Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Based on the best selling video game from Sega, House of the Dead tells the story of a group of college students who go to a rave on a mysterious island and get more than they bargained for when they find themselves stalked by killer zombies and terrifying creatures intent on feasting on theBased on the best selling video game from Sega, House of the Dead tells the story of a group of college students who go to a rave on a mysterious island and get more than they bargained for when they find themselves stalked by killer zombies and terrifying creatures intent on feasting on the flesh of the living. (Artisan Entertainment) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 13 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    50
    Whether this is a good or bad thing depends on just how much 14-year-old boy you've got in ya.
  2. There's scarcely a whiff of originality in the zombie horror picture House of the Dead, but Uwe Boll has directed it with enough energy and style that it adds up to passably mindless if grisly fun.
  3. Director Uwe Boll wholeheartedly embraces the film's concept, and with some fancy editing and a pulsing soundtrack, the effect really is like watching a video game.
  4. 20
    Much poorly choreographed gunplay, many lovingly rendered head explosions, and some half-assed exposition about centuries-old, immortality-seeking pirates follow, with nothing to recommend House Of The Dead to anyone but the most undiscriminating zombie-movie fans.
  5. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    20
    Laughable performances.
  6. 20
    Here’s a would-be horror film that contains not one ounce of professional pride in its making, not one shred of technical competence. This is one of the worst films of recent times.
  7. Reviewed by: Scott Brown
    0
    To properly convey the jaw-dropping shoddiness of this videogame-based ''horror'' ''movie,'' one must approach what scientists call Absolute Stupid, a state previously thought to exist only under highly controlled laboratory conditions or at the highest levels of government.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 58
  2. Negative: 45 out of 58
  1. DominicR.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    an asian wearing a one-piece american flag swimsuit jumps(in slo-mo) 10 feet in the air, while a zombie frontflips, throwing an axe, while an asian wearing a one-piece american flag swimsuit jumps(in slo-mo) 10 feet in the air, while a zombie frontflips, throwing an axe, while the asian fires a shotgun shell 50 feet away at said zombie. the axe misses, but the shell hit the zombie dead on in the head... CRAYZAY!!!! Expand
  2. AlanB.
    Sep 27, 2006
    6
    You people are ridiculous. I can't believe you are taking the time to analyze this movie as if it were actually supposed to be a scary You people are ridiculous. I can't believe you are taking the time to analyze this movie as if it were actually supposed to be a scary survival horror movie. Yea it was bad, it was an awful movie, but it was funnier than most of the comedies pumped out nowadays. I only watched the last hour and I laughed constantly. You really could not have expected a serious horror movie based on... a video game. Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2014
    5
    It is campy, goofy and cheesy. "House of the Dead" is pure awful, but it depends on how you see it, you're gonna treat it seriously, you areIt is campy, goofy and cheesy. "House of the Dead" is pure awful, but it depends on how you see it, you're gonna treat it seriously, you are not pleased, you have fun with it with friends and NEVER take it seriously, you'll end up having fun, but in both way, it is a TERRA-BLE movie. To start off with, the acting is awful, it is never convincing, and forced. The whole plot doesn't make sense, he pays a thousand dollars just to get to that island, it is obviously awful. The only reason I wanted to review this film, I wanted to see if Uwe Boll movies are as bad as I heard they are, they are, he just tries to create a stupid, goofy and cheesy horror film that just works for me as a forgettable, funny and hilariously stupid film. Expand
  4. JesseM.
    Oct 23, 2005
    0
    Uwe Boll should never be allowed to touch another movie again, or he should kill himself.
  5. MikeK.
    Aug 25, 2006
    0
    i hated this movie from beginning to end. the only thing i found hilarious about it was before they met that cop on the cliff with all the i hated this movie from beginning to end. the only thing i found hilarious about it was before they met that cop on the cliff with all the guns the teens were all helpless nd jus trying to stay alive but as soon as they pick up a rifle and some grenades they learn kung fu nd suddenly decide to fight. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Uwe Boll's "House of the Dead" is simply the worst movie I've seen in my life. NOTHING makes sense. The film will literally pierce your heart for its terrible cinematography as well as giving you nightmares and shudders of how such film can be so terrible. I don't give a **** if this German director started filming at age 10; reality is, he shouldn't. Collapse
  7. Sep 27, 2011
    0
    The second you see the letters U W E B O L L arranged in the dreaded order that spells the name of the horrible German director (Lou Woll) inThe second you see the letters U W E B O L L arranged in the dreaded order that spells the name of the horrible German director (Lou Woll) in the opening credits, you know you are in a for a bad film. Wow...my opening joke here sucks.


    Acting/characters: Shallow, generic, and underdeveloped that's all I can say about them. I kept hoping that there would be someone in the whole film who I would think "maybe this one will be different and kinda likable" out of the whole cast, no one fit that bill. I can't even remember their names without looking them up with the exception of Kirk. Even as I write this, their names and faces slip from my mind. That is for the best I feel. I just do not care about them whatsoever. Who could? Maybe the 3 or 4 people out there who like this film say 'the characters are so incidental because this is a cheesy action flick and nothing more.' To those 3 or 4 people (including Uwe Boll) I say, if I want this many faceless characters, I'll go play the video game itself. It's a movie so it should have at least one character worth anything. This doesn't. Plus, the character who narrates the film is so dumb. Well, not just him, the whole concept of the character. A narrator is our protagonist. We are seeing the film from his or her eyes. This guy wasn't in the film for the first third of it. Once he was you never got to really know him at all. It's like he was just there and was narrating it in passing later. I dunno maybe the script did have a likable character, well if so, the actors killed it. They all absolutely sucked. I think one of them went on to do something worthwhile after this...how? They were monotonous, blank, and uninteresting. 0/10

    Plot: I've read the plot to the original game. This one is supposed to be a prequel to that game in a sense...no matter what angle you look at it from the two are not connected plot-wise at all. This would be fine I suppose but Uwe Boll decided to use a plot that has been circulating on the Slasher Genre for decades: Teenagers at a party in an abandoned location are being killed off. So, not only did he not even try to tie it into the actual source material itself, he decided to use an old, over-used plot to do it. Way to go Uwe! You've sunk to a new low. At least I haven't seen the plot to Alone in the dark 50 times in 50 different movies like this one. You didn't even try. You didn't even try. 0/10

    Screenplay: If I asked Uwe Boll what he thought about the script for this film he would give me a blank stare and say 'the what for my film?' an exaggeration to be sure, but not that much of one. Some lines in there just had my head ringing. Which ones?...all of them...yeah, all of them. I don't know who wrote this screenplay or why but they should be banned from ever making a screenplay again. This comes off like some kid wrote it. No offense to kids. Come on people this is a movie1 You get paid to do this! Now I'm not saying it has to be Casablanca but can you please not try to outdo Troll 2 in terms of stupidity? 0/10

    Likableness: I add Uwe Boll to my list of directors who love slow-mo too much (move over Michael Bay and Zack Snyder). And he's just friggin' lazy too. There is one shot that he reuses 4 DIFFERENT TIMES!!! I mean come on! Twice is pushing it but 4!?!?! I highly disliked this film and I will probably never watch it again. I would advise everyone who has not seen this to go and watch something better. Like the Garfield movie (oh snap) and leave this alone. It was terrible. I give this one a solid 0/10.

    Final Score: 0/40
    Tomatometer rating: 4%
    Tomatometer rating if my review was added: 4%



    TRIVIA TIME: 1. The fisherman with the hook (gaff) at the beginning of the movie is a reference to the killer in I Know What You Did Last Summer.

    2. At the beginning of the movie, Greg says, "Who's the U-boat captain?" when he sees Capt. Viktor Kirk. Prochnow was the captain in Das Boot.

    3. Jonathan Cherry burned 30% of his hand on the second day of shooting. The scene on the bridge, where he hurts his hand, was shot later, to explain the bandage he had to wear.

    4. Reviews were so bad that Danish cinemas refused to buy it.

    5. House of the Dead is the last film to use the turn-table technique for 360° shots. The risk of actors being hurt or killed by the fast-moving camera was too much.
    Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Worst Horror Films Since 2000

    Ranked: The Worst Horror Films Since 2000 Image
    Published: October 26, 2010
    The only thing scarier than a good horror film? An abysmal horror film. We reveal the ten worst-reviewed horror movies released over the past decade.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames Image
    Published: September 8, 2010
    This week's "Resident Evil: Afterlife" is yet another film adaptation of a popular videogame. Everything you've heard about the genre is true: there are a lot of terrible movies, and a lot of Uwe Boll movies. (And those categories are definitely not mutually exclusive.) We look at the "best" and worst examples of games-turned-movies.