Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 7 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Dec 17, 2010
    75
    A bit slow to get started, and it's nowhere near as funny as "The Hangover." But it'll make you smile.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 20, 2010
    70
    Yeah, well, I still like the film.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 17, 2010
    67
    Best when it's morphing into seriousness. Too often the comic bits seem like sops to the audience.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Dec 15, 2010
    50
    A low-impact romantic comedy-drama from James L. Brooks in which the central characters are strangely disconnected from one another as well as from the audience.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 16, 2010
    50
    How Do You Know must have started with a good idea that got lost in the translation from concept to screen.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 15, 2010
    42
    A terrible title for a not-much-better movie, missing a grammatically correct question mark and most of the point with romantic comedies.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 16, 2010
    0
    No need to belabor the awfulness of this film, a romantic comedy devoid of romance - instead of chemistry there's the flow of reverse magnetism - and lacking in comic timing, let alone comic content.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 28
  2. Negative: 20 out of 28
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    8
    Whoa. There are a lot of bad reviews for this movie. That surprises me, because I loved it, and I'm not usually into romantic comedies. What makes this movie good is that it feels like it could really happen. Everybody has crappy days, and this movie is about finding the things in life that make you want to enjoy it again. The acting is really what makes this movie good. Paul Rudd is an extremely likeable lead, as is Reese Witherspoon. Heck, even Owen Wilson is fun to watch. But Jack Nicholson's character takes the cake. Most scenes, especially those with Nicholson, made me laugh out loud several times. This really is a sweet and funny movie, and I don't understand why it's getting such bad reviews, especially user reviews. It was wayyy better than Morning Glory. Collapse
  2. Dec 30, 2010
    8
    I found this movie enjoyable. while it had it's quirks and awkwardness I think this relates to trying to be original as a rom-com. This is not a great movie, but it is good, a step away from cliche and will be enjoyed by fans of romantic comedies or Reese Witherspoon. Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2012
    5
    Saw this on cable on a Sat nite...it was great for what it is...like reading a couple of chapters and going to sleep feeling ok.............................................. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    I honestly could not tell you what this film is about. The story is completely nonexistent and incoherent. I likable cast in a movie that's hard to like. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2011
    1
    Apparantly this garbage cost in the region of $120 million to make...WTF!!! This is case in point all that is wrong with the World at the moment...Big pocketed investors think: Big Actors + Big Dollars + Guzzling consumers = $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$!!!Well guess what u greedy blobs...This movie was rubbish...and tanked at the box office....'sarcastic applause...clap clap clap'!! While you slowly aim that big shot gun at your foot...maybe next time you'll think twice about putting out a movie as souless as yourselves and maybe show some respect for us your audience!!! I look forward to posting a similiar review for this years Transformers 3!!! Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    The weirdest script with the most unreal characters. Acting was horrible all around. Jack Nicholson gave one of the worst performances ever. i actually feel asleep during this movie. Such a piece of trash. I never thought it could be this bad, but it really was. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2010
    0
    Bad script, bad writing, bad acting. This movie fails on every level.
    Easily one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Not sure what else needs
    to be said Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers