Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2000
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 138 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
71
Mixed:
42
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
MichaelC.Feb 3, 2001
Disappointing, cheesy, corny and useless. One of the worst films of 2000.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
RosieK.Jun 29, 2002
Disgusting, pretentious, film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
B.J.Mar 28, 2004
Shockingly bad movie, despite a valiant attempt to save it by Carrey.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JillS.May 15, 2005
An abomination. The opposite of the Seuss message plus they gave the grinch a love interest. ugh.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MichelleP.Nov 3, 2002
I loved the book as a little girl (and still do) but this movie left me feeling cheated. And to think, Ron Howard who's the master of movies made this piece of trash. The humor was disgusting, the Whos were unlikable, and the Grinch I loved the book as a little girl (and still do) but this movie left me feeling cheated. And to think, Ron Howard who's the master of movies made this piece of trash. The humor was disgusting, the Whos were unlikable, and the Grinch himself was darker, meaner, and definetly much more evil than in the book, even when he turned "good" (?) he still didn't seem to have a heart. When he was a little kid, he didn't have a heart either! This is the worst movie of all-time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KatieP.Dec 22, 2003
Ugh. I hated this movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MeM.Nov 22, 2001
YUCK!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DarrenS.Mar 30, 2010
Jim carrey carreys every scene he's in. But not only that, the costume design and the make up is brilliant. Great atmosphere! But having a love interest and having an actual backstory is wrong. If Tim Burton directed it, I would give it Jim carrey carreys every scene he's in. But not only that, the costume design and the make up is brilliant. Great atmosphere! But having a love interest and having an actual backstory is wrong. If Tim Burton directed it, I would give it a perfect 10. So, I give it an 8, bravo Jim bravo! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MovieLonely94Oct 20, 2010
this movie relies on Jim Carrey's performance as the title character and its storytelling at the same time when it sticks to the source material. How the Grinch Stole Christmas is an entertaining holiday movie from ten years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 28, 2012
They could not have picked anybody better than Jim Carrey to be the Grinch (unless it was Johnny Depp). Anyways, this was very fun entertainment for the holidays.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
csw12Apr 4, 2012
How the Grinch Christmas is a extremely funny movie with a wonderful holiday feel to it. Jim Carrey brought the Grinch to life real good and truly gave a memorbale performance.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Its a very memorable film that will definetly be watched over and over even by people who hate it, The Grinch suceeds in many ways, not to mention Carrey's stunning performance as this creeper in make-up.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
SqueegieB.Jan 4, 2006
This movie was a massecre of the origional cartoon. never in my wildest dreames have i thought that i would see a good movie be slapdashed in such a way!!!!
3 of 4 users found this helpful
3
JeffF.Jan 19, 2006
Very depressing. With one of the worst soundtracks of all time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
7
TheQuietGamerFeb 19, 2011
I'm not a huge Jim Carrey fan, as a matter of a fact I really can't stand 98% of his movies, but this is a good one, granted it's not as good as the original animated movie, but it's still enjoyable, my only complaints are that it doesn'tI'm not a huge Jim Carrey fan, as a matter of a fact I really can't stand 98% of his movies, but this is a good one, granted it's not as good as the original animated movie, but it's still enjoyable, my only complaints are that it doesn't follow the original story that well, but this is a good movie from beginning to end. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Dec 26, 2013
It if full of such enchantment and holiday spirit. A wonderfully executed tale that has heart and a lot of laughs. It is a great Christmas movie to see year and year out.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
RikardsenMay 2, 2012
Watched this film at least 6 times now every time I get a little more entertainment, its very quotable and works for all ages Carreys performance is outstanding, its hilarious.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Oct 9, 2011
Not really much to present, but nevertheless its still a entertaining Christmas film.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
4
[Anonymous]Dec 11, 2005
Okay in itself, but the Grinch seems pedophilic... the Whos are obsessed, and the mayor is just wierd... It strays off the whole POINT of the book, and Cindy Lou is an annoying little stalker.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeDec 2, 2008
I can't believe all of the negative reviews on this film. I saw it in theaters years ago, and to this day I still will gladly consider it the best Christmas movie of all time. Jim Carrey, is without question the best grinch anybody I can't believe all of the negative reviews on this film. I saw it in theaters years ago, and to this day I still will gladly consider it the best Christmas movie of all time. Jim Carrey, is without question the best grinch anybody could have asked for. Amazing and very well done. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MaryZ.Feb 9, 2001
I loved this film! Carrey is perfect for the role. The soundtrack is wonderful as well.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
HowMulroneycakesStoleHannukahDec 7, 2002
Not bad. The production design is awe-inspiring, the acting top-notch, Ron Howard's direction wonderfully enthusiastic. And Max the Dog is brilliant. But. It's just too dark. It's got the same problem that Spielberg's Not bad. The production design is awe-inspiring, the acting top-notch, Ron Howard's direction wonderfully enthusiastic. And Max the Dog is brilliant. But. It's just too dark. It's got the same problem that Spielberg's (underrated) Hook had: too much effort, not enough charm. Carrey doesn't help matters with his overcooked (though at times sublime) performance as the titular green miseryguts, either. But ultimately, the blame has to be levelled at the script - it's just not Dr Seuss enough. Too bitter, too cynical. Also, it commits the cardinal sin of criticizing all the rhyming - it's Seuss, for God's sake! The rhymes are what it's all about! Seuss was the master of rhymes. He dropped da best rhymes in da place, dawg. Do not be dissin' da rhymes, biatch. Etcetera. Now, it may sound like I hate this movie and everything it stands for, but I don't; I'm still going to give it a green rating, because it's still very entertaining. But I get the feeling the kids are not going to like it because it's so oppressively miserable. It's almost like a fairy-tale made by Ingmar Bergman (or the miserable Bergman of repute). It's good. But be wary. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TrystanS.Oct 29, 2002
This has proven to be the best Jim Carrey films of 2000! Carrey is cool, and hillarious, but this movie has made him the greatest! In my heart and mind I have given this since the first day I saw it (in Spokane theater) a 9 out of 10! The This has proven to be the best Jim Carrey films of 2000! Carrey is cool, and hillarious, but this movie has made him the greatest! In my heart and mind I have given this since the first day I saw it (in Spokane theater) a 9 out of 10! The best Christmas film in the whole wide world! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrandonC.Nov 22, 2001
This movie was great!!! Jim Carrey brought the Grinch to life real good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.May 28, 2001
Great! Full of holiday cheer. A great Christmas movie. Hard to forget!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AmandaH.Dec 7, 2002
I gave it a ten because it gives more details than the book.i loved the film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TomL.Aug 2, 2002
Carrey is a comic GENIUS!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KimberleyS.Dec 18, 2003
Its The Best!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NoelleB.Dec 12, 2001
It was great how they made everything real.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasmineE.Dec 2, 2001
I thought it was so...whats the word...magical. I thought the baby grinch was the cutest-yet scary- thing! I want pictures of him!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Eminems_girlDec 5, 2002
Best Christmas movie ever:)
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
derwinkelMar 16, 2005
Fantastic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JohnTDec 5, 2006
I think it was good.BUT........why make a movie about someone STEALING CHRISTMAS!!!!!!Bad subject,ok movie.By the way..........the grinch has a heart and just needs to let it out.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredBNov 19, 2007
From reading other critics' reviews, I can only assume that they were expecting something along the lines of Shakespeare. This is a Jim Carrey film. So, obviously, that's not gonna happen. My advice is to just take the movie for From reading other critics' reviews, I can only assume that they were expecting something along the lines of Shakespeare. This is a Jim Carrey film. So, obviously, that's not gonna happen. My advice is to just take the movie for what it is: a light, breezy, and very funny adaptation of one of Dr. Seuss' best works. This has something the animated version didn't have. This one actually explains what made the Grinch such a jerk. Trust me, if I had been picked on as much as he was, I'd have anger issues too. I loved the way this movie dared to explore his attitude from that angle. This film was directed with an enormous amount of energy by Ron Howard. The casting was probably the most brilliant thing about this film. Besides Carrey, the best casting decision was a little girl named Taylor Momsen, who is absolutely wonderful as Cindy Lou, the heroine of the story. I also enjoyed Jeffrey Tambor as the Mayor of Whoville. All I can say is, some critics just need to lighten up and enjoy movies for what they are instead of what they could be. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdamSNov 27, 2009
This is a phenomenal movie, I can't believe the bad reviews! I watch this every christmas, easily the best christmas movie. Those who don't like the film must seriously lack humour.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanikaC.Nov 28, 2001
It was awesome! I love Jim Carrey to begin with, but this was the Best! Really, in my heart it gets an 11 out of 10!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Awful.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
5
DanBurritoAug 26, 2016
How The Grinch Stole Christmas features a hilarious performance from Jim Carrey, but that isn't quite enough to cover for a predictable plot, uninteresting characters and cheesy dialogue. Though the scenes with The Grinch are usually somewhatHow The Grinch Stole Christmas features a hilarious performance from Jim Carrey, but that isn't quite enough to cover for a predictable plot, uninteresting characters and cheesy dialogue. Though the scenes with The Grinch are usually somewhat entertaining, the rest of the movie is sickly sweet and bloated (this concept just wasn't meant for feature length). Overall, though not without its moments, How The Grinch Stole Christmas betrays Jim Carrey with Christmas movie clichés and an overstretched plot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ColeL.Nov 21, 2001
This Movie hides its mean spirit with its gigantic budget. But in the end, Jim Carey is the man for this role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
skyminsterJan 6, 2016
The Grinch is a gloriously wacky, mad and funny film made by Jim Carrey’s perfect performance of the menacing Grinch himself. He is helped by a great script with an eye for comedy, perfect sets and the fittingly odd cinematography in what isThe Grinch is a gloriously wacky, mad and funny film made by Jim Carrey’s perfect performance of the menacing Grinch himself. He is helped by a great script with an eye for comedy, perfect sets and the fittingly odd cinematography in what is a brilliant film with a heart, that people of all ages can enjoy at Christmas time.

91/100.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OfficialNov 15, 2013
"How the Grinch Stole Christmas" is a noisy and strange-looking film that ultimately does not entertain. To be honest, I got really annoyed and irritated after watching 30 minutes of this. The story was so completely random and strange. My"How the Grinch Stole Christmas" is a noisy and strange-looking film that ultimately does not entertain. To be honest, I got really annoyed and irritated after watching 30 minutes of this. The story was so completely random and strange. My recommendation would be to check something else out for Christmas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
Gives Christmas spirit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
uanime5Dec 24, 2012
A butchering of Seuss' story. The Whos are turned into people that care about nothing except presents and who has the best house, Whoville is bleak, the adults are all idiots who can be out debated by a child, the Grinch is more violent andA butchering of Seuss' story. The Whos are turned into people that care about nothing except presents and who has the best house, Whoville is bleak, the adults are all idiots who can be out debated by a child, the Grinch is more violent and destructive, there's needless padding and romance, there's toilet humour, and the entire message is lost.

Sadly it seems that Hollywood can't turn a short story into a movie without completely wrecking it. Sadder still is that there are people who believe that longer, stupider, better graphics, or has a celebrity automatically mean better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SEROJDec 27, 2014
Without Jim Carey, this would've been a decent Christmas movie... The story is nothing special but i bet you'll have fun! Not gonna' spoil anything. Recommended
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysOct 22, 2013
Ron Howard may have struck gold with us, but some of his other films don't live up to that expectation. This movie is quirky, weird, and unsettling. While it works in some places, most of it is not up to par. But, Jim Carrey plays the GrinchRon Howard may have struck gold with us, but some of his other films don't live up to that expectation. This movie is quirky, weird, and unsettling. While it works in some places, most of it is not up to par. But, Jim Carrey plays the Grinch damn well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
Maybe it's just a guilty pleasure of mine, or maybe it's just that I'm overly nostalgic, but "How the Grinch Stole Christmas" was considerably entertaining, if only for Jim Carrey's performance as the Grinch. Beyond Carrey, though, I justMaybe it's just a guilty pleasure of mine, or maybe it's just that I'm overly nostalgic, but "How the Grinch Stole Christmas" was considerably entertaining, if only for Jim Carrey's performance as the Grinch. Beyond Carrey, though, I just find it to be a pretty well-designed movie that's good to watch every now and then. The TV cartoon is miles better, but this live-action film is worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
A wonderful holiday tale that will mesmerize all ages.
With impeccable acting from Jim Carey and with the artful direction of Ron Howard, How The Grinch Stole Christmas is victorious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MrsBBagginsDec 29, 2013
Horrible, stupid and practically unwatchable, this is a true Dr. Seuss massacre. I don't know why these directors even bothered with this. And the funny thing is, they're trying to make it look like it's better than the original! I can't tellHorrible, stupid and practically unwatchable, this is a true Dr. Seuss massacre. I don't know why these directors even bothered with this. And the funny thing is, they're trying to make it look like it's better than the original! I can't tell you much that pisses me of. This garbage is something that should never witnessed by human eyes again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Tbone413Jul 25, 2015
My enjoyment of this movie depends what mood I'm in at the time. If I'm in a good mood, then I'll enjoy the movie. Otherwise, I'll be instantly bored, balancing it out to a 5/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CineAutoctonoDec 19, 2015
The old Christmas story to film, it's crazy , but the Grinch, hardly surprised , as funny but very little of other emotions, and do not know who hates Christmas ?, and I became like Scrooge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisOct 22, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From reading other critics' reviews, I can only assume that they were expecting something along the lines of Shakespeare. This is a Jim Carrey film. So, obviously, that's not gonna happen. My advice is to just take the movie for what it is: a light, breezy, and very funny adaptation of one of Dr. Seuss' best works. This has something the animated version didn't have. This one actually explains what made the Grinch such a jerk. Trust me, if I had been picked on as much as he was, I'd have anger issues too. I loved the way this movie dared to explore his attitude from that angle. This film was directed with an enormous amount of energy by Ron Howard. The casting was probably the most brilliant thing about this film. Besides Carrey, the best casting decision was a little girl named Taylor Momsen, who is absolutely wonderful as Cindy Lou, the heroine of the story. I also enjoyed Jeffrey Tambor as the Mayor of Whoville. All I can say is, some critics just need to lighten up and enjoy movies for what they are instead of what they could be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeDec 30, 2015
Jim Carrey does his all as the Grinch, the dog Max is cute, and this movie has a backstory to nearly why the Grinch hated Christmas so much. Unfortunately, they're not enough to save this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BarneyOnMTJan 6, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: Jim Carrey somehow plays this character with conviction, which certainly deserves credit
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Unfortunately, it's a pretty cheesy, very ridiculous and far-fetched project that's dragged out beyond it's max half
WHAT I LIKED: Jim Carrey somehow plays this character with conviction, which certainly deserves credit
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Unfortunately, it's a pretty cheesy, very ridiculous and far-fetched project that's dragged out beyond it's max half hour plot length. You'll sit there bored, uninterested and occasionally cringing at the so-called 'morality,' and that's the worst place to be as a movie
VERDICT: If a great performance can't save it, you know it's bad. Christmas films can get away with being cheesy, but they can't get away with this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
gameguardian21Aug 26, 2016
Compared to the original, this version is a huge joke that isn't as charming, touching, or even watchable that the original cartoon had. Jim Carrey is alright as the grinch, but to me, he's just jim Carrey in a terrible grinch coustume.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MasterRileyDec 20, 2016
How the Grinch Stole Christmas is a pretty good Christmas movie. Good casting choices for the most part and a cool aesthetic to the movie that matches Dr. Seuss' style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GerardistheWayDec 12, 2016
It would be incredibly easy to dismiss this movie outright as inferior to the 1966 animated short, and you would get no arguments from me—it really, truly is, but is still worth at least one viewing due to the supreme effort put by Jim CarreyIt would be incredibly easy to dismiss this movie outright as inferior to the 1966 animated short, and you would get no arguments from me—it really, truly is, but is still worth at least one viewing due to the supreme effort put by Jim Carrey into the role he was born to play.

The story can be summed up in one line from the book: “Every Who down in Whoville liked Christmas a lot, but the Grinch, who lived just north of Whoville, did not.” Why does he hate Christmas so much? No explanation is given in the original, but here the blame falls upon a childhood incident from which a humiliation was suffered while trying to impress his crush (ah, the power of hormones). In the present, the big green curmudgeon (Carrey) lives atop Mount Crumpit while the Whos celebrate Christmas in increasing extravagance every year, much to his annoyance. Yet one Who, Cindy Lou (Taylor Momsen, who, believe it or not, later went on to form the rock band Pretty Reckless), no longer no more than two but rather about six or seven, recognizes that with the increased focus on the gifts and festivities that people have lost sight of the real point of the holiday, and after learning of the tragic origins of the Grinch decides to seek him out in order to gift him some much-needed Christmas spirit. Through the meddling of the Mayor of Whoville (Jeffrey Tambor), Big G’s old childhood rival, this plan backfires immensely, and after about an hour of the film’s runtime has expired already inspires him to “steal Christmas”. From there, all that’s needed to figure out what happens is a knowledge of the TV cartoon.

I must confess, I was a little surprised to learn that this was a Ron Howard-directed project when I first watched this movie, as everything about its atmosphere and imagery reminded me of Tim Burton (nothing like having your Christmas movie narrated by the one and only Hannibal Lecter, am I right?). From the live-action adaptation of Dr. Seuss’s Christmas classic, I expected something much jollier-looking overall, and while there is a certain goofiness about the dank, grimy images it’s not something that I feel is exactly appropriate for children in terms of tone until the classic story that they remember starts to kick in. Carrey as well, despite giving a terrific performance through his total commitment to the role, has an intensity about him as a result that is slightly off-putting, especially for the young’uns, and prone to be scary in some bits (his voice, made to sound like a mixture of Sean Connery and Walter Matthau with a touch of menacing growl for some reason, is largely to blame for this). The movie therefore comes dangerously close to being a children’s book adaptation meant for teens or adults, which doesn’t make for a fun situation for anyone. At some point, however, the film manages to rescue itself through alternatingly dedicated and passable performances (the former mainly from Carrey, the latter from most of the supporting cast), an abundance of heart (Old Grinchy probably had some to spare, considering the freakish mutation of his), and comedy that is surprisingly witty for what could have easily been a charmless adaptation of an acclaimed classic. The star that shines the brightest here is, as stated previously, the one and only Jim Carrey, whose role is so perfectly suited to his brand of comedy that you honestly believe that he might have actually been the Grinch in another life. Nearly unrecognizable under what I imagine is pounds and pounds of makeup and prosthetic fur (which won an Academy Award for Best Makeup), Carrey transforms the old grouch from a bitter and miserly recluse into a comic villain resembling a slightly more effective Dr. Evil (who in himself was an Ernst Stavro Blofeld parody), which ultimately makes him more accessible and sympathetic than his previous incarnation in the animated version. An electric screen presence, any scenes that he doesn’t appear in suffer severely from his absence (to borrow a pun from Entertainment Weekly’s Owen Gleiberman, he really does “Carrey the movie”), and the amount of time spent with him never feels like enough upon reaching the end of the movie, even in spite of its primary focus on his character, and this is when you know that something truly special has been created through an actor’s devotion. It’s what makes the first half of the movie fly by (despite having little to do with the original story), and what makes the Grinch’s change of heart ultimately all the sweeter.

While not on the same level as the 1966 television special by any stretch, the modern rendition of the Grinch’s tale will be entertaining enough to warrant an occasional viewing. As a warning to those who don’t like Jim Carrey, though, you’ll probably want to steer clear: this film is basically one extended, Christmas-ized version of one of his routines. 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews