Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2000
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 139 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
71
Mixed:
43
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
SqueegieB.Jan 4, 2006
This movie was a massecre of the origional cartoon. never in my wildest dreames have i thought that i would see a good movie be slapdashed in such a way!!!!
3 of 4 users found this helpful
3
JeffF.Jan 19, 2006
Very depressing. With one of the worst soundtracks of all time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Awful.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
0
uanime5Dec 24, 2012
A butchering of Seuss' story. The Whos are turned into people that care about nothing except presents and who has the best house, Whoville is bleak, the adults are all idiots who can be out debated by a child, the Grinch is more violent andA butchering of Seuss' story. The Whos are turned into people that care about nothing except presents and who has the best house, Whoville is bleak, the adults are all idiots who can be out debated by a child, the Grinch is more violent and destructive, there's needless padding and romance, there's toilet humour, and the entire message is lost.

Sadly it seems that Hollywood can't turn a short story into a movie without completely wrecking it. Sadder still is that there are people who believe that longer, stupider, better graphics, or has a celebrity automatically mean better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MrsBBagginsDec 29, 2013
Horrible, stupid and practically unwatchable, this is a true Dr. Seuss massacre. I don't know why these directors even bothered with this. And the funny thing is, they're trying to make it look like it's better than the original! I can't tellHorrible, stupid and practically unwatchable, this is a true Dr. Seuss massacre. I don't know why these directors even bothered with this. And the funny thing is, they're trying to make it look like it's better than the original! I can't tell you much that pisses me of. This garbage is something that should never witnessed by human eyes again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BarneyOnMTJan 6, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: Jim Carrey somehow plays this character with conviction, which certainly deserves credit
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Unfortunately, it's a pretty cheesy, very ridiculous and far-fetched project that's dragged out beyond it's max half
WHAT I LIKED: Jim Carrey somehow plays this character with conviction, which certainly deserves credit
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Unfortunately, it's a pretty cheesy, very ridiculous and far-fetched project that's dragged out beyond it's max half hour plot length. You'll sit there bored, uninterested and occasionally cringing at the so-called 'morality,' and that's the worst place to be as a movie
VERDICT: If a great performance can't save it, you know it's bad. Christmas films can get away with being cheesy, but they can't get away with this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
gameguardian21Aug 26, 2016
Compared to the original, this version is a huge joke that isn't as charming, touching, or even watchable that the original cartoon had. Jim Carrey is alright as the grinch, but to me, he's just jim Carrey in a terrible grinch coustume.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews