Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2000
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 137 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
71
Mixed:
41
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
[Anonymous]Dec 11, 2005
Okay in itself, but the Grinch seems pedophilic... the Whos are obsessed, and the mayor is just wierd... It strays off the whole POINT of the book, and Cindy Lou is an annoying little stalker.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
DanBurritoAug 26, 2016
How The Grinch Stole Christmas features a hilarious performance from Jim Carrey, but that isn't quite enough to cover for a predictable plot, uninteresting characters and cheesy dialogue. Though the scenes with The Grinch are usually somewhatHow The Grinch Stole Christmas features a hilarious performance from Jim Carrey, but that isn't quite enough to cover for a predictable plot, uninteresting characters and cheesy dialogue. Though the scenes with The Grinch are usually somewhat entertaining, the rest of the movie is sickly sweet and bloated (this concept just wasn't meant for feature length). Overall, though not without its moments, How The Grinch Stole Christmas betrays Jim Carrey with Christmas movie clich├ęs and an overstretched plot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ColeL.Nov 21, 2001
This Movie hides its mean spirit with its gigantic budget. But in the end, Jim Carey is the man for this role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
OfficialNov 15, 2013
"How the Grinch Stole Christmas" is a noisy and strange-looking film that ultimately does not entertain. To be honest, I got really annoyed and irritated after watching 30 minutes of this. The story was so completely random and strange. My"How the Grinch Stole Christmas" is a noisy and strange-looking film that ultimately does not entertain. To be honest, I got really annoyed and irritated after watching 30 minutes of this. The story was so completely random and strange. My recommendation would be to check something else out for Christmas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
Gives Christmas spirit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SEROJDec 27, 2014
Without Jim Carey, this would've been a decent Christmas movie... The story is nothing special but i bet you'll have fun! Not gonna' spoil anything. Recommended
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysOct 22, 2013
Ron Howard may have struck gold with us, but some of his other films don't live up to that expectation. This movie is quirky, weird, and unsettling. While it works in some places, most of it is not up to par. But, Jim Carrey plays the GrinchRon Howard may have struck gold with us, but some of his other films don't live up to that expectation. This movie is quirky, weird, and unsettling. While it works in some places, most of it is not up to par. But, Jim Carrey plays the Grinch damn well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
A wonderful holiday tale that will mesmerize all ages.
With impeccable acting from Jim Carey and with the artful direction of Ron Howard, How The Grinch Stole Christmas is victorious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Tbone413Jul 25, 2015
My enjoyment of this movie depends what mood I'm in at the time. If I'm in a good mood, then I'll enjoy the movie. Otherwise, I'll be instantly bored, balancing it out to a 5/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CineAutoctonoDec 19, 2015
The old Christmas story to film, it's crazy , but the Grinch, hardly surprised , as funny but very little of other emotions, and do not know who hates Christmas ?, and I became like Scrooge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeDec 30, 2015
Jim Carrey does his all as the Grinch, the dog Max is cute, and this movie has a backstory to nearly why the Grinch hated Christmas so much. Unfortunately, they're not enough to save this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews