movie a lot. It was different from all the other crappy horror flicks out there that insult your intelligence when they make the "victims" act like idiots. Its not for everyone, but I happen to like the odd twisted movie where I liked this movie a lot. It was different from all the other crappy horror flicks out there that insult your intelligence when they make the "victims" act like idiots. Its not for everyone, but I happen to like the odd twisted movie where the bad guys have all the "power" and are basically unstoppable. For those who gave it a low score, I totally understand, not everyone likes these types of movies. But I really hate all those other horror movies who use the same formula over and over. Long live texas chainsaw masacre, evil dead, from dusk til dawn, and all those other movies who stray from "norm" and dare to be different. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CinMay 24, 2003
I wish I could give this movie higher than a 10 because that's what it deserves. It is a cult classic in my mind and its up there with Evil Dead and TCM to me. I would suggest this movie to anyone. A great horror movie!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AJD.Jul 5, 2003
I've been watching horror movies of every type since I was 5 years old (some 21 years of horror) and have loved the genre. This movie made my top 5 list of worst movies I've ever seen, right up there with "JEEPERS CREEPERS" and I've been watching horror movies of every type since I was 5 years old (some 21 years of horror) and have loved the genre. This movie made my top 5 list of worst movies I've ever seen, right up there with "JEEPERS CREEPERS" and 'THE DOOM GENERATION". As for horrible horror movies following poor predictible formula, it's as bad as the teeny slashers like SCREAM and their ilk. It's like Rob spent a night watching old slasher flicks and going "Yeah, let's put that part in." It was more of a 70's clip-show than new movie. And even Rob's drug fried mind should have been able to come up with a more interesting name than "Dr. Satan." I would rather spend 2 hours taking kicks to the groin than see this movie a 2nd time. The only positive aspect of the movie was seeing Baby in G-string jeans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeremyApr 19, 2003
This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to previous horror movies. The people who complain that they can not see the plot or understand the motivation of this movie are just stupid. Any horror movie fan worth his salt will see this film and be satisfied. By no means is this a ground breaking film, but for the hardcore horror film lovers, this will be a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeremyApr 19, 2003
This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to previous horror movies. The people who complain that they can not see the plot or understand the motivation of this movie are just stupid. Any horror movie fan worth his salt will see this film and be satisfied. By no means is this a ground breaking film, but for the hardcore horror film lovers, this will be a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GentlemanJimC.May 19, 2003
I've watched hundreds of horror, slasher, gore, etc. movies, and I was highly disappointed with this effort. It's a clumsy miasma of schlocky references to other movies mixed with stuttering violent images. This is supposed to be I've watched hundreds of horror, slasher, gore, etc. movies, and I was highly disappointed with this effort. It's a clumsy miasma of schlocky references to other movies mixed with stuttering violent images. This is supposed to be an avant garde way to make films, but in reality, it's an easy way out for untalented movie makers. To those that give this a 10, you know nothing about good horror films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeremyApr 19, 2003
This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to This movie was quite entertaining and I saw it twice. First, the in-between scenes were great filler and bring an interesting light to the plot. Second, there was no point in this movie that I was bored or offended at the homage paid to previous horror movies. The people who complain that they can not see the plot or understand the motivation of this movie are just stupid. Any horror movie fan worth his salt will see this film and be satisfied. By no means is this a ground breaking film, but for the hardcore horror film lovers, this will be a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PaulApr 17, 2003
This is probably, flat out, the worst movie I have EVER seen. I'm not a huge Rob Zombie fan, rather someone that wanted to see a dumb, "so-bad-it's-funny" movie but instead I got a recycled mess of stale blood that Zombie compiled This is probably, flat out, the worst movie I have EVER seen. I'm not a huge Rob Zombie fan, rather someone that wanted to see a dumb, "so-bad-it's-funny" movie but instead I got a recycled mess of stale blood that Zombie compiled straight out of his ASS. This movie is just plain awful, ripping off every horro movie I can think of. This guy has no fucking clue how to make a movie, and his music isn't even that good. He could have at least had the film not take it's self seriously, which might have been even remotely close to a tad funny. Even during the tense seens crappy hard rock music is balring making the whole thing blatantly predictable and bland. This movie is no funny, scary, good or creative in any way. How the hell did he get backed fro this film??? This steaming pile of blended mixed trash with random usage of sepia and negative arts should have gone straight to blockbuster! Half the people left in the frist 20 minutes of the movie. Screw you Zombie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberJun 19, 2003
I've seen it four times and will see it again. It's the greatest horror film I've seen. Eye candy , ramones , and lot's of LSD mixed with a huge white zombie video. It's perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WalkerApr 14, 2003
The movie is a throwback to a certain genre of movies that requires a certain audience to want to admire. The movie is very watchable with a decent amount of style and probably the coolest execution ever caught on film. I cant go as far to The movie is a throwback to a certain genre of movies that requires a certain audience to want to admire. The movie is very watchable with a decent amount of style and probably the coolest execution ever caught on film. I cant go as far to recomend this movie to anyone. You know full well when buying the ticket what to expect. And when leaving try not to get blood on your best clown suit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaynaMay 3, 2003
The character "Baby" made me question my sexuality or at the very least, wnat to invite her into a threesome with me and my boyfriend. She's Hot!!! This movie is awesome, especially for Rob Zombie fans. It's like an hour and a half The character "Baby" made me question my sexuality or at the very least, wnat to invite her into a threesome with me and my boyfriend. She's Hot!!! This movie is awesome, especially for Rob Zombie fans. It's like an hour and a half long White Zombie video. It was more disturbing than anything, but definitely something that I plan to add to my collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhatmanApr 18, 2003
I don't normally rate movies a zero but this one deserves it. Very disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DoctorSatanMay 2, 2003
This was the greatest movie I've ever seen what people don't seem to realize is That you've gOt a DeMoN! Sticking out of your Ass! I mean Whooeee Boys I've got me live one here! Mindless sensless killing is just what this This was the greatest movie I've ever seen what people don't seem to realize is That you've gOt a DeMoN! Sticking out of your Ass! I mean Whooeee Boys I've got me live one here! Mindless sensless killing is just what this country needs to snap it out of the population overgrowth anywho thats why me and my family live way out in the country. When we finally got to the city last week to catch the flick we were amazed at the accuracy in real life that they stuck too unlike some of these other silly so called "horror" movies So after eating some fried chicken while waiting for our gasoline We've decided in favor of DOCTOR SATAN!!! :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikkiA.Jun 15, 2003
This has to be the best horror flick I have seen in a long time. Everything is so graphic and the torture is so endless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AurelieS.Jun 7, 2003
Great stuff! Rock on Zombie.. f..k the rest..
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaredJun 8, 2003
Cool imagery...awesome characters... I really enjoyed this movie! It has its faults, but is still worth seeing! It'll make you writh in your seat!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichardK.Apr 22, 2003
This movie is absolutely stupid. It was a texas chainsaw massacre rip off. I was dissapointed.It hardly has a story line that you could follow.If you want to see this movie, i would reconsider.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jsApr 23, 2003
Biggest waste of 1.5hrs of my life that i will never get back now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MrYetiMay 7, 2003
Excellent film. Nice one, Mr Zombie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArnieE.May 4, 2003
Unfortunately, we live in a world poisoned by entertainment that sells itself as so-called "reality." Many people loved "Blair Witch" and "The Ring". The world also has a lot of cattle. "House of 1000 Corpses" is a movie that is, in a word, Unfortunately, we live in a world poisoned by entertainment that sells itself as so-called "reality." Many people loved "Blair Witch" and "The Ring". The world also has a lot of cattle. "House of 1000 Corpses" is a movie that is, in a word, brilliant. Notice I use the word "movie", not "film". Does anyone remember fun? You just don't make this kind of movie in the year 2000, and that's exactly why Rob Zombie made it. It's disheartening to think that the genius of this movie is being completely missed, while the aforementioned cattle will undoubtedly push and shove to be first in line for "The Real Cancun." If you are a person of intelligence who doesn't take yourself too seriously, and misses the days when horror movies didn't have to appeal to the "MTV's Real World", short attention span generation, go see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JakeM.Apr 17, 2003
Its best to think of this movie as a Rob Zombie music video. Only without all the great music and a bit more fancier scenes. The bad side to this movie is the plot just totally blows, I could watch a John Mayor music video and get more of a Its best to think of this movie as a Rob Zombie music video. Only without all the great music and a bit more fancier scenes. The bad side to this movie is the plot just totally blows, I could watch a John Mayor music video and get more of a plot out of it than this movie. But after a grouling 90 minutes of watching this movie, I sit back and remember that it wasn't such a bad movie... After all Rob Zombie made it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
L.LiuJun 9, 2003
Don't try to figure it out. Go with the flow and you'll see just how twisted and funny it is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AxleApr 22, 2003
Hurray for Captain Spaulding!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisR.Jun 4, 2003
This is the greatest horror movie ever made. It's every horror movie thrown into one and I can't wait till the dvd comes out. House of 1000 Corpses beats Texas Chainsaw Massacre and Evil Dead by a mile!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasP.Sep 30, 2003
I have long been a fan of the horror genre and of Rob Zombie. I was delighted when I heard about this film and ever since I have become somewhat obsessed with it. First off, I have to say this to the critic that said it was a knock-off of I have long been a fan of the horror genre and of Rob Zombie. I was delighted when I heard about this film and ever since I have become somewhat obsessed with it. First off, I have to say this to the critic that said it was a knock-off of texas chainsaw massacre. If it really was a knock off then tobe hooper would have hated it but it just so happens that he loved the movie. Plus, while there is some similarities, texas chainsaw massacre is in a class of its own. I loved the cast in this movie. Bill Moseley was my favorite as Otis and then of course Sid Haid (Spider Baby) as Capt. Spaulding. Every minute of this film had my attention and when it was over I wouldn't to watch it again. Since I have the DVD I have watched it about 15 time but that is in the space of about 6 weeks. Bottom line: this movie was great. You either love it or hate it and that is the way that it should be, I hate those people that say a movie is Ok, you either love it or you don't! I love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
A-DAWGOct 23, 2003
i didnt think the movie was all that great but it was a nice change from the movies that are out right now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NinjaMafiaOct 21, 2003
[***SPOILERS***] I'm apologizing ahead of time because I know I am going to say alot of offensive things to people who love this movie. Just remember, I probably don't mean it in the worse possible way, just a very bad one. Ok, One[***SPOILERS***] I'm apologizing ahead of time because I know I am going to say alot of offensive things to people who love this movie. Just remember, I probably don't mean it in the worse possible way, just a very bad one. Ok, One night we went to our local video store to get some kung fu movies for our weekly kung fu party, well some dumb ass friend of mine said that we needed to see house of 1000 corpses because it was supposed to be the best movie his rommate ever saw. We watched it first seeing how it wasn't a kung fu movie so we could put it away afterwards. The storyline to the movie is extremely predictable and boring. OK there are these two couples and, while stopping for gas, they encounter a really cool gas station filled with creepy things. The owner of the station, a demented clown seen killing someone at the start of the movie, gives them a ride to see some famous serial killers. The most noticable was Dr. Satan. The kids then leave the place wanting to find out more about Dr. Satan. Their car "breaks down" after they pick up a slutty hitch hicker. The hitch hicker tells them to go to her house so they do. Inside her house is a bunch of idiotic red necks and a son with a hockey mask over his face (was it a hockey mask I can't remember). Okay, now the red necks are mutilating the couples in very graphic scenes that looked to be ripped from a really bad music video. The surviving girl goes underground and finds Dr. Satan. If that was a tremendous plot twist to you then I'm terribly sorry. Okay to begin the characters were the biggest idiots I have ever seen. I mean, their kid has a freaky mask on and he is about 7 feet tall. That should tell you to get out of the damn house. The character swere HORRIBLY developed. The clown would have been a semi intersting character if he actually had a role in the story. The scenes were they mutilate someone is done in a grainy camera that is constantly switching views with Rob Zombie music in the backround. Also, the red necks have no need to kill. They just do it bnecause Mr. Zombie couldn't think of anything. The acting was also horribly bad. The couples were just droning on their lines trying to sound like they are meaningful when theyreally aren't. This movie is probably the worst I have ever seen. I really don't see what people see in it. Is it the blood? If so there are tons of good action movies with pretty good amount of blood in them. This also had no scary moments at all. I was waiting for a zombie to pop up and eat someone but no, all it was was horrible mutilations of people. I mean, just watch a surgery and you will see the same thing. For those of you who do like it, I actually envy you, if I could like almost everyrhing this bad, then hell, I would be a very happy person right now. This movie isn't very recommendable at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AriD.May 20, 2003
I absolutely loved everything about this movie. To me, its a masterpiece! Rob Zombie's direction is brilliant and honestly eerie. The movie did a great deal of impact on me and left me craving more. I consider it a work of art only to I absolutely loved everything about this movie. To me, its a masterpiece! Rob Zombie's direction is brilliant and honestly eerie. The movie did a great deal of impact on me and left me craving more. I consider it a work of art only to be admired for those on a different level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SaintHarryMay 9, 2003
One horrible horror flick. Rob Zombie is a lousy director I must say. I hope Marilyn Manson doesn't follow suit in directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanD.Aug 20, 2003
This was one of the best movies I've seen in the past 20 years in the horror genre, it was surprisingly a very artistic movie, and it was the most gruesome movie I've ever seen, this movies makes current horror movies look like a This was one of the best movies I've seen in the past 20 years in the horror genre, it was surprisingly a very artistic movie, and it was the most gruesome movie I've ever seen, this movies makes current horror movies look like a spongebob video, rob zombie makes a terrific directorial debut, and I, personally can't wait for the sequel. Although this movie was more directed at Zombie fans who understand his work, ther were others that did enjoy it. The cast Zombie choose was a superb choice, most people that did not like this movie either went intothe movie not wanting to like it, or just didn't have the cranial capacity to understand the full extent of the film, my only complaint is that the trailers of the movie made it seem that it was based the the Dr. Satan character, when it was actually based on a family around Dr. Satan, with only a short appearance by the doctor himself, but all in all I have no other choic but to give this movie a near perfect 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Marc-oOct 8, 2003
Hitchcock said as a critisism of modern cinema ' that it was just pictures of people talking' . One thing Rob Zombie's debut cannot be accused of. As for the it's too much like Chainsaw Massacre any of you people heard of Hitchcock said as a critisism of modern cinema ' that it was just pictures of people talking' . One thing Rob Zombie's debut cannot be accused of. As for the it's too much like Chainsaw Massacre any of you people heard of homage. This movie was fun not in a nice Finding Nemo way but in a tear your flesh off you as soon as spit in your face kinda way. It was bloody, funny, fast paced and in some places down right bizzare. Although fundamentally made for the horror fan in mind this movie i feel has the power to move over to cult status and mabey win over a few new fans. Please release a dir. cut as i heard lots of the really grizzly stuff hit the cutting room floor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeniseL.Apr 29, 2003
This movie was great!!! rob needs to do a sequel!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KR1ZtiaanJul 6, 2003
We want more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LillyM.Aug 7, 2003
This is the worst piece of sh*t I have ever seen in my entire life. It was FREE..a FREE rental from blockbuster and I feel ripped off. Rob Zombie can't direct for shit. The movie was a complete mess. No plot. If Zombie ever creates This is the worst piece of sh*t I have ever seen in my entire life. It was FREE..a FREE rental from blockbuster and I feel ripped off. Rob Zombie can't direct for shit. The movie was a complete mess. No plot. If Zombie ever creates another movie like this I'd rather shoot myself than sit through even the opening credits. I do not recommend this movie to anyone..it shouldn't have gone to theatres..it should have went straight to the cutting room floor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoshW.Oct 21, 2003
I finally got around to seeing this movie on DVD. I'd been out of the country during its release and I was really anxious to see it. Ohh the agony. I love a good horror flick and this wasn't it. There was nothing scary about this I finally got around to seeing this movie on DVD. I'd been out of the country during its release and I was really anxious to see it. Ohh the agony. I love a good horror flick and this wasn't it. There was nothing scary about this movie. If it wanted to go for the guts and just be a gore fest, well it would have needed at least two more pools full of blood to even come close. I was let down by the movie, but I will give the DVD serious credit for making the menus really fun. It's just sad when a movie is completely over shadowed by it's DVD options. I did enjoy the Capt. Spaulding and Baby characters (one point for each) but they were wasted in this movie. I think the lesson here is that just because your a die hard fan of B/horror/slasher movies, doesn't mean that your necessarily the most qualified person on the planet to write and direct one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnM.Mar 28, 2004
All I'm gonna say, because this has been driving me nuts from moron critics. the car didn't BREAK DOWN!!! They were set up! Do you ppl actually pay attention to these movies!? Or do you refuse to look beyond your preconceived All I'm gonna say, because this has been driving me nuts from moron critics. the car didn't BREAK DOWN!!! They were set up! Do you ppl actually pay attention to these movies!? Or do you refuse to look beyond your preconceived notions going in? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JubalB.Apr 7, 2004
This is one of my favorite movies of all time. i'm a huge horror fan and own texas chainsaw massacre... what i don't understand is why everyone compares the plots, they barely have any resemblance aside from the hitch-hiker, but This is one of my favorite movies of all time. i'm a huge horror fan and own texas chainsaw massacre... what i don't understand is why everyone compares the plots, they barely have any resemblance aside from the hitch-hiker, but tons of movies have that. The family is bigger, there's not only one killer, there's girls, there's a billion different reasons why this movie kicks ass. And now on to you fools who think that it's stupid because there's "too many cut scenes" or that it "takes away from the suspense" That is the point idiots! It's called being stylized, and plus it gives background information, i would have loved to see things like that in TCM. I love the colors and the grainy picture... it really takes me back to the classic pictures. This movie totally blows all horror films of the past 10 to 15 years out of the water, i'm tired of all these gross-out action/horror flick lovers who are into movies like cabin fever and i know what you did last summer. the acting in HOTC shows off the amazing talents of most all of the actors and actressses, Bill Mosely and Sheri Moon play particularly believable badass parts. And for those of you who say things like "this movie gives too much plot" and all that mess, what do you think a movie is!? you're the type of people who would like to "read" a picture book instead of getting the full experience out of a 1000 page masterpiece. Give me a break, this movie rocks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoelT.Apr 4, 2004
This movie was very dissappointing. It was just Rob Zombie showing off how demented he is, and how bad at making movies he is. No one should watch this movie, unless they want to laugh at a wanna-be horror movie. The House of 1000 Corpses This movie was very dissappointing. It was just Rob Zombie showing off how demented he is, and how bad at making movies he is. No one should watch this movie, unless they want to laugh at a wanna-be horror movie. The House of 1000 Corpses was also overly violent, and was absolutely sickening. Hopefully this will be Rob Zombie's last movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JulieMar 17, 2005
This movie was incredibly boring. Rob Zombie tried so hard to make it demented and creepy that he totally missed putting in a story line. None of the characters are developed so you end up not caring if any of them live or die. I kept This movie was incredibly boring. Rob Zombie tried so hard to make it demented and creepy that he totally missed putting in a story line. None of the characters are developed so you end up not caring if any of them live or die. I kept waiting for something scary to happen and it never did. If you like the Blue Collar Comedy Tour movie you might like the stupid dialogue. This movie failed to even disturb me. If you have any taste at all, you won't like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
laylaMar 31, 2005
The most amazing 70's style cult horror ever. I can't wait for the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MissFireflyMar 31, 2005
Nobody can ever put this film down in my mind. Without a doubt it is the most amazing movie ever made. Who can resist a murdering clown and an unforgetable and haunting laugh. This film has everything it needs including fantastic screen Nobody can ever put this film down in my mind. Without a doubt it is the most amazing movie ever made. Who can resist a murdering clown and an unforgetable and haunting laugh. This film has everything it needs including fantastic screen effects. The whole film is full of cliche and relates to previous films such as TCM but that's just what makes it so brilliant. The film is designed to represent old school horror and it defiantly pulls this off with it's odd and sometimes seemingly pointless plot. Seeing character's 'play' with skeletons is disturbing along with other things which i won't spoil but let me say might remind you of Buffalo Bill. Also, with the including of Grimm's fairy tales and also appearing similar to Alice in 'Horrorland' at one point the film puts a whole new perspective on fairy tales. Don't forget to listen to the soundtrack which just compliments the already twisted story perfectly. So, guess i better go get watchin the best film ever all over again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
Rob Zombie's take on 1970's B-Movies.
Full of weird and wonderful characters especially Sid Haig as the almost iconic Captain Spaulding.
The acting is pretty bad throughout (I assume this was to get the B-Movie feel in parts) & it gets a bit
Rob Zombie's take on 1970's B-Movies.
Full of weird and wonderful characters especially Sid Haig as the almost iconic Captain Spaulding.
The acting is pretty bad throughout (I assume this was to get the B-Movie feel in parts) & it gets a bit silly at the end.
A mention for the great use of Slim Whitman's "I remember you" in quite a morose scene as well.
Not as good as Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror which is in the same genre & done a lot better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SlasherVoorheesSep 3, 2011
This Movie Was Pretty Good it was Bloody Insane Strange And Chilling it has all the good element of a Decent Horror Film It is alot better then Ridculas Horror Films Like Final Destination House of The Dead and So On
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spadenxJan 16, 2012
Rob Zombie gives us a cult classic horror film that we all have been craving for quite some times. I remember first seeing this film and being terrified by the Firefly family. I would highly recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Fb29Jul 29, 2012
I went through the annoying process of registering with metacritic just to discourage you from watching this movie.

Pros: the captain clown character, the first scene, general weirdness
Cons: bad, bad soundtrack, annoying cut scenes
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SneakyWizardJan 15, 2014
The message here is quite simple: You either get this film or you don't.

If you read the reviews with low scores, it becomes very apparent who is leaving them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
horcrux2007Mar 16, 2015
(going to watch again)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tobinISawesomeJul 28, 2015
welcome to house of 1000 corpses! this is my favorite horror movie its a cross between texas chainsaw massacre and i want to say pink floyd the wall. this film is full of personality its scary and it has the most memorable killers in slasherwelcome to house of 1000 corpses! this is my favorite horror movie its a cross between texas chainsaw massacre and i want to say pink floyd the wall. this film is full of personality its scary and it has the most memorable killers in slasher movies i have ever seen! the firefly family is what makes it special. you see it has a story similar to texas chainsaw massacre but has the psychedelic properties of pink floyd the wall. and its hardcore in a heavy metal sort of way. this hour long movie will make you go insane as it drags you into a hellish nightmare and it would not be quite as good if it was longer but its good for what it is. i mean i clearly remember sitting on the couch with my freind watching it for the first time saying holy crap the movie i always wanted to see is here in the way i always dreamed of! its not only a rad movie in its own right but it manages to be a funny parody of other old corny movies its sort of based on. rob zombie completely new his fans when making the movie and thats good... however that means a smaller fan base this movie is not for everyone its completely twisted and most people innocently viewing this will find it dumb and generic so make sure you like this stuff before you watch. and i wanted to give it a 9 but the acting besides the killers is very bad its like they were half asleep or something making the first 25 minuets kind of dull. and how come no one can tell when this movie takes place is it the 70s the 80s or is it just modern day stuff i cant tell! and before the crazy stuff later that actually creeps you out you get some lame jump scares that are annoying they just come across lazy and sense the rest of the movie is good i dont know why he did this. and its going to make people just walk away before it gets any good. but the music the atmosphere and the innovation to horror movies that we have here is very impressive! just watch at your own risk house of 1000 corpses gets an 8 out of ten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LelandskellMar 15, 2016
Rob Zombie's debut film has stylized graphics and bizarre sadism that you just can't look away from. Very reminiscent of the original 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre', and has basically the same old plot. The movie stars Zombie's friends andRob Zombie's debut film has stylized graphics and bizarre sadism that you just can't look away from. Very reminiscent of the original 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre', and has basically the same old plot. The movie stars Zombie's friends and wife (a future trend) as a psychopathic evil family that kills whoever they want for fun. A group of nitwit teens come across a side-of-the-road tourist trap, and fall prey to stupidity after trying to investigate some sketchy story told by a killer clown. Rob Zombie's film is fun and gory. A must see for any slasher film lovers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MOVIECRITIC315Jun 25, 2016
I like Rob Zombie music and i like some of his movies. This one i liked alot, now listen to me if you do not like extreme gory violence, alot of nasty language and satanic stuff. Then stay away from this movie its not for you. But if you doI like Rob Zombie music and i like some of his movies. This one i liked alot, now listen to me if you do not like extreme gory violence, alot of nasty language and satanic stuff. Then stay away from this movie its not for you. But if you do you will probably be pleased. I enjoyed the movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisAug 25, 2016
It's scary, suspensful, funny, and features a ton of great characters that will haunt your dreams. Rob Zombie has created something special with this movie. I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews