Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 3, 2004
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 477 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
420
Mixed:
33
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
SangHeeJ.Jan 20, 2005
A beautifully done film. Though a site for the eyes, the film seemed to sport a classic Western theme and love triangle, rather than the stunning martial arts and captivating plots that usually accompany the traditional Chinese martial arts A beautifully done film. Though a site for the eyes, the film seemed to sport a classic Western theme and love triangle, rather than the stunning martial arts and captivating plots that usually accompany the traditional Chinese martial arts film. the plot was easily discovered early on, and the film focused more on the relationships of the character rather than in-depth plots and stunning martial arts. though it isn't what was expected, the film was still beautifully done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
groundfisherApr 1, 2006
Incredibly over-rated. This is a silly movie. About two-thirds of the way through the film the plot is forgotten - and major aspects remain unexplained and unresolved - in favour of a love-story. Because it's merely a love story, the Incredibly over-rated. This is a silly movie. About two-thirds of the way through the film the plot is forgotten - and major aspects remain unexplained and unresolved - in favour of a love-story. Because it's merely a love story, the martial arts scenes lose all meaning and relevance - even the last scene. And the ending is nothing but preposterous. Sure, there are moments of visual beauty, but so what. What's the point of tacking on a somewhat adolescent melodrama? It started well enough, but by the end my companion summed it up using only four letters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ChuckK.Jan 16, 2005
While it had two absolutely beautiful scenes, the film was overly melodramatic and talky. Scenes that attempted to be visually stunning left me simply bored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SpencaJan 18, 2005
I simply don't understand why critics love this movie. Are they still high off of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon??? THAT'S a great movie. This one is hackneyed and melodramatic, but visually exceptional. Go see it, I guess, because I simply don't understand why critics love this movie. Are they still high off of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon??? THAT'S a great movie. This one is hackneyed and melodramatic, but visually exceptional. Go see it, I guess, because you'll wonder what you're missing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SteveK.Jan 26, 2005
Eh... it's okay. The love triangle is ridiculous. I'm still not sure what the point is. It feels like every other Chinese movie I've ever seen where everyone dies and no one is who they say they are. Chinese filmmakers need to Eh... it's okay. The love triangle is ridiculous. I'm still not sure what the point is. It feels like every other Chinese movie I've ever seen where everyone dies and no one is who they say they are. Chinese filmmakers need to figure out a better way to make a compelling movie instead of devising ridiculous plot twists and mandatorily killing an important character in the end for manufactured emotional effect. It's pretty to look at, but not a great movie. Is anyone else getting sick of these ridiculously unrealistic kungfu movies where everyone can fly, knives are heat-seeking and can change course in mid-air, and kung-fu masters can change any ordinary object into a deadly weapon (shoes, cups, bamboo shoots, a shirt sleeve)? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
alic.Feb 8, 2005
A disappointment worse even than the disappointment of Hero. The love story is feeble and contrived, the finale visually underwhelming and the fighting lacks the grace and imagination of Crouching Tiger - still the benchmark for this genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ShellJan 16, 2006
Story was weak, would have done better with filming a documentary on dagger throwing. 'Hero' is much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EdS.Dec 2, 2004
I saw this movie in Hong Kong last July. Great set designs, especially during the dance sequence. But everyone in my (theater) row was roaring in laughter at the ridiculous ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
joeDec 7, 2004
This is for people who like kung fu flicks that haven't really watched kung fu flicks. I guess the set design and costumes are great, some of the fights were fine and the focus on the love story is supposed to make it different. But This is for people who like kung fu flicks that haven't really watched kung fu flicks. I guess the set design and costumes are great, some of the fights were fine and the focus on the love story is supposed to make it different. But outside of the actors, the love story is really two-dimensional and repetitive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LeeJan 12, 2005
As a chinese, I actually felt embarrassed whilst watching the film. Non-existent plot, wafer-thin characters, ridiculous ending, utterly utterly boring were just some of its faults. Why do they still keep churning out these artistic As a chinese, I actually felt embarrassed whilst watching the film. Non-existent plot, wafer-thin characters, ridiculous ending, utterly utterly boring were just some of its faults. Why do they still keep churning out these artistic pseudo-kungfu flicks? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TonyLJan 14, 2005
Pretty to look at, but not much else. I wonder what Bruce Lee would have thought of wire-work martial arts movies?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AsaeliA.Jan 15, 2005
I give it an A for Cinemtograpy and an A for sucking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DJFeb 27, 2005
A horribly overrated film. I cannot help but feel that Yimou has pandered to the tastes of Western audiences. The layers of depth and complexity have been compromised for affective visuals. HOFD's meandering plot does not allow any kind A horribly overrated film. I cannot help but feel that Yimou has pandered to the tastes of Western audiences. The layers of depth and complexity have been compromised for affective visuals. HOFD's meandering plot does not allow any kind of salvation to be possible; some plot twists are just too fantastic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PonR.Feb 8, 2005
Honestly, I was disappointed. Maybe it's because I had nothing but the highest expectations for this film, along with my own preconceptions of what it would be about. I had, in my mind, an epic that would surpass Hero on so many levels Honestly, I was disappointed. Maybe it's because I had nothing but the highest expectations for this film, along with my own preconceptions of what it would be about. I had, in my mind, an epic that would surpass Hero on so many levels that it would blow my mind. What I actually got was a quieter, less complete story taking place on a much smaller scale. After a number of quirky plot twists and turns leading up to an even quirkier finale, I felt let down. Which isn't to say it wasn't enjoyable. The action alone was worth the price of admission. Just do yourself a favor and don't expect anything more than the fact that, yes, there will be both houses and flying daggers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
lfaMar 3, 2005
Highly overrated film. Itâ??s just a quite silly love story, in "the oriental way", with the addition of some nice choreographies. Really flat characters, no depth, no plot... There isnâ??t much more here, it has not the poetry Highly overrated film. Itâ??s just a quite silly love story, in "the oriental way", with the addition of some nice choreographies. Really flat characters, no depth, no plot... There isnâ??t much more here, it has not the poetry of "hidden dragon&crouching tiger", or even the visual measurement of Yimous´Hero... maybe itâ??s only because it tries to be a modest picture, a smaller one, not as sumptuous as its precedents; the bad news are that it can also be the beginning of a "oriental-mannerism" in the action-love movies to open a profitable market; weâ??ll see, just a missed opportunity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HarveyCMay 20, 2005
One thing to say. How long does it take to die? In that I mean the woman who wouldnt die after having a dagger thrown into her heart. Then given hypothermia (How does it go from sunny to about 12 inches of snow in the space of about 20 One thing to say. How long does it take to die? In that I mean the woman who wouldnt die after having a dagger thrown into her heart. Then given hypothermia (How does it go from sunny to about 12 inches of snow in the space of about 20 seconds?). When I went to see it at the cinema I thought o.k shes been killed now, now he will fight to avenge her death. But oh no... She's not dead!!!! shes still alive. Ill tell you one thing me and my mates were laughing at the shoddy ending for days!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanB.Dec 25, 2004
It was pretty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidDec 27, 2004
Very pretty to look at, and the beginings of a meaningful allegory are put into place, but it kinda falls apart at the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcD.Dec 4, 2004
Living in Asia allows me the opportunity to see most of these 'critically acclaimed' asian movies way ahead of the Western audiences. Its also gives me the chance to see more than my fair share of bullshit kung fu flicks. That Living in Asia allows me the opportunity to see most of these 'critically acclaimed' asian movies way ahead of the Western audiences. Its also gives me the chance to see more than my fair share of bullshit kung fu flicks. That said...just like Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon...this is a complete waste of time. Everything has been done before. Its only a novelty on the other side of the world. Over here...its been done so many times...it needs to die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NoneAug 29, 2005
It sucked. The beginning was alright, with beautiful sceanary/costume designs but the plot was simply unreal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AmanG.Dec 28, 2004
This movie was really overrated by critics. Watching it, the plot was extremely disjointed and the movie's story did not flow well at all. It jumps around alot while creating really superficial relationships between its characters. This This movie was really overrated by critics. Watching it, the plot was extremely disjointed and the movie's story did not flow well at all. It jumps around alot while creating really superficial relationships between its characters. This is a seriously mediocre movie. Visually, it has its moments, as expected. The fight scene in the bamboo forest is pretty spectacular, though I wish it had been a little longer, and the scenery is absolutely gorgeous. That said, much of the movie feels extremely contrived, such as the final fight scene in which seasons are changing as the two do battle. I would recommend 'Hero' over this any day of the week - it's an absolutely beautiful movie that doesn't overreach and still resonates. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful